128 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

[2020] MacBook Air with M1 Discussion Thread

wenhow888 P
post Jan 23 2021, 02:40 PM

Probation

hi, im an old lowyat forumer but last login was years ago, hence i lost my previous account.

anyway im leaving a footprint here, i just ordered my MBA M1 chips mainly for reading + research writing + a little bit of SPSS.

i ordered from SengHeng, anyone has experience with SengHeng?

Mavik
post Jan 23 2021, 03:42 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(iamedryann @ Jan 21 2021, 08:15 AM)
Hi any traders here can help me with running mt4 on the new M1 cpu? I tried to install the one from XM and felt heat coming from the laptop, when I checked, the CPU was utilizing at 98% and nothing was on the screen. Anyone had similar problem? I read somewhere might need to wait for macos 11.2 or install the current 11.2 beta to run it properly. Betul ke?
I see a Forex trader here in the midst. Anyway I agree with @eikozai get the one from the iOS/iPadOS store instead. Its built to run on Apple Silicon.
brokenbomb
post Jan 23 2021, 07:49 PM

1,269 posts

QUOTE(wenhow888 @ Jan 23 2021, 02:40 PM)
hi, im an old lowyat forumer but last login was years ago, hence i lost my previous account.

anyway im leaving a footprint here, i just ordered my MBA M1 chips mainly for reading + research writing + a little bit of SPSS.

Haha just left senq. They bundled their MBA base model with extra warranties worth RM550. Have to skip the purchase and order through apple education. But have to wait until early feb.

But if you bought it at RRP and as a plusone member, the extra warranty is worth it.
wenhow888 P
post Jan 23 2021, 08:03 PM

Probation

QUOTE(brokenbomb @ Jan 23 2021, 07:49 PM)
Haha just left senq. They bundled their MBA base model with extra warranties worth RM550. Have to skip the purchase and order through apple education. But have to wait until early feb.

But if you bought it at RRP and as a plusone member, the extra warranty is worth it.
Seng Heng website showed ETA 30 Jan. I hope it's not too late.
coklatua
post Jan 23 2021, 11:10 PM

887 posts

The speakers is very good.
The sound stage is something.
Definitely can hear the sound moving from one side to the other.
Really nice.
shinchan5347
post Jan 24 2021, 03:45 PM

1,675 posts

Planning to order MBA Space grey and the eta states around 2-3 weeks.. does the eta date is trusted?
PrinceJoe
post Jan 24 2021, 05:38 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(brokenbomb @ Jan 23 2021, 07:49 PM)

I went to senq oso, their price a bit cheaper than rrp, maybe after voucher or something not sure. PlusOne got 1 year extra warranty. Plus can do installment.
fuze
post Jan 24 2021, 07:19 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(wenhow888 @ Jan 23 2021, 02:40 PM)

side

Side track a little bit.. SPSS? Have you tried using Jamovi?
fuze
post Jan 24 2021, 07:20 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(shinchan5347 @ Jan 24 2021, 03:45 PM)
Planning to order MBA Space grey and the eta states around 2-3 weeks.. does the eta date is trusted?
The ETA can be trusted. It'll drive you crazy while waiting but it'll be worth it.

Also to note that they usually arrive earlier than expected.
wenhow888 P
post Jan 24 2021, 08:31 PM

Probation

QUOTE(fuze @ Jan 24 2021, 07:19 PM)
side

Side track a little bit.. SPSS? Have you tried using Jamovi?
Nope, I'm familiar with SPSS.
waghyu
post Jan 24 2021, 10:35 PM

3,389 posts

M1, one of the best hype

waghyu
post Jan 24 2021, 10:40 PM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(iamedryann @ Jan 21 2021, 08:15 AM)
Hi any traders here can help me with running mt4 on the new M1 cpu? I tried to install the one from XM and felt heat coming from the laptop, when I checked, the CPU was utilizing at 98% and nothing was on the screen. Anyone had similar problem? I read somewhere might need to wait for macos 11.2 or install the current 11.2 beta to run it properly. Betul ke?
Surface Pro 7 is the best tool to run MT4 / MT5

M1 do have problem with power utilization / process. I have 2 M1 Macbook Air
XyLaNex
post Jan 24 2021, 10:43 PM

107 posts

The vendors and manufacturers are not updated with RC specs yet
shinchan5347
post Jan 25 2021, 08:33 PM

1,675 posts

QUOTE(fuze @ Jan 24 2021, 07:20 PM)
The ETA can be trusted. It'll drive you crazy while waiting but it'll be worth it.

Also to note that they usually arrive earlier than expected.
Woah nice!
xbox360ps3
post Jan 26 2021, 03:16 PM

326 posts

I made purchased MBA on Apple store online on Friday 22, but until today 26 credit card still in pending mode. Is this normal?

Its tough to see status still "processing" and to see expected delivery 10/2 to 18/2.
fuze
post Jan 26 2021, 04:19 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(xbox360ps3 @ Jan 26 2021, 03:16 PM)
I made purchased MBA on Apple store online on Friday 22, but until today 26 credit card still in pending mode. Is this normal?

Its tough to see status still "processing" and to see expected delivery 10/2 to 18/2.
Your card will only be charged when it's shipping. The moment it changed to 'Shipped' you can check your credit card.
casualscroller P
post Jan 26 2021, 07:21 PM

Probation

QUOTE(coklatua @ Jan 21 2021, 05:28 PM)
Me too have problem outputing the displays to my 4K 60hz TV.
Im using USB C hub that can support 4K at 60Hz.
But my MBA can display 4K 30hz only to my tv.
I found this

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/252168947

Apparently the latest Big Sur have this problem. Apple known the issues. Lets hope it will be fix in the next updates.
Interesting. I ended up taking my lenovo thunderbolt 3 dock home from work. Connected it to my mba via usb-c, and displayport from dock to monitor. It now outputs the correct resolution - 2560x1440.

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jan 22 2021, 02:34 PM)
Yes, I am using a USB-C dongle to connect my MBP M1 to a Dell 27" external monitor at 1920x1080 resolution. Connected via HDMI cable.
Hmm your dell 27" native resolution is only 1920x1080?
Jdite
post Jan 26 2021, 08:15 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(shinchan5347 @ Jan 25 2021, 08:33 PM)
Woah nice!
Haha i ordered for 1 week already still ‘processing’
GrimmReaper
post Jan 26 2021, 09:46 PM

209 posts

Anyone else have this problem with their Macbook air case? The case corners at the hinge are cracked and broken.
Bought a no name brand, but now want to buy replacement, they all look the same to me. Will new ones crack too?

user posted imageuser posted image
apowerfulskill
post Jan 26 2021, 10:06 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(GrimmReaper @ Jan 26 2021, 09:46 PM)
Anyone else have this problem with their Macbook air case? The case corners at the hinge are cracked and broken.
Bought a no name brand, but now want to buy replacement, they all look the same to me. Will new ones crack too?

user posted imageuser posted image
Yeah this has happened to mine in the past too. Unsure if there are "better" ones in the market which will last longer.

128 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:58 PM