10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Fear of buying house

TSclockpulses
post Nov 10 2020, 05:10 PM, updated 6y ago

386 posts

It'd been few years already, iam a very fickle minded whenever to decide buying a house. I WANT to buy a house because i want it, not saja saja, but Everytime i seriously thought about buying a property (own stay), i put hours hours hours of research and consideration. So many what ifs in my mind, to the point i gave up tbe idea of buying a house and going debt free route and save as much and enjoy life as much as i can.

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?
4. if i buy a house can i still afford to do thing i used to do?
5. What if i change job or company relocate me somewhere more farther?
6. What If there's a sudden big increment of non bank commitment, like kids, etc etc
7. Age is middle 30, what If i hold a little longer, save money and buy house at 45 year old, then only eligible for 25 years loan. Donno can afford or not
8. Unexpected repair bill?
9. Will iable to save more for retirement?

Above questions are not for you.

At the moment I'm enjoying my life, car loan will finish soon, sometimes i felt too comfortable and boring. Can own a house make life less dull?

Seen and heard many cases that many people were getting fired this year i suddenly become coward to commit. Even a high income like pilots can be layed off.

Should i enjoy my debt free life?

Do you have the fear of buying a house?

This post has been edited by clockpulses: Nov 10 2020, 05:12 PM
sk1l
post Nov 10 2020, 05:15 PM

151 posts

Getting a house enables u to have your own space. You r the king of this space. Anything u want to do also can. Reno a movie theater, VR room , arrange the house however u want , bring over ladies no worries of anyone kacau , sleep 24 hrs sleep after gaming in the hall wake up continue game ...until u feel hungry then go makan ...at 3pm nobody to say what this right and not coz in ur space u r king. Plus u will want to earn more to make this n that changes. So yes many positives getting a house. After a few years house price will go up ...u can decide to sell if u bored of the current house n upgrade ....n repeat. Family after that ...different challenges but u always have a house under ur name.
clio571
post Nov 10 2020, 05:16 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Nov 10 2020, 05:10 PM)
It'd been few years already,  iam a very fickle minded whenever to decide buying a house. I WANT to buy a house because i want it, not saja saja, but Everytime i seriously thought about buying a property (own stay), i put hours hours hours of research and consideration. So many what ifs in my mind,  to the point i gave up tbe idea of buying a house and going debt free route and save as much and enjoy life as much as i can.

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?
6. What If there's a sudden big increment of non bank commitment,  like kids, etc etc
7. Age is middle 30, what If i hold a little longer,  save money and buy house at 45 year old, then only eligible for 25 years loan. Donno can afford or not

At the moment I'm enjoying my life, car loan will finish soon, sometimes i felt too comfortable and boring. Can own a house make life less dull?

Seen and heard many cases that many people were getting fired this year i suddenly become coward to commit. Even a high income like pilots can be layed off.

It's OK to buy house later.... Don't simply join the rat race if emotion is not prepare....
Renting house is not a bad thing as you need to commit to the bank loan. Some more you can rent better location and house with cheaper price than regular ppl's installment.
pretty23
post Nov 10 2020, 05:17 PM

1,791 posts

Already own 2 landed houses now. Still to think get 3rd one.
internaldisputes
post Nov 10 2020, 05:19 PM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

My mom proposed that I buy my eldest brother's house last month and I said no. It was heavily discounted and there is nothing wrong with the house but just like you I have lots of "what ifs" going through my mind. It's hard to pick a single reason. I'm just glad I was able to stay firm with my decision despite being pressured by my mom.

I think I'm gonna rent for awhile. I like the freedom of being able to pack my stuff and move elsewhere whenever I want.
taiping...
post Nov 10 2020, 05:19 PM

1,056 posts

I ised to think like u, until I bought 1 house so far

Planning for my 2nd property

Its nice to know when your own property appreciates

As of now, its being rented out. I only top up rm1k and i have emergency cash if anything happens
mini orchard
post Nov 10 2020, 05:20 PM

14,511 posts

It'd been few years already,  iam a very fickle minded whenever to decide buying a house. I WANT to buy a house because i want it, not saja saja, but Everytime i seriously thought about buying a property (own stay), i put hours hours hours of research and consideration. So many what ifs in my mind,  to the point i gave up tbe idea of buying a house and going debt free route and save as much and enjoy life as much as i can.

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?
6. What If there's a sudden big increment of non bank commitment,  like kids, etc etc
7. Age is middle 30, what If i hold a little longer,  save money and buy house at 45 year old, then only eligible for 25 years loan. Donno can afford or not

Those fears will never go away when you are still alive.
danielmckey
post Nov 10 2020, 05:22 PM

1,053 posts

If you need sense of security buying or not buying is the same. If you alone & die in the rented house. At least the owner can come & check on you.
liyanakahar
post Nov 10 2020, 05:28 PM

194 posts

buy condo at top floor and corner lot, the best
darkmusses
post Nov 10 2020, 05:31 PM

595 posts

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?

PRIMA / WIP kan ada ..

Regardless, stil need saving also .. what's the point if you do not save because in the end you will have NOTHING ..

Even I can afford RM1M property, my current house is only RM300k ..
acbc
post Nov 10 2020, 05:34 PM

9,047 posts

I had to sell my house at a lost after the business failed early this year. After minus all the fees, made enough to move out.

Now back to renting but away from the city. Cheaper rent. Plus the owner also an easy going person. He said as long don't burn down the place, I can do whatever inside. Paid him 6 month's rent after that.

Now slowly disposing of old items. Already sold 4 cars last month. Kept 2 since no more loan.

Keeping hard cash is my primary goal now. Whatever don't need, sell. Anything modern, sell.

Do I want to buy another house? Answer is no.
mousqy
post Nov 10 2020, 05:35 PM

758 posts

you think too much

YOLO
SUSCmyong88
post Nov 10 2020, 05:47 PM

974 posts

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?

What if 30 years later non of your worries came through and you're still living in your rented house
taiping...
post Nov 10 2020, 05:55 PM

1,056 posts

If i Am still alive for my retirement, i wanna use my property rental as side income. My long term plan

As of now, its worth the risk
Newsray
post Nov 10 2020, 06:00 PM

1,022 posts

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?

You need to balance out the risk yourself.
Losing job is real.
So how do you mitigate this?

Assume you have some saving or cash, how do you secure and grow the fund?
As you said economy is not good, your cash in bank will lose its value over time.

Seems like you want to spend more and enjoy.
Why not, if you have a good planning with your income and job.
Remember spending more is basically the same as paying for house loan.

At the end of the day, you still need a place called home.
When you retire, do you have enough money to keep paying rent, assuming you are spending on your happy days now.

party
post Nov 10 2020, 06:04 PM

813 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Nov 10 2020, 05:34 PM)
I had to sell my house at a lost after the business failed early this year. After minus all the fees, made enough to move out.

Now back to renting but away from the city. Cheaper rent. Plus the owner also an easy going person. He said as long don't burn down the place, I can do whatever inside. Paid him 6 month's rent after that.

Now slowly disposing of old items. Already sold 4 cars last month. Kept 2 since no more loan.

Keeping hard cash is my primary goal now. Whatever don't need, sell. Anything modern, sell.

Do I want to buy another house? Answer is no.
I thought you are working in cambodia?
imnotabot
post Nov 10 2020, 06:06 PM

531 posts

Maybe find a hobby? Buying a house just because you feel too comfortable sounds silly.
zerorating
post Nov 10 2020, 06:11 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

just buy when you are ready.

sometime i think house is more of a liablity for me, things break down, common wear and tear.
loserguy
post Nov 10 2020, 06:19 PM

500 posts

From what I have noticed over the years, friends who bought houses usually end up better off financially than those who rented. There are exceptions, but in general that is what I have noticed.

Not sure why. Probably those who try to buy houses and settle down have better financial discipline.
acbc
post Nov 10 2020, 06:34 PM

9,047 posts

QUOTE(party @ Nov 10 2020, 06:04 PM)
I thought you are working in cambodia?
Cambodia running by itself now.

I'm already back since CNY to restart the business back. In the end, failed. Now downsizing and selling everything away.

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0236sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:40 PM