Insurance Talk V7!, Your one stop Insurance Discussion

adele123
post Sep 21 2021, 12:18 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Sep 21 2021, 09:59 AM)
any idea of the claim like?
does all repair shop willingly takes it?
hmm.gif
P&O is an established insurance company. Just very old fashion company and of course not as big as etiqa, allianz. The network should be readily available. I hope.

But i dont intend to drive the car much. Lol. So didnt think about claims la.

Sitting Duck
post Sep 21 2021, 07:05 PM

473 posts

Hi All,

Appreciate someone agent can answer my question.

I have couple of insurance policies (medical investment link) with AIA which were bought more than 10 years ago.

The medical coverage is very little (30k annually and life time 300k) which isn’t quite sufficient for rising medical cost.

1. Can I revise the coverage on existing plan ?
2. Do I need to approach the agent that I bought policy from ? Cause the agent is no longer working as an AIA agent. Can I approach other AIA agent and would other agent assist since the policy wasn’t purchase from them.

lifebalance
post Sep 21 2021, 07:13 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(Sitting Duck @ Sep 21 2021, 07:05 PM)
Hi All,

I have couple of insurance policies (medical investment link) with AIA which were bought more than 10 years ago.

The medical coverage is very little (30k annually and life time 300k) which isn’t quite sufficient for rising medical cost.

2. Do I need to approach the agent that I bought policy from ? Cause the agent is no longer working as an AIA agent.  Can I approach other AIA agent and would other agent assist since the policy wasn’t purchase from them.
1. You can revise whatever that is within the policy - i.e Add more death coverage or CI but the medical card cannot switch to the latest.
2. If the agent is no longer with AIA, how can you buy from the agent again ?

You can approach other AIA agent or Financial Advisors if you wish to get as a new policy.

Your current policy should have an existing agent (your agent's upline) unless the agent ditch you and park it under the company i.e orphan policy.

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Sep 21 2021, 07:15 PM
Barricade
post Sep 21 2021, 09:15 PM

4,147 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Sep 21 2021, 09:42 AM)
Btw have you actually bought it? cause i'm looking into promilej. very cheap compared to etiqa.

promilej website abit not as pretty but looks service-able.

EDIT: the website does not inspire confidence although havent click pay
Bought it since last year.
adele123
post Sep 22 2021, 12:13 AM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Sep 21 2021, 09:15 PM)
ok. thanks. i will definitely try it promilej and save some money. you are right the etiqa version is ma fan.

Cyclopes
post Sep 22 2021, 07:29 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(Sitting Duck @ Sep 21 2021, 07:05 PM)
Hi All,

2. Do I need to approach the agent that I bought policy from ? Cause the agent is no longer working as an AIA agent.  Can I approach other AIA agent and would other agent assist since the policy wasn’t purchase from them.
The agent whom you purchase from would be representing an Agency. You can revert back to the Agency if you prefer someone within your locality to attend your needs.
SYAMiLLiON
post Sep 22 2021, 01:53 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Sep 21 2021, 07:13 PM)
Your current policy should have an existing agent (your agent's upline) unless the agent ditch you and park it under the company i.e orphan policy.
May I know how policy holder deal with claim if they were park under the company?
JIUHWEI
post Sep 22 2021, 02:00 PM

1,320 posts

QUOTE(SYAMiLLiON @ Sep 22 2021, 01:53 PM)
May I know how policy holder deal with claim if they were park under the company?
They can always reach out to any of the company service branches.

Apart from that, nowadays there are customer portals that can be useful as well.

For example, I got into a road accident this time last year.
Car accident, broke my hand, very bad.

Items to be claimed:
1. Third party claim against that driver (happen to be insured by AIA as well)
2. Loss of use
3. Medical bills (also against that driver)

All of this was done online via email and the AIA claims dept was quite helpful as well.
It was quite a smooth claims experience and gave me much more confidence after experiencing the claims process myself. thumbsup.gif
lifebalance
post Sep 22 2021, 02:05 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(SYAMiLLiON @ Sep 22 2021, 01:53 PM)
For the claim details, you can

1. Call in to the insurance company to ask what are the docs required
2. Get the relevant forms that they've pointed out and gather the required docs as per the form (they'll have a checklist)
3. Submit it to the relevant department for your claims.

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Sep 22 2021, 02:16 PM
milky12388
post Sep 22 2021, 04:29 PM

108 posts

Hi all sifu, I want to buy PA, my budget is less 900 per annum, I thinking to get either

AIA Flex-PA - Plan FCPA-500 (RM875.56 per annum)
https://www.aia.com.my/content/dam/my/en/do...Brochure_FA.pdf

AXA SmartPA Enhanced - Plan 5 (Rm708 per annum)
https://axa-com-my.cdn.axa-contento-118412....ed+Brochure.pdf

I have a cousin who is AIA agent so it will be convenient to help me submit the claim and she has handled my case before.

But comparing with AXA PA package, it seems AXA offers better coverage than AIA.

If I buy AXA, touch wood if sth happens to me, will it be a hassle for me to claim since no contact to reach out?

Any other PA better than AXA and AIA?
lifebalance
post Sep 22 2021, 04:32 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(milky12388 @ Sep 22 2021, 04:29 PM)
Hi all sifu, I want to buy PA, my budget is less 900 per annum, I thinking to get either

AIA Flex-PA - Plan FCPA-500 (RM875.56 per annum)
https://www.aia.com.my/content/dam/my/en/do...Brochure_FA.pdf

AXA SmartPA Enhanced - Plan 5 (Rm708 per annum)
https://axa-com-my.cdn.axa-contento-118412....ed+Brochure.pdf
I have a cousin who is AIA agent so it will be convenient to help me submit the claim and she has handled my case before.

But comparing with AXA PA package, it seems AXA offers better coverage than AIA.

If I buy AXA, touch wood if sth happens to me, will it be a hassle for me to claim since no contact to reach out?

Any other PA better than AXA and AIA?
Allianz / Tokio Marine is another option.

For AXA, you can engage with AXA agents as well if you need servicing or Financial Advisor like myself where we are licensed for multiple insurance companies.

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Sep 22 2021, 04:47 PM
grace_ong P
post Sep 22 2021, 09:13 PM

Probation
15 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Sep 21 2021, 09:15 PM)
Must need to pay the excess if claim happen? Mind to share how much is the excess amount in your policy? Different car different amount or will it be the same?

adele123
post Sep 22 2021, 10:43 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(grace_ong @ Sep 22 2021, 09:13 PM)
Must need to pay the excess if claim happen? Mind to share how much is the excess amount in your policy? Different car different amount or will it be the same?

The rm400 is standard excess. For those P drivers or under 25 or something. Mamy company got this.

This post has been edited by adele123: Sep 22 2021, 10:43 PM
Barricade
post Sep 22 2021, 11:56 PM

4,147 posts

QUOTE(grace_ong @ Sep 22 2021, 09:13 PM)

Mine is RM0 for excess. I’m 39
steventyy
post Sep 23 2021, 06:09 PM

538 posts

Hi all,

I'm 40 for next bday, BMI 32, taking high blood pressure and cholesterol medicine.

Current with AIA ILP with 90K annual, life time unlimited. Thinking to increase my annual limit cover by apply for Deductible medical card.

Would like to have some advices from all the SIFU here.

lifebalance
post Sep 23 2021, 06:13 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(steventyy @ Sep 23 2021, 06:09 PM)
Hi all,

I'm 40 for next bday, BMI 32, taking high blood pressure and cholesterol medicine. 

Current with AIA ILP with 90K annual, life time unlimited. Thinking to increase my annual limit cover by apply for Deductible medical card.

Based on your description on your current health status, there might be a chance of loading & Medical Examination required.

If you're looking to upgrade the policy or to supplement with an additional add-on but with deductible medical card, look for advisers who can assist you on it.
Holocene
post Sep 23 2021, 06:27 PM

Independent Financial Advisor
945 posts

QUOTE(steventyy @ Sep 23 2021, 06:09 PM)
Hi all,

1) Check whether it's better to upgrade your existing plan or to actually get a deductible plan separately;

2) If you are getting a deductible plan separately, understand how you will be making the claims in an event of a claim; and

3) Understand how the newly implemented guidelines by BNM this week affects your new policy

Best,
Jiansheng
steventyy
post Sep 23 2021, 06:31 PM

538 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Sep 23 2021, 06:13 PM)
Based on your description on your current health status, there might be a chance of loading & Medical Examination required.

If you're looking to upgrade the policy or to supplement with an additional add-on but with deductible medical card, look for advisers who can assist you on it.
Because the AIA already more then 10 years, the agent said the old plan unable to upgrade, need to get a new plan.

Is get a new plan better or get a deductible card? I afraid the new plan will have high loading.

I already ask my AIA and GE agent, they said no deductible plan available.
lifebalance
post Sep 23 2021, 06:35 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(steventyy @ Sep 23 2021, 06:31 PM)
Because the AIA already more then 10 years, the agent said the old plan unable to upgrade, need to get a new plan.

Is get a new plan better or get a deductible card? I afraid the new plan will have high loading.

I already ask my AIA and GE agent, they said no deductible plan available.
You can only get the newer medical plan with AIA if you buy the new plan.

Newer plans are always better with their features & benefits. You can always apply first and see if you'd like the new plan's offer after your application is underwritten.

laugh.gif AIA & GE has 300 deductible option.
steventyy
post Sep 23 2021, 06:56 PM

538 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Sep 23 2021, 06:35 PM)
You can only get the newer medical plan with AIA if you buy the new plan.

Newer plans are always better with their features & benefits. You can always apply first and see if you'd like the new plan's offer after your application is underwritten.

laugh.gif AIA & GE has 300 deductible option.
Looking for a plan that with 30-50K deductible, so the cost can be lower... yeah, think try to apply for new plan first and see the result.

383 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Top

0.0207sec    0.13    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:22 AM