Mavik
post Nov 20 2020, 09:19 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Ryou @ Nov 19 2020, 08:23 AM)
Any idea when will Malaysia's Apple ship their new M1 chips?
No idea, all the shop's FB page (e.g. Machines, Mac City) all had a post says coming soon.
Mavik
post Nov 24 2020, 08:24 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Nov 22 2020, 03:27 PM)
I hope there's a 12" Macbook with Apple M1 and chiclet keyboard. Make a lot of sense using the M1 in the tiny chassis.
They would ask you to please get the iPad Pro 12.9" instead tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
Mavik
post Nov 27 2020, 09:26 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Still in a dilemma, not too sure to get the Macbook Pro M1 or the Macbook Air M1. Tend to favour towards the MBP with the active cooling but logically the laptop would be used mostly for standard productivity stuff so logically I should stick with the MBA M1.
Mavik
post Nov 27 2020, 11:10 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Ziet Inv @ Nov 27 2020, 09:38 PM)
If 1 thing I've learnt from my MacBook Air 13" (2020), although not comparable to M1 chip, is to always budget for 3-5 years down the road punya performance requirement.

Initially bought my MBA where I thought I will be editing 1 video a month, end up editing like 3 videos weekly + lots of work requiring 8-10 safari tabs for my research and content creation purpose.

I'd rather fork out extra money for that extra fan and core to compensate for that extra bit of longevity (who knows future MacOS is more demanding since their chips are so powerful right now)
Yes, that is my thinking as well. Its meant to replace a 2011 MBA which I currently have and use. Just that most of the usage on it is mostly office productivity work and I have a desktop rig to do most of the heavy lifting stuff.
Mavik
post Dec 2 2020, 03:16 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(GenDevil @ Dec 2 2020, 03:05 PM)
you are right, Thai also release already. whoever is the Malaysia or main distributor that supply to Malaysia really cause us slow release every time. vmad.gif
Hence why a lot of businesses tend to setup shop in Singapore and even Thailand. A lot easier to do business there. Over here, too many clauses for foreign companies to setup shop.
Mavik
post Dec 2 2020, 03:32 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(stevenryl86 @ Dec 2 2020, 03:23 PM)
You sure bo? What clauses?
100% foreign ownership
Mavik
post Dec 28 2020, 07:05 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(leonnlooi @ Dec 27 2020, 01:28 AM)

Today walk in into switch and purchase MBP m1

after few hour yt, fb, coding the battery only consume 10+ %

rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Did you get the base model or did you get the 512Gb model?
Mavik
post Jan 6 2021, 04:26 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(lzerol @ Jan 6 2021, 04:14 PM)
Damn, these info came at the right time.

i was struggling on deciding 8GB RAM or 16GB RAM as well. I am planning to edit some FHD videos using Final Cut Pro.
Seem like 8GB will  be just fine.
Unless you are rushing for deadlines to edit and export your videos, waiting that extra few minutes doesn't really hurt. 8Gb unified memory is more than enough. That being said, I was quite kiasu so I went and purchased 16Gb instead, and this is with the known reason of wanting to use it for browsing, minor photo editing and light video editing LOL
Mavik
post Jan 10 2021, 02:54 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(nate_nightroad @ Jan 8 2021, 10:10 PM)
quick question guys, i went to an apple store earlier to try the new M1… I couldnt find gmail app in the app store, feels like the entire google suite (calendar, photo, etc) apps for ipad couldnt be found or install on the M1…

am i missing something or google do not enable ipad/ios apps on big sur?
When you were searching for the apps on the App Store, did you select the iOS specific tab which shows the iPhone and iPad apps?
Mavik
post Jan 22 2021, 02:35 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Finally received my MBP M1 yesterday (work unit). Base model but feels great.
Mavik
post Jan 26 2021, 06:47 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(TrustULoveU @ Jan 26 2021, 05:57 PM)
guys, overall M1 or intel better? i scared if pick M1, some of my compilers or apps does not support.. + external monitor it only supports 1
Depends on the compiler apps that you wish to use. No better or worse, it all depends on software support in your case. Since your criteria are those compiler apps and the need to support multiple monitors, then the question is rather moot.
Mavik
post Jan 29 2021, 10:29 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Ashroft98 @ Jan 29 2021, 07:01 PM)
Hi guys, just want to quickly ask how long does it take for Apple to fully ship a customized m1 mbp starting from order placed to delivery?

I’ve placed my order on 24th jan and till today 5 days later the status still shows “Processing”. My actual eta is on 8th - 16th of Feb. First time buying on apple MY website, felt a lil nervous.

Tq ya
Give it about a month, that's my expectation after I ordered mine via Switch. They told me to wait a month or two.
Mavik
post Jan 30 2021, 09:55 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Ashroft98 @ Jan 30 2021, 09:14 AM)
Thats quite late even for a local reseller. Let see how it goes when its shipped from China. Thanks.
That is because I customised my MBA M1 (16Gb and 512Gb SSD) and didn't get any of the base spec models which they had stock for. Hence they couldn't promise the exact time it would take. I ordered mine on the 5th of Jan, will follow up with them next week. Not in any hurry as I recently received a MBP M1 at work as well so still get to play with one.
Mavik
post Feb 2 2021, 11:13 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Woah thanks for bringing this up! I have been using PD with my Satechi USB-C hub all this while as well as the UGreen one! So far so good on my MBP M1

Edit: Found this list of known hubs
https://medium.com/andrew-boro/list-of-hubs...m1-3bacf8c1469d

This post has been edited by Mavik: Feb 2 2021, 11:15 AM
Mavik
post Feb 6 2021, 08:41 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Man, those short shipping dates, that should be the way instead of waiting a month or more for it haha! Ordered mine on 5th Jan and still waiting
Mavik
post Feb 7 2021, 02:54 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 6 2021, 01:05 PM)
MacBooks much higher in demand it seems. Mac mini must be a lot lower. Even CTO was fast.
yes, that is definitely a possibility. Perhaps for every 10 MBA/MBP orders, they get 1 Mac Mini order.
Mavik
post Feb 9 2021, 03:37 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(rickyro @ Feb 9 2021, 03:28 PM)
wa... my MBP even with just chrome + edge + spotify installed, also running at 7GB RAM already, even with those apps closed... i am guessing it is quite normal right since the RAM no need to quit anything ever since booting up
MacOS runs a little differently compared to windows. It will maximise all available RAM you have when you have stuff running.
Mavik
post Feb 13 2021, 02:40 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Feb 11 2021, 10:12 PM)
How long can last after a full recharge?

What apps you open?
Brightness at which setting?
If it is just office productivity work with no video calls or Google Meet calls, my Macbook Pro M1 can last the whole time I am at the office with 10% battery left

Mavik
post Feb 14 2021, 09:50 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Has anyone seen any USB-C to DisplayPort 1.4 locally? I want to enjoy the full 144Hz refresh rate of my ultrawide monitor with the Macbook pro.
Mavik
post Feb 14 2021, 03:02 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Feb 14 2021, 01:55 PM)
Buy online sure can find lots of options... Better go Thunderbolt instead of USB-C no...?

I'm trying to find Thunderbolt dock with HDMI port. Apple's solution is too expensive for just HDMI solution...
I managed to borrow a UGreen USB-C to DisplayPort 1.4 cable, the reason why this is because I want to get 144hz refresh rate on my Xiaomi 34" ultrawide monitor. All of my existing hubs HDMI connection didn't let me achieve it (most I gotten was 60Hz).

0.0485sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:29 AM