44 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

[2020] MacBook Pro with M1 Discussion Thread

Ryou
post Nov 19 2020, 08:23 AM

866 posts

Any idea when will Malaysia's Apple ship their new M1 chips?
Mavik
post Nov 20 2020, 09:19 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Ryou @ Nov 19 2020, 08:23 AM)
Any idea when will Malaysia's Apple ship their new M1 chips?
No idea, all the shop's FB page (e.g. Machines, Mac City) all had a post says coming soon.
saiga
post Nov 22 2020, 08:29 AM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

Initially want to get hp envy 13 but after seeing all the review might as well topup a "bit" and get M1 macbook air instead.

Microsoft productivity software is avaliable right? It's been a long time since I last use Mac. That time use boot camp to load up windows. So not sure what is the current scenarios.

Do I need to have something like boot camp or does the software (office) natively available?

kevinpss
post Nov 22 2020, 10:57 AM

497 posts

QUOTE(saiga @ Nov 22 2020, 08:29 AM)
Initially want to get hp envy 13 but after seeing all the review might as well topup a "bit" and get M1 macbook air instead.

Microsoft productivity software is avaliable right? It's been a long time since I last use Mac. That time use boot camp to load up windows. So not sure what is the current scenarios.

Do I need to have something like boot camp or does the software (office) natively available?
Microsoft 365 is available as in native app....but you need to pay lah.

update:

this is the new video on Microsoft Office Suite --> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cKl4_4fBp7I

This post has been edited by kevinpss: Nov 22 2020, 01:10 PM
TSwestlife
post Nov 22 2020, 11:11 AM

14,312 posts

time to throw Intel's shares. tongue.gif

edmund_yung
post Nov 22 2020, 03:27 PM

1,198 posts

I hope there's a 12" Macbook with Apple M1 and chiclet keyboard. Make a lot of sense using the M1 in the tiny chassis.
saiga
post Nov 22 2020, 03:58 PM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(kevinpss @ Nov 22 2020, 10:57 AM)
Microsoft 365 is available as in native app....but you need to pay lah.

update:

this is the new video on Microsoft Office Suite --> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cKl4_4fBp7I
Nice! Thanks for sharing.
TSwestlife
post Nov 22 2020, 04:21 PM

14,312 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Nov 22 2020, 03:27 PM)
I hope there's a 12" Macbook with Apple M1 and chiclet keyboard. Make a lot of sense using the M1 in the tiny chassis.
looks like apple has no such plan.

i always think that 12", 14" and 16" will make the complete line-up for different needs.

i always find having same size macbook air and pro are totally redundant. tongue.gif
especially now both models are using same chips and the gaps are rather small...
engseng
post Nov 22 2020, 06:16 PM

1,981 posts

Are there any issues with running the x86 software on emulation on the M1 laptops? Or we have to wait until the native M1 apps are available?

This post has been edited by engseng: Nov 22 2020, 06:17 PM
bangolufsen
post Nov 23 2020, 10:25 AM

248 posts

QUOTE(engseng @ Nov 22 2020, 06:16 PM)
Are there any issues with running the x86 software on emulation on the M1 laptops? Or we have to wait until the native M1 apps are available?
What I have seen so far regarding x86 emulation:

- Rosetta 2, runs x86 mac software, so far seems quite good.
- Crossover, suppose to run windows x86 software, not sure how good it is
- Parallels running Debian 10 (Linux), was shown briefly during wwdc 2020
- Steam game not being able to play, people trying to play steam games but getting error
NubPro
post Nov 24 2020, 03:40 AM

397 posts

Jeng jeng jeng, its coming boys!

Mac mini not yet.
stgian211
post Nov 24 2020, 10:15 AM

QUOTE(NubPro @ Nov 24 2020, 03:40 AM)

Mac mini not yet.
how long after approval does it get to store shelves? Do you have any estimates? I need to get one before December and I am almost considering getting another laptop (very urgent)

This post has been edited by stgian211: Nov 24 2020, 10:18 AM
PoisonSoul
post Nov 24 2020, 10:23 AM

1,841 posts

QUOTE(stgian211 @ Nov 24 2020, 10:15 AM)
how long after SIRIM approval does it get to store shelves? Do you have  any estimates? I need to get one before December and I am almost considering getting another laptop (very urgent)
Sometimes, approved already doesn't mean that Apple would be eager to sell it. For example, iPhone 12, they approved 1 day before announcement day but ended up retracted the SIRIM approval and then, waited for almost a month to start selling here.

So the line is pretty vague on when they will start selling.

But of course, let's estimate a date. Leakers said that Apple have something planned for the holidays = December/Christmas which means they might do a press release announcement on the 7 8 or 9th December and release their new stuff on the next week's Friday. Sometimes, Apple love to put their pre-orders together with other products in other countries so I'm guessing around 6th or 12th Dec for pre-order and the following week to be in stores.
stgian211
post Nov 24 2020, 10:25 AM

QUOTE(PoisonSoul @ Nov 24 2020, 10:23 AM)
Sometimes, approved already doesn't mean that Apple would be eager to sell it. For example, iPhone 12, they approved 1 day before announcement day but ended up retracted the SIRIM approval and then, waited for almost a month to start selling here.

So the line is pretty vague on when they will start selling.

But of course, let's estimate a date. Leakers said that Apple have something planned for the holidays = December/Christmas which means they might do a press release announcement on the 7 8 or 9th December and release their new stuff on the next week's Friday. Sometimes, Apple love to put their pre-orders together with other products in other countries so I'm guessing around 6th or 12th Dec for pre-order and the following week to be in stores.
Aite. thanks bro.. seems like I might have to go with another laptop sad.gif man I really wanted that performance
apowerfulskill
post Nov 24 2020, 10:44 AM

253 posts

Mac mini not yet.
Wahhh thanks for sharing and giving us hope. drool.gif
Freestyling
post Nov 24 2020, 01:56 PM

22 posts

Mac mini not yet.
sad, i am waiting for the mac mini, selling my PC!

mind to share which link can check this? want to monitor myself biggrin.gif thumbup.gif
NubPro
post Nov 24 2020, 02:15 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(Freestyling @ Nov 24 2020, 01:56 PM)
sad, i am waiting for the mac mini, selling my PC!

mind to share which link can check this? want to monitor myself biggrin.gif thumbup.gif
Here you go
https://ecomm.sirim.my/sirimenquiry/search_model.aspx

I'm actually building an app that can notify a user whenever a new product is approved by SIRIM.
If anybody wants to try out first hand, lemme know biggrin.gif
Freestyling
post Nov 24 2020, 07:09 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(NubPro @ Nov 24 2020, 02:15 PM)
Here you go
https://ecomm.sirim.my/sirimenquiry/search_model.aspx

I'm actually building an app that can notify a user whenever a new product is approved by SIRIM.
If anybody wants to try out first hand, lemme know biggrin.gif
Thanks alot!
Mavik
post Nov 24 2020, 08:24 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Nov 22 2020, 03:27 PM)
They would ask you to please get the iPad Pro 12.9" instead tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
rae0724
post Nov 24 2020, 10:03 PM

684 posts

should i change mine?
my macbook still new TT
2.3 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i5, 16gb memory
but now the M1 so attractive and make my macbook not so worth to sell 2nd hand

44 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0418sec    1.07    6 queries    GZIP Disabled