161 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

[2020]iPhone 12/12 Mini Discussion Thread | V1, Blast past fast.

hyperx
post Oct 15 2020, 12:31 PM

||Lunatica||
1,198 posts

Cant wait to get ip12 mini. Upgrading from ip6s. I’ve waited long for apple to release smaller/compact phone. We have yet to know the release or pre-order date right?

I want to ask about the charger since it is not being included. I have a 29w usb-c power adaptor for 2016 12” macbook. Can this be use to charge ip12?

This post has been edited by hyperx: Oct 15 2020, 12:31 PM
dennis008
post Oct 15 2020, 12:32 PM

545 posts

hopefully it is like last year ip11.. malaysia only late for one week if i am not mistaken
attw
post Oct 15 2020, 12:34 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(hyperx @ Oct 15 2020, 12:31 PM)
Cant wait to get ip12 mini. Upgrading from ip6s. I’ve waited long for apple to release smaller/compact phone. We have yet to know the release or pre-order date right?

I want to ask about the charger since it is not being included. I have a 29w usb-c power adaptor for 2016 12” macbook. Can this be use to charge ip12?
Yes, you can. No issues smile.gif
theWeird_Weird
post Oct 15 2020, 12:45 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Oct 15 2020, 12:30 PM)
iOS is less memory intensive for sure. but more memory will make it even last longer.

good example will be iPhone 6/6P vs iPhone 6s/6sP.

although it is just one year difference.

iPhone 6/6P has one iOS lesser than iPhone 6s/6sP since the launch date.
iPhone 6/6P stops at iOS 12 while iPhone 6s/6P now still support iOS 14.

the deal breaker is the RAM in them. Former has only 1GB RAM while later has 2GB.
ah i see..meaning have to fork out extra for the pro laugh.gif ouch
sramesh
post Oct 15 2020, 12:57 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Oct 15 2020, 12:22 PM)
lion city first wave as usual.  wink.gif

bolehland as usual preoder for first wave is never in the list. it is totally blank.  tongue.gif

We don't even have an official Apple Store here. Most probably second wave (end Oct).
attw
post Oct 15 2020, 01:10 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(sramesh @ Oct 15 2020, 12:57 PM)
We don't even have an official Apple Store here. Most probably second wave (end Oct).
We should consider ourselves lucky to be in the second wave, to be honest. Before last year, the wait was much longer laugh.gif
mickeysew814
post Oct 15 2020, 01:35 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(hobbes1001 @ Oct 15 2020, 11:09 AM)
For those who are wondering the size of iPhone 12 Mini, check this out.

https://www.phonearena.com/phones/size/Appl...nes/11333,10750
The size that I like. Pocket friendly.
LightningZERO
post Oct 15 2020, 02:15 PM

The Golden Knight
1,696 posts

What is the market price for USB C wall charger? Quick search at lazada seems to indicate 70+/- range? Like that apple one at RM99 seems to be quite a good deal.
sonicbull
post Oct 15 2020, 02:58 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(LightningZERO @ Oct 15 2020, 02:15 PM)
What is the market price for USB C wall charger? Quick search at lazada seems to indicate 70+/- range? Like that apple one at RM99 seems to be quite a good deal.
Ugreen, around RM25
Credit to soyacincau

https://s.lazada.com.my/s.1j8nW
LightningZERO
post Oct 15 2020, 03:49 PM

The Golden Knight
1,696 posts

QUOTE(sonicbull @ Oct 15 2020, 02:58 PM)
Ugreen, around RM25
Credit to soyacincau

https://s.lazada.com.my/s.1j8nW
Thanks for the tips, very useful.
theWeird_Weird
post Oct 15 2020, 04:07 PM

1,063 posts

can this phone support up to 30w charging or max at 18w only?
soitsuagain
post Oct 15 2020, 04:21 PM

Let's do it together!
3,801 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Oct 15 2020, 12:22 PM)
lion city first wave as usual.  wink.gif

bolehland as usual preoder for first wave is never in the list. it is totally blank.  tongue.gif

Lion city is like Apple’s golden son. Have been getting iPhone on the 1st wave since iPhone 4S especially when supply was most limited. Bolehland is like an unwanted stepchild haha.

Anyway, now Malaysia availability is one week after US released does not in any way means we have been favored. 2nd wave is pretty much the rest of the world. Just thank god we are not in the pariah list.
mickeysew814
post Oct 15 2020, 04:26 PM

380 posts

no rush to get the first batch. let the first group to use and complain than only buy. haha
Jason
post Oct 15 2020, 04:29 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(Zanei Gundan @ Oct 14 2020, 08:21 PM)
really tempted by the iPhone 12 mini

all comes down to hands on experience

if its screen estate is really smol, then the regular 12 is the better option. both devices are segmented into an obvious way.

you want a smol powerful phone for social and connectivity? get the mini

however if you do everything inside a phone like how you operator a normal laptop, regular 12 would be the better option

and i dont see the need of Pro. nobody should go for Pro. unless they want to take advantage of that camera, in way they execute it better than Xperia 1ii. that's marketing for you
I’ve got an 11. Considering the 12 mini due to hands on experience like you.

I’m looking for a better one hand experience, supplemented by an iPad 10.2 for reading and media usage at home.

Considering the 12 mini screen isn’t that much smaller than a 7 plus I think it’s not “small”. But will need to check it out in person.

My only concern is battery, as 5G is irrelevant. 4G can hit 90 down 50 up for me, but problem is coverage is bad and spotty. I rather have consistent 4G than spotty 5G. Malaysia telcos quite crap.
Zanei Gundan
post Oct 15 2020, 06:53 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Oct 15 2020, 04:29 PM)
I’ve got an 11. Considering the 12 mini due to hands on experience like you.

I’m looking for a better one hand experience, supplemented by an iPad 10.2 for reading and media usage at home.

Considering the 12 mini screen isn’t that much smaller than a 7 plus I think it’s not “small”. But will need to check it out in person.

My only concern is battery, as 5G is irrelevant. 4G can hit 90 down 50 up for me, but problem is coverage is bad and spotty. I rather have consistent 4G than spotty 5G. Malaysia telcos quite crap.
tell you something, you may had noticed it too...so rephrasing

5g is purely Apple marketing strategy.
i mean, why not aren't you leveraging on that?
how else they're gonna convince the masses, 5g is the future of tech.

not folding phones, not 120hz screen. not near edge-to-edge display.
those things sure, tech advancement. but compared to 5g. they doesn't bring enough hook to it. normies don't absorb their fundamentals quickly.
at Apple, timing of execution is everything

i have with me the iPhone 7, should be same in width. but tad shorter on its height form, althou gained increase in real screen estate. more room to display and see content.

battery on the 12 mini will always be the elephant in the room. it may not be as great as iphone 11 or 11 pro.
but at least if its able to perform better than iPhone SE 2 battery life from longevity perspective.
probably will be 'fine' already, putting it fine because iPhone is a champ when it comes to standby battery time

btw did anyone also get caught how low-key Apple execute their modularity concept like really smooth compared to other phone maker company?
look at any angle if you want. but magsafe with accessories screams modular enough to me.
XeactorZ
post Oct 15 2020, 07:21 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(theWeird_Weird @ Oct 15 2020, 04:07 PM)
can this phone support up to 30w charging or max at 18w only?
20w maximum
https://www.apple.com/my/iphone-12/specs/
rekeyz
post Oct 15 2020, 09:10 PM

197 posts

i think u got it worng bro..

Fast-charge capable: Up to 50% charge in 30 minutes with 20W adapter or higher (sold separately) according to apple.
vez
post Oct 15 2020, 09:34 PM

4,622 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Oct 15 2020, 07:21 PM)
QUOTE(rekeyz @ Oct 15 2020, 09:10 PM)

i think u got it worng bro..

Fast-charge capable: Up to 50% charge in 30 minutes with 20W adapter or higher (sold separately) according to apple.
no wrong... even you try with charger adaptor 60W also max 20W, the device itself should only draw 20W max, you have 200W charger still 20W the device will draw, so it is up to 50% charge in 30 minutes, no mater how many watts charge you use, anything above 20W, same 30minutes to 50%

but i doubts Apple change it to max 20W, i believe it is still 18W max, just they are selling 20W charger now... because if like previous gen 18W compare to 20W, to 50% could takes lesser than 30 minutes

anything have to wait someone get iPhone 12 on hand and try out smile.gif

This post has been edited by vez: Oct 15 2020, 09:36 PM
rekeyz
post Oct 15 2020, 09:46 PM

197 posts

thanks for the info. thumbsup.gif we shud try it first. but im still deciding which one to buy,either pro or not..not using the ip to take photo.so pro version kinda overkill for me. hmm.gif
marfccy
post Oct 15 2020, 10:53 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Oct 15 2020, 09:34 PM)
no wrong... even you try with charger adaptor 60W also max 20W, the device itself should only draw 20W max, you have 200W charger still 20W the device will draw, so it is up to 50% charge in 30 minutes, no mater how many watts charge you use, anything above 20W, same 30minutes to 50%

but i doubts Apple change it to max 20W, i believe it is still 18W max, just they are selling 20W charger now... because if like previous gen 18W compare to 20W, to 50% could takes lesser than 30 minutes

anything have to wait someone get iPhone 12 on hand and try out smile.gif
i think someone did a test before, maximum benefit is up to 30-40W at best. but the returns are sibeh low for the cost youre paying la

the results are like below for full charge from 0-100% if i recall correctly when charging iphone

5W - takes 3hrs, 1 1/2hr to 50%
12W - takes close to 2hrs, 1hr to 50%
18-20W - takes 1 1/2hr, 30min to 50%
30W - takes 1hr 20min, 30min to 50%
96W - takes 1hr 20min, 30min to 50%

161 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0176sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:29 PM