[2020] MacBook Air with M1 Discussion Thread

ericlaiys
post Feb 13 2022, 10:12 AM

7,567 posts

QUOTE(sp6068 @ Feb 13 2022, 01:38 AM)
Has anyone used their 1 year warranty to replace their non defected battery? Was thinking of using the warranty on the last month of coverage just to change the battery to a brand new one I'm not sure if Apple allows to change a functioning battery after 1 year of usage.
??? dont think possible unless you prove that it is faulty. mine swallow after 1y 6 month usage. lucky got applecare. total cost repair is 2k as they replace the front part as well due to swallow....
so i pay rm800 for extra 2 & 3 years is worth it. now it is more than 3 y old. planning to do trade in at machines when new macbook air release
ericlaiys
post Feb 17 2022, 08:32 AM

7,567 posts

QUOTE(hentori19 @ Feb 16 2022, 09:03 PM)
Hi, anyone used the parallels to virtualize windows? Any limitation on M1, and what is the window apps that you usually use with? Thanks!
u need arm windows OS
ericlaiys
post Feb 28 2022, 10:13 AM

7,567 posts

QUOTE(zzerosz @ Feb 27 2022, 10:50 PM)
Hi all, need suggestion for keyboard+mouse combo, that able to switch between windows and MacBook Air m1. Worry that some don't compatible with MacBook  doh.gif
logitech keyboard. mine can support 3. just press key -1-2-3
ericlaiys
post Mar 1 2022, 06:55 PM

7,567 posts

QUOTE(zzerosz @ Mar 1 2022, 04:56 PM)
Do you mind the keyboard model? Thanks in advanced  rclxm9.gif
logitech k380, quite reliable, been using for more than 3 years. this is old model, u can search new model. i love it small and can pack and go
ericlaiys
post Mar 8 2022, 12:36 AM

7,567 posts

QUOTE(pisangkakimasak @ Mar 7 2022, 08:45 PM)
Sifus -

I plan to buy MacBook air m1 to replace my daily driver. I only used Windows laptop before. Usage is for browsing, doing research, picture editing, YouTube, streaming, video call etc, nothing major or require much power.

I read and watch reviews and seems this is a great buy. But I have some concerns:

1. Alot of windows app still not compatible with M1. Is this true? Will it affect what I'm trying to do?

2. Should I buy 512 or 256 + external SSD?

3. Read that it is very expensive if want to repair the SSD. Can cost thousands. Is this true?

4. Do you recommend me to buy extended warranty? Feel like it's a waste of money because my iPad Air 2 has not have any problem for the past 6-7 years.

5. Anything else I should consider (especially cons) before buying?

Thank you.
My feedback-
1. Check which app and if use it quite frequent then u need find alternative
2. Depend how much data you store. I used 256gb since 4 years ago. Bought macbook and mac mini with 5gb. Other data can keep on enclosure with nvme.
3. Ssd is solder with board. You cannot replace like parts.
4.ipad is not same as macbook. Recommended to buy but no need so hurry to decide. U got a year to decide. I add applecare before a year due. Lucky i bought, paid 900. Then only 1 y 6 month, my battery swallowed. Claim warranty. Cost 2k due to battery swallow cause keyboard need to change. Glad that bought it.
5. No regret after move from windows to mac. Make sure your produvity app is there.
ericlaiys
post Mar 8 2022, 09:16 AM

7,567 posts

QUOTE(pisangkakimasak @ Mar 8 2022, 06:14 AM)
#1 is there a site to check which app is compatible??

#3 so if I get everyone points correctly, if the SSD kaput, then the only way to fix it is by buying new MacBook Air? Right?

#4 oh you can buy the extended warranty much later. This is good info.

#5 yes I am aware they will announce M2. But I assume it will be more expensive since it's a new launch?
1. google your app keyword plus "on mac" or i run on virtual machine to test. anyway, most app is there except specific
3. Yes. this hardly happened
5. then you can buy m1 coz price dropped.

ericlaiys
post Mar 12 2022, 12:43 AM

7,567 posts

QUOTE(miyeonevermioff @ Mar 11 2022, 09:56 PM)
hi, am deciding to get a mba 8+256
but reading through this thread, i found out common issues are screen crack, battery swollen etc. that would cost me alot. im looking for a laptop that would last me at least 5years.
im also migrating from windows too. first time wanna try apple products.
any advice, or things to take note?
programs that i use are only microsoft teams, word, spotify, discord, zoom, google chrome.
get applecare.problem solved

ericlaiys
post Mar 13 2022, 06:00 PM

7,567 posts

QUOTE(Silverwolf @ Mar 13 2022, 10:10 AM)
So after using the mba m1 for a year plus, notice my battery health drop to 98%. Is this normal for you guys?
normal
ericlaiys
post Mar 29 2022, 08:43 AM

7,567 posts

QUOTE(sp6068 @ Mar 29 2022, 03:15 AM)
Anyone can recommend a good USB C to HDMI adapter? Just the cable not the hub. Preferably one that you are currently using now.
I'm using one unbranded hub just tried to connect to my tv it can output video but no audio for some reason. Even tried playing around in preference also no luck. It shows as no audio output.
using green. trusted brand
ericlaiys
post Mar 30 2022, 12:10 PM

7,567 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Mar 30 2022, 11:50 AM)
Will there be a new MBA coming soon?

not sure if it's worth going for M2 chip and ditch my 13" MBP (2019, 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM)

I plan to recoup some money for my MBP when I sell it off in future
heard leak it will . but no M2 in it.
I got MBP 2017 (256GB, 8GB RAM). Can we do trade in at machines and get cash rather than buy from shop. It seem online is more cheaper based on lazada BD sale. From 4.4k dropped till 3.9k before discount.
ericlaiys
post Apr 7 2022, 08:30 AM

7,567 posts

QUOTE(rtreese @ Apr 6 2022, 10:54 PM)
Hi all, I have a 12-month old Mac Air and the 'E' key is starting to get a little unresponsive (just out of warranty). Does anybody have any ideas on the replacement costs of the keyboard?  mega_shok.gif
it need to replace whole top part and may be dust issue.
u can ask apple service center.
ericlaiys
post Apr 15 2022, 05:23 PM

7,567 posts

QUOTE(ultra_nyamuk @ Apr 15 2022, 03:46 PM)
Hi Guys! Need your opinion. Getting a secondary laptop. 120+ batt cycle, 99% batt health. No warranty for RM3300. Is this deal ok ? Base model 256gb.
no warranty? got apple warranty or not?
ericlaiys
post Apr 15 2022, 05:40 PM

7,567 posts

QUOTE(ultra_nyamuk @ Apr 15 2022, 05:36 PM)
No more, checked the serial. What does this mean?

I guess refurbished set? Even so.. not much issue right?
got warranty. just 3 month technical phone support no more.
ericlaiys
post Jun 7 2022, 08:52 AM

7,567 posts

QUOTE(sp6068 @ Jun 7 2022, 07:16 AM)
Our laptop is officially outdated folks lol.

M2 Air sudah keluar.

However I feel not many people will buy it as it's outside of the 4k price already. It's now 5.5k for the base model!

https://www.apple.com/my/shop/buy-mac/macbo...ir/with-m2-chip
the price almost similar like macbook pro m2. might as well i buy macbook pro
ericlaiys
post Jun 7 2022, 04:25 PM

7,567 posts

QUOTE(sp6068 @ Jun 7 2022, 01:57 PM)
Luckily they are still selling the M1 model. But the worst thing of all is the notch.
no price drop? damm, i expect it to drop. then it is really a good bargain
ericlaiys
post Jun 15 2022, 09:49 PM

7,567 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Jun 15 2022, 01:40 PM)
guys is it normal? I bought a ugreen usb hub to connect to my MacBook for my mouse. Now I notice the battery is going down like water. The hub is non PD...
external device will drain battery life. it is normal. so dont plug
ericlaiys
post Jun 16 2022, 09:46 PM

7,567 posts

QUOTE(d3v073d_50uL @ Jun 16 2022, 08:07 PM)
Used Macbook Air M1 16GB/512GB
Just pass 1 year warranty, no AppleCare.
Cosmetic-wise… perfect, like new.
Battery 88cycles, 95%

For the price of 3700-3800, it’s considered not worth it or okay?
not worth it. get new one come with 1 year warranty and sometimes sale time can get 4k
ericlaiys
post Jun 17 2022, 07:27 AM

7,567 posts

QUOTE(d3v073d_50uL @ Jun 16 2022, 11:27 PM)
what's the lowest 16GB + 512GB price u've seen?
Even searching for those reselling, quite hard to find.
seldom people sell that spec. the problem is without apple care and did not buy before 1 year, it us risky when faulty. my battery dead after 1 year+, cost repair 2k+. lucky i bought apple care. else wasted
ericlaiys
post Jun 20 2022, 07:56 PM

7,567 posts

QUOTE(pepsin @ Jun 19 2022, 11:24 PM)
RM 2k++ really ? I thought change battery only cost RM500 like that.
when battery swallow...it impact the top part. so they need to replace the keyboard, etc
ericlaiys
post Jun 24 2022, 08:05 AM

7,567 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Jun 24 2022, 07:39 AM)
roughly 30 tabs? but my 4 years old dell inspiron can do 80 over tabs without issues though  cry.gif
use safari

0.0710sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:36 PM