Other ISP Astro Fibre v1, Is it good?

joshhd
post Apr 6 2021, 05:43 PM

7,789 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Apr 6 2021, 03:03 PM)
1. Nope, it's using maxis fiber for internet
2. If you internet goes down you may experience delay in contacting support....if for example, the fiber cable putus,you'll need to call Astro&Broadband department to complain and they will forward the issue to maxis and then TM.
3. The internet bill will show on astro bill
joshHD can give better explaination I belive

You've answered all correctly, yongtjunkit
Thank you, sifu πŸ™πŸ™πŸ™
joshhd
post Jun 8 2021, 01:39 PM

7,789 posts

QUOTE(Koranshita @ Apr 24 2021, 12:49 PM)
For your price is Family Pack + 30mbps = RM104.95 no include sst
Decoder new Ultibox
TM Modem and Maxis Fibre Router should be TB Link

Got new raya promotion . But it's from FB.
Can't find in the astro web.

I chat with the guy on FB about it seems legit.
Anyone know?
QUOTE(sitescope @ May 2 2021, 10:33 PM)
Astro got family pack + 100mbps ? Rm129 ?
QUOTE(knight_kriss @ Jun 8 2021, 09:39 AM)
what channel included in family pack? i try to search in astro website but it only stated stater pack only.....so confusing la astro  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

Refer to the March 2021 subscription rate card here: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=100380263

For Astro & Broadband:
This rate card above is March 2021 version. For any package bundles that has Movies pack in it, such as Super Pack Lite (Movies), Super Pack, Super Pack Plus, you'll have to add RM5 onto your calculation due to the price revision change effective June 2021.
joshhd
post Jun 17 2021, 12:39 AM

7,789 posts

QUOTE(Cindy74 @ Jun 16 2021, 11:34 PM)
Am looking for Astro Broadband packages. Is 100mbps enough for 2-3 devices using Zoom at the same time?

More than enough πŸ˜‚

Astro & Broadband
user posted image user posted image

More detailed info: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=101251840
joshhd
post Mar 2 2022, 05:45 PM

7,789 posts

QUOTE(TheGoodz @ Mar 2 2022, 12:23 PM)
hello, want to know

i'm existing astro suscriber..want to upgrade for astro+broadband, but was blacklist by maxis..can still apply or not
QUOTE(BlackBananaV6 @ Mar 2 2022, 04:26 PM)
Just subscribe to any broadband with any provider and then get Astro Box connected to the broadband... done! You can forget about Maxis

https://product.astro.com.my/box

Eh wait... Why kena blacklist first? You got outstanding payments haven't settle, is it?
Then it is possible that your IC is being blacklisted oh...
joshhd
post Mar 7 2022, 06:29 AM

7,789 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Mar 6 2022, 06:14 PM)
if i get 30 Mbps RM89. the cheapest package as a non-astro subscriber will be family pack RM104.95? so I can't really get the RM89 standalone (aka directly subscribe to Maxis internet)

Nope.
QUOTE(Pogbae30 @ Mar 6 2022, 10:24 PM)
I think now the astro package is using Unifi right ?

https://www.lowyat.net/2021/254259/astro-tm-infra-deal-isp/

Whoever subscribe to Astro & Broadband now, technically it will be under Maxis Fibre network (VLAN 821).

But since Astro partnered with TM, that means Astro will become an ISP soon (just like Digi Fibre or Celcom Fibre) and no longer rely on Maxis as middlemen. So once that happens, Astro will have their own VLAN ID soon.
joshhd
post Mar 9 2022, 09:30 AM

7,789 posts

QUOTE(tng55 @ Mar 9 2022, 01:04 AM)
so astro will have their own VLAN ID mean ASTRO IPTV Will multicast Like time fiber was ASTRO IPTV Multicast and maxis fiber also astro multicast not internet iptv

Astro has stopped offering IPTV Multicast to customers since late last year. For those who already been using IPTV Multicast (either through TIME Fibre or Maxis Fibre) will continue to be able to use as usual, but Astro will encourage you to upgrade to Ulti/Ultra Box under Plug and Play (also known as Unicast, that doesn't uses dedicated VLAN ID).

For Plug and Play one, just connect the box to the internet (WiFi or LAN also can), then you can stream the channels already, similar to Unifi Plus Box. LAN cable are not compulsory unlike Astro IPTV (that uses Multicast VLAN).
joshhd
post Mar 9 2022, 12:40 PM

7,789 posts

QUOTE(tng55 @ Mar 9 2022, 12:09 PM)
not worth upgrade ultra box i hate due internet streaming will a lot compress and sometime will blur
i using PVR Box not ultra that why too bad astro stop multicast iptv very bad
i will stay PVR box with hdd and can do rewind and forward too anything and very bad ultra box

Ok noted.
joshhd
post May 12 2022, 10:15 AM

7,789 posts

QUOTE(paultantk @ May 11 2022, 03:43 PM)
https://www.lowyat.net/2022/272673/astro-fi...tandalone-plan/

is there anyone on these new astro fiber plans? i presume it is now their own network and doesnt use maxis anymore? curious what are the international links they use.

Astro Fibre uses their own VLAN ID, and it doesn't use Maxis VLAN IDs like Astro & Broadband.

How to check what international links they use though? hmm.gif
joshhd
post Aug 24 2022, 11:23 PM

7,789 posts

QUOTE(hedwigx @ Aug 24 2022, 04:21 PM)
Hi Guys, im still using Astro IPTV Multicast pair with Ultrabox and Wifi 6 router, I like Multicast more compare with Plug and Play.

What the advantage using Plug & Play compare multicast? I found Plug & Play is downgrade compare Multicast

- Switching Channel slower
- After switch channel picture quality gradually change to high quality video
- use/share my internet bandwidth
- found out some of channel / radio missing

Recently I received a SMS saying that my IPTV will change to a single network mode to enable Plug & Play Ultra/Ulti.

Any one facing same situation with me ? Im planning to terminate my Astro if they phase out multicast.

Then no need to think further. Don't change to Plug & Play. Continue using your Astro IPTV Multicast until the day it die itself. Enjoy it while you still can.
In the meantime, they might use scare tactics on you (e.g. saying that Astro IPTV will stop working soon).

- Switching Channel slower
- After switch channel picture quality gradually change to high quality video
- use/share my internet bandwidth
- found out some of channel / radio missing

If Astro IPTV (Multicast service) really died someday, yet you don't want the above scenarios happen on you, then the closest alternative is go for satellite mode (uses Astro dish).
If you cannot or don't like to use Astro dish for some reasons, then sorry to say, it's either Astro Plug & Play or no Astro at all.
joshhd
post Aug 25 2022, 12:52 PM

7,789 posts

QUOTE(hedwigx @ Aug 25 2022, 11:44 AM)
Thank you for your suggestion, Astro Multicast with dish not acceptable for Malaysia weather.
The only reason im subscribing Astro because of IPTV Multicast, most reliable and stable, no service disruption faced during rainfall, smooth & swift watching experience.

Too bad if Astro really terminate IPTV multicast service and losing user like me.

For your info, Astro's Plug & Play is equivalent to Unicast technology. It doesn't use dedicated VLAN 823 Multicast like Astro IPTV, and it uses your existing Internet bandwidth to stream Astro channels, just like how you use your Internet connection to stream Netflix.

About the rain fade issue, both Ulti and Ultra Box has this feature which they called it Continuous Viewing. This feature is only available for Astro satellite dish users.
When your Astro box is under Satellite mode, and there's heavy rain outside, this message will appear (as shown on pic above)
Once you press OK, it will try to buffer/load the particular TV channel via Internet streaming. The picture quality you see now, will be the same as what you see on Plug & Play.
At least, you can still continue watching your programme when it rains...

When there's still heavy rain outside, everytime you tune to other channels, this message will prompt again and again, until the weather is clear; until it's able to get satellite signal again.

Otherwise, if you don't want such thing as rain fade ever happens on you, then go for the full Plug & Play, but you know la what are the downsides of it, which you've mentioned on your previous posts.
Unlike Astro IPTV Multicast, but Astro's Plug & Play is prone to network congestion. So if your TV viewing will be affected if either your Internet connection or Astro CDN servers is screwed up.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Aug 25 2022, 12:55 PM
joshhd
post Oct 4 2022, 02:20 PM

7,789 posts

This Is The New Astro Fibre RG21 Mesh Wi-Fi 6 Router
https://www.lowyat.net/2022/285999/astro-fi...h-wifi6-router/
Starting this month, newly registered Astro Fibre customers will be provided with a self-branded router called the RG21. The new device is taking over the role of the Huawei OptiXstar K562e as the service’s default router moving forward.

joshhd
post Oct 30 2022, 09:16 AM

7,789 posts

QUOTE(seikoho1 @ Oct 30 2022, 03:52 AM)
Can I cancel Astro but remain the broadband after contract ends?

Can.
Make sure you call customer service to inform that you wish to do so at least 30 days before your contract ends.
joshhd
post Oct 30 2022, 11:38 PM

7,789 posts

QUOTE(seikoho1 @ Oct 30 2022, 08:11 PM)
Huh if no what will happen?

If you're already on the new Astro pack, the contract will automatically renew/extend itself once the existing contract ends.
Example: Your Astro (TV subscription) contract ends on Nov 2024. You'll receive SMS about 1 month before contract expiry date, to remind you that contract will auto renew on the next month.
If you do nothing, then your contract will automatically extend itself afterwards, hence the contract end date now would automatically become Nov 2026.

However, if you are on Astro's legacy packs, then you don't need to worry about contract auto renewal. If there's remaining contract, then it will end as it is, and that's it.
Check your Astro bill if you're not sure whether you're on legacy or new Astro pack, or you can tell us what Astro package you're on now?

On the other hand, for the broadband service itself however, the 24 month contract will end as is, and it won't auto renew, unless if you make major changes to your Internet service (upgrade speed, relocation...) then it's different story la...
QUOTE(alucard89 @ Oct 30 2022, 10:49 PM)
If subscribe to astro + fiber can still retain PVR box we have?

Short answer: Yes, but...

Long answer:
1) If you want to bundle your Astro account (TV + Internet), then you must switch to the new packs (if you haven't) and you cannot retain your legacy Astro packs.
Plus, if you insist to retain your PVR box, then you cannot choose packages that includes Netflix, which are Entertainment Plus, Movies Plus, Sports Plus, Premium Pack 2/3, Platinum Pack.
Which means your only option left to choose Astro's new packs are: Primary, Entertainment, Sports, Movies, Premium Pack 1.

2) If you insist to retain your legacy Astro pack, then your only option left is to subscribe to the standalone Astro Fibre. Hence, your existing Astro (TV subscription) are left untouched as it is.
Which means technically, you will be getting separate Astro accounts/bills, one is for standalone Astro (TV), another is standalone Astro Fibre (internet only).
joshhd
post Nov 1 2022, 10:51 PM

7,789 posts

QUOTE(uGinn @ Oct 31 2022, 10:48 PM)
Hi, I'm looking to swap over from Unifi 500mbps that I'm paying RM219 for, to an Astro TV Package + 800mbps Fibre package because of the price is way cheaper and TM don't want to give me a better deal on 800mbps despite being with them for 20 years+. Current astro package is Super Pack Plus 3 which I'm currently paying RM194 , is it a legacy package? and can I just subscribe to a 800mbps fibre plan on top of my current plan or do I need to choose an entirely new whole package itself? Any advice would be helpful, thanks.

edit: nvm I got my answer above, just gotta read lmao

But anyway, anyone got any experiences with astro broadband itself? Hard to find any since theres not even an official thread for this.

Current astro package is Super Pack Plus 3 which I'm currently paying RM194 , is it a legacy package?
Yes. It is a legacy pack.

and can I just subscribe to a 800mbps fibre plan on top of my current plan or do I need to choose an entirely new whole package itself?
If it's on top of your current Super Pack 3 Plus, then nope, you cannot.
Unless if you give up your Super Pack 3 Plus, and then switch to the new Astro packs.
Just a reminder that if you choose the 12/24-month contract option, the contract will be auto-renewal basis (just for the TV subscription itself).

Otherwise, you may opt for standalone Astro Fibre service, then your existing Astro's Super Pack 3 Plus can be left untouched.
And that might mean, you'll be getting 2 separate Astro bills, one for TV, another for Internet, rather than 2-in-1 bill.

But anyway, anyone got any experiences with astro broadband itself? Hard to find any since theres not even an official thread for this.
Not me.
But what I want to remind you is, Astro Fibre currently does not have VoIP service (house phone), and does not offer Public IP; only offers Private IP.
If your needs requires either of the 2, then you might want to reconsider your options.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Nov 1 2022, 10:54 PM
joshhd
post Nov 2 2022, 09:41 PM

7,789 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Nov 2 2022, 04:19 PM)
No public ip ya? I thought since they’re using maxis we can just request for it
QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Nov 2 2022, 06:20 PM)
Not to sure on that as you are not dealing with Maxis directly but subscribing through Astro

That one is Astro & Broadband.
Astro & Broadband versus Astro Fibre are 2 different things.

Astro & Broadband commonly known for providing you Maxis Internet + Astro TV subscription in one Astro bill.
And you'll be getting Maxis Fibre router, and also using Maxis VLAN ID of 621.
If you do speedtest or check the IP address, you'll see that your ISP is under Maxis.
If you want Public IP, you call Astro customer service, then Astro escalates your request to Maxis.

Astro Fibre however, is Astro's own Internet service, and does not rely on Maxis at all.
You'll be getting Astro branded router, and it uses Astro's own VLAN ID, not Maxis VLAN 621.
If you do speedtest or check the IP address, you'll see that your ISP is under Astro Fibre.
If you ask for Public IP or VoIP, then they can only say sorry to you.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Nov 2 2022, 09:44 PM
joshhd
post Nov 26 2022, 01:05 PM

7,789 posts

QUOTE(Feliex @ Nov 26 2022, 10:07 AM)
Josh, is 500MB package got public IP ?

As what I know, public IP is available upon request if you're on Astro & Broadband (Maxis), regardless of speed.

But for Astro Fibre however, they don't offer Public IP at all.
joshhd
post Dec 28 2022, 11:17 PM

7,789 posts

QUOTE(skywitch @ Dec 28 2022, 08:38 PM)
I asked Astro thru their Facebook page and also email support.
It can't use 3rd party router with Astro Fibre, must use given router.

This stops me switch to Astro Fibre because already have my own WiFi 6 router

Technically you can use 3rd party router with Astro Fibre, provided if you know how to configure it yourself and obtain the PPPoE username and password from them.
Imagine what will happen if they say "Yes, you can use 3rd party router with Astro Fibre..."?
The next questions is going to be "How to set it up? Can you send someone to come and set up for me?".

Obviously they're not gonna guide you on how to configure a router that doesn't belongs of them, just like any other ISP... So, they might as well make things simple and say "nope, you must use the provided router.". sweat.gif
joshhd
post Dec 30 2022, 10:54 PM

7,789 posts

QUOTE(d4n3sh @ Dec 30 2022, 10:49 PM)
I managed to get it working on my TP-Link AX55 router biggrin.gif. Setup same as other Unifi routers, change the VLAN to 630, and the connection is ppeo.

So how's your overall experience with Astro Fibre so far?
joshhd
post Jan 29 2023, 01:01 AM

7,789 posts

QUOTE(badminto @ Jan 28 2023, 08:54 PM)
How you find the user and password for PPPoE in astro fibre?

You can obtain the PPPoE credentials from the customer service.
joshhd
post Aug 7 2023, 06:14 PM

7,789 posts

QUOTE(maserati @ Aug 7 2023, 12:37 PM)
Tried this on my Asus router, doesn't work. I've assigned VLAN ID 630 to internet. Wonder what else is missing.

How about the username and password? Did you get it through customer service?

0.0259sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:57 PM