Fear of buying house

TSclockpulses
post Nov 10 2020, 05:10 PM, updated 6y ago

386 posts

It'd been few years already, iam a very fickle minded whenever to decide buying a house. I WANT to buy a house because i want it, not saja saja, but Everytime i seriously thought about buying a property (own stay), i put hours hours hours of research and consideration. So many what ifs in my mind, to the point i gave up tbe idea of buying a house and going debt free route and save as much and enjoy life as much as i can.

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?
4. if i buy a house can i still afford to do thing i used to do?
5. What if i change job or company relocate me somewhere more farther?
6. What If there's a sudden big increment of non bank commitment, like kids, etc etc
7. Age is middle 30, what If i hold a little longer, save money and buy house at 45 year old, then only eligible for 25 years loan. Donno can afford or not
8. Unexpected repair bill?
9. Will iable to save more for retirement?

Above questions are not for you.

At the moment I'm enjoying my life, car loan will finish soon, sometimes i felt too comfortable and boring. Can own a house make life less dull?

Seen and heard many cases that many people were getting fired this year i suddenly become coward to commit. Even a high income like pilots can be layed off.

Should i enjoy my debt free life?

Do you have the fear of buying a house?

This post has been edited by clockpulses: Nov 10 2020, 05:12 PM
sk1l
post Nov 10 2020, 05:15 PM

151 posts

Getting a house enables u to have your own space. You r the king of this space. Anything u want to do also can. Reno a movie theater, VR room , arrange the house however u want , bring over ladies no worries of anyone kacau , sleep 24 hrs sleep after gaming in the hall wake up continue game ...until u feel hungry then go makan ...at 3pm nobody to say what this right and not coz in ur space u r king. Plus u will want to earn more to make this n that changes. So yes many positives getting a house. After a few years house price will go up ...u can decide to sell if u bored of the current house n upgrade ....n repeat. Family after that ...different challenges but u always have a house under ur name.
clio571
post Nov 10 2020, 05:16 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Nov 10 2020, 05:10 PM)
It'd been few years already,  iam a very fickle minded whenever to decide buying a house. I WANT to buy a house because i want it, not saja saja, but Everytime i seriously thought about buying a property (own stay), i put hours hours hours of research and consideration. So many what ifs in my mind,  to the point i gave up tbe idea of buying a house and going debt free route and save as much and enjoy life as much as i can.

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?
6. What If there's a sudden big increment of non bank commitment,  like kids, etc etc
7. Age is middle 30, what If i hold a little longer,  save money and buy house at 45 year old, then only eligible for 25 years loan. Donno can afford or not

At the moment I'm enjoying my life, car loan will finish soon, sometimes i felt too comfortable and boring. Can own a house make life less dull?

Seen and heard many cases that many people were getting fired this year i suddenly become coward to commit. Even a high income like pilots can be layed off.

It's OK to buy house later.... Don't simply join the rat race if emotion is not prepare....
Renting house is not a bad thing as you need to commit to the bank loan. Some more you can rent better location and house with cheaper price than regular ppl's installment.
pretty23
post Nov 10 2020, 05:17 PM

1,791 posts

Already own 2 landed houses now. Still to think get 3rd one.
internaldisputes
post Nov 10 2020, 05:19 PM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

My mom proposed that I buy my eldest brother's house last month and I said no. It was heavily discounted and there is nothing wrong with the house but just like you I have lots of "what ifs" going through my mind. It's hard to pick a single reason. I'm just glad I was able to stay firm with my decision despite being pressured by my mom.

I think I'm gonna rent for awhile. I like the freedom of being able to pack my stuff and move elsewhere whenever I want.
taiping...
post Nov 10 2020, 05:19 PM

1,056 posts

I ised to think like u, until I bought 1 house so far

Planning for my 2nd property

Its nice to know when your own property appreciates

As of now, its being rented out. I only top up rm1k and i have emergency cash if anything happens
mini orchard
post Nov 10 2020, 05:20 PM

14,511 posts

It'd been few years already,  iam a very fickle minded whenever to decide buying a house. I WANT to buy a house because i want it, not saja saja, but Everytime i seriously thought about buying a property (own stay), i put hours hours hours of research and consideration. So many what ifs in my mind,  to the point i gave up tbe idea of buying a house and going debt free route and save as much and enjoy life as much as i can.

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?
6. What If there's a sudden big increment of non bank commitment,  like kids, etc etc
7. Age is middle 30, what If i hold a little longer,  save money and buy house at 45 year old, then only eligible for 25 years loan. Donno can afford or not

Those fears will never go away when you are still alive.
danielmckey
post Nov 10 2020, 05:22 PM

1,053 posts

If you need sense of security buying or not buying is the same. If you alone & die in the rented house. At least the owner can come & check on you.
liyanakahar
post Nov 10 2020, 05:28 PM

194 posts

buy condo at top floor and corner lot, the best
darkmusses
post Nov 10 2020, 05:31 PM

595 posts

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?

PRIMA / WIP kan ada ..

Regardless, stil need saving also .. what's the point if you do not save because in the end you will have NOTHING ..

Even I can afford RM1M property, my current house is only RM300k ..
acbc
post Nov 10 2020, 05:34 PM

9,048 posts

I had to sell my house at a lost after the business failed early this year. After minus all the fees, made enough to move out.

Now back to renting but away from the city. Cheaper rent. Plus the owner also an easy going person. He said as long don't burn down the place, I can do whatever inside. Paid him 6 month's rent after that.

Now slowly disposing of old items. Already sold 4 cars last month. Kept 2 since no more loan.

Keeping hard cash is my primary goal now. Whatever don't need, sell. Anything modern, sell.

Do I want to buy another house? Answer is no.
mousqy
post Nov 10 2020, 05:35 PM

758 posts

you think too much

YOLO
SUSCmyong88
post Nov 10 2020, 05:47 PM

974 posts

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?

What if 30 years later non of your worries came through and you're still living in your rented house
taiping...
post Nov 10 2020, 05:55 PM

1,056 posts

If i Am still alive for my retirement, i wanna use my property rental as side income. My long term plan

As of now, its worth the risk
Newsray
post Nov 10 2020, 06:00 PM

1,022 posts

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?

You need to balance out the risk yourself.
Losing job is real.
So how do you mitigate this?

Assume you have some saving or cash, how do you secure and grow the fund?
As you said economy is not good, your cash in bank will lose its value over time.

Seems like you want to spend more and enjoy.
Why not, if you have a good planning with your income and job.
Remember spending more is basically the same as paying for house loan.

At the end of the day, you still need a place called home.
When you retire, do you have enough money to keep paying rent, assuming you are spending on your happy days now.

party
post Nov 10 2020, 06:04 PM

813 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Nov 10 2020, 05:34 PM)
I had to sell my house at a lost after the business failed early this year. After minus all the fees, made enough to move out.

Now back to renting but away from the city. Cheaper rent. Plus the owner also an easy going person. He said as long don't burn down the place, I can do whatever inside. Paid him 6 month's rent after that.

Now slowly disposing of old items. Already sold 4 cars last month. Kept 2 since no more loan.

Keeping hard cash is my primary goal now. Whatever don't need, sell. Anything modern, sell.

Do I want to buy another house? Answer is no.
I thought you are working in cambodia?
imnotabot
post Nov 10 2020, 06:06 PM

531 posts

Maybe find a hobby? Buying a house just because you feel too comfortable sounds silly.
zerorating
post Nov 10 2020, 06:11 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

just buy when you are ready.

sometime i think house is more of a liablity for me, things break down, common wear and tear.
loserguy
post Nov 10 2020, 06:19 PM

500 posts

From what I have noticed over the years, friends who bought houses usually end up better off financially than those who rented. There are exceptions, but in general that is what I have noticed.

Not sure why. Probably those who try to buy houses and settle down have better financial discipline.
acbc
post Nov 10 2020, 06:34 PM

9,048 posts

QUOTE(party @ Nov 10 2020, 06:04 PM)
I thought you are working in cambodia?
Cambodia running by itself now.

I'm already back since CNY to restart the business back. In the end, failed. Now downsizing and selling everything away.
kkkw80
post Nov 10 2020, 06:40 PM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

This is what we call life, life is never guarantee or certain. Heck you could be even die of heart attack tonight.

So glad I bought my 1st property at age 21, sold then another at 29 year old, sold and just bought my 3rd last year. Total profit from the 1st 2 properties is RM600k.
Sammie7
post Nov 10 2020, 07:03 PM

333 posts

1. buy what you can afford. never go out of your capability. Of cos once you have commitment on loan, you gotta cut your expense somewhere else to balance out. If you gonna get into housing loan and end up no savings, I'd suggest you work on your income 1st.

2. unlike other countries, depend on your job nature, but most of your job opportunities will gonna be around klang valley. and sadly, property price for these areas are already flipped multiple times. job distance is definitely something to consider, but you can't assume you will never change your job location for the rest of your life.

3. rent house is not a bad thing. just rmbr you are paying someone for their investment. they are happier if you never ever buy your own property.
J1g54w
post Nov 10 2020, 07:15 PM

1,449 posts

sounds like you shouldn’t buy a house

just build your wealth and take it slow
you can buy house at 40 50 60 years old no problem

or live a nomadic life and travel the world meet people from every city and every culture

your life is yours, you decide what to do with it, not anyone else

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?

gundamsp01
post Nov 10 2020, 07:25 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

i am more worry about i do not have my own roof when i retire with no active income source.

That's why i have 1 now.
TSclockpulses
post Nov 10 2020, 07:28 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(imnotabot @ Nov 10 2020, 06:06 PM)
Maybe find a hobby? Buying a house just because you feel too comfortable sounds silly.
This is the thing, i love travelling and car (repair, replace parts etc)

But both are not possible now due to covid, and err no landed house to work on my car

One of the reason i want a landed house is to learn repair own car. Both above are my passion

This post has been edited by clockpulses: Nov 10 2020, 07:30 PM
TSclockpulses
post Nov 10 2020, 07:35 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(Newsray @ Nov 10 2020, 06:00 PM)
You need to balance out the risk yourself.
Losing job is real.
So how do you mitigate this?

Assume you have some saving or cash, how do you secure and grow the fund?
As you said economy is not good, your cash in bank will lose its value over time.

Seems like you want to spend more and enjoy.
Why not, if you have a good planning with your income and job.
Remember spending more is basically the same as paying for house loan.

At the end of the day, you still need a place called home.
When you retire, do you have enough money to keep paying rent, assuming you are spending on your happy days now.
This is a good advise. I don't mind giving up travel hobbies (after covid) for certain no of years, at least until my income is much higher

This post has been edited by clockpulses: Nov 10 2020, 07:35 PM
TSclockpulses
post Nov 10 2020, 07:41 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(Cmyong88 @ Nov 10 2020, 05:47 PM)
What if 30 years later non of your worries came through and you're still living in your rented house
Believe me, this is one of my what if laugh.gif

Another what if is what if i got bad neighbours?
galkelly
post Nov 10 2020, 07:42 PM

752 posts

Why hold the money, buy la.
House appreciate, Ringgit depreciate.
Worry so much, are u a man !?
Zwean
post Nov 10 2020, 07:45 PM

1,269 posts

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?

Think too much boss.
1) Set aside a 6 month emergency fund.
2) Set aside a 6 month emergency fund.
3) Set aside a 6 month emergency fund.
4)
i) Buying a house requires sacrifice. However, contrary to popular belief. There are houses out there with mortgages < rental rate.
ii) You can also opt to house "hack". Rent out rooms to lower your cost of ownership.
5)
i) Don't pick a job that is far away.
ii) Rent out your house to generate rental income, while you rent else where.
6) Now do you see how much your parents sacrificed for you?
7) Buy earlier, over the medium long term. Property prices appreciate in tandem with inflation rate.
8) Set aside a 6 month emergency fund.
9) Why cannot?
a13solut3
post Nov 10 2020, 08:03 PM

Whiner FTW!
1,759 posts

I went yolo with my first house purchase when i just started my first job half year or so. Never regret to this day. Fast forward 5 years, already fully paid.
reed90
post Nov 10 2020, 08:12 PM

Road to the End
1,552 posts

buy if you want to stay. don't buy if you want to invest, or anything, apa lagi for "saja saja"

the cost and the time required to do it is immense, don't bother breaking your head.

Just save your money for now, at least after covid 19 goes away. Cash is king. Property is not liquid. You can always find decent subsales any time that you like, don't get pressured by the upcoming "new condo", or "hot investment".
SUSCmyong88
post Nov 10 2020, 08:13 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Nov 10 2020, 07:41 PM)
Believe me,  this is one of my what if laugh.gif

Another what if is what if i got bad neighbours?
You sure this is about a house? Or you being crippled by your excessive worries? Do you behave such a way with other major decision in your life?
ycs
post Nov 10 2020, 08:28 PM

4,232 posts

my 1st house, i beli cash, dont like paying bank interest laugh.gif
ericong77
post Nov 10 2020, 08:37 PM

140 posts

Just think about one thing, the rental you paying now you use to pay housing loan. Of course your rental is not enough to cover the loan, at least you using that money to pay for your own house.
cheeliew
post Nov 10 2020, 08:38 PM

56 posts

Life is about taking some risk. As the saying goes no risk no gain. If you are worry about commitment, think twice about raising a family
SUSFenix98
post Nov 10 2020, 08:40 PM

Happy Meal upsized Sir?
377 posts

TS just remember this 4 letters....

YOLO

How old are you nao!?

How many more good years do you have!?

Y
O
L
O

benzxzx
post Nov 10 2020, 08:49 PM

180 posts

simple solution: rent for the time being, buy house in cash once you have accumulated enough.
Lyu
post Nov 10 2020, 09:09 PM

772 posts

same with ayam

imnotabot
post Nov 10 2020, 10:41 PM

531 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Nov 10 2020, 07:28 PM)
This is the thing, i love travelling and car (repair, replace parts etc)

But both are not possible now due to covid, and err no landed house to work on my car

One of the reason i want a landed house is to learn repair own car. Both above are my passion
If that is your passion, then it makes sense to buy a house.
SUSNew Klang
post Nov 10 2020, 10:55 PM

4,998 posts

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?
6. What If there's a sudden big increment of non bank commitment, like kids, etc etc
7. Age is middle 30, what If i hold a little longer, save money and buy house at 45 year old, then only eligible for 25 years loan. Donno can afford or not

1-5 are dependent on your marketable skills. If you are a sought after professional or top sales person, you sgoyld not worry.

6. Kids are gift from God, the extra commitment is worth it.

7. Buy when opportunity comes, when it is at a good price and location

8. How big is the repair? Buy home insurance.

9. Sell your house if you need to liquidate for retirement.

Fix your 1-5 first, the rest will be easier.
zack1919
post Nov 10 2020, 11:02 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(kkkw80 @ Nov 10 2020, 06:40 PM)
This is what we call life, life is never guarantee or certain. Heck you could be even die of heart attack tonight.

So glad I bought my 1st property at age 21, sold then another at 29 year old, sold and just bought my 3rd last year. Total profit from the  1st 2 properties is RM600k.
Oh wow!
Mind giving detail on how much you’re earning and how much the property cost when you purchase it?

I’m 24 hardly 4K earner (not the standard 20k ktard), I’m stuck like ts currently with all the what ifs
kkkw80
post Nov 10 2020, 11:08 PM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(zack1919 @ Nov 10 2020, 11:02 PM)
Oh wow!
Mind giving detail on how much you’re earning and how much the property cost when you purchase it?

I’m 24 hardly 4K earner (not the standard 20k ktard), I’m stuck like ts currently with all the what ifs
200k condo when I was earning 3k, 420k terrace house when I was earning 8.5k and new semid 1.75m with salary confidential (way above 5 figures definitely to afford it) 🤐

Life is all about taking chances, work smart to achieve what you want in life.

This post has been edited by kkkw80: Nov 10 2020, 11:10 PM
WaCKy-Angel
post Nov 10 2020, 11:12 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(zack1919 @ Nov 10 2020, 11:02 PM)
Oh wow!

He is getting 24K lol

Im assuming he bought 1st house was say 20 years ago, earning 3K that time would probably means like now earning 10K.

Cant compare now with last time lor... my parents bought single storey terrace house 40 years ago for 80K iinm, now worth atleast 500K

QUOTE(kkkw80 @ Nov 10 2020, 11:08 PM)
200k condo when I was earning 3k, 420k terrace house when I was earning 8.5k and new house 1.75m with salary confidential 🤐
zack1919
post Nov 10 2020, 11:26 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Nov 10 2020, 11:12 PM)
He is getting 24K lol

Im assuming he bought 1st house was say 20 years ago, earning 3K that time would probably means like now earning 10K.

Cant compare now with last time lor... my parents bought single storey terrace house 40 years ago for 80K iinm, now worth atleast 500K
So that’s basically saying 4K peasant kuli like me just need to stop dreaming of owning a house and rent forever huh?😭
burn22
post Nov 10 2020, 11:33 PM

398 posts

buy something that's affordable. don't go over the budget.
utk gua, ada tempat berteduh, dah bersyukur.
i sold off my condominuim, bila recession came. it worsen, when ex bini diagnosed with early stage c. during that time, gaji kena potong. ex kena retrenchment. luckily ada savin, but depleted fast for ex treatment at 2 private hospital, and 1 kat sing. after treatment semua, confirmed out of danger. after long, she belah with former ex boyfriend. gua terpongeh, dibuat mcm sampah.
for the condo, i took 17yrs loan. left another 2yrs+ to settle. since recession hit hard on me, savin bcome telor, bcome depressed, me decided to sell it off. moreover, need m to take care of 2kiddos.
last last, bought a freehold apartment in melaka. pay cash for it. atleast ada tempat sendiri utk duduk...

This post has been edited by burn22: Nov 10 2020, 11:34 PM
WaCKy-Angel
post Nov 10 2020, 11:44 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(zack1919 @ Nov 10 2020, 11:26 PM)
So that’s basically saying 4K peasant kuli like me just need to stop dreaming of owning a house and rent forever huh?😭
Not really. U can look for properties that is around 200K making your monthly payment around 1K.
Or 400K property monthly payment around 2K.

If know how to find good spot can sell it later for profit.
loserguy
post Nov 10 2020, 11:45 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(zack1919 @ Nov 10 2020, 11:26 PM)
Don't give up bro. Just set aside some money every month and keep an eye out for some good deals. Not all houses are super expensive.

Also, if you are starting out, maybe try to rent some place close to your workplace. That will save you a lot of time and money. Good luck!
vivakarna
post Nov 10 2020, 11:52 PM

1,360 posts

Nowadays the access of that particular assets are much more important rather to own the assets.

Zwean
post Nov 10 2020, 11:57 PM

1,269 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Nov 10 2020, 11:12 PM)
He is getting 24K lol

40 years ago salary berapa?..

Interest rate berapa?..

Ease of getting loan to what extent?

Buying a home has NEVER been "easy".

Demographics change, cities grow and getting more populated.

It's just how it is.

This post has been edited by Zwean: Nov 10 2020, 11:57 PM
Noryume
post Nov 11 2020, 12:01 AM

931 posts

I bought a house with installment payment as much as I pay for rent when I was bachelor. That was my limit. A small apartment, now I rent it out as I bought another house. So profit goes to my new house. Only pay half the installment of the new house. Not really scared for the house as if bad time come I just need to apply KWSP account 2 to cover the house. As far as I check long ago, should be enough to cover nearing to 5 years of installment.
bereev
post Nov 11 2020, 12:03 AM

257 posts

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?

before covid i aldy fear what u fear, because i dun feel comfortable in my job although i aldy long service
Penang_J
post Nov 11 2020, 01:25 AM

301 posts

My suggestion is you still young and able to take up the house loan up to 30 years. When you reach 40, it’s getting harder to get longer loan period unless you are financially sound. Just spend 30% on your income to secure a house for yourself. Don’t be like me taking risk, I spent almost 80% on housing and highly depending on rental income to sustain. FYI, I’m late to 20s. My debt for two houses nearly 500k (my portion) and I had invested 200k on properties (life is not so interesting compared to others)?
K.I.T.T
post Nov 11 2020, 02:09 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(darkmusses @ Nov 10 2020, 05:31 PM)
PRIMA / WIP kan ada ..

Regardless, stil need saving also .. what's the point if you do not save because in the end you will have NOTHING ..

Even I can afford RM1M property, my current house is only RM300k ..
Daripada sibuk2 PRIma / WIP baik bukak bussiness kedai makan ke francais serbenaka ke kedai dobi ke kalau air mineral 500ml rm1.50 kat depan prima/wip. Diorang pun x boleh komplen sebab tu je pilihan je ada

Nak murah? Start you engine pergi la kedai lain. Bayar la duit parking & duit masa.

Untung niaga dapat dari situ beli la rumah kat EcoCity ke desapark ke.
Apa nak gaduh mana rumah mana rumah mahal
KennyKB
post Nov 11 2020, 09:20 AM

1,765 posts

There is no security in retirement if you don't own a house. Cash in hand is subject to inflation and depreciation.

SUSskyblack4492
post Nov 11 2020, 09:32 AM

1,342 posts

Got offer house 11.11?
Pakatan SinMa Plus
post Nov 11 2020, 10:00 AM

1,148 posts

The emotion in buying property is strange. Before you buy any property, u tend to worry lots of things. But once you have bought 1, most people will plan for second/third/... properties. The worries/fears diminished.
darkmusses
post Nov 11 2020, 10:15 AM

595 posts

QUOTE(K.I.T.T @ Nov 11 2020, 02:09 AM)
Daripada sibuk2 PRIma / WIP baik bukak bussiness kedai makan ke francais serbenaka ke kedai dobi ke kalau air mineral 500ml rm1.50 kat depan prima/wip. Diorang pun x boleh komplen sebab tu je pilihan je ada

Nak murah? Start you engine pergi la kedai lain. Bayar la duit parking & duit masa.

Convid kali ni not many can survive, you should even syukur if got a job TBH ..

Anyway diff ppl diff thinking, being a boss of your own is good if good planning but something good planning also fail ..

Then can say goodbye for your home .. I lost my job also I don't need to worry for because my home payment just below 20% of my salary ..
K.I.T.T
post Nov 11 2020, 10:37 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(darkmusses @ Nov 11 2020, 10:15 AM)

Anyway diff ppl diff thinking, being a boss of your own is good if good planning but something good planning also fail ..

Then can say goodbye for your home .. I lost my job also I don't need to worry for because my home payment just below 20% of my salary ..
If i want find house for stay i will find best one.
Once you bought duit mengalir mcm air.
SUSNew Klang
post Nov 11 2020, 11:11 AM

4,998 posts

It is mostly about price, location and affordibility. Solve these 3 first.

Dont chase for it like FOMO

SiewLee30
post Nov 11 2020, 11:46 AM

46 posts

you are what you think , if you think that u will not get enough money to pay the house then you will be that.

just buy and always think positive
drowning
post Nov 11 2020, 12:01 PM

86 posts

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?

Calculate how much is the house that you can afford. I.e. your house loan is 3K a month,

- Must have 1 year of savings set aside for that house loan. (should have 36K)
- Must have 3 months of savings set aside for that house maintenance. (should have 9K)

If you are ready with that 2, then you can buy a house without much worry.

Adjust accordingly to buy the house you can afford.

Reno and fittings are different. Don't dib into that 2 saving for these.

Fiona Chin
post Nov 11 2020, 12:02 PM

1,172 posts

Property is good if you got it at the right time, right place, right people.

Bought my 1st unit in SG straight out of uni with the money parents initially prepared for my tuition fee. That was the pre property boom period. Installment was covered by rental and CPF contribution, got extra some more. 2nd unit joint name with hubby, shorter loan period and we drop most of the income into the installment, everyday bring lunch box to work, coffee from pantry and dinner at home. Clear the loan before retiring to a stay-home mum. Now doing what I like without worrying on financial issue.

We got some units in KL but the rental there really sad. SG better yield. Tenants are more behaved haha.

Buy within means though, many people got into trouble coz over commit.
drowning
post Nov 11 2020, 12:03 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Nov 11 2020, 12:02 PM)
Property is good if you got it at the right time, right place, right people.

Bought my 1st unit in SG straight out of uni with the money parents initially prepared for my tuition fee. That was the pre property boom period. Installment was covered by rental and CPF contribution, got extra some more. 2nd unit joint name with hubby, shorter loan period and we drop most of the income into the installment, everyday bring lunch box to work, coffee from pantry and dinner at home. Clear the loan before retiring to a stay-home mum. Now doing what I like without worrying on financial issue.

We got some units in KL but the rental there really sad. SG better yield. Tenants are more behaved haha.

Buy within means though, many people got into trouble coz over commit.
Can't stress this enough.

kuci_mayong
post Nov 11 2020, 12:04 PM

808 posts

Nice thread TS.
K.I.T.T
post Nov 11 2020, 06:47 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(darkmusses @ Nov 11 2020, 10:15 AM)

Let me tell u some secret

T20 people make money on B40 & m40 people

So b40 should make money on T20 interest and gender.
ketupatlazat
post Nov 11 2020, 07:24 PM

555 posts

No need big house la TS

the bigger it is, the more issues will pop up, and subsequently, headache and moolah gone

seriously, just get a nice small abode, at a price well within your comfortable range, and just live out with it

headache-free life >>>>> all
xkaix
post Nov 11 2020, 08:15 PM

165 posts

Save enough money and buy with CASH
Zwean
post Nov 11 2020, 08:20 PM

1,269 posts

QUOTE(ketupatlazat @ Nov 11 2020, 07:24 PM)
No need big house la TS

the bigger it is, the more issues will pop up, and subsequently, headache and moolah gone

seriously, just get a nice small abode, at a price well within your comfortable range, and just live out with it

headache-free life >>>>> all
I agree geh

Studio > All
waghyu
post Nov 11 2020, 08:21 PM

3,389 posts

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?

Just rent lo

zack1919
post Nov 11 2020, 08:27 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(Zwean @ Nov 11 2020, 08:20 PM)
I agree geh

Studio > All
Studio damn expensive weyh..
If you were to calculate price/area

Why not use the same amount of money to get a condo?
emy_xvidia
post Nov 11 2020, 09:25 PM

2,735 posts

buy CASH. Dont get trapped with the banks. No cash, rent first. There's no harm in not owning a house at your current age if you live without comparing with others.
Zwean
post Nov 11 2020, 09:49 PM

1,269 posts

QUOTE(zack1919 @ Nov 11 2020, 08:27 PM)
Studio damn expensive weyh..
If you were to calculate price/area

Why not use the same amount of money to get a condo?
Atas area. Nothing wrong smaller
ComingBackSoon
post Nov 11 2020, 10:07 PM

787 posts

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?

Life is full of risk. Whether you are aware or not, you are taking risk with your every decision.

In your case, you can either

1) Avoid the risk - just rent house forever
2) Mitigate the risk - have bigger cash reserve and multiple income stream
3) Transfer the risk - purchase the property jointly with someone else e.g., your spouse
4) Accept the risk - don't give a fuck and just buy, accepting risk as part of life.

darkdevilrey
post Nov 11 2020, 10:29 PM

Silly Fools
1,156 posts

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job? eat grass
2. My salary got cut? eat grass
3. More pandemic coming? eat grass
4. if i buy a house can i still afford to do thing i used to do? no
5. What if i change job or company relocate me somewhere more farther? buy new house
6. What If there's a sudden big increment of non bank commitment,  like kids, etc etc eat grass
7. Age is middle 30, what If i hold a little longer,  save money and buy house at 45 year old, then only eligible for 25 years loan. Donno can afford or not whats the point ? might as well save money for 30years then buy new house at age 60 right ?
8. Unexpected repair bill? eat grass
9. Will iable to save more for retirement? no

At the moment I'm enjoying my life, car loan will finish soon, sometimes i felt too comfortable and boring. Can own a house make life less dull? commitment and commitment free is heaven and hell different

Seen and heard many cases that many people were getting fired this year i suddenly become coward to commit. Even a high income like pilots can be layed off.dont commit then

Should i enjoy my debt free life? why not? live free then die for nothing, does that mean anything to you?

Maria Takagi
post Nov 11 2020, 11:51 PM

1,039 posts

Let me share my fair share of property fumbles:

1- I applied for Bandar Utama house, waited 2 years, then they offered me this 2 1/2 storey house for just 530k. I passed because I only had 3 years work exp at that time, with salary 3k.

2- I saw one condo being sold for 250k, was persuaded to buy 2 lots, but decided not to. I only bought one, and furnished it, rented it out for 5k. Then it dawned on me, why the heck I didn't buy 2 units ? I heard one crazy lady bought 5 units and rented them out. Shucks I was so stupid, years later, the condo is worth 750k and they built the MRT right in front of it.

3- Another condo was offered at 500k. I was contemplating to buy or not. Then shucks I didn't. but the value went sky high to 1 mil.

This post has been edited by Maria Takagi: Nov 11 2020, 11:53 PM
Pakatan SinMa Plus
post Nov 12 2020, 09:39 AM

1,148 posts

The decision to buy the first house is always the hardest. If TS worries about the commitment, perhaps can start with a smaller/cheaper unit.
darkmusses
post Nov 12 2020, 10:20 AM

595 posts

QUOTE(K.I.T.T @ Nov 11 2020, 10:37 AM)
If i want find house for stay i will find best one.
Once you bought duit mengalir mcm air.
Who don't what to get the "best" one .. The problem is : Can you sustain ?

I choose not the best one .. rather something decent ..

Besides, family also got inherit some properties, will continue buy more later in time ..

ComingBackSoon
post Nov 12 2020, 10:23 AM

787 posts

QUOTE(darkmusses @ Nov 12 2020, 10:20 AM)

Besides, family also got inherit some properties, will continue buy more later in time ..
If you cannot sustain then its not the best 1 loh
darkmusses
post Nov 12 2020, 10:24 AM

595 posts

Sometime ppl with big house makes me wonder .. be it family inherit, or own purchase ..

Outside could be rundown .. when I pass by those landed one .. most but not all ..

Got money buy but no money maintain .. worst .. next generation cant even afford to maintain after living so many years ..
darkhunter16
post Nov 12 2020, 10:32 AM

128 posts

Worst case is just declaring bankruptcy

If you can afford just go ahead, enjoy what you can now

Considering upskill yourself in long term and remain competitive. There are different ways to earn such as grabcar or other methods if you really lost your job

Who know 10-20 years later you already dead
MrBlackie33
post Nov 12 2020, 10:52 AM

Shhhhhhh
834 posts

QUOTE(Maria Takagi @ Nov 11 2020, 11:51 PM)
Let me share my fair share of property fumbles:

1- I applied for Bandar Utama house, waited 2 years, then they offered me this 2 1/2 storey house for just 530k. I passed because I only had 3 years work exp at that time, with salary 3k.

2- I saw one condo being sold for 250k, was persuaded to buy 2 lots, but decided not to. I only bought one, and furnished it, rented it out for 5k. Then it dawned on me, why the heck I didn't buy 2 units ? I heard one crazy lady bought 5 units and rented them out. Shucks I was so stupid, years later, the condo is worth 750k and they built the MRT right in front of it.

3- Another condo was offered at 500k. I was contemplating to buy or not. Then shucks I didn't. but the value went sky high to 1 mil.
which year was this? BU landed 530k dayummm

well cant blame the hesitance of first time home buyer in decision making, nowadays full of property bubble theory
poweredbydiscuz
post Nov 12 2020, 10:54 AM

3,834 posts

Buy within your mean.

And if the "what if" happens and can't afford to pay the loan, just sell the house and start to rent again. You won't lose much (if any) as the house won't depreciate much. Heck you may even gain if it appreciates.
gashout
post Nov 12 2020, 10:54 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

Just get something affordable. Don't become slave to your property for the next 35 years.

Like mine clear house loan in 3 years. Now enjoying no one chasing me for payment.

It's really good to have your own place even a tiny one that you can call your own home. Lest you're being notified to move, chased out, and can't really decorate the place as how you want it.
ultra_nyamuk
post Nov 12 2020, 11:01 AM

1,833 posts

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?

The main issue here i can see is getting a house that you can afford ( the monthly installments ). It will solve most of your concerns. Of course you need to do some research on which area might fit the best for you in terms of work locations etc. The longer you hold it off, the more likely the prices will go up and unless you income increase accordingly, you will never be able to afford one. I envy those who bought earlier in their lives, suffered a little back then, but now their house is about half paid/some even fully paid.
poweredbydiscuz
post Nov 12 2020, 11:07 AM

3,834 posts

Just to add, buying a first house should be an easier decision, because you still need a place to stay no matter what happens.

If things get rough, you have the option to rent out some of the rooms to cover the loan. That way it will be cheaper than you renting a room outside.
zack1919
post Nov 12 2020, 11:11 AM

519 posts

Let me just park m question in TS thread here lol;

Anyone have any experiences with Studio on long term basis?
As in after you got a family and children.

Is studio good for long term?
ultra_nyamuk
post Nov 12 2020, 11:29 AM

1,833 posts

QUOTE(zack1919 @ Nov 12 2020, 11:11 AM)

Just an opinion. No & Yes. No if you plan to stay long term and have your family there. Yes, because you still can keep it and its quite popular for rentals, then get another bigger house.
Maria Takagi
post Nov 12 2020, 12:40 PM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(MrBlackie33 @ Nov 12 2020, 10:52 AM)
which year was this? BU landed 530k dayummm

well cant blame the hesitance of first time home buyer in decision making, nowadays full of property bubble theory
hahahaha, way back early 2000s.

that was my biggest regret.

This post has been edited by Maria Takagi: Nov 12 2020, 12:40 PM
NeoMnemonic
post Nov 12 2020, 02:45 PM

760 posts

your children are so lucky that they will inherit it without a sweat earning it when you die. you will be a slave by working of your loan debts.

QUOTE(pretty23 @ Nov 10 2020, 06:17 PM)
Already own 2 landed houses now. Still to think get 3rd one.
hirano
post Nov 12 2020, 02:53 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,335 posts

QUOTE(zack1919 @ Nov 12 2020, 11:11 AM)

I am renting a studio. 2 years. But that's it. Really small even for just 2 pax. Too many stuff actually filling up the spaces. Need to learn being minimalist after this lol

So if u got a child, don't get studio. Get normal house. At least 800-900sqft (2 kids max)

This post has been edited by hirano: Nov 12 2020, 02:57 PM
zack1919
post Nov 12 2020, 03:00 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Nov 12 2020, 02:53 PM)
I am renting a studio. 2 years. But that's it. Really small even for just 2 pax. Too many stuff actually filling up the spaces. Need to learn being minimalist after this lol

So if u got a child, don't get studio. Get normal house. At least 800-900sqft (2 kids max)
Good to know! Thank god I'm a minimalist (another word for cheapskater).

Any comment on cooking in a studio apartment? Does your bed reeks of yesterday's food or any oil smell?
__mill
post Nov 12 2020, 03:13 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(zack1919 @ Nov 12 2020, 03:00 PM)

Any comment on cooking in a studio apartment? Does your bed reeks of yesterday's food or any oil smell?
get urself an induction cooker and install exhaust fan/ get air purifyer if u have extra budget. It will solve the smell/ smoke problem. huge differences when u cook via gas stove n electrical. saves the time in cooking too.
hirano
post Nov 12 2020, 03:15 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,335 posts

I use induction cooker, electric one. It's right in front window, so not much smoke, it goes out to the window. The bed doesn't smell.
Note: i cooked rendang, sambal, western foods etc. No issue with smell of oil..

The house only smell right now cos i got a long-fur cat. The fur is everywhere.
K.I.T.T
post Nov 12 2020, 08:37 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(darkmusses @ Nov 12 2020, 10:20 AM)

if u get house u like it or u dream about it u will automatic need know what to do.

i dont mind renovation up to 100k tiles per unit RM 10 because property always price up.
Sim City
post Nov 12 2020, 08:39 PM

54 posts

The smell will remain within your unit unless , you own a premium ventilation. It happened to my 500sf studio.
zack1919
post Nov 12 2020, 08:49 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(Sim City @ Nov 12 2020, 08:39 PM)
The smell will remain within your unit unless , you own a premium ventilation. It happened to my 500sf studio.
Even with exhaust fan the smells still linger around the area?
TSclockpulses
post Nov 12 2020, 10:43 PM

386 posts

Thanks guys, ive decide to proceed buying a house. Although still worry me a lot
hirano
post Nov 12 2020, 11:24 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,335 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Nov 12 2020, 10:43 PM)
Thanks guys, ive decide to proceed buying a house. Although still worry me a lot
Where and how much is the one u gonna buy?
kkkw80
post Nov 12 2020, 11:37 PM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

Nowadays if you WFH, it’s important to have enough space in your house esp if you’ve a family. I’ll go crazy if not.
TSclockpulses
post Nov 13 2020, 12:11 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Nov 12 2020, 11:24 PM)
Where and how much is the one u gonna buy?
Cant tell exactly but its a little far from KL.

I'm used to it travel far anyway feom my current house. Only this one is need additional 8km, luckily got non jam highway. But the price of the 2 storey landed is worth it, peacefull area, not so urban and hectic area like cheras but near to hypermarkets, banks, and other facilities

This post has been edited by clockpulses: Nov 13 2020, 12:13 AM
zenix
post Nov 13 2020, 12:38 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

there are many ways to skin a cat so i'll just tell you two stories then you see how you can fit into your personal scenario.

1) i have a female friend (unmarried) that owns two properties she bought from the sub-sale market. the first she bought was a small apartment in SS2. she told me that time the asking price was around 100k. originally it was in a sorry state but at least the previous tenant didn't pour cement down the drain. so she basically clean it up and repainted, then offer it for rental as bare unit. part of it was due to her financial situation at the time and she was thinking whatever tenant she gets that area might be low class people won't appreciate the furniture anyway. she got lucky a chinese couple rented the place because want to send their daughter to the chinese school there. her income was good that she decided to get another property and thinking for the future she decided to get a landed property, she found something cheap in SS14 (she didn't disclose the amount to me) and her target weren't students as most owners in SS14 partition up the houses then rent to students studying at Taylors/Inti, instead she did basically the same as her SS2 property target families wanting a Subang Jaya address for the public and chinese schools in that area for their kids. both properties doing well with long term tenants as the parents would be invested in that area for their kids for at least 5 years and longer if they have more kids. location is important for this, there is less chance of them renting elsewhere or buying their own as prices have risen over the years for sub-sale and new ones would put them in financial burden. heard stories from her that the parents either have no plans to move or bought property which is cheaper but further away in places like Bangi and Rawang, and would move there once the education of their kids is complete or retire as they're working nearby so don't plan to commute. she manage to avoid MCO issues other owners having in subang jaya because colleges are closed so all the students went home and nobody renting their pigeon hole partitioned rooms. yes, u can earn more with partitioning and renting out individually but collection is a headache. she also previously lived a frugal life of renting a small room near any office she works at, now is living rent free with her bf/fiance.

2) i have a male friend whom bought a high-end condo quite recently. he comes from a slightly broken house with an abusive mom and absent father, so whatever he do is always quite kiasu so instead of getting something reasonable and sensible he has to get something really cool to show off as he was convinced after a friend bought at 'tropics @ 3 damansara' that a condo atop a shopping complex was the way to go. so he got a SOFO at atria, i think he got it from developer with all the developer perks but at the height of property price a few years back. he got influence by minimalist lifestyle which lead him to caravan lifestyle which lead him to steath camper lifestyle, he thought of a way to keep his property and earn from it. he converted his mpv unto a stealth camper to stay in while he rented out his SOFO, he then rented an extra car park from the management to park his camper while his original parking spot is for tenant use. in his words he is using all the condo facilities for RM100 parking fee per month and earning rental from his property. he tells me every morning he go to gym, swim, sauna then bath at the common bathroom and change into his work clothes then go to office, he told me slight inconvenience changing in the public shower room and getting up early so nobody uses the facilities yet but apart from that he doesn't pay a single cent for water and electricity. during mco period he either uses the lounge, meeting rooms for WFH (free wifi) or go down to the shopping complex to have lunch then lepak at the cafe for a few hours. he had to make some sacrifices but i think it is smart, he told me if he lived in a camper earlier but didn't own a condo with facilities he would've just gotten a gym membership.
poweredbydiscuz
post Nov 13 2020, 08:23 AM

3,834 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Nov 13 2020, 12:38 AM)
there are many ways to skin a cat so i'll just tell you two stories then you see how you can fit into your personal scenario.

Cool story but TS was asking for own stay though.
Sim City
post Nov 13 2020, 09:20 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(zack1919 @ Nov 12 2020, 08:49 PM)
Even with exhaust fan the smells still linger around the area?
It still lingers, but at a minimum.
Sim City
post Nov 13 2020, 09:21 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Nov 12 2020, 10:43 PM)
If financially you're stable, then just do it. Buy and wait, dont wait to buy.
kidmad
post Nov 13 2020, 09:49 AM

4,482 posts

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?

no... 12 years in klang valley had move in and out 5 property under my name. had only rent in the first 3 years in KV and 2018-2019 when my wife wanted to test out if she can adapt to the lifestyle near my working place. what you really need to do is take the first step and when you repeat this step..you will notice actually there isn't much to worry about. to answer some of your questions:

1. I lost my job? find another one
2. My salary got cut? does it matter? get a house which you could comfortably afford
3. More pandemic coming? no one can tell and yet you still need a roof not?
4. if i buy a house can i still afford to do thing i used to do? why not?
5. What if i change job or company relocate me somewhere more farther? the house will change together with ya
6. What If there's a sudden big increment of non bank commitment, like kids, etc etc you married mei?
7. Age is middle 30, what If i hold a little longer, save money and buy house at 45 year old, then only eligible for 25 years loan. Donno can afford or not. when you hit age 45.. you better be damn sure you can buy the house cash. Else for F sick you keep those cash?
8. Unexpected repair bill? like what?
9. Will iable to save more for retirement? sell the house
darkmusses
post Nov 13 2020, 10:07 AM

595 posts

QUOTE(K.I.T.T @ Nov 12 2020, 08:37 PM)
if u get house u like it or u dream about it u will automatic need know what to do.

i dont mind renovation up to 100k tiles per unit RM 10 because property always price up.
I plan to get a villa for my vacation home oversea and I'm working towards it now ..

Hopefully can materialise this with my partner ..
zack1919
post Nov 13 2020, 12:03 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Nov 13 2020, 09:49 AM)
no... 12 years in klang valley had move in and out 5 property under my name. had only rent in the first 3 years in KV and 2018-2019 when my wife wanted to test out if she can adapt to the lifestyle near my working place. what you really need to do is take the first step and when you repeat this step..you will notice actually there isn't much to worry about. to answer some of your questions:

1. I lost my job? find another one
2. My salary got cut? does it matter? get a house which you could comfortably afford
3. More pandemic coming? no one can tell and yet you still need a roof not?
4. if i buy a house can i still afford to do thing i used to do? why not?
5. What if i change job or company relocate me somewhere more farther? the house will change together with ya
6. What If there's a sudden big increment of non bank commitment,  like kids, etc etc you married mei?
7. Age is middle 30, what If i hold a little longer,  save money and buy house at 45 year old, then only eligible for 25 years loan. Donno can afford or not. when you hit age 45.. you better be damn sure you can buy the house cash. Else for F sick you keep those cash?
8. Unexpected repair bill? like what?
9. Will iable to save more for retirement? sell the house
Point #9 got me laughing rclxms.gif biggrin.gif

On another hand, mind elaborating point #5?
kidmad
post Nov 13 2020, 01:53 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(zack1919 @ Nov 13 2020, 12:03 PM)
Point #9 got me laughing  rclxms.gif  biggrin.gif

On another hand, mind elaborating point #5?
I shift so frequent now i just stay opposite of my company.. well still a distance walking. So I'm at the a point where is i ever change job I'll just buy a small apartment near my company. Easy peasy.
SUSBora Prisoner
post Nov 13 2020, 02:39 PM

532 posts

probably now is the best time to buy, since no stamp duty for first time buyers

look for subsales, i'm sure some owners are letting go at lower prices these days

pisces88
post Nov 13 2020, 03:06 PM

3,969 posts

Once u buy the first. The 2nd 3rd 4th feels natural already, go for it
Sim City
post Nov 13 2020, 11:05 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Nov 13 2020, 03:06 PM)
Once u buy the first. The 2nd 3rd 4th feels natural already, go for it
The multiplying effect. rclxm9.gif
abhipraaya
post Nov 14 2020, 12:08 PM

565 posts

Don't worry. Your thoughts are normal. I can understand. The fear is there, I felt the same too.
Chrono-Trigger
post Nov 14 2020, 12:11 PM

BY SELF ONE IS DEFILED AND PURIFIED
4,308 posts

TS, I had the same hesitation before I decided to buy a condo and own some property.

To cut the story short - if you plan to be single, renting maybe a good idea. But if you have family or planning to get married, owning is good.

Buying a house is a form of investment in your life. Everything in life has its cost. Buying a house means you have to trade off some of the luxury and comfort in life , maybe temporarily for next 20 years before you finish the loan. But in return, you have the comfort that you have your own place, own house, own condo.

My advice to you is, even if you decide not to buy property, KEEP the CASH, and don't YOLO it away. Cash will become your security for old days.

I got a friend who YOLO , now 44 years, still renting. I think his old days are a bit insecure.
gashout
post Nov 14 2020, 03:49 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Nov 14 2020, 12:11 PM)
TS, I had the same hesitation before I decided to buy a condo and own some property.

To cut the story short - if you plan to be single, renting maybe a good idea. But if you have family or planning to get married, owning is good.

Buying a house is a form of investment in your life. Everything in life has its cost. Buying a house means you have to trade off some of the luxury and comfort in life , maybe temporarily for next 20 years before you finish the loan. But in return, you have the comfort that you have your own place, own house, own condo.

My advice to you is, even if you decide not to buy property, KEEP the CASH, and don't YOLO it away. Cash will become your security for old days.

I got a friend who YOLO , now 44 years, still renting. I think his old days are a bit insecure.
Your friend YOLO squandered all his money?

Chrono-Trigger
post Nov 14 2020, 04:47 PM

4,308 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Nov 14 2020, 03:49 PM)
Your friend YOLO squandered all his money?
Dine out quite frequent , Starbucks , gym, travel. Not much savings from what I heard.

gashout
post Nov 14 2020, 05:15 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Nov 14 2020, 04:47 PM)
Dine out quite frequent , Starbucks , gym, travel. Not much savings from what I heard.
That's real living the moment and forgotten about the future.

He still has 14 years to catch up till retirement.

leftback
post Nov 14 2020, 09:35 PM

45 posts

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?

I've invested in many properties over the years and this is the advice I would give you

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
>> Ensure you have 6 months or more emergency funds. If you earn 1k a month, you should have 6k as your emergency fund.

2. My salary got cut?
>> Ensure you have 6 months or more emergency funds. If you earn 1k a month, you should have 6k as your emergency fund.

3. More pandemic coming?

>> You would have to sacrifice a bit here and there, but in the long term, it would be well worth it for you and your future generations.

>> Only you can answer this question. You would have to choose a strategic location based on your current and future job. Even if you would have to relocate, there are many ways around this.

>> Don't over-commit by buying something that is too lavish that you can't effort.

>> Inflation will reduce the value of your money while the price of the property will keep on increasing. This is assuming you save your money in FD.

>> Don't over-commit by buying something that is too lavish that you can't effort.

>> If you are renting now, yes you would be able to save more for retirement since once day your house will be fully paid for unlike renting.

Read the following books even if you don't like reading:-
1. Rich Dad, Poor Dad By Robert Kiyosaki.
2. CAsh flow quadrant By Robert Kiyosaki.
3. Guide to Investing By Robert Kiyosaki.
4. Millionaires are from a different planet by Azizi Ali

MyRedz
post Nov 15 2020, 01:29 AM

961 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Nov 10 2020, 06:10 PM)

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?

Ts before we answer..asking are you in relationship and planning to get married or have kids?
MyRedz
post Nov 15 2020, 01:48 AM

961 posts

QUOTE(zack1919 @ Nov 11 2020, 12:02 AM)
Oh wow!

Kind to share what occupation you in? Me only gaji 2.3k in 25 year old

QUOTE(kkkw80 @ Nov 11 2020, 12:08 AM)
200k condo when I was earning 3k, 420k terrace house when I was earning 8.5k and new semid 1.75m with salary confidential (way above 5 figures definitely to afford it) 🤐

Life is all about taking chances, work smart to achieve what you want in life.
You seem successful ..can I know what industry you in?
QUOTE(K.I.T.T @ Nov 11 2020, 03:09 AM)

desapark sounds nice.
Vibrant place..any good deals there?

zenix
post Nov 15 2020, 01:59 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Nov 13 2020, 08:23 AM)
Cool story but TS was asking for own stay though.
see my first sentence sherlock
icemanfx
post Nov 15 2020, 02:30 AM

21,457 posts

In the long term, property price rise at about inflation rate.

DSR should be <20% and could trade up later with rising income. DSR >30% is stretched and risks become mortgage prisoner.
Ripp87
post Nov 15 2020, 05:47 AM

Zombie
726 posts

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?

Same here, only started to think like you after committing to 3 properties but lucky bought my first one when I was 18yo. But the rentals covered the loans all these while.

Getting more props will stress u out especially when u can’t rent it

And also post covid, the economic situation will change, Gen Zs are now jobless.

Guess cash is king for the next 5-10years
AskarPerang
post Nov 15 2020, 08:41 AM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

kkkw80
post Nov 15 2020, 08:48 AM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(MyRedz @ Nov 15 2020, 01:48 AM)
Kind to share what occupation you in? Me only gaji 2.3k in 25 year old
You seem successful ..can I know what industry you in?
desapark sounds nice.
Vibrant place..any good deals there?
Classified under essential service

kkkw80
post Nov 15 2020, 08:51 AM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

My new house ready next month tongue.gif

MyRedz
post Nov 15 2020, 01:40 PM

961 posts

QUOTE(kkkw80 @ Nov 15 2020, 09:48 AM)
Classified under essential service
That's great industry growth
Zoo Howl
post Nov 15 2020, 02:38 PM

White Fang
1,822 posts

QUOTE(internaldisputes @ Nov 10 2020, 05:19 PM)
My mom proposed that I buy my eldest brother's house last month and I said no. It was heavily discounted and there is nothing wrong with the house but just like you I have lots of "what ifs" going through my mind. It's hard to pick a single reason. I'm just glad I was able to stay firm with my decision despite being pressured by my mom.

I think I'm gonna rent for awhile. I like the freedom of being able to pack my stuff and move elsewhere whenever I want.
Which area is that
nightzstar
post Nov 15 2020, 04:05 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

Interesting topic
TSclockpulses
post Nov 15 2020, 04:10 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Nov 15 2020, 02:30 AM)
In the long term, property price rise at about inflation rate.

DSR should be <20% and could trade up later with rising income. DSR >30% is stretched and risks become mortgage prisoner.
Is there really people who maintain 20% dsr?

I think max 35% is more realistic though
icemanfx
post Nov 15 2020, 04:12 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Nov 15 2020, 04:10 PM)
Is there really people who maintain 20% dsr?

I think max 35% is more realistic though
DSR>30% is stretched.

gundamsp01
post Nov 15 2020, 04:45 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(kkkw80 @ Nov 10 2020, 06:40 PM)

So glad I bought my 1st property at age 21, sold then another at 29 year old, sold and just bought my 3rd last year. Total profit from the  1st 2 properties is RM600k.
just wondering how you handle the period during your sell - buy transition?
you buy a new house, move in first while waiting your old house to be sold?
Or the other way around?
christ14
post Nov 15 2020, 08:05 PM

1,567 posts

Financial freedom, ahh after taking the leap of faith becoming mortgage prisoner. There is some things i dont get to do now like you said but offset by Covid. Huge chunks of my salary used to go into Travels as i rent a tiny place. But when i thought about it just before lockdown, this thing seems to be going on for a few more years at least and id probably be settling down soon. So. Got a place to myself now. And spending me time.

Also i wont pride on car loans as those depreciate. So i guess props is sort of like a plus
Chrono-Trigger
post Nov 16 2020, 07:27 AM

4,308 posts

QUOTE(K.I.T.T @ Nov 11 2020, 06:47 PM)
Let me tell u some secret

T20 people make money on B40 & m40 people

So b40 should make money on T20 interest and gender.
unfortunately that's how the modern economy works.

T20 loan cash to banks, banks loan it to M40, B40.

M40/B40 pays interest to banks, banks pay interest to T20.
danielmckey
post Nov 16 2020, 07:33 AM

1,053 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Nov 16 2020, 07:27 AM)
unfortunately that's how the modern economy works.

T20 loan cash to banks, banks loan it to M40, B40.

M40/B40 pays interest to banks, banks pay interest to T20.
Continue, gomen support T20. They give more project to T20. M40 & B40 gift is just a gimmick with peanuts amount because T20 already got those project in millions & millions. Then M40 & B40 continue to be poor & still support the existing gomen.
MrBlackie33
post Nov 16 2020, 09:30 AM

Shhhhhhh
834 posts

I was quite hesitate to buy my 1st house initially as well like TS, lots of property bubble news circulating around, too much negativity from those friends who said why buy house la just rent la.

but then i was convinced by my dad at the end of day, he is a real example why buying a house isnt a burden in a long run provided the price is within ur means. Out of 7 properties he owned since 10 yrs ago only 1 sold at stagnant price (its a commercial lot at low end klang valley suburb neighbourhood), others are able to rent out all year long or sold at double/triple the price.

The keyword is buy within ur means and choose a decent project with gud resident profile/location.
kkkw80
post Nov 16 2020, 09:37 AM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Nov 15 2020, 04:45 PM)
just wondering how you handle the period during your sell - buy transition?
you buy a new house, move in first while waiting your old house to be sold?
Or the other way around?
Buy new then sell old. Use some of the profit for reno and keep the rest.

In property, you'll see the money when you're able to afford your 2nd property and assuming you buy low and sell high
gundamsp01
post Nov 16 2020, 10:25 AM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(kkkw80 @ Nov 16 2020, 09:37 AM)
Buy new then sell old. Use some of the profit for reno and keep the rest.

In property, you'll see the money when you're able to afford your 2nd property and assuming you buy low and sell high
seems like all your properties are in hot-demand area, since can find buyer in a short time. laugh.gif
kkkw80
post Nov 16 2020, 10:35 AM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Nov 16 2020, 10:25 AM)
seems like all your properties are in hot-demand area, since can find buyer in a short time.  laugh.gif
1st one was in Tropicana, sold within 1 month

2nd is in Setia Alam, sold within 6 weeks

As they said, it’s all about location, location and location. I’ve colleagues who bought in area such as Balakong, Port Dickson crying at lost now.

It also depends on timing, Tropicana was sold back in 2010 and Setia Alam end of 2019.

Lastly, I only buy from reputable and well known developers. Worst if the property is abandoned or quality is like shit

This post has been edited by kkkw80: Nov 16 2020, 10:39 AM
zack1919
post Nov 16 2020, 11:27 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(kkkw80 @ Nov 16 2020, 10:35 AM)
1st one was in Tropicana, sold within 1 month

2nd is in Setia Alam, sold within 6 weeks

As they said, it’s all about location, location and location. I’ve colleagues who bought in area such as Balakong, Port Dickson crying at lost now.

It also depends on timing, Tropicana was sold back in 2010 and Setia Alam end of 2019.

Lastly, I only buy from reputable and well known developers. Worst if the property is abandoned or quality is like shit
Oh wow..
Sifu, please advise on Gravit8 and The Parque Residence both in klang
Worth investing?
kkkw80
post Nov 17 2020, 12:31 AM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(zack1919 @ Nov 16 2020, 11:27 PM)
Oh wow..
Sifu, please advise on Gravit8 and The Parque Residence both in klang
Worth investing?
Sorry I wouldn't buy properties in Klang area, prefer PJ or Shah Alam
andreaschan
post Nov 18 2020, 05:17 PM

67 posts

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?

Well this is a question of personal finance secure and choice hmm.gif But if you have this kind of thoughts it mean you are thinking ahead which is a good thing but if you focus too much on the negative side only then you will not see the positivity in front.

1. There is not absolute job security these days, more jobs are getting replaced. Just look at a few example, macdonald no longer need a lot of cashier because order by flat screen, factory no longer need a lot workers as it can be computerize... etc... so yes your concern is true about job

2. Buying a house is a liability until you finish pays off and if you invest in the correct one. It will give you a proper return.

3. If your job has the probability of relocate you also, they will still provide you with a place to stay. Plus the house that you bought will still be there or you can sell it afterwards?

4. If you plan to have a family, dont forget your wife and you is working together so you are not alone in the house loan

5. It depends on your life planning, if you dont like to being tied down to a property and feeling adventurous then you can consider about rent a property where you can move from place to place for a different experience. But if you plan to have a family, perhaps have a own house would be a better idea

However, your problem actually can be solve easy which is "MONEY". The reason why is easy because there is a lot of ways you can earn some bucks and these days is filled with a lot of opportunities that you can venture into and some is without capital plus you don't need to sacrifice your job to do that. You will be surprised about the opportunities you can venture into. And if you are able to earn good, stable income, all these is not a drama.

If you want to know about some side income suggestion, why not fill in my survey or pm me your contact details so we can have a talk
thumbsup.gif
wawasan2200
post Feb 16 2025, 03:39 PM

189 posts

ts how are you now?
hoonanoo
post Feb 16 2025, 06:53 PM

1,782 posts

Can do like me, buy few properties.

then load up on EPF....20 over years of work after graduate, now I am shopping for new bigger house to stay in.

no need to take any loan.

Icehart
post Feb 16 2025, 09:40 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(kkkw80 @ Nov 15 2020, 08:51 AM)
My new house ready next month  tongue.gif

Congrats. Where is this?
kkkw80
post Feb 16 2025, 10:54 PM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Feb 16 2025, 09:40 PM)
Congrats. Where is this?
Eco Ardence
kkkw80
post Feb 16 2025, 11:00 PM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

Job security scare buy property? So far
all my 3 properties appreciate 30-50% including my current bought 1.67m now valued around 2.4-2.5m. Touch wood if lose my job, at least with a property if I sell gain back 700-800k 😉
Icehart
post Feb 16 2025, 11:24 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(kkkw80 @ Feb 16 2025, 10:54 PM)
Eco Ardence
Nice. I did have a look at it but location just an issue for me. Great township though.
nauticat99
post Feb 16 2025, 11:24 PM

587 posts

Want to buy house, get it when you are still young with many years of earning powers, eg late 20s to early 30s. It will force you to have financial discipline, die die have to settle your house payment before other “enjoyment” comes. That way you have some form of financial security and peace of mind as you hit your 50s with the house payments cleared.
Don’t be like my cousin; eat good food, travel, spa, buying lots of bags and shoes and only started buying her house when turned 40. Now 50 so stressed cos house have to pay until 65 but retirement is looming soon and have no extra spare cash for rainy days. During covid, was retrench and had to borrow money to pay for her house. This is due to lack of financial literacy and discipline. Regret now also useless.
Icehart
post Feb 16 2025, 11:25 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(nauticat99 @ Feb 16 2025, 11:24 PM)
Want to buy house, get it when you are still young with many years of earning powers, eg late 20s to early 30s. It will force you to have financial discipline, die die have to settle your house payment before other “enjoyment” comes. That way you have some form of financial security and peace of mind as you hit your 50s with the house payments cleared.
Don’t be like my cousin; eat good food, travel, spa, buying lots of bags and shoes and only started buying her house when turned 40. Now 50 so stressed cos house have to pay until 65 but retirement is looming soon and have no extra spare cash for rainy days. During covid, was retrench and had to borrow money to pay for her house. This is due to lack of financial literacy and discipline. Regret now also useless.
Maybe she overestimate her income and bought a house that is beyond her mean?
nauticat99
post Feb 17 2025, 02:02 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Feb 16 2025, 11:25 PM)
Maybe she overestimate her income and bought a house that is beyond her mean?
Nah! Bank also see your payslips before giving you the loans. The condo is definitely within her means if she has spare money to cover rainy days. Until today salary is just enough for monthly commitments but always run short due to extravagant spending eg holidays. My guess would be due to the standards set before owning a house so still continue the habit of spending like no tomorrow

This post has been edited by nauticat99: Feb 17 2025, 02:04 AM
poco loco
post Feb 17 2025, 05:53 AM

611 posts

i think buy it with cash/epf without loan will be peace of mind.....got different housing price from 50k - infinite
Shanks747
post Feb 17 2025, 06:25 AM

198 posts

depends on life goals and lifestyle....if you going be single for life, just get a studio or condo.

if want have family in future then get the house.

Property is not so liquid-able and long term, I predict chaos in the next 5-10 years.

AI is coming rapid, alot of people will lose thier jobs across the globe....so I waiting to buy houses on discount in the coming years.
adamhzm90
post Feb 17 2025, 08:18 AM

1,389 posts

Property price nowadays is crazy.

Just buy for stay purpose. Long gone investment through property
giftfre
post Feb 17 2025, 08:37 AM

Control Macho
683 posts

There are wide range of housing price. Plan well and you will not have fear of buying house.
kkkw80
post Feb 17 2025, 08:43 AM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Feb 16 2025, 11:24 PM)
Nice. I did have a look at it but location just an issue for me. Great township though.
Yeah its been great so far, management is doing good job, neighbors are all nice and professionals mainly and value appreciated quite a lot
burn22
post Feb 17 2025, 09:35 AM

398 posts

can buy, but to ur affordability!!
if harga umah tak mampu, cari condo or apartment dulu (freehold title). no matter what, sebelum beli, must have backup saving for emergencies, and always pay more 4 down payment with shorter term loan... aka 15 to 18yrs. if take 30yrs, can forget about it, unless lu keja in gomen.

This post has been edited by burn22: Feb 17 2025, 09:36 AM
Chrono-Trigger
post Feb 17 2025, 10:28 AM

4,308 posts

Owning a home different from renting...

Renting, you don't really feel you have a "home".. you are not willing to renovate or buy anything in rented home/room because it will "benefit" the owners.

You are also at risk to be booted out when landlord wants to increase rent or stay themselves...
poweredbydiscuz
post Feb 17 2025, 12:30 PM

3,834 posts

QUOTE(burn22 @ Feb 17 2025, 09:35 AM)
can buy, but to ur affordability!!
if harga umah tak mampu, cari condo or apartment dulu (freehold title). no matter what, sebelum beli, must have backup saving for emergencies, and always pay more 4 down payment with shorter term loan... aka 15 to 18yrs. if take 30yrs, can forget about it, unless lu keja in gomen.
No. A wiser way is pay the lowest deposit and take the longest loan, then park the additional money in the flexi/semi loan to offset the interest while able to access it.
B0ss_ku
post Feb 17 2025, 01:43 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Feb 17 2025, 12:30 PM)
No. A wiser way is pay the lowest deposit and take the longest loan, then park the additional money in the flexi/semi loan to offset the interest while able to access it.
People who are not investment minded will always think like him, everything want to pay off fast because afraid of debt, will argue better take car loan for 3 years, house loan 10-15 years. Leaving no bullets left in the bank investment opportunities.

If car and house loan can take 100 years period by stretching razor thin for the monthly payment, I will take it
ayamxxx
post Feb 17 2025, 02:08 PM

4,056 posts

I rather have a house (more is a bonus) instead of renting. if anything happens to me, I would rather let my family and kids have a free house to stay in. Else we keep hearing story family had to transfer around after a sole breadwinner passed away, as landlord not receive rental
MasBoleh!
post Feb 17 2025, 02:30 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(wawasan2200 @ Feb 16 2025, 03:39 PM)
ts how are you now?
I will not be surprised that he is still renting

QUOTE(kkkw80 @ Feb 16 2025, 10:54 PM)
Eco Ardence
Wow nice. Sean Tan aka iherng is your neighbour

This post has been edited by MasBoleh!: Feb 17 2025, 02:30 PM
sammm33
post Feb 17 2025, 02:30 PM

684 posts

Then just continue to rent until you want to buy. No Biggie.
sammm33
post Feb 17 2025, 02:31 PM

684 posts

Lol just realize someone necro this.....
MasBoleh!
post Feb 17 2025, 02:58 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Nov 12 2020, 10:54 AM)
Just get something affordable. Don't become slave to your property for the next 35 years.

Like mine clear house loan in 3 years. Now enjoying no one chasing me for payment.

It's really good to have your own place even a tiny one that you can call your own home. Lest you're being notified to move, chased out, and can't really decorate the place as how you want it.
actually i really doubt you can have early settlement within 3 years looking at the mortgage loan terms. Early settlement only up to 80% within 3 years, unless the loan you had back then don't have all these revised terms
poweredbydiscuz
post Feb 17 2025, 03:19 PM

3,834 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Feb 17 2025, 02:58 PM)
actually i really doubt you can have early settlement within 3 years looking at the mortgage loan terms. Early settlement only up to 80% within 3 years, unless the loan you had back then don't have all these revised terms
Usually need to pay some penalty if settle within the lock in period.

This post has been edited by poweredbydiscuz: Feb 17 2025, 03:20 PM
MasBoleh!
post Feb 17 2025, 03:27 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Feb 17 2025, 03:19 PM)
Usually need to pay some penalty if settle within the lock in period.
The penalty ain't gonna be cheap, still worth it kah? And i think the 80% is accompanied with penalty. Banks nowadays prevent people from doing this

This post has been edited by MasBoleh!: Feb 17 2025, 03:27 PM
kkkw80
post Feb 17 2025, 04:38 PM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Feb 17 2025, 02:30 PM)
I will not be surprised that he is still renting
Wow nice. Sean Tan aka iherng is your neighbour
Yeah he bought the 5th phase project, mine is 2nd
cms
post Feb 17 2025, 05:21 PM

763 posts

Rent/stay with FAMA until you inherit a house from your parents. That should reduce fear listed by TS.
MasBoleh!
post Feb 17 2025, 08:00 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(kkkw80 @ Feb 17 2025, 04:38 PM)
Yeah he bought the 5th phase project, mine is 2nd
Yea I must realised your post was back in 2020
kelvinfixx
post Feb 17 2025, 08:05 PM

1,590 posts

no family dont bother
burn22
post Feb 17 2025, 10:52 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Feb 17 2025, 12:30 PM)
bila recession hit twice, and someone you luv got cancer, 2 times ops + treatment oledi cost a bomb. then gaji keja keno potong, mungkin you akan paham. during those days, I sold off my condo unit bila hit with financial difficulty. got another 2yrs to settle, with 14yrs installment. from there, gua bought another apartment unit in cash at lower price, with xtra balance to save for rainy day. untuk gua, shorter term, less paying for yearly interest. bila jual, dapat bigger amount...

poweredbydiscuz
post Feb 17 2025, 11:55 PM

3,834 posts

QUOTE(burn22 @ Feb 17 2025, 10:52 PM)
bila recession hit twice, and someone you luv got cancer, 2 times ops + treatment oledi cost a bomb. then gaji keja keno potong, mungkin you akan paham. during those days, I sold off my condo unit bila hit with financial difficulty. got another 2yrs to settle, with 14yrs installment. from there, gua bought another apartment unit in cash at lower price, with xtra balance to save for rainy day. untuk gua, shorter term, less paying for yearly interest. bila jual, dapat bigger amount...
This exact post shows that you have zero financial knowledge about mortgage. Please do yourself a favour and go learn about how home loan works.
adamhzm90
post Feb 18 2025, 07:40 AM

1,389 posts

QUOTE(burn22 @ Feb 17 2025, 10:52 PM)
QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Feb 17 2025, 11:55 PM)
This exact post shows that you have zero financial knowledge about mortgage. Please do yourself a favour and go learn about how home loan works.
No right or wrong here..
Paying shorter term less interest paid..
Paying longer term lower monthly commitment..

Depends on preference
poweredbydiscuz
post Feb 18 2025, 07:46 AM

3,834 posts

QUOTE(adamhzm90 @ Feb 18 2025, 07:40 AM)
No right or wrong here..
Paying shorter term less interest paid..
Paying longer term lower monthly commitment..

Depends on preference
Please read my previous post. I'm talking about putting the extra money into the loan (overpay) so that can pay lower interest and at the same time can have access to the overpaid amount at any time, instead of use the money to pay deposit at the beginning (which is gone unless you sell the house).

This post has been edited by poweredbydiscuz: Feb 18 2025, 07:47 AM
max_cavalera
post Feb 18 2025, 08:56 AM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Nov 10 2020, 06:10 PM)

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?

While you procrastinate until your 40s or even 50s to buy a single house.

I already fully paid my 1st house when I was 36. The second one just finish paid end if last month(Im 43 this year)

Looks like you have an issue with delayed gratification. But I will tell you from 20s u til mid 30s my life is really on shoestring budget most of the time. Totally no expensive oversea vacation.

Only when my age 37 onwards do I start to enjoy more.

This post has been edited by max_cavalera: Feb 18 2025, 08:57 AM
adamhzm90
post Feb 18 2025, 12:18 PM

1,389 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Feb 18 2025, 08:56 AM)

I already fully paid my 1st house when I was 36. The second one just finish paid end if last month(Im 43 this year)

Looks like you have an issue with delayed gratification. But I will tell you from 20s u til mid 30s my life is really on shoestring budget most of the time. Totally no expensive oversea vacation.

Wow bro. Can you share

Loan amount
Monthly payment
Additional payment
ayamxxx
post Feb 18 2025, 12:27 PM

4,056 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Feb 18 2025, 08:56 AM)

I already
fully paid my 1st house when I was 36. The second one just finish paid end if last month(Im 43 this year)

u settle the loan asap, did the bank give good rebates at, good price?
max_cavalera
post Feb 18 2025, 01:11 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Feb 18 2025, 01:27 PM)
u settle the loan asap, did the bank give good rebates at, good price?
Of course. I pay lesser interest. The rental
Income i dont have to offest with bank instalments anymore.

Every year when I have extra cash i will dump
Into the loan account and instruct bank to deduct the amoint to reduce the principled amount owed.

Every few years apply epf account 2 lump sum trsfr to bank loan. Deduct principle amount.

The 2nd props in fact I pay around double the monthly instalment amount the last 3-4 years before using almost rm40k epf account 2 to almost fully settle the loan principle amount.
max_cavalera
post Feb 18 2025, 01:18 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(adamhzm90 @ Feb 18 2025, 01:18 PM)
Wow bro. Can you share

Loan amount
Monthly payment
Additional payment
When I was young. Less income. But we have plenty of time. Of course tarik maximum tenure 35 years. Pay the least possible. Bujang time I just stay the smallest room.

The other room I rent out. Over the years when income increase and epf have quite some figures. Just be disciplined and dont squandered it. I started paying more for the monthly loan. When received bonus, same as well. Everytime pay more, instruct bank direct deduct the principle, dont let it sit idle int he loan account.

I nvr withdraw account 2 to assist pay mthly loan instalment. Really rugi with all those monthly interest. If apply direct lump sum deduct principle.
ayamxxx
post Feb 18 2025, 01:37 PM

4,056 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Feb 18 2025, 01:11 PM)
Of course. I pay lesser interest. The rental
Income i dont have to offest with bank instalments anymore.

Every year when I have extra cash i will dump
Into the loan account and instruct bank to deduct the amoint to reduce the principled amount owed.

Every few years apply epf account 2 lump sum trsfr to bank loan. Deduct principle amount.

The 2nd props in fact I pay around double the monthly instalment amount the last 3-4 years before using almost rm40k epf account 2 to almost fully settle the loan principle amount.
nices. kinda looking at this option in the future.
arinpresto
post Feb 18 2025, 01:57 PM

36 posts

Start small and price also must be affordable.

If not stay, just rent it out.

Biar untung sikit janji ada penyewa bayarkan monthly pada bank.

Just my 2 cents

0.0730sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:39 PM