[2020]iPhone 12 Pro/Pro Max Discussion Thread | V1, It’s a leap year.
ryanice8888
Oct 14 2020, 03:02 PM

overall i'm happy with apple return of small phone. definitely gonna purchase iphone 12 mini.
but fak apple seriously, no USB-C, no 120hz display (would have purchased pro if they ProMotion display), removal of charger/earpods. even battery they didn't even bother to elaborate like + how many hours etc, i expect the battery to be worst if not similar.
I mean at least 90hz should be there at 2020 at that price point.
attw
Oct 14 2020, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(moniqee @ Oct 14 2020, 02:53 PM) i'm only eyeing pro max  Are you getting it from Apple's website? I'm eyeing a maxis contract so a longer wait is in the cards!
vez
Oct 14 2020, 03:08 PM
QUOTE(attw @ Oct 14 2020, 03:07 PM) Are you getting it from Apple's website? I'm eyeing a maxis contract so a longer wait is in the cards! your maxis contract ends by when?
vez
Oct 14 2020, 03:13 PM
QUOTE(ryanice8888 @ Oct 14 2020, 03:02 PM) overall i'm happy with apple return of small phone. definitely gonna purchase iphone 12 mini. but fak apple seriously, no USB-C, no 120hz display (would have purchased pro if they ProMotion display), removal of charger/earpods. even battery they didn't even bother to elaborate like + how many hours etc, i expect the battery to be worst if not similar. I mean at least 90hz should be there at 2020 at that price point. guess the rumours could be correct, the size of battery for iPhone 12 Pro and Pro Max is smaller than 11 Pro and Pro Max by ~10%, expecting same hours of usage, so typical Apple wont mention anything same as previous gen
attw
Oct 14 2020, 03:20 PM
QUOTE(vez @ Oct 14 2020, 03:08 PM) your maxis contract ends by when? Mine ends 2021, hahaha. Using my wife's account, she has no active contract. The 12 Pro Max will end up in her hands after I test it for a month so she's happy
janson_kaniaz
Oct 14 2020, 03:20 PM
For those with dual sim, is e-sim really useful?
TongCN
Oct 14 2020, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(ryanice8888 @ Oct 14 2020, 03:02 PM) overall i'm happy with apple return of small phone. definitely gonna purchase iphone 12 mini. but fak apple seriously, no USB-C, no 120hz display (would have purchased pro if they ProMotion display), removal of charger/earpods. even battery they didn't even bother to elaborate like + how many hours etc, i expect the battery to be worst if not similar. I mean at least 90hz should be there at 2020 at that price point. Epal save for next year so they can sell more ma  Slowly release and next year those current Iphone 12 user will handover their money to buy Iphone 13 liao  Battery things actually just a reference, i dont think need to elaborate. My iphone 11 can last me two days also eh, till battery drop till 30% on 2nd end day.
moniqee
Oct 14 2020, 03:26 PM
QUOTE(attw @ Oct 14 2020, 03:07 PM) Are you getting it from Apple's website? I'm eyeing a maxis contract so a longer wait is in the cards! i dunno ler... i got one iphone6s to trade in...
Mavik
Oct 14 2020, 03:26 PM
Patience is a virtue
QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Oct 14 2020, 03:20 PM) For those with dual sim, is e-sim really useful? It was very useful for me when I travelled overseas, e-sim with my Malaysia line and the physical sim slot to use with the local line (mostly for data). Now that its CMCO/MCO and can't travel, no use hahahaha
vez
Oct 14 2020, 03:27 PM
those curious on pro/pro max battery for 11 vs 12 if rumours is correct, the batt size reduce by ~10% mAh
This post has been edited by vez: Oct 14 2020, 03:39 PM
janson_kaniaz
Oct 14 2020, 03:31 PM
QUOTE(Mavik @ Oct 14 2020, 03:26 PM) It was very useful for me when I travelled overseas, e-sim with my Malaysia line and the physical sim slot to use with the local line (mostly for data). Now that its CMCO/MCO and can't travel, no use hahahaha when not overseas anymore, do you switch back to physical sim for MY line? i heard esim can be quite unrealiable...
vez
Oct 14 2020, 03:34 PM
QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Oct 14 2020, 03:31 PM) when not overseas anymore, do you switch back to physical sim for MY line? i heard esim can be quite unrealiable... been using since Xs for eSim, never have issue  when Maxis release during 2019 Feb, i directly go switch so far my 11 pro have three eSim profile, maxis esim + 2 travel esim and one celom physical sim as secondary line This post has been edited by vez: Oct 14 2020, 03:38 PM
soitsuagain
Oct 14 2020, 03:34 PM
QUOTE(Mavik @ Oct 14 2020, 03:26 PM) It was very useful for me when I travelled overseas, e-sim with my Malaysia line and the physical sim slot to use with the local line (mostly for data). Now that its CMCO/MCO and can't travel, no use hahahaha You're opposite from me haha. I used sim for local line and e-sim for overseas much more convenient.
red1982
Oct 14 2020, 03:42 PM
gonna miss free earpods
joeblow
Oct 14 2020, 03:45 PM
QUOTE(attw @ Oct 14 2020, 09:21 AM) All my previous iPhones were sold with the accessories untouched anyways so it doesn't affect me as much as I have my own charger and cable. So yeah, I'm probably in the minority group that doesn't think this move from Apple is a bad move, if you consider the spike in prices of so-called 5G phones like the S20 Ultra, Note 20 Ultra, etc. So sacrificing a couple of accessories (probably worth RM200) while keeping the prices the same as last year (in fact, the base Pro models get double the storage for the same price) is acceptable for me. Flagship Android phones prices getting higher because they make profit via the hardware with excuses like Qualcomm 5G modem expensive etc. Apple is now getting more revenue from Services, hence they no longer sell iphone at such high margin. Makes sense for Apple to get more people into their eco system so that they earn from Services revenue. I thought I will get iphone and make the painful switch from Android to Apple. Apple software much more stable than Android and the support cycle much longer. But the 120Hz screen... I need faster refresh rate because I read a lot from phones... my eyes getting painful... 120Hz does help reading?
TOMEI-R
Oct 14 2020, 03:48 PM
QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Oct 14 2020, 03:34 PM) You're opposite from me haha. I used sim for local line and e-sim for overseas much more convenient.  Can get esim for prepaid card when in foreign country?
attw
Oct 14 2020, 03:58 PM
QUOTE(moniqee @ Oct 14 2020, 03:26 PM) i dunno ler... i got one iphone6s to trade in...  I have one too but it'll only be worth RM300 or so... might as well keep it This post has been edited by attw: Oct 14 2020, 03:59 PM
moniqee
Oct 14 2020, 04:01 PM
QUOTE(attw @ Oct 14 2020, 03:58 PM) I have one too but it'll only be worth RM300 or so... might as well keep it  i dont intend to keep it lar... since my dad is the one using 6s... so i will pass him my 7+ instead... hence the trading in...  do let me know which outlet has the best deal for trade in... i can use RM300 for many things (case / power adapter and other accessories) This post has been edited by moniqee: Oct 14 2020, 04:02 PM
silencer5089
Oct 14 2020, 04:03 PM
Just dig around sirim database and confirmed they have registered for the 12/12pro respectively. Expect the launch to be same like last year 11 seriess 1 week after US launch. quoted from apple newsroom website iPhone 12 Pro will be available in India, South Korea, and more than a dozen other countries beginning Friday, October 30. if everything goes well, we shall expect it to launch on october 30th. I'm going back to the smaller pro size this round, pro max simply too big to carry around Screen protection wise will still get imos sapphire glass, always best.
soitsuagain
Oct 14 2020, 04:10 PM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 14 2020, 03:48 PM) Can get esim for prepaid card when in foreign country? Yes. So damn convenient. No need to tape around ur SIM card. I was telling this to uncle Benny since the launch of esim on iPhone XS which benefit travellers but everyone goes on and rant about wanting a dual sim card.