3,389 posts

Getting my M1 Macbook Air today
waghyu
post Jan 15 2021, 01:29 PM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jan 15 2021, 01:17 PM)
Great! When was your order and ship date? Is Apple using UPS? CTO or base Mac?
Bought from overseas few days back, then forwarder ship to me. 8C/7C/16C/8GB/256GB model.

The hard shell, shipped by UPS via Amazon this am, be here in few days.
waghyu
post Jan 15 2021, 01:55 PM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jan 15 2021, 01:31 PM)
Oops my bad. I just presumed you bought from Apple Online. Mine’s still processing but it’s only been 2 days.
Can’t wait. You get M1 as well? Which spec?
waghyu
post Jan 15 2021, 02:57 PM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jan 15 2021, 02:39 PM)
Yeah but not the MacBook. I got the Mac Mini M1 16/256.
Great, you can add NVMe external storages for fast external additional storage space.
waghyu
post Jan 15 2021, 05:04 PM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jan 15 2021, 03:33 PM)
Exactly. I ordered an Acasis TBT3 NVME SSD enclosure from Shopee. Haven't bought the SSD yet but probably a 2TB Gen3 NVME. Maybe a 1TB Gen4. Not decided yet.
Does the enclose have cooler? Or need extra cooler fins, NVMe runs warm/hot most of the time.
waghyu
post Jan 15 2021, 06:33 PM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jan 15 2021, 05:12 PM)
I'm concerned about that too. No fan. It's aluminium and comes with a thermal pad. I suppose the whole enclosure will act as a heatsink if it contacts with the SSD nicely. Gen3 should run less hot than Gen4 right? If so, I'm just gonna get a Gen3 NVME. Gen4 is like double the price anyway.

It's this one: https://shopee.com.my/ACASIS-Thunderbolt-3-...0473.5537737308
No, once you load the nvme into enclosure, there is no direct contact from chip to body of the enclosure.

Correction, the one you buy may slot nicely with thermal pad. Go for 2TB NVMe Gen3 right away.

This post has been edited by waghyu: Jan 15 2021, 06:35 PM
waghyu
post Jan 16 2021, 01:12 AM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(PoisonSoul @ Jan 15 2021, 09:10 PM)
Let me know it too
Some friend ship it back via FedEx

You can try shopandship as well reliable
waghyu
post Jan 18 2021, 02:25 AM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(eikozai @ Jan 17 2021, 10:58 PM)
Hi guys, wanna check with sifu who are utilizing Time Machine from your M1 MBA.

Referring to screenshot below, did any of you experience this issue when trying to access Time Machine backups dated back before the M1 Macbooks?

Cant see your backup.

But I restore my new M1 Macbook Air from HDD stored TimeMachine backup from older Macbook Air without any issues.
waghyu
post Jan 18 2021, 02:27 AM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(tony_mw @ Jan 16 2021, 11:04 AM)
just got my unit via DHL yesterday, seems like that shipment delayed I got from apple earlier was a false alarm  tongue.gif

Anyone here has any recommendation for MBA M1 case that wont block hub? I couldn't find it anywhere in taobao nor shoppee icon_question.gif
I get hard case from Amazon, fast delivery for urgent orders (paid extra). Didnt block any ports.
waghyu
post Jan 19 2021, 01:59 PM

3,389 posts

How is your M1 Macbook Air battery performance ? Mine utilized 60% of fully charged battery within less than 3 hours. Looks abnormal.
waghyu
post Jan 19 2021, 02:52 PM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(eikozai @ Jan 19 2021, 02:49 PM)
So far mine from 10AM-7PM working on office works - heavy excels & conference calls, end of the day still got 30% juice.
Superb leh.. normally my old MBA 2013 would have to charge 2-3 times already.
Right, I'm going to do another round of test then.
waghyu
post Jan 19 2021, 11:14 PM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(un.deux.trois @ Jan 19 2021, 09:00 PM)
What’s your usage like?
Normal, testing this and that as its new few days old. Just gonna trash stress test it. Apple may consider replacement unit.
waghyu
post Jan 24 2021, 10:35 PM

3,389 posts

M1, one of the best hype

waghyu
post Jan 24 2021, 10:40 PM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(iamedryann @ Jan 21 2021, 08:15 AM)
Hi any traders here can help me with running mt4 on the new M1 cpu? I tried to install the one from XM and felt heat coming from the laptop, when I checked, the CPU was utilizing at 98% and nothing was on the screen. Anyone had similar problem? I read somewhere might need to wait for macos 11.2 or install the current 11.2 beta to run it properly. Betul ke?
Surface Pro 7 is the best tool to run MT4 / MT5

M1 do have problem with power utilization / process. I have 2 M1 Macbook Air
waghyu
post Jan 28 2021, 06:05 PM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(eikozai @ Jan 28 2021, 06:02 PM)
hnmph.. anyone working on heavy Excel files about 150~250MB file?

It seems M1 still incapable to cope with heavy Excel. The loading, saving, and changes updates on cells are taking long time with the color globe spinning for minutes.

I have the Excel file with about 1 million lines per sheet, 6-7 sheets with such enormous data in single file. Mildly coded, as it will hang before i even start codings.

WPS Excel and Microsoft Excel 365 will fail to operate at times. half way savings it freezed and need to be restarted, and lose all works in between.

Opening 4-5 of these enormous files seems tolling on the M1, my CPU temperature can at times, reached up to 85 degrees Celcius. CPU usage however, is relatively low like 15% only.
150MB excel is always heavy even for multi-core cpu, unless you have Xeon workstation, excel do run multi-threaded.

How's your battery usafe span per charge for M1 mac ?
waghyu
post Jan 28 2021, 06:21 PM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(eikozai @ Jan 28 2021, 06:11 PM)
Hmm.. really bottlenecked.
RAM and CPU really usage not high when running these files.

I haven't really monitor it for recent weeks as my MBA remained charged --> MCO at home only so always plugged in.
I'll monitor tomorrow and keep you updated on my battery drainage.
Try to drain the battery under normal use. I did quite detail study on this, testing my second M1 Macbook air over this weekend too.

What is the content of the excel ? You may want to turn off the auto-calculation option of your excel file. Calculate once you want to only to update cells.
waghyu
post Jan 28 2021, 08:08 PM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(eikozai @ Jan 28 2021, 07:17 PM)
Good advice.. i think i should turn the plug off when the charge exceeded 80%, and then turned it back on when its reaching 30%.
I'll do a full run-through based on 100% battery tomorrow.. Keep you updated with my drainage based on my works usages.
I'll try it with auto calculate off and monitor if it will improve the overall experiences, especially the freezing part.
They advertise test result using 8 click brightness. You may want to write the time vs remaining % battery say every 15-30 mins, then I'll help you plot this and fit into sort of model.

This post has been edited by waghyu: Jan 28 2021, 08:08 PM
waghyu
post Jan 30 2021, 02:04 AM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(eikozai @ Jan 29 2021, 08:01 PM)
This is based on 8 click screen brightness. Normal routine working condition, run fully on battery.

Thats pretty outstanding and close to what they claimed. My first M1 is withdrawing double of what you showing above. Soon will test the second M1 that I got. Identical model 256GB M1
waghyu
post Mar 21 2021, 08:12 PM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(hshern95 @ Mar 20 2021, 11:08 PM)
Today I found out an issue, the simplified chinese input keep not responding after turning on my MacBook.. This caused the system freeze and i need to force restart to resolve it.

Anyone got this issue before?
Lot’s of issues. I buy total 3 units of M1 Macbook Air M1, returned 2 of them. One having battery issue, and one faulty camera after few weeks of use. Don’t bother to repair, get new and ask for refund for faulty unit.
waghyu
post Mar 21 2021, 09:59 PM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(eikozai @ Mar 21 2021, 09:53 PM)
Mine happened to freeze randomly previously when launching apps/files and also when savings my data. Its was still in MacOS 11.1 back then.
After the updates to later versions, this issue did not reoccur anymore.
Not to be rude, but may i ask, where u buying ur units from?
As far as i know, Malaysia have no refund policy.
We can only opt for warranty coverage for repairs/replacement.
I bought via Amazon.

0.0861sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:54 AM