Fear of buying house

icemanfx
post Nov 15 2020, 02:30 AM

21,457 posts

In the long term, property price rise at about inflation rate.

DSR should be <20% and could trade up later with rising income. DSR >30% is stretched and risks become mortgage prisoner.
Ripp87
post Nov 15 2020, 05:47 AM

Zombie
726 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Nov 10 2020, 05:10 PM)
It'd been few years already,  iam a very fickle minded whenever to decide buying a house. I WANT to buy a house because i want it, not saja saja, but Everytime i seriously thought about buying a property (own stay), i put hours hours hours of research and consideration. So many what ifs in my mind,  to the point i gave up tbe idea of buying a house and going debt free route and save as much and enjoy life as much as i can.

The What Ifs

1. I lost my job?
2. My salary got cut?
3. More pandemic coming?
4. if i buy a house can i still afford to do thing i used to do?
5. What if i change job or company relocate me somewhere more farther?
6. What If there's a sudden big increment of non bank commitment,  like kids, etc etc
7. Age is middle 30, what If i hold a little longer,  save money and buy house at 45 year old, then only eligible for 25 years loan. Donno can afford or not
8. Unexpected repair bill?
9. Will iable to save more for retirement?

Above questions are not for you.

At the moment I'm enjoying my life, car loan will finish soon, sometimes i felt too comfortable and boring. Can own a house make life less dull?

Seen and heard many cases that many people were getting fired this year i suddenly become coward to commit. Even a high income like pilots can be layed off.

Should i enjoy my debt free life?

Do you have the fear of buying a house?
Same here, only started to think like you after committing to 3 properties but lucky bought my first one when I was 18yo. But the rentals covered the loans all these while.

Getting more props will stress u out especially when u can’t rent it

And also post covid, the economic situation will change, Gen Zs are now jobless.

Guess cash is king for the next 5-10years
AskarPerang
post Nov 15 2020, 08:41 AM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

kkkw80
post Nov 15 2020, 08:48 AM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(MyRedz @ Nov 15 2020, 01:48 AM)
Kind to share what occupation you in? Me only gaji 2.3k in 25 year old
You seem successful ..can I know what industry you in?
desapark sounds nice.
Vibrant place..any good deals there?
Classified under essential service

kkkw80
post Nov 15 2020, 08:51 AM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

My new house ready next month tongue.gif

MyRedz
post Nov 15 2020, 01:40 PM

961 posts

QUOTE(kkkw80 @ Nov 15 2020, 09:48 AM)
Classified under essential service
That's great industry growth
Zoo Howl
post Nov 15 2020, 02:38 PM

White Fang
1,822 posts

QUOTE(internaldisputes @ Nov 10 2020, 05:19 PM)
My mom proposed that I buy my eldest brother's house last month and I said no. It was heavily discounted and there is nothing wrong with the house but just like you I have lots of "what ifs" going through my mind. It's hard to pick a single reason. I'm just glad I was able to stay firm with my decision despite being pressured by my mom.

I think I'm gonna rent for awhile. I like the freedom of being able to pack my stuff and move elsewhere whenever I want.
Which area is that
nightzstar
post Nov 15 2020, 04:05 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

Interesting topic
TSclockpulses
post Nov 15 2020, 04:10 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Nov 15 2020, 02:30 AM)
In the long term, property price rise at about inflation rate.

DSR should be <20% and could trade up later with rising income. DSR >30% is stretched and risks become mortgage prisoner.
Is there really people who maintain 20% dsr?

I think max 35% is more realistic though
icemanfx
post Nov 15 2020, 04:12 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Nov 15 2020, 04:10 PM)
Is there really people who maintain 20% dsr?

I think max 35% is more realistic though
DSR>30% is stretched.

gundamsp01
post Nov 15 2020, 04:45 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(kkkw80 @ Nov 10 2020, 06:40 PM)
This is what we call life, life is never guarantee or certain. Heck you could be even die of heart attack tonight.

So glad I bought my 1st property at age 21, sold then another at 29 year old, sold and just bought my 3rd last year. Total profit from the  1st 2 properties is RM600k.
just wondering how you handle the period during your sell - buy transition?
you buy a new house, move in first while waiting your old house to be sold?
Or the other way around?
christ14
post Nov 15 2020, 08:05 PM

1,567 posts

Financial freedom, ahh after taking the leap of faith becoming mortgage prisoner. There is some things i dont get to do now like you said but offset by Covid. Huge chunks of my salary used to go into Travels as i rent a tiny place. But when i thought about it just before lockdown, this thing seems to be going on for a few more years at least and id probably be settling down soon. So. Got a place to myself now. And spending me time.

Also i wont pride on car loans as those depreciate. So i guess props is sort of like a plus
Chrono-Trigger
post Nov 16 2020, 07:27 AM

BY SELF ONE IS DEFILED AND PURIFIED
4,308 posts

QUOTE(K.I.T.T @ Nov 11 2020, 06:47 PM)
Let me tell u some secret

T20 people make money on B40 & m40 people

So b40 should make money on T20 interest and gender.
unfortunately that's how the modern economy works.

T20 loan cash to banks, banks loan it to M40, B40.

M40/B40 pays interest to banks, banks pay interest to T20.
danielmckey
post Nov 16 2020, 07:33 AM

1,053 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Nov 16 2020, 07:27 AM)
unfortunately that's how the modern economy works.

T20 loan cash to banks, banks loan it to M40, B40.

M40/B40 pays interest to banks, banks pay interest to T20.
Continue, gomen support T20. They give more project to T20. M40 & B40 gift is just a gimmick with peanuts amount because T20 already got those project in millions & millions. Then M40 & B40 continue to be poor & still support the existing gomen.
MrBlackie33
post Nov 16 2020, 09:30 AM

Shhhhhhh
834 posts

I was quite hesitate to buy my 1st house initially as well like TS, lots of property bubble news circulating around, too much negativity from those friends who said why buy house la just rent la.

but then i was convinced by my dad at the end of day, he is a real example why buying a house isnt a burden in a long run provided the price is within ur means. Out of 7 properties he owned since 10 yrs ago only 1 sold at stagnant price (its a commercial lot at low end klang valley suburb neighbourhood), others are able to rent out all year long or sold at double/triple the price.

The keyword is buy within ur means and choose a decent project with gud resident profile/location.
kkkw80
post Nov 16 2020, 09:37 AM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Nov 15 2020, 04:45 PM)
just wondering how you handle the period during your sell - buy transition?
you buy a new house, move in first while waiting your old house to be sold?
Or the other way around?
Buy new then sell old. Use some of the profit for reno and keep the rest.

In property, you'll see the money when you're able to afford your 2nd property and assuming you buy low and sell high
gundamsp01
post Nov 16 2020, 10:25 AM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(kkkw80 @ Nov 16 2020, 09:37 AM)
Buy new then sell old. Use some of the profit for reno and keep the rest.

In property, you'll see the money when you're able to afford your 2nd property and assuming you buy low and sell high
seems like all your properties are in hot-demand area, since can find buyer in a short time. laugh.gif
kkkw80
post Nov 16 2020, 10:35 AM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Nov 16 2020, 10:25 AM)
seems like all your properties are in hot-demand area, since can find buyer in a short time.  laugh.gif
1st one was in Tropicana, sold within 1 month

2nd is in Setia Alam, sold within 6 weeks

As they said, it’s all about location, location and location. I’ve colleagues who bought in area such as Balakong, Port Dickson crying at lost now.

It also depends on timing, Tropicana was sold back in 2010 and Setia Alam end of 2019.

Lastly, I only buy from reputable and well known developers. Worst if the property is abandoned or quality is like shit

This post has been edited by kkkw80: Nov 16 2020, 10:39 AM
zack1919
post Nov 16 2020, 11:27 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(kkkw80 @ Nov 16 2020, 10:35 AM)
1st one was in Tropicana, sold within 1 month

2nd is in Setia Alam, sold within 6 weeks

As they said, it’s all about location, location and location. I’ve colleagues who bought in area such as Balakong, Port Dickson crying at lost now.

It also depends on timing, Tropicana was sold back in 2010 and Setia Alam end of 2019.

Lastly, I only buy from reputable and well known developers. Worst if the property is abandoned or quality is like shit
Oh wow..
Sifu, please advise on Gravit8 and The Parque Residence both in klang
Worth investing?
kkkw80
post Nov 17 2020, 12:31 AM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(zack1919 @ Nov 16 2020, 11:27 PM)
Oh wow..
Sifu, please advise on Gravit8 and The Parque Residence both in klang
Worth investing?
Sorry I wouldn't buy properties in Klang area, prefer PJ or Shah Alam