[2020] MacBook Pro with M1 Discussion Thread

engseng
post Nov 22 2020, 06:16 PM

1,981 posts

Are there any issues with running the x86 software on emulation on the M1 laptops? Or we have to wait until the native M1 apps are available?

This post has been edited by engseng: Nov 22 2020, 06:17 PM
engseng
post Feb 26 2021, 01:47 PM

1,981 posts

Sounds like you all are very happy with your M1 Macbook Pro?
engseng
post Mar 1 2021, 12:25 PM

1,981 posts

Want to ask how is the software support now? Need to run many applications with Rosetta? Not many native M1 apps yet?
engseng
post Apr 25 2021, 12:25 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(williamlee_1985 @ Apr 13 2021, 03:34 PM)
I'm also using 2012 MBP. Kinda laggy already for now, any idea when will M1X released?
How is your battery able to last for so long?
engseng
post Apr 25 2021, 12:28 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Apr 17 2021, 06:40 PM)
Actually the current Win 10 ARM can emulate x86 and x86_64. Previous versions could only do 32-bit. So 64-bit Windows Intel apps are good to go but emulated.

But Parallels M1 has a limitation that it'll only do 64-bit Windows apps, 32-bit tak boleh.

The last problem is that Win 10 ARM is not actually available for purchase but it can be activated with a normal Win 10 key.
Actually that is what thing I wanted to know. With the M1 chip is the Macbook able to run the x86 virtual machines and Docker images without any issues? If I am not mistaken, QEMU is used for virtualisation on macOS.
engseng
post Apr 25 2021, 04:24 PM

1,981 posts

I am also curious to know if the 2021 MacBook Pros are going to be available in different colours like the iMac.
engseng
post Oct 13 2021, 09:25 PM

1,981 posts

'Unleashed' Apple Event announced for 18 October.

This post has been edited by engseng: Oct 13 2021, 09:29 PM

0.0380sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:25 AM