[2020] MacBook Pro with M1 Discussion Thread
soitsuagain
Nov 16 2020, 08:44 AM
QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 14 2020, 08:45 PM) 14" macbook pro? maybe. better wait for mini-LED one to be out. my current macbook pro 2017 is going strong except the display is having issue but i am using with external dell monitor now. Have you tried calling Apple support? Tell them how you baby your macbook but still ended up having display issues. Might get replaced at no cost.
Ziet Inv
Nov 16 2020, 12:42 PM
Any idea when will it be available for delivery in Malaysia?
TSwestlife
Nov 16 2020, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Nov 16 2020, 08:44 AM) Have you tried calling Apple support? Tell them how you baby your macbook but still ended up having display issues. Might get replaced at no cost. already sent in to apple for checking. but they said the problem is not covered under any free repair programme. i need to pay to fix the problem myself...
Harddisk
Nov 17 2020, 12:31 AM
QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 16 2020, 05:19 PM) already sent in to apple for checking. but they said the problem is not covered under any free repair programme. i need to pay to fix the problem myself...  Was that the issue with the display ribbon cable. I think I've heard about it some years back and it was common on MacBook during that year, unfortunately.
TSwestlife
Nov 17 2020, 01:11 AM
QUOTE(Harddisk @ Nov 17 2020, 12:31 AM) Was that the issue with the display ribbon cable. I think I've heard about it some years back and it was common on MacBook during that year, unfortunately. not sure. apple's solution is to change the display, need to pay for labour charge too... it is not cheap either. becos my macbook pro battery is bloated. if want to repair the display, must change battery first else they won't carry out the work. therefore i buy a sgd220 dell 24" full HD monitor to use instead as the cost of repairing the display, is close to buying a new one already. i hardly bring out my macbook pro, so it is still not too bad. This post has been edited by westlife: Nov 17 2020, 01:16 AM
Harddisk
Nov 17 2020, 04:54 PM
QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 17 2020, 01:11 AM) not sure. apple's solution is to change the display, need to pay for labour charge too... it is not cheap either. becos my macbook pro battery is bloated. if want to repair the display, must change battery first else they won't carry out the work. therefore i buy a sgd220 dell 24" full HD monitor to use instead as the cost of repairing the display, is close to buying a new one already. i hardly bring out my macbook pro, so it is still not too bad.  SGD? Ouch... Since you don't bring out often, meaning you don't open/close the lid much as well? It was called "flexgate" and the display ribbon cable failed prematurely. Macbook from 2016 to 2018, yours fall within these years. And crappy that they don't replace it under manufacturer's defect. Did you try writing directly to Apple? I managed to replace my battery once out of warranty, at 26th month old. Apple has an "undisclosed battery warranty" for up to 3 years, if I'm not mistaken.
TSwestlife
Nov 17 2020, 06:38 PM
QUOTE(Harddisk @ Nov 17 2020, 04:54 PM) SGD? Ouch... Since you don't bring out often, meaning you don't open/close the lid much as well? It was called "flexgate" and the display ribbon cable failed prematurely. Macbook from 2016 to 2018, yours fall within these years. And crappy that they don't replace it under manufacturer's defect. Did you try writing directly to Apple? I managed to replace my battery once out of warranty, at 26th month old. Apple has an "undisclosed battery warranty" for up to 3 years, if I'm not mistaken. yes. SGD. they did not acknowledge that it is a manufacturer defects for my 2017 model. There is existing free repair programme for 2016 model. you are rite, one year i bring my laptop out less than 10 times. so my laptop is always in the same stage that the lid is opened. I was speaking to apple directly. I brought my macbook pro to apple orchard. battery i managed to get it replaced once for free becos it was bloated. this round they did not repair for free becos of the repair of the display i supposed. but i dod believe, if I wait until my macbook pro battery to bloat until the stage like last time which I could not even close the lid fully, they will still replace it for free. i dun think they would rather replace it for free instead of seeing case where there is incident happened for their product due to bloated battery. haha. This post has been edited by westlife: Nov 17 2020, 06:38 PM
spacerx
Nov 17 2020, 08:53 PM
Already have few reviews on youtube. But i think mostly from japan https://youtu.be/edLpWboWQjY
RiriRuruRara
Nov 17 2020, 10:59 PM
Guys wta, websites are not listed as apps and should not be a problem being used in the new M1 macbooks right??? Example share market websites, should be working perfectly on the new Macs ???
kevinpss
Nov 17 2020, 11:39 PM
QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Nov 17 2020, 10:59 PM) Guys wta, websites are not listed as apps and should not be a problem being used in the new M1 macbooks right??? Example share market websites, should be working perfectly on the new Macs ??? you can test your website with iPad/iPhone. If your iPad safari can open, meaning the MacBook can open. Hope this helps. This post has been edited by kevinpss: Nov 18 2020, 12:16 PM
mikiejones
Nov 18 2020, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(EricYong! @ Nov 12 2020, 08:55 PM) Should i get the M1 MBP 13 inch or the one with intel chip? I worried that this first gen M1 MBP will have issues :/ Depends on what you are doing with your Mac. If you do e-mail, Safari browser and word processing work, the new one is good. But don't buy it if you are doing video editing and Adobe work. It's slower than their older brothers. Thanks.
Ziet Inv
Nov 18 2020, 01:15 AM
Blown away by the reviews!
stargazhe
Nov 18 2020, 09:26 AM

QUOTE(mikiejones @ Nov 18 2020, 12:14 AM) Depends on what you are doing with your Mac. If you do e-mail, Safari browser and word processing work, the new one is good. But don't buy it if you are doing video editing and Adobe work. It's slower than their older brothers. Thanks.  Are you sure about that?
chiahau
Nov 18 2020, 09:52 AM
I am really tempted to move to the new M1s from my 2016 15s.
But waiting for the newer MBPs to see what's the future lies for the entire lineup.
Harddisk
Nov 18 2020, 10:15 AM
QUOTE(chiahau @ Nov 18 2020, 09:52 AM) I am really tempted to move to the new M1s from my 2016 15s. But waiting for the newer MBPs to see what's the future lies for the entire lineup. Isn't this the already "newer" MBPs?
chiahau
Nov 18 2020, 11:16 AM
QUOTE(Harddisk @ Nov 18 2020, 10:15 AM) Isn't this the already "newer" MBPs? 16 MBP with M1 chips ain't out yet
Susuwatari
Nov 18 2020, 11:48 AM
Your case is very similar to my 12" MacBook, used only like 10-20 times a year but the display started to show discolouration. Apple refused to fix it for free and if I take it out to repair, it will cost around rm 3k. I might as well just get a new MBA with that.
mikiejones
Nov 18 2020, 02:14 PM
QUOTE(stargazhe @ Nov 18 2020, 09:26 AM) Are you sure about that?  YouTube video showing the test results of video editingCheck this video out. This is where I got the info. All native Mac apps work just fine. Just those of third party apps that require more work to get them translated to the M1 chip.
TSwestlife
Nov 18 2020, 09:37 PM
QUOTE(mikiejones @ Nov 18 2020, 12:14 AM) Depends on what you are doing with your Mac. If you do e-mail, Safari browser and word processing work, the new one is good. But don't buy it if you are doing video editing and Adobe work. It's slower than their older brothers. Thanks.  totally not correct. you must not have watched any reviews yet. all the youtubers are mind blown by the new macs with M1.