10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Fear of buying house

drowning
post Nov 11 2020, 12:01 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Nov 10 2020, 05:10 PM)
It'd been few years already,  iam a very fickle minded whenever to decide buying a house. I WANT to buy a house because i want it, not saja saja, but Everytime i seriously thought about buying a property (own stay), i put hours hours hours of research and consideration. So many what ifs in my mind,  to the point i gave up tbe idea of buying a house and going debt free route and save as much and enjoy life as much as i can.

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?
4. if i buy a house can i still afford to do thing i used to do?
5. What if i change job or company relocate me somewhere more farther?
6. What If there's a sudden big increment of non bank commitment,  like kids, etc etc
7. Age is middle 30, what If i hold a little longer,  save money and buy house at 45 year old, then only eligible for 25 years loan. Donno can afford or not
8. Unexpected repair bill?
9. Will iable to save more for retirement?

Above questions are not for you.

At the moment I'm enjoying my life, car loan will finish soon, sometimes i felt too comfortable and boring. Can own a house make life less dull?

Seen and heard many cases that many people were getting fired this year i suddenly become coward to commit. Even a high income like pilots can be layed off.

Should i enjoy my debt free life?

Do you have the fear of buying a house?
Calculate how much is the house that you can afford. I.e. your house loan is 3K a month,

- Must have 1 year of savings set aside for that house loan. (should have 36K)
- Must have 3 months of savings set aside for that house maintenance. (should have 9K)

If you are ready with that 2, then you can buy a house without much worry.

Adjust accordingly to buy the house you can afford.

Reno and fittings are different. Don't dib into that 2 saving for these.

Fiona Chin
post Nov 11 2020, 12:02 PM

1,172 posts

Property is good if you got it at the right time, right place, right people.

Bought my 1st unit in SG straight out of uni with the money parents initially prepared for my tuition fee. That was the pre property boom period. Installment was covered by rental and CPF contribution, got extra some more. 2nd unit joint name with hubby, shorter loan period and we drop most of the income into the installment, everyday bring lunch box to work, coffee from pantry and dinner at home. Clear the loan before retiring to a stay-home mum. Now doing what I like without worrying on financial issue.

We got some units in KL but the rental there really sad. SG better yield. Tenants are more behaved haha.

Buy within means though, many people got into trouble coz over commit.
drowning
post Nov 11 2020, 12:03 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Nov 11 2020, 12:02 PM)
Property is good if you got it at the right time, right place, right people.

Bought my 1st unit in SG straight out of uni with the money parents initially prepared for my tuition fee. That was the pre property boom period. Installment was covered by rental and CPF contribution, got extra some more. 2nd unit joint name with hubby, shorter loan period and we drop most of the income into the installment, everyday bring lunch box to work, coffee from pantry and dinner at home. Clear the loan before retiring to a stay-home mum. Now doing what I like without worrying on financial issue.

We got some units in KL but the rental there really sad. SG better yield. Tenants are more behaved haha.

Buy within means though, many people got into trouble coz over commit.
Can't stress this enough.

kuci_mayong
post Nov 11 2020, 12:04 PM

808 posts

Nice thread TS.
K.I.T.T
post Nov 11 2020, 06:47 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(darkmusses @ Nov 11 2020, 10:15 AM)
Convid kali ni not many can survive, you should even syukur if got a job TBH ..

Anyway diff ppl diff thinking, being a boss of your own is good if good planning but something good planning also fail ..

Then can say goodbye for your home .. I lost my job also I don't need to worry for because my home payment just below 20% of my salary ..
Let me tell u some secret

T20 people make money on B40 & m40 people

So b40 should make money on T20 interest and gender.
ketupatlazat
post Nov 11 2020, 07:24 PM

555 posts

No need big house la TS

the bigger it is, the more issues will pop up, and subsequently, headache and moolah gone

seriously, just get a nice small abode, at a price well within your comfortable range, and just live out with it

headache-free life >>>>> all
xkaix
post Nov 11 2020, 08:15 PM

165 posts

Save enough money and buy with CASH
Zwean
post Nov 11 2020, 08:20 PM

1,269 posts

QUOTE(ketupatlazat @ Nov 11 2020, 07:24 PM)
No need big house la TS

the bigger it is, the more issues will pop up, and subsequently, headache and moolah gone

seriously, just get a nice small abode, at a price well within your comfortable range, and just live out with it

headache-free life >>>>> all
I agree geh

Studio > All
waghyu
post Nov 11 2020, 08:21 PM

3,389 posts

It'd been few years already,  iam a very fickle minded whenever to decide buying a house. I WANT to buy a house because i want it, not saja saja, but Everytime i seriously thought about buying a property (own stay), i put hours hours hours of research and consideration. So many what ifs in my mind,  to the point i gave up tbe idea of buying a house and going debt free route and save as much and enjoy life as much as i can.

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?
6. What If there's a sudden big increment of non bank commitment,  like kids, etc etc
7. Age is middle 30, what If i hold a little longer,  save money and buy house at 45 year old, then only eligible for 25 years loan. Donno can afford or not

At the moment I'm enjoying my life, car loan will finish soon, sometimes i felt too comfortable and boring. Can own a house make life less dull?

Seen and heard many cases that many people were getting fired this year i suddenly become coward to commit. Even a high income like pilots can be layed off.

Just rent lo

zack1919
post Nov 11 2020, 08:27 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(Zwean @ Nov 11 2020, 08:20 PM)
I agree geh

Studio > All
Studio damn expensive weyh..
If you were to calculate price/area

Why not use the same amount of money to get a condo?
emy_xvidia
post Nov 11 2020, 09:25 PM

2,735 posts

buy CASH. Dont get trapped with the banks. No cash, rent first. There's no harm in not owning a house at your current age if you live without comparing with others.
Zwean
post Nov 11 2020, 09:49 PM

1,269 posts

QUOTE(zack1919 @ Nov 11 2020, 08:27 PM)
Studio damn expensive weyh..
If you were to calculate price/area

Why not use the same amount of money to get a condo?
Atas area. Nothing wrong smaller
ComingBackSoon
post Nov 11 2020, 10:07 PM

787 posts

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?

Life is full of risk. Whether you are aware or not, you are taking risk with your every decision.

In your case, you can either

1) Avoid the risk - just rent house forever
2) Mitigate the risk - have bigger cash reserve and multiple income stream
3) Transfer the risk - purchase the property jointly with someone else e.g., your spouse
4) Accept the risk - don't give a fuck and just buy, accepting risk as part of life.

darkdevilrey
post Nov 11 2020, 10:29 PM

Silly Fools
1,156 posts

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job? eat grass
2. My salary got cut? eat grass
3. More pandemic coming? eat grass
4. if i buy a house can i still afford to do thing i used to do? no
5. What if i change job or company relocate me somewhere more farther? buy new house
6. What If there's a sudden big increment of non bank commitment,  like kids, etc etc eat grass
7. Age is middle 30, what If i hold a little longer,  save money and buy house at 45 year old, then only eligible for 25 years loan. Donno can afford or not whats the point ? might as well save money for 30years then buy new house at age 60 right ?
8. Unexpected repair bill? eat grass
9. Will iable to save more for retirement? no

At the moment I'm enjoying my life, car loan will finish soon, sometimes i felt too comfortable and boring. Can own a house make life less dull? commitment and commitment free is heaven and hell different

Seen and heard many cases that many people were getting fired this year i suddenly become coward to commit. Even a high income like pilots can be layed off.dont commit then

Should i enjoy my debt free life? why not? live free then die for nothing, does that mean anything to you?

Maria Takagi
post Nov 11 2020, 11:51 PM

1,039 posts

Let me share my fair share of property fumbles:

1- I applied for Bandar Utama house, waited 2 years, then they offered me this 2 1/2 storey house for just 530k. I passed because I only had 3 years work exp at that time, with salary 3k.

2- I saw one condo being sold for 250k, was persuaded to buy 2 lots, but decided not to. I only bought one, and furnished it, rented it out for 5k. Then it dawned on me, why the heck I didn't buy 2 units ? I heard one crazy lady bought 5 units and rented them out. Shucks I was so stupid, years later, the condo is worth 750k and they built the MRT right in front of it.

3- Another condo was offered at 500k. I was contemplating to buy or not. Then shucks I didn't. but the value went sky high to 1 mil.

This post has been edited by Maria Takagi: Nov 11 2020, 11:53 PM
Pakatan SinMa Plus
post Nov 12 2020, 09:39 AM

1,148 posts

The decision to buy the first house is always the hardest. If TS worries about the commitment, perhaps can start with a smaller/cheaper unit.
darkmusses
post Nov 12 2020, 10:20 AM

595 posts

QUOTE(K.I.T.T @ Nov 11 2020, 10:37 AM)
If i want find house for stay i will find best one.
Once you bought duit mengalir mcm air.
Who don't what to get the "best" one .. The problem is : Can you sustain ?

I choose not the best one .. rather something decent ..

Besides, family also got inherit some properties, will continue buy more later in time ..

ComingBackSoon
post Nov 12 2020, 10:23 AM

787 posts

QUOTE(darkmusses @ Nov 12 2020, 10:20 AM)
Who don't what to get the "best" one .. The problem is : Can you sustain ?

I choose not the best one .. rather something decent ..

Besides, family also got inherit some properties, will continue buy more later in time ..
If you cannot sustain then its not the best 1 loh
darkmusses
post Nov 12 2020, 10:24 AM

595 posts

Sometime ppl with big house makes me wonder .. be it family inherit, or own purchase ..

Outside could be rundown .. when I pass by those landed one .. most but not all ..

Got money buy but no money maintain .. worst .. next generation cant even afford to maintain after living so many years ..
darkhunter16
post Nov 12 2020, 10:32 AM

128 posts

Worst case is just declaring bankruptcy

If you can afford just go ahead, enjoy what you can now

Considering upskill yourself in long term and remain competitive. There are different ways to earn such as grabcar or other methods if you really lost your job

Who know 10-20 years later you already dead

10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0336sec    0.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:09 AM