post Feb 14 2021, 11:00 PM, updated 3y ago

On My Way to Level 50
630 posts

Samsung Galaxy S21 | S21+ | S21 Ultra 5G

Recommended Retail Price (RRP)
S21 - RM 3699 (8GB RAM / 256 GB ROM)
S21+ - RM 4299 (8GB RAM / 256 GB ROM)
S21 Ultra - RM 5299 (12GB RAM / 256 GB ROM)
S21 Ultra - RM 5899 (16GB RAM / 512 GB ROM)
* Exynos 2100 Chipset

Link to V1

Today marks the 1 month anniversary since the unveiling of the S21 series in Galaxy Unpacked 2021

Colour Options

Specifications
Specification S21 S21+ S21 Ultra
Display & Size 6.2" Flat FHD+ 6.7" Flat FHD+ 6.8" Edge Quad HD
Refresh Rate 120Hz (48~120Hz) 120Hz (48~120Hz) 120Hz (10~120Hz)
Durability Corning® Gorilla® Glass Victus™ IP68 Corning® Gorilla® Glass Victus™ IP68 Corning® Gorilla® Glass Victus™ IP68
Front Camera 10MP 10MP 40MP
Rear Camera 12MP Ultra Wide Camera / 12MP Wide-angle Camera / 64MP Telephoto Camera / 30x Zoom 12MP Ultra Wide Camera / 12MP Wide-angle Camera / 64MP Telephoto Camera / 30x Zoom 12MP Ultra Wide Camera / 108MP Wide-angle Camera / 10MP Telephoto Camera x2 / 100x Zoom
Battery 4000mAh 4800mAh 5000mAh
Storage 256GB 256GB 256GB / 512GB

This post has been edited by KCY3701: Mar 17 2022, 06:07 PM
TSKCY3701
post Feb 14 2021, 11:01 PM

On My Way to Level 50
630 posts

Res
vexus
post Feb 14 2021, 11:11 PM

Master of Eatery & Sleeping
6,626 posts

XeactorZ
post Feb 15 2021, 12:18 AM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,233 posts

KCY3701 just noticed that the refresh rate for s21 ultra should be 10 - 120hz
leetan33
post Feb 15 2021, 12:35 AM

589 posts

Previously bought a Ringke Fusion case for my S21 Ultra. So far so good, but my concern is that the camera part is not covered at all, leaving it prone to scratches.

Shall wait for a 3rd party casing with S Pen holder so I can reuse my old S Pen from Note 8.
TSKCY3701
post Feb 15 2021, 01:28 AM

On My Way to Level 50
630 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Feb 15 2021, 12:18 AM)
KCY3701 just noticed that the refresh rate for s21 ultra should be 10 - 120hz
Thanks for pointing out. Forgot to edit when I copy and paste it.
badboy77
post Feb 15 2021, 01:53 AM

1,520 posts

wah V2 liao haha
attw
post Feb 15 2021, 08:14 AM

32,264 posts

https://m.gsmarena.com/exynos_2100_vs_snapd...-news-47648.php

So the performance and battery life of the Exynos is now on par with the SD. Good job, Samsung smile.gif

Any user here can comment on the signal strength in comparison to other phones, particularly for maxis?
khuen72
post Feb 15 2021, 08:23 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Feb 15 2021, 08:14 AM)
https://m.gsmarena.com/exynos_2100_vs_snapd...-news-47648.php

So the performance and battery life of the Exynos is now on par with the SD. Good job, Samsung smile.gif

Any user here can comment on the signal strength in comparison to other phones, particularly for maxis?
Battery life is good , can easily hit 6 - 7 hours of SOT on my S21 , but it's only been 2 days having the phone.

Signal is noticeably weaker compare to my OnePlus 8 pro , in the same area with the s21 I would have slightly weaker signal . Especially in underground parking . I'm on Celcom though
attw
post Feb 15 2021, 08:33 AM

32,264 posts

QUOTE(khuen72 @ Feb 15 2021, 08:23 AM)
Battery life is good , can easily hit 6 - 7 hours of SOT on my S21 , but it's only been 2 days having the phone.

Signal is noticeably weaker compare to my OnePlus 8 pro , in the same area with the s21 I would have slightly weaker signal . Especially in underground parking . I'm on Celcom though
Thanks for the feedback bro. I had the Note 10+ for a bit and the weak signal strength drove me to sell the phone off in less than a month, so I wanna make sure it's not the case for the S21 series since I've not used any other Exynos powered phone since then smile.gif

Then again, with the MCO and working from home, I suppose signal strength isn't as critical these days laugh.gif
lambsauce
post Feb 15 2021, 09:19 AM

311 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Feb 11 2021, 06:57 PM)
More little feedback on the telco reception.

I was in my carpark just now. Signal switched to 3G with only 1 bar. Previous Huawei P20 Pro still 4G with 2 to 3 bars, accessing internet not an issue. Granted I know Huawei phone has better signal than my previous Sony, I wonder if Samsung signal really that off? I guess folks with good area coverage would not face this problem.
One thing I like to seek Samsung guru's help, when there are missed message, there's no led indicator permanently on for S21. Internet says S20 uses edge lighting. I tried the only edge lighting setting I could find. The lighting only lasts for a while when message comes in.

How do I have a permanent light indicator to indicate there's pending message, reminder, tasks, etc? Notification indicator while the screen is off.

QUOTE(khuen72 @ Feb 15 2021, 08:23 AM)

QUOTE(attw @ Feb 15 2021, 08:33 AM)
Thanks for the feedback bro. I had the Note 10+ for a bit and the weak signal strength drove me to sell the phone off in less than a month, so I wanna make sure it's not the case for the S21 series  since I've not used any other Exynos powered phone since then smile.gif

Then again, with the MCO and working from home, I suppose signal strength isn't as critical these days laugh.gif
sigh, after so many years, samsung exynos still cant up their antenna quality

the pain is real when u go to places with relatively poor signal reception, not even kampung, just normal restaurants

the exynos would crazily keep on looking for signal, n burns the phone real hot

i mean cool if one always only go to high class place with free wifi or CBD, but thats not the reality

till now, paying premium for samsung flagship still cant even fulfill this basic need from a phone

imagine low to mid end phones using SD have better reception than flagship

i sakit hati every time think of that

This post has been edited by lambsauce: Feb 15 2021, 09:23 AM
leetan33
post Feb 15 2021, 09:42 AM

589 posts

Hey I just noticed that my Whatsapp Web shows "phone disconnected" every time when I locked my screen.

FYI, my laptop was connecting to Internet via cable and my phone was connected via mobile data.

This issue didn't occur when I was using my Note 8. Any idea how to solve this?
ChaChaZero
post Feb 15 2021, 09:49 AM

545 posts

QUOTE(leetan33 @ Feb 15 2021, 09:42 AM)
Hey I just noticed that my Whatsapp Web shows "phone disconnected" every time when I locked my screen.

FYI, my laptop was connecting to Internet via cable and my phone was connected via mobile data.

This issue didn't occur when I was using my Note 8. Any idea how to solve this?
Did you enable power optimization for your whatsapp?

You'll have to turn that off.
leetan33
post Feb 15 2021, 10:09 AM

589 posts

QUOTE(ChaChaZero @ Feb 15 2021, 09:49 AM)
Did you enable power optimization for your whatsapp?

You'll have to turn that off.
Let me try again, this seems to solve the issue but the connection is still intermittent.

This post has been edited by leetan33: Feb 15 2021, 10:09 AM
tomastan4134
post Feb 15 2021, 10:34 AM

827 posts

QUOTE(lambsauce @ Feb 15 2021, 09:19 AM)
sigh, after so many years, samsung exynos still cant up their antenna quality

the pain is real when u go to places with relatively poor signal reception, not even kampung, just normal restaurants

the exynos would crazily keep on looking for signal, n burns the phone real hot

i mean cool if one always only go to high class place with free wifi or CBD, but thats not the reality

till now, paying premium for samsung flagship still cant even fulfill this basic need from a phone

imagine low to mid end phones using SD have better reception than flagship

i sakit hati every time think of that
but sometimes its not entirely samsungs problem la.

mostly is due to malaysia telco and malaysia government problem.

other countries suburb or urban areas. no matter how shit your phone is. also can get good 4g signal.

so its down to the country to develop the urban areas with better telco signals.
chaukeng
post Feb 15 2021, 11:03 AM

2,295 posts

QUOTE(tomastan4134 @ Feb 15 2021, 10:34 AM)
but sometimes its not entirely samsungs problem la. 

mostly is due to malaysia telco and malaysia government problem. 

other countries suburb or urban areas.  no matter how shit your phone is.  also can get good 4g signal.

so  its down to the country to develop the urban areas with better telco signals.
It is.

Samsung knows their consumers. And they better know msia telco is bad, so why don't they ship to us Snapdragon version of their phone if Exynos is not optimised for consumers at bad reception areas?

Furthermore, I'm paying top dollar for flagship chipset, so shouldn't I expect such basic features to be a non issue at all? Mind you its so serious I basically have to take off my phone case and use a USB fans to cool down my phone while playing 3D game. Don't tell me i shouldn't buy this phone for gaming. I'm paying for the best processor so I'm expecting the phone to deliver top notch performance in every aspect.

off_shore
post Feb 15 2021, 11:38 AM

841 posts

guys,

what kind of slim profile case with adequate protection u recommend for S21U.
tomastan4134
post Feb 15 2021, 11:40 AM

827 posts

QUOTE(chaukeng @ Feb 15 2021, 11:03 AM)
It is.

Samsung knows their consumers. And they better know msia telco is bad, so why don't they ship to us Snapdragon version of their phone if Exynos is not optimised for consumers at bad reception areas?

Furthermore, I'm paying top dollar for flagship chipset, so shouldn't I expect such basic features to be a non issue at all? Mind you its so serious I basically have to take off my phone case and use a USB fans to cool down my phone while playing 3D game. Don't tell me i shouldn't buy this phone for gaming. I'm paying for the best processor so I'm expecting the phone to deliver top notch performance in every aspect.
i think the snapgradon version is contract between US and samsung , china and samsung. i think they are not allowed to sell the snapgradon version to other region except US and China.

come on la. malaysia and the rest off the world also using the exynos version. other country people also no complaint. samsung cannot just taylor make 1 flagship phone just for malaysia la.

if you so concern and complaint about exynos version of S21 ultra. then you better sell it off and import your own Snapgradon version of s21 Ultra from other market (HK,CHINA, US).

this is the only option you have.

to me... i come from huawei p10 4 years ago. my work place signal like shit using p10 (area next to airport). always call dropped. now using s21U with exynos . signal massive improve. even have 4g+ can stream youtube 4k pun where my old p10 cant even send whatsapp image.

so to me .. no complaint here. happy with this phone so far.
spaceman
post Feb 15 2021, 11:42 AM

605 posts

another positive long term review for Exynos S21U. Enjoy!

Spoiler: Best phone in the world right now biggrin.gif

chaukeng
post Feb 15 2021, 11:46 AM

2,295 posts

QUOTE(tomastan4134 @ Feb 15 2021, 11:40 AM)
i think the snapgradon version  is contract between US and samsung ,  china and samsung.    i think they are not allowed to sell the snapgradon version to other region except US and China. 

come on la.   malaysia and the rest off the world also using the exynos version.   other country people also no complaint.     samsung cannot just taylor make 1 flagship phone just for malaysia la. 

if you so concern and complaint about exynos version of S21 ultra.    then  you better sell it off  and import your own Snapgradon version of s21 Ultra from other market (HK,CHINA, US). 

this is the only option you have.  

to me... i come from huawei p10 4 years ago.   my work place  signal like shit using p10 (area next to airport).   always call dropped.    now using s21U  with exynos .   signal  massive improve. even have 4g+  can stream youtube 4k pun where my old p10 cant even send whatsapp image.

so to me ..  no complaint here.    happy with this phone so far.
Are you sure? Because Samsung msia sells other model of their Snapdragon phones here wor.

If there is a problem, then there is a problem. No point hiding it no matter how much you love Samsung.

For comparison sake, you are using a 5 year old phone against the current flagship. Not really the most appropriate comparison.

BTW, 'Other country people also no complaint' how did you come to this conclusion?

Comparing between my S21+ and Huawei nova 4e, both using umobile.

This post has been edited by chaukeng: Feb 15 2021, 11:59 AM

215 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0149sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:12 PM