Other ISP Astro Fibre v1, Is it good?

katowwe
post Jun 22 2025, 03:02 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 2 2025, 12:28 PM)
Just go to My Astro app and play around with the Astro Fiber bundle plan. I didn’t even submit it on the app and someone from Astro called me and asked if I was interested, I said yes and he helped me to submit everything. Then got the transfer ID and UniFi called to counter offer.
I get my astro transfer ID today, wait TM call me to verify biggrin.gif
fruitie
post Jun 22 2025, 03:07 PM

Rise and Shine
72,797 posts

QUOTE(katowwe @ Jun 22 2025, 03:02 PM)
I get my astro transfer ID today, wait TM call me to verify biggrin.gif
Nice and hope you get the offer from UniFi. brows.gif
TShustlerism
post Jul 10 2025, 01:36 AM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jun 2 2025, 06:12 PM)
There's a better way.
You don't mind staying on Unifi, right?

Just contact TM customer service, tell them you want to terminate Unifi because Astro agent offered you 100Mbps RM79 (or 500Mbps RM90, whichever you prefer).
Then their agent will give you retention offers already, under the naming of SWU (Stay with Unifi).

You'll be recontracted for another 24 months.
Is this only applicable to old customer only?
joshhd
post Jul 10 2025, 01:45 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(hustlerism @ Jul 10 2025, 01:36 AM)
Is this only applicable to old customer only?

You mean by old customer, as in existing Unifi Fibre customers?
Then yes, it applies to those who are out of contract, or contract ending less than few more months (e.g. <3 months?).

Remember to mention "Astro" to them ya. That's an important keyword.
If you don't, they will offer other kinds of retention offer, such as needing you to subscribe to their Unifi RM39 postpaid line (although you can cancel it few months later).
Punish
post Aug 19 2025, 09:04 AM

2,023 posts

Hi internet sifu....

I think got a problem with my Astro broadband... recently they offer me a and upgrade to a 500mbps package....but i feel abit strange, particularly in night time usually start from 8pm to to 1am, my download speed seem like dropping alot...so ive in a few night lately i do my own experiment....my finding was it qas fine with astro fibre own speedtest

How ever in other speedtest like Fast.com, even Unifi KL Server the speed drop so much from my 500mbps package that i subscribe to....not only that....i can see the download speed from most of the website also drop accordingly....it feels like the astro fibre speedtest speed 500mbps front the astro fibre speedtest site means nothing....like they throttle or capped my speed in the peak hours from 8pm to 12pm daily....do any of you guys have similar problem with me....i did report to the twice....thier technician also come...but seems the problem still persist...

This post has been edited by Punish: Aug 19 2025, 10:19 AM
joshhd
post Aug 19 2025, 02:02 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(Punish @ Aug 19 2025, 09:04 AM)
Hi internet sifu....

I think got a problem with my Astro broadband... recently they offer me a and upgrade to a 500mbps package....but i feel abit strange, particularly in night time usually start from 8pm to to 1am, my download speed seem like dropping alot...so ive in a few night lately i do my own experiment....my finding was it qas fine with astro fibre own speedtest

How ever in other speedtest like Fast.com, even Unifi KL Server the speed drop so much from my 500mbps package that i subscribe to....not only that....i can see the download speed from most of the website also drop accordingly....it feels like the astro fibre speedtest speed 500mbps front the astro fibre speedtest site means nothing....like they throttle or capped my speed in the peak hours from 8pm to 12pm daily....do any of you guys have similar problem with me....i did report to the twice....thier technician also come...but seems the problem still persist...

Which WiFi frequency channel are you on? If you're not sure, then WiFi interference with your neighbours WiFi will always be the first thing to blame.
You can install WiFi analyzer apps on your phone to check.
For 5GHz network, try manually change to Channel 100, rather than "Auto" setting (which often sets to Channel 36 or 149).

Or, use LAN cable to do speedtest as a source of truth. That way you can know whether is it Astro Fibre's network problem, or your own WiFi problem.
Punish
post Aug 19 2025, 02:06 PM

2,023 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Aug 19 2025, 02:02 PM)
Which WiFi frequency channel are you on? If you're not sure, then WiFi interference with your neighbours WiFi will always be the first thing to blame.
You can install WiFi analyzer apps on your phone to check.
For 5GHz network, try manually change to Channel 100, rather than "Auto" setting (which often sets to Channel 36 or 149).

Or, use LAN cable to do speedtest as a source of truth. That way you can know whether is it Astro Fibre's network problem, or your own WiFi problem.
Test with wired also the same result....wifi with 5ghz infront of the router...channel also already change to less populated channel....i dont think this is the wifi problem because on daytime these no problem whatso ever... everything just nice...only after 8pm orward until 12pm the problem persist....seems like astro capped or throttle my connection during peak hours...Or CGNET congestion on something...

Wonder if any astro fibre user here got the same problem..you can test by do FAST.com speed test starting 9pm until 12am... usually my problem start 830pm onward...

This post has been edited by Punish: Aug 19 2025, 02:08 PM
Punish
post Aug 21 2025, 11:55 AM

2,023 posts

Can i terminate my astro fibre without paying the penalty because they cant deliver the promise speed to me....i just recently renew my contract after they offer me 500mbps plan to make me stay...so i got 2 years of contact....but if they cant deliver the speed that they promise can i terminate the contract without paying the penalty....
PRSXFENG
post Aug 21 2025, 12:27 PM

2,608 posts

QUOTE(Punish @ Aug 21 2025, 11:55 AM)
Can i terminate my astro fibre without paying the penalty because they cant deliver the promise speed to me....i just recently renew my contract after they offer me 500mbps plan to make me stay...so i got 2 years of contact....but if they cant deliver the speed that they promise can i terminate the contract without paying the penalty....
What speeds are you getting instead of expected speeds?
What device are you using to test
fruitie
post Aug 21 2025, 12:29 PM

Rise and Shine
72,797 posts

You need to complain to Astro and MCMC first before you have a strong case to terminate.
tng55
post Aug 21 2025, 01:02 PM

1,437 posts

then you need Report MCMC very imported and to much trouble and they cant deliver the promise speed
chance to get terminate my astro fibre without paying the penalty Possible

can you Report now MCMC you must story details problem and screenshot attached

i hope you can easy terminate 100%
Punish
post Aug 21 2025, 04:40 PM

2,023 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Aug 21 2025, 12:27 PM)
What speeds are you getting instead of expected speeds?
What device are you using to test
I've noticed that my internet download speeds drop significantly every night during peak hours, specifically between 8:30 PM and 11:30 PM.

* When i run a speed test to the Astro Fibre server, my speed is normal and reflects your 500 Mbps subscription plan.

* However, when i test my speed using other servers (like nPerf, Google, TM, and Fast.com), i see a significant speed drop, often falling below 100 Mbps, and sometimes even below 1 Mbps for downloads from other websites.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

"I've tested this with both a wired connection and Wi-Fi 6 on my PC, iPhone, and Android phone, and the results are all almost identical. I don't believe the issue lies with my devices or equipment, as they all perform normally outside of the peak hours I mentioned."

This post has been edited by Punish: Aug 21 2025, 04:46 PM
joshhd
post Aug 21 2025, 10:47 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(Punish @ Aug 21 2025, 04:40 PM)
I've noticed that my internet download speeds drop significantly every night during peak hours, specifically between 8:30 PM and 11:30 PM.

* When i run a speed test to the Astro Fibre server, my speed is normal and reflects your 500 Mbps subscription plan.

* However, when i test my speed using other servers (like nPerf, Google, TM, and Fast.com), i see a significant speed drop, often falling below 100 Mbps, and sometimes even below 1 Mbps for downloads from other websites.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

"I've tested this with both a wired connection and Wi-Fi 6 on my PC, iPhone, and Android phone, and the results are all almost identical. I don't believe the issue lies with my devices or equipment, as they all perform normally outside of the peak hours I mentioned."

Looks like Astro Fibre's routing problem? Not sure if this issue only affects your area, but other places aren't affected...? hmm.gif
When the technician came, did they also check the dBm reading of your fibre cable? Is the reading normal?

Since you mentioned that technician came twice to your house and tried to fix it, yet issue persists, then yes, you can try to lodge a MCMC complaint, attach all the evidence, then see what Astro's technical team says.
If eventually still the same, then request to terminate Astro Fibre service without incurring penalty would be the last resort.

If it has come to the point of giving up Astro Fibre, then which fibre ISP would you switch to?
Punish
post Aug 22 2025, 09:46 AM

2,023 posts

The thing that boggles my mind was, why this is happening right on the dot 8.30PM until about 11:30pm every night.... Its feel like its a schedule throttling, some kind of network shapping by astro fibre to my connection....if there's device or equipment or hardware problem, why other than the time period that i mention above, i dont have these problem, everything works fast and smoothly....

What do you guys think actually happen...?

Thinking going to TM as i got a feeling that astro dont have the capacity to deliver what they promised...

This post has been edited by Punish: Aug 22 2025, 10:15 AM
Punish
post Aug 28 2025, 12:27 PM

2,023 posts

@joshhd

I use your post earlyer to ask for Public IP for RM5.00 per month

But i think, i got fixed IP instead, not public ip....why i say this because when ever i restart my router my ip was always the same, how even when i check with whatsmyip website, clearly the ip it show is different from my router internet ip, which suggest its not a public ip right....

When i restart my router, yes the ip stay the same. The whatsmyip website also stay the same, although its stay the same but its different from my router IP vs the website IP...

So what do you guys think? Izzit public ip or still private ip with fix ip number

So the question really do Astro Fibre have Public IP option, their agent also seems confuse with the term private Public and Fixed ip..

This post has been edited by Punish: Aug 28 2025, 12:29 PM
Feliex
post Aug 28 2025, 01:44 PM

835 posts

QUOTE(Punish @ Aug 22 2025, 09:46 AM)
The thing that boggles my mind was, why this is happening right on the dot 8.30PM until about 11:30pm every night.... Its feel like its a schedule throttling, some kind of network shapping by astro fibre to my connection....if there's device or equipment or hardware problem, why other than the time period that i mention above, i dont have these problem, everything works fast and smoothly....

What do you guys think actually happen...?

Thinking going to TM as i got a feeling that astro dont have the capacity to deliver what they promised...
UNIFI also same .. already few weeks dy
Feliex
post Aug 28 2025, 01:45 PM

835 posts

QUOTE(Punish @ Aug 28 2025, 12:27 PM)
@joshhd

But i think,  i got fixed IP instead, not public ip....why i say this because when ever i restart my router my ip was always the same, how even when i check with whatsmyip website, clearly the ip it show is different from my router internet ip, which suggest its not a public ip right....

When i restart my router, yes the ip stay the same. The whatsmyip website also stay the same, although its stay the same but its different from my router IP vs the website IP...

So what do you guys think? Izzit public ip or still private ip with fix ip number

So the question really do Astro Fibre have Public IP option, their agent also seems confuse with the term private Public and Fixed ip..
Can you please Screenshort here? Thanks
tng55
post Aug 30 2025, 02:30 AM

1,437 posts

QUOTE(Punish @ Aug 28 2025, 12:27 PM)
@joshhd

But i think,  i got fixed IP instead, not public ip....why i say this because when ever i restart my router my ip was always the same, how even when i check with whatsmyip website, clearly the ip it show is different from my router internet ip, which suggest its not a public ip right....

when i check with whatsmyip website, clearly the ip it show is different from my router internet ip = 100% Private IP

When i restart my router, yes the ip stay the same. The whatsmyip website also stay the same, although its stay the same but its different from my router IP vs the website IP... = 100% Private IP FIXED
not real public ip i know now you are private IP

please go ahead Report MCMC to request Terminate due astro can't deliver promised

Steponlego
post Oct 13 2025, 01:12 PM

936 posts

Hi, about to subscribe to 800mbps package from unifi 800mbps. Anything I need to know before signing the deal?

Im expecting some monthly saving from this transfer. Previous unifi package rm230 with RM90 astro. Agent say with 800mbps package ill pay rm250 including tax for 800mbps internet.
GamersFamilia
post Oct 13 2025, 05:31 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,766 posts

Any astro fibre user around bandar baru bangi? Was it good in our area?

13 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 >Top

0.0194sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:51 AM