Insurance Talk V7!, Your one stop Insurance Discussion

MUM
post Sep 18 2021, 08:55 AM

14,867 posts

QUOTE(tornado dot com @ Sep 15 2021, 12:03 PM)
Hi all,

I'm looking for insurance for my newborn. However, he has been diagnosed with hypo-thyroidism, a condition where the thyroid gland is not producing enough of the thyroid hormone.

Current treatment is a daily dose of oral medicine that boosts the hormone. Is he insurable?
QUOTE(tornado dot com @ Sep 17 2021, 10:19 AM)
Yes, I'm looking for quotations currently. Will be willing to provide details
QUOTE(tornado dot com @ Sep 18 2021, 08:08 AM)
Yes, I'm looking for some insurance sifus to quote or to direct me to some agents. I already have for Pru. Open to look at other Insurance Co. quotations as well.
Hope the real insurance sifus can advise you on this...
Btw, mind sharing what is Yr budget for your newborn insurance? That would be more ease of those intending to provide estimated quotation as more in depth details are still lacking...
lifebalance
post Sep 18 2021, 09:50 AM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(tornado dot com @ Sep 18 2021, 08:08 AM)
Yes, I'm looking for some insurance sifus to quote or to direct me to some agents. I already have for Pru. Open to look at other Insurance Co. quotations as well.
It'll be easier if you can share your particulars.

Namely
Your child DOB, gender

Your DOB, gender, occupation, smoker or not.
Barricade
post Sep 18 2021, 11:03 PM

4,147 posts

Guys i wanna ask about car insurance. Is PrOmilej the only company that can insure based on selected mileage?
MUM
post Sep 18 2021, 11:16 PM

14,867 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Sep 18 2021, 11:03 PM)
Guys i wanna ask about car insurance. Is PrOmilej the only company that can insure based on selected mileage?
something like this?
https://www.chubb.com/content/dam/chubb-sit...iew_Feb2021.pdf

https://www.chubb.com/my-en/personal/my-sma...-insurance.html
mini orchard
post Sep 19 2021, 05:46 AM

14,511 posts

There are few insurer offering now. Check with your current insurer. I know etiqa does.
Barricade
post Sep 19 2021, 10:24 AM

4,147 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Sep 19 2021, 05:46 AM)
There are few insurer offering now. Check with your current insurer. I know etiqa does.
Etiqa very troublesome. It's not a form of discount, but a rebate given later. PrOMilej we get to select how many KM we want to insure and the premium is based on the mileage we select. I'm WFH for almost 2 years already and my cars only travel 1k KM in a year.
tornado dot com
post Sep 19 2021, 12:36 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Sep 18 2021, 09:50 AM)
It'll be easier if you can share your particulars.

Namely
Your child DOB, gender

Your DOB, gender, occupation, smoker or not.
Pre-existing condition for baby: Hypo-thyroidism (Lack of thyroid hormone)
Monthly follow up at Hospital Putrajaya
Daily oral medication to up the hormone needed.

Child:
DOB 29/6/2021, Male

Me:
DOB 11/5/1986, Male, IT professional, non-smoker

Preference & Focus:
Medical card (co-insurance is OK) CI, minimum sum assured.
Life product, unit-linked.

Budget: Below RM 200

Companies quotations I already have: GE, Pru, Allianz
lifebalance
post Sep 19 2021, 12:46 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(tornado dot com @ Sep 19 2021, 12:36 PM)

Child:
DOB 29/6/2021, Male

Me:
DOB 11/5/1986, Male, IT professional, non-smoker

Preference & Focus:
Medical card (co-insurance is OK) CI, minimum sum assured.
Life product, unit-linked.

At this point, it's just the advisor you want to pick with. I can practically quote for all the insurance companies you've mentioned. For your budget range, Pru/HLA would be able to meet below RM200 while able to provide a comprehensive coverage as I just did for lapland.

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Sep 19 2021, 01:07 PM
MUM
post Sep 19 2021, 04:19 PM

14,867 posts

QUOTE(tornado dot com @ Sep 19 2021, 12:36 PM)

Mind telling, just for added knowledge sake,.... Did those insurance that quoted you,.....Did they exclude that preexisting illness or includes extra loading on the premium?

This post has been edited by MUM: Sep 19 2021, 04:19 PM
Ewa Wa
post Sep 19 2021, 07:15 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Sep 19 2021, 04:19 PM)
Mind telling, just for added knowledge sake,.... Did those insurance that quoted you,.....Did they exclude that preexisting illness or includes extra loading on the premium?
The final loading or exclusion can only be known after the underwriting. Quotation provided based on the standard case.
MUM
post Sep 19 2021, 07:27 PM

14,867 posts

QUOTE(Ewa Wa @ Sep 19 2021, 07:15 PM)
The final loading or exclusion can only be known after the underwriting. Quotation provided based on the standard case.
So that means, after giving the quotation, the company can still choose NOT to accept providing the coverage too?
Ewa Wa
post Sep 19 2021, 07:39 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Sep 19 2021, 07:27 PM)
So that means, after giving the quotation, the company can still choose NOT to accept providing the coverage too?
This quotation just letting client knows with this budget you able to get these coverage. The quotation is quoted based on standard case.

Upon confirm on the quotation then proceed for submitting the application with payment.

Upon payment received, underwriting process starts.

Underwriter will come out the final decision whether the case is insurable or loading or impose exclusions.
lifebalance
post Sep 19 2021, 08:31 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Sep 19 2021, 04:19 PM)
A quote is just to show you what is covered within the policy, how much you are supposed to pay and what is within the policy on the T&C.

It's not an acceptance of your application until you choose to proceed with the application and have the application underwritten.

If there is a change in T&C, you'll be given a counter offer by the insurance company.

if it's rejected then you'll be informed by the agent/company.
tornado dot com
post Sep 20 2021, 12:28 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Sep 19 2021, 12:46 PM)
At this point, it's just the advisor you want to pick with. I can practically quote for all the insurance companies you've mentioned. For your budget range, Pru/HLA would be able to meet below RM200 while able to provide a comprehensive coverage as I just did for lapland.
Can kindly quote HLA for me?

Thanks for replies also from everyone. All the info provided here is helpful.
My main purpose at the end is just to get coverage for my little one. And as I've suspected, it'll either be extra loading or just handle as pre-existing condition.
gloomberg
post Sep 21 2021, 08:13 AM

510 posts

Hi guys, can recommend me a medical card which is non-ILP?
MUM
post Sep 21 2021, 08:57 AM

14,867 posts

QUOTE(gloomberg @ Sep 21 2021, 08:13 AM)
if you meant standalone medical insurance plan, then i kay poh abit while waiting for real insurance SIFUs to response,

i googled and found these, hope you can get some info from it while you wait for responses

Best Standalone Medical Cards
https://ringgitplus.com/en/health-insurance...ard/standalone/

lifebalance
post Sep 21 2021, 09:20 AM

10,162 posts

There are plenty of options out there. You got to more specific if you want to narrow down the options. I'm not going to list them all here.
adele123
post Sep 21 2021, 09:42 AM

4,725 posts

Btw have you actually bought it? cause i'm looking into promilej. very cheap compared to etiqa.

promilej website abit not as pretty but looks service-able.

EDIT: the website does not inspire confidence although havent click pay

This post has been edited by adele123: Sep 21 2021, 09:44 AM
SUSyklooi
post Sep 21 2021, 09:59 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Sep 21 2021, 09:42 AM)
Btw have you actually bought it? cause i'm looking into promilej. very cheap compared to etiqa.

promilej website abit not as pretty but looks service-able.

EDIT: the website does not inspire confidence although havent click pay
any idea of the claim like?
does all repair shop willingly takes it?
hmm.gif
Cyclopes
post Sep 21 2021, 11:12 AM

474 posts

Generally a non-ILP medical card are standalone. Benefits would generally be better in a ILP medical card. Alternative options would be general insurance companies for standalone medical card, where you may find the premium to be competitive for standard benefits.

This post has been edited by Cyclopes: Sep 21 2021, 11:34 AM

383 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:55 AM