Samsung Samsung Galaxy S21 | S21+ | S21 Ultra 5G - V2, 1 month anniversary

kyxxx
post Feb 15 2021, 11:53 AM

284 posts

hey guys, would love to get your opinion here on few items for my S21 Ultra

1. Hydrogel SP

Clear vs Matte (i play games, MLBB to be exact, and currently still using the original SP since i'm unable to decide which SP to go to, but yes clear type kinda attract lots of fingerprints after gaming)

X-One Stealth 3 vs Goozilla Matte 3 vs Rockspace - which one is better? I know pricing wise Goozile is higher, would love some experience sharing here

2. Casing

- Currently using Ringke Fusion X, however looking forward to Spigen Galaxy S21 Ultra 5G Case Liquid Air (Pen Edition) --> i plan to get the S Pen in future and this is the only 3rd party case which i think looks legit and affordable compared to Samsung's

Do you guys have any recommendation on casing? With or without S-Pen, would love to hear your experiences too =)

3. Unrelated to phone, but anyone have experience with Samsung Galaxy Buds Pro?

- currently using Sony WF1000XM3, but a little annoyed with the size and bulkyness, and seems like Buds pro fits well in overall
- worth to sell my Xm3 for Buds Pro? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kyxxx: Feb 15 2021, 11:57 AM
pikafaded
post Feb 15 2021, 12:45 PM

904 posts

QUOTE(chaukeng @ Feb 15 2021, 11:46 AM)
Are you sure? Because Samsung msia sells other model of their Snapdragon phones here wor.

If there is a problem, then there is a problem. No point hiding it no matter how much you love Samsung.

For comparison sake, you are using a 5 year old phone against the current flagship. Not really the most appropriate comparison.

BTW, 'Other country people also no complaint' how did you come to this conclusion?

Comparing between my S21+ and Huawei nova 4e, both using umobile.
Samsung phones is known to be emitting the least radiation among all the smartphone brands, that's the reason why it's signal reception might be weaker than other brands. Check this out, although it is old: https://www.digitalinformationworld.com/201...-radiation.html
ChaChaZero
post Feb 15 2021, 12:48 PM

566 posts

QUOTE(chaukeng @ Feb 15 2021, 11:46 AM)
Are you sure? Because Samsung msia sells other model of their Snapdragon phones here wor.

If there is a problem, then there is a problem. No point hiding it no matter how much you love Samsung.

For comparison sake, you are using a 5 year old phone against the current flagship. Not really the most appropriate comparison.

BTW, 'Other country people also no complaint' how did you come to this conclusion?

Comparing between my S21+ and Huawei nova 4e, both using umobile.
Can you check the signal strength dBm in the device status and compare with your Huawei?

Btw 4G and H+ too.

This post has been edited by ChaChaZero: Feb 15 2021, 12:49 PM
hspace
post Feb 15 2021, 01:03 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(lambsauce @ Feb 15 2021, 09:19 AM)
sigh, after so many years, samsung exynos still cant up their antenna quality

the pain is real when u go to places with relatively poor signal reception, not even kampung, just normal restaurants

the exynos would crazily keep on looking for signal, n burns the phone real hot

i mean cool if one always only go to high class place with free wifi or CBD, but thats not the reality

till now, paying premium for samsung flagship still cant even fulfill this basic need from a phone

imagine low to mid end phones using SD have better reception than flagship

i sakit hati every time think of that
So far seems to be issue with S21. Does S21+ or Ultra have same reception issue?

Yes its pain. Might have to hope Huawei P50 has Google again.
ipohps3
post Feb 15 2021, 01:22 PM

1,974 posts

Anyone here got their Fit2 redemption already? hmm.gif
TSKCY3701
post Feb 15 2021, 01:25 PM

On My Way to Level 50
633 posts

QUOTE(tomastan4134 @ Feb 15 2021, 10:34 AM)
but sometimes its not entirely samsungs problem la. 

mostly is due to malaysia telco and malaysia government problem. 

other countries suburb or urban areas.  no matter how shit your phone is.  also can get good 4g signal.

so  its down to the country to develop the urban areas with better telco signals.
This is especially true in Thailand. When I am in middle of nowhere still can get full bar of 4G+ for TrueMove. Here in Malaysia, indoors already will drop to H+.
TSKCY3701
post Feb 15 2021, 01:52 PM

On My Way to Level 50
633 posts

PeeEl
post Feb 15 2021, 02:23 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(tomastan4134 @ Feb 15 2021, 11:40 AM)
i think the snapgradon version  is contract between US and samsung ,  china and samsung.    i think they are not allowed to sell the snapgradon version to other region except US and China. 

come on la.  malaysia and the rest off the world also using the exynos version.  other country people also no complaint.    samsung cannot just taylor make 1 flagship phone just for malaysia la. 

if you so concern and complaint about exynos version of S21 ultra.    then  you better sell it off  and import your own Snapgradon version of s21 Ultra from other market (HK,CHINA, US). 

this is the only option you have. 

to me... i come from huawei p10 4 years ago.  my work place  signal like shit using p10 (area next to airport).  always call dropped.    now using s21U  with exynos .  signal  massive improve. even have 4g+  can stream youtube 4k pun where my old p10 cant even send whatsapp image.

so to me ..  no complaint here.    happy with this phone so far.
Let me jump on the bandwagon and give my 2 sen.

But before that, can I implore you people to address the subject matter which only then would be meaningful debates, if you will, instead of addressing the person. When attended in such a manner, the forum would achieve its intention and that is to gather intel and learn about what we are interested in.

Back to subject proper. Samsung phones in our neck of the woods, for whatever reason, have weaker phone signal. I am talking through experience. Having a Note 10+, Note 20Ultra, iPhone 12Pro Max, Huawei P30 Pro and Mate30 Pro simultaneously, the Samsungs’ signal is somehow not on par with the rest. With that said, it is not often that the phones heat up while searching for signal. Only in rare cases. Nonetheless, the other phones don’t struggle as much during those occasions, looking for signal. So, yeah, Samsung phones here in Malaysia with the Exynos SoC is weaker, phone signal wise, comparatively.

However, there will be instances when a certain telco has its tower nearby and you happen to be using a Samsung phone with that telco’s SIM card, obviously signal strength will be stronger compared to another brand’s phone with a different telco card in it. Which means, all such situations must be taken cognisance of.

badboy77
post Feb 15 2021, 03:02 PM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(kyxxx @ Feb 15 2021, 11:53 AM)

1. Hydrogel SP

Clear vs Matte (i play games, MLBB to be exact, and currently still using the original SP since i'm unable to decide which SP to go to, but yes clear type kinda attract lots of fingerprints after gaming)

X-One Stealth 3 vs Goozilla Matte 3 vs Rockspace - which one is better? I know pricing wise Goozile is higher, would love some experience sharing here
2. Casing

- Currently using Ringke Fusion X, however looking forward to Spigen Galaxy S21 Ultra 5G Case Liquid Air (Pen Edition) --> i plan to get the S Pen in future and this is the only 3rd party case which i think looks legit and affordable compared to Samsung's

Do you guys have any recommendation on casing? With or without S-Pen, would love to hear your experiences too =)

- currently using Sony WF1000XM3, but a little annoyed with the size and bulkyness, and seems like Buds pro fits well in overall
- worth to sell my Xm3 for Buds Pro?  tongue.gif
I pre order the liquid air with s pen slot from spigen website. But still not yet ship. Think it's pre order.
skylinelover
post Feb 15 2021, 03:25 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,244 posts

Yay new version already laugh.gif rclxms.gif
bennedict82
post Feb 15 2021, 04:14 PM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(leetan33 @ Feb 15 2021, 12:35 AM)
Previously bought a Ringke Fusion case for my S21 Ultra. So far so good, but my concern is that the camera part is not covered at all, leaving it prone to scratches.

Shall wait for a 3rd party casing with S Pen holder so I can reuse my old S Pen from Note 8.
I am using Ringke Fusion Matte and camera part not covered is my big concern also. Have you try to install camera tempered glass? I am getting one to give a try.

1. Hydrogel SP

2. Casing

I used Rockspace Clear type on my n20u. It is clear but rubbery. The problem is, it is soft and the edge of SP easily lifted by my ringke/spigen case. Maybe the cutting not too good as well. I will still prefer original SP instead of install this type.

For casing, i am getting Samsung original silicone cover. Looks promising and also it covered the camera parts. This is the only one I found so far. Hope it works good once received.

QUOTE(badboy77 @ Feb 15 2021, 03:02 PM)
I pre order the liquid air with s pen slot from spigen website. But still not yet ship. Think it's pre order.
May I know when I can place order? Malaysia got spigen website?

This post has been edited by bennedict82: Feb 15 2021, 04:14 PM
porkrose
post Feb 15 2021, 04:46 PM

84 posts

wow away few days alrd new thread
XeactorZ
post Feb 15 2021, 05:49 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(porkrose @ Feb 15 2021, 04:46 PM)
wow away few days alrd new thread
actually a lot thread over 2500 post but also didn't make new thread laugh.gif
silrave
post Feb 15 2021, 06:33 PM

5,893 posts

hmm
just wonder black vs silver
black no stock
silver got stock
thinking if i order
can change to black or not .hahaha

TSKCY3701
post Feb 15 2021, 06:34 PM

On My Way to Level 50
633 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Feb 15 2021, 05:49 PM)
actually a lot thread over 2500 post but also didn't make new thread laugh.gif
Idk, most people start new thread at around 100-200 pages. So, decided to start anew. Besides, Pre-order bonuses in V1 is no longer relavent. Now, we wait for price drop. biggrin.gif
Lupine101
post Feb 15 2021, 06:35 PM

291 posts

anyone with s21ultra start using X one SP already?

had good experience previously using Xone , quite durable and reasonable pricing.
XeactorZ
post Feb 15 2021, 06:55 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Feb 15 2021, 06:33 PM)
hmm
just wonder black vs silver
black no stock
silver got stock
thinking if i order
can change to black or not .hahaha
after put casing nobody will notice laugh.gif

QUOTE(KCY3701 @ Feb 15 2021, 06:34 PM)
Idk, most people start new thread at around 100-200 pages. So, decided to start anew. Besides, Pre-order bonuses in V1 is no longer relavent. Now, we wait for price drop.  biggrin.gif
ya, continue wait the price drop laugh.gif
Created On 21/1/2021
post Feb 15 2021, 07:10 PM

1,347 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Feb 15 2021, 06:55 PM)
after put casing nobody will notice laugh.gif
ya, continue wait the price drop laugh.gif
Court still offers 8% discount on their website, so the the cheapest you can buy.

Me too, waiting for them to drop the bundle freebies and reduce the price.
vexus
post Feb 15 2021, 07:16 PM

Master of Eatery & Sleeping
6,659 posts

1. Hydrogel SP

2. Casing

x-one first batch SP is shitty product. not casing friendly SP. The designer never think before plotting the SP size.
grumpyoldgit
post Feb 15 2021, 07:19 PM

65 posts

1. Hydrogel SP

2. Casing

Wow that Spigen case is pretty sweet, gotta consider. Right now I using the rather expensive Smart cover case with s-pen.. until I install a good TG screen protector and camera protector.

225 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0494sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:26 AM