Home Theatre Onkyo AV Receiver

wke002
post Jul 14 2009, 10:06 PM

116 posts

Been reading the manual on my 606 for two days liao(either me england no good or not a tech savy). I need to check and ask.

1. Astro S video out to AVR and S video or component fm avr to crt tv. If i connect direct fm astro s video to tv direct, what is the difference. would it provide any difference in video? i would than have to invest 2 s video instead of one.

2. same for dvd player out to avr component video and avr component video to crt tv. same like above, 2 sets of component video to invest.

Both of above option, by inputting into avr and out to tv, would the signal be better against direct to tv? I could not find in the manual to state that it would upscale for using s video or component video. just want to ask to make sure no wasting investment in 2 sets.

no lcd so also no understand but for reference sake, if i hv an lcd tv with hdmi, will output fm dvd player using s video or component video to avr and avr to lcd using hdmi cables, would that enhance/convert the video signal or just normal. if normal, than how to get upscaling?

sorry ask so many question ah...but thank you in advance if could enlighten.

on the speaker connecting, i think its still virgin as only used the screw but hv not unscrew completly to remove the cap. decide not to buy the banana as too expensive..after the pound connection.

jmdibr
post Jul 15 2009, 12:09 AM

324 posts

how much onkyo 876 now in KL?
arremie
post Jul 15 2009, 01:13 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

hmmm still no v2 tongue.gif
maskedchan
post Jul 15 2009, 08:09 AM

6,022 posts

you can create v2 biggrin.gif
anfieldude
post Jul 15 2009, 08:24 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(wke002 @ Jul 14 2009, 10:06 PM)
Been reading the manual on my 606 for two days liao(either me england no good or not a tech savy). I need to check and ask.

1. Astro S video out to AVR and S video or component fm avr to crt tv. If i connect direct fm astro s video to tv direct, what is the difference. would it provide any difference in video? i would than have to invest 2 s video instead of one.

2. same for dvd player out to avr component video and avr component video to crt tv. same like above, 2 sets of component video to invest.

Both of above option, by inputting into avr and out to tv, would the signal be better against direct to tv? I could not find in the manual to state that it would upscale for using s video or component video. just want to ask to make sure no wasting investment in 2 sets.

no lcd so also no understand but for reference sake, if i hv an lcd tv with hdmi, will output fm dvd player using s video or component video to avr and avr to lcd using hdmi cables, would that enhance/convert the video signal or just normal. if normal, than how to get upscaling?

sorry ask so many question ah...but thank you in advance if could enlighten.

on the speaker connecting, i think its still virgin as only used the screw but hv not unscrew completly to remove the cap. decide not to buy the banana as too expensive..after the pound connection.
My advise to you would be if you are going to send the signal to the CRT TV, just send it direct from the Astro decoder. They will be not too much difference with going thru the amp since it is a CRT TV. Also the sound from the decoder is in stereo only

DVD, better better to send the picture to TV and analogue 5.1 channel to AVR if you have a 5.1 channel setup. Component out you can send direct to TV to save the cables. Better yet, if your DVD player has HDMI send all to AVR and component out to CRT. This way the sound is 5.1 and the picture is also preserved.

Better to get a DVD player that has HDMI out, if not component is also ok. I think the Onkyo 606 uses Faroudja chip for deinterlacing and upscaling. Check to see if the picture is better thru the AVR. Some AVRs do not upscale thru component out but only do it over HDMI you need to check the manual of the 606 to confirm.
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Jul 15 2009, 09:17 AM

801 posts

Hi to all Onkyo avr owner & would be owner, let use continue discussion over here http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1096878 Onkyo AVR V2! biggrin.gif
neoardi
post Jul 15 2009, 10:28 AM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

cool.gif
arremie
post Jul 15 2009, 01:24 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

got v2 now but this one not yet close tongue.gif
myxzyden
post Jul 20 2009, 06:31 AM

Hi all,
I'm a new owner of a 606. Got a few qns hope any experts could help me out.
I've got:-
a) Full HD LCD
b) DVD player w HDMI out, optical out
c) Astro decoder w Component
d) 2 HDMI cable, 1 Optical, Monster AV cable

Currently it's :-
DVDP --->HDMI--->606--->HDMI---> LCD
also
DVDP---> Optical--->606 (for Music CD)

1) Should I connect HDMI from DVD Player direct to LCD instead? Then use Optical for both DVD and Music CD?

2) Would Astro decoder-->Component+Monster AV-->606-->HDMI-->LCD makes any difference?

3) I can't seem to get the Astro set up for Remote Control Mode w 606. The Astro codes doesnt seem to work. Anyone w the latest codes? Anyone got any luck with Astro?

riza316
post Jul 25 2009, 11:14 PM

Guyz, i have some doubt here, Is it ok if I using JBL ES Series speaker with Onkyo 876 receiver. unsure.gif
ar188
post Jul 29 2009, 07:49 PM

9,206 posts

a matching BDP for your onkyo receiver? thumbup.gif

arremie
post Jul 29 2009, 07:55 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

so fugly tongue.gif
ar188
post Jul 29 2009, 08:08 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jul 29 2009, 07:55 PM)
so fugly tongue.gif
onkyo designs is like that wan.. biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Jul 29 2009, 09:05 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Eh, why you guys still posting here. There's a new V2.

Will the real thread starter please close this thread. tongue.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Jul 29 2009, 09:10 PM

801 posts

Onkyo V2 is here http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1096878 biggrin.gif

Need mod to close this thread. icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by HornyAngMoh: Jul 29 2009, 09:10 PM
neoardi
post Jul 30 2009, 09:50 AM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

hmm.gif not closing? laugh.gif
arremie
post Jul 30 2009, 12:51 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

By the power vested in me....I officially close this thread laugh.gif tongue.gif
mpyw
post Aug 26 2009, 09:23 PM

3,603 posts

fuyoh...still here tongue.gif

Your power not working tongue.gif
yonggoh
post Aug 26 2009, 10:05 PM

1,314 posts

die thread... die! smile.gif
arremie