[2020] MacBook Air with M1 Discussion Thread
ericlaiys
Jun 7 2022, 08:52 AM
QUOTE(sp6068 @ Jun 7 2022, 07:16 AM) Our laptop is officially outdated folks lol. M2 Air sudah keluar. However I feel not many people will buy it as it's outside of the 4k price already. It's now 5.5k for the base model! https://www.apple.com/my/shop/buy-mac/macbo...ir/with-m2-chipthe price almost similar like macbook pro m2. might as well i buy macbook pro
sp6068
Jun 7 2022, 01:57 PM
QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jun 7 2022, 08:52 AM) the price almost similar like macbook pro m2. might as well i buy macbook pro Luckily they are still selling the M1 model. But the worst thing of all is the notch.
ericlaiys
Jun 7 2022, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(sp6068 @ Jun 7 2022, 01:57 PM) Luckily they are still selling the M1 model. But the worst thing of all is the notch. no price drop? damm, i expect it to drop. then it is really a good bargain
Jason
Jun 10 2022, 02:44 AM
QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jun 7 2022, 04:25 PM) no price drop? damm, i expect it to drop. then it is really a good bargain Maybe due to chip shortage they decided to keep the price. I would consider the MBA M1 if the price dropped. $200 for new M2 chip, bigger & brighter screen, 1 extra port, upgraded camera. Is good value if gonna use it for 3 or 4 years. Plus new look.
RiriRuruRara
Jun 15 2022, 01:40 PM
guys is it normal? I bought a ugreen usb hub to connect to my MacBook for my mouse. Now I notice the battery is going down like water. The hub is non PD...
ericlaiys
Jun 15 2022, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Jun 15 2022, 01:40 PM) guys is it normal? I bought a ugreen usb hub to connect to my MacBook for my mouse. Now I notice the battery is going down like water. The hub is non PD... external device will drain battery life. it is normal. so dont plug
Mr. Najib Razak
Jun 16 2022, 03:48 PM
QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Jun 15 2022, 01:40 PM) guys is it normal? I bought a ugreen usb hub to connect to my MacBook for my mouse. Now I notice the battery is going down like water. The hub is non PD... normal
d3v073d_50uL
Jun 16 2022, 08:07 PM
Used Macbook Air M1 16GB/512GB Just pass 1 year warranty, no AppleCare. Cosmetic-wise… perfect, like new. Battery 88cycles, 95%
For the price of 3700-3800, it’s considered not worth it or okay?
ericlaiys
Jun 16 2022, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(d3v073d_50uL @ Jun 16 2022, 08:07 PM) Used Macbook Air M1 16GB/512GB Just pass 1 year warranty, no AppleCare. Cosmetic-wise… perfect, like new. Battery 88cycles, 95% For the price of 3700-3800, it’s considered not worth it or okay? not worth it. get new one come with 1 year warranty and sometimes sale time can get 4k
d3v073d_50uL
Jun 16 2022, 11:27 PM
QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jun 16 2022, 09:46 PM) not worth it. get new one come with 1 year warranty and sometimes sale time can get 4k what's the lowest 16GB + 512GB price u've seen? Even searching for those reselling, quite hard to find.
ericlaiys
Jun 17 2022, 07:27 AM
QUOTE(d3v073d_50uL @ Jun 16 2022, 11:27 PM) what's the lowest 16GB + 512GB price u've seen? Even searching for those reselling, quite hard to find. seldom people sell that spec. the problem is without apple care and did not buy before 1 year, it us risky when faulty. my battery dead after 1 year+, cost repair 2k+. lucky i bought apple care. else wasted
d3v073d_50uL
Jun 17 2022, 12:17 PM
QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jun 17 2022, 07:27 AM) seldom people sell that spec. the problem is without apple care and did not buy before 1 year, it us risky when faulty. my battery dead after 1 year+, cost repair 2k+. lucky i bought apple care. else wasted Thats why i wanna know if it’s worth it to buy that spec on that price range. Buying 2nd hand stuff all got that possibility. Even in my experience, my 2nd hand stuff all very tahan compared to newly bought stuff. So… i guess all comes down to luck?
RiriRuruRara
Jun 17 2022, 06:29 PM
QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jun 15 2022, 09:49 PM) external device will drain battery life. it is normal. so dont plug QUOTE(Mr. Najib Razak @ Jun 16 2022, 03:48 PM) Thanks for the reply. Another problem do you guys happen to know how to solve? In the kopitiam forum when they post video from Facebook why my MacBook can't play it? It will play for 1 second then stop?
pepsin
Jun 19 2022, 11:24 PM

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jun 17 2022, 07:27 AM) seldom people sell that spec. the problem is without apple care and did not buy before 1 year, it us risky when faulty. my battery dead after 1 year+, cost repair 2k+. lucky i bought apple care. else wasted RM 2k++ really ? I thought change battery only cost RM500 like that.
d3v073d_50uL
Jun 20 2022, 12:37 PM
QUOTE(pepsin @ Jun 19 2022, 11:24 PM) RM 2k++ really ? I thought change battery only cost RM500 like that. I asked Switch once.. they said estimate cost for replacing MBA M1 battery is around 1.7-2k. Update: I whatsapp them to confirm.. Now give me different price  This post has been edited by d3v073d_50uL: Jun 20 2022, 02:17 PM
Mavik
Jun 20 2022, 03:45 PM
Patience is a virtue
QUOTE(d3v073d_50uL @ Jun 16 2022, 11:27 PM) what's the lowest 16GB + 512GB price u've seen? Even searching for those reselling, quite hard to find. Are you looking for one at that spec? I have an M1 Air with 16Gb and 512Gb and it is rarely used.
d3v073d_50uL
Jun 20 2022, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(Mavik @ Jun 20 2022, 03:45 PM) Are you looking for one at that spec? I have an M1 Air with 16Gb and 512Gb and it is rarely used. Thanks.. already bought
ericlaiys
Jun 20 2022, 07:56 PM
QUOTE(pepsin @ Jun 19 2022, 11:24 PM) RM 2k++ really ? I thought change battery only cost RM500 like that. when battery swallow...it impact the top part. so they need to replace the keyboard, etc
eternity4av
Jun 23 2022, 05:46 PM
QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jun 20 2022, 07:56 PM) when battery swallow...it impact the top part. so they need to replace the keyboard, etc yeah better becareful, i learnt it the hard way, where i thought cost of replacement of battery is as per website, but then if your battery is bloated then its totally different case, i was charged way higher but this is iphone, but i believed it applies all across mac, but anyone that owns 8gb m1 having sluggishness? i'm just using chrome, powerpoint, excel, outlook, and teams and its sluggish, and this does happen even after my 3rd month of ownership.
Eithanius
Jun 23 2022, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(eternity4av @ Jun 23 2022, 05:46 PM) yeah better becareful, i learnt it the hard way, where i thought cost of replacement of battery is as per website, but then if your battery is bloated then its totally different case, i was charged way higher but this is iphone, but i believed it applies all across mac, but anyone that owns 8gb m1 having sluggishness? i'm just using chrome, powerpoint, excel, outlook, and teams and its sluggish, and this does happen even after my 3rd month of ownership. Chrome how many tabs...?