9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

TV3 News: Laptop Detector Exist and widely avai.

gregy
post Aug 18 2007, 05:48 PM

411 posts

Do you normally just close up the laptop without turning it off via Windows? If so, do you remember if you set the laptop to standby or hibernate when you close the lid? I'm just curious, cos I know that in Standby mode, the laptop is actually being kept in a low power state, while in Hibernate mode it shuts down completely after saving your current settings into RAM. I wonder if such a device really does exist, whether or not it would make a difference if we shut down Windows, standby or hibernate.

FWIW, I try to backup my laptop as much as possible and don't put any 'compromising' files LOL! in there just in case.

QUOTE(bobbychin @ Aug 13 2007, 04:33 PM)
I'm a victim of notebook theft and i would like to share my experience with all of you out there. It happened last 2  months in SS2,PJ . Such a busy area with so many passer-by and motorist around. I parked my car with my laptop in the car but hidden under the seat ( it was my really mistake to think that the detectors doesn exist). The car was parked right in front of and car wash and car park operator,so there are always people around there and can be seen clearly from a corner shop restaurant nearby. yet , after 15min, my laptop gone. It wasn my day coz the my seat was abit out from the angle where i can see my car.After getting back i didn realize anything missing till I almost reach home.then i saw my window area abit dented and of course nothing else but the laptop is gone. Alarm didn even rang...no indications at all .

I asked the computer shops and they say there are such device but can only be bought in hong kong and thailand.

Since we are all working as professionals and earning big bucks so we can carry a laptop around,then we must be prepared to encounter with "Professional Crooks" too. If they are not good,then how to cari makan in such complicated KL and selangor area?

I myself is an electrical engineer, but i really dont know  how to prevent such device from operating,so lets hope there is someone more knowlegeable to help us out. At the mean time it is still better to carry it around with us,coz human response surely better than car does.

Added on August 18, 2007, 5:51 pmWow, I didn't know that. So what's the point then, if they fail to steal my laptop but I end up having to replace the mobo? Better I buy insurance, or high voltage generator to electricize my car? LOL!

QUOTE(swanchew @ Aug 14 2007, 04:43 PM)
How to secure your laptop in your car ?

A: The easiest way is to buy a notebook lock.Before you leave your car just lock your notebook. This will reduce the time they easily grab away and run for it. Besides that, they can't simply pull the lock because this will damage the motherboard. Remember don't buy cheap notebook lock because with a few hit direct on the notebook lock, the lock will totally loose without damage the notebook motherboard.

Hope this helps.
This post has been edited by gregy: Aug 18 2007, 05:51 PM
zamtech2006
post Aug 23 2007, 03:53 PM

hopefully government will take action on this....sad.gif

eddy230379
post Aug 23 2007, 07:02 PM

+]>> pL@Y bEyOnD <<[+
1,676 posts

QUOTE(zamtech2006 @ Aug 23 2007, 03:53 PM)
hopefully government will take action on this....sad.gif
yup ... need action from them ...

malaysia boleh ... brows.gif
myliew
post Aug 24 2007, 12:19 AM

259 posts

is the note book detector detect car battery as well? how about hiding it below the car battery?
D.Sync
post Aug 24 2007, 12:25 AM

777 posts

Wow at first I thought this device can bring benefit. For instance, install this device on your notebook and whenever it's stolen, you can use a remote sensor to trigger the alarm that attached to your notebook.
d3vilzzzz
post Aug 24 2007, 12:49 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

wah!!

den hw la can v prevent laptop thefts?..other den nt placing our lappies in the car??

what can the government do??

isis
post Aug 27 2007, 06:39 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Aug 18 2007, 11:14 AM)
enough ! this shit will not solve and most of you are still doubting it.
I lost my Laptop after i transfer it to the backseat of the car in SS2 Ming Tien and i guess they are watching me. They also studied your clothing whetehr its after work or not.

Im forming a group and who want to join this research group. We break the case and catch the thief by baiting them .
Who's interested ? need to find a spoilt lap top too/ Who got walkie talkie?

Better watchout you guys who is stealing Laptop out there . you never know when this UNIT will hit you .

We have our modus operandi in famous spot.

i am up for this...if u need a broken laptop, i have in my office. walkie talkie? i think i still have my old motorola's somewhere, need to find it first.

i really wanna see how this device works, did anyone buy it yet? if no one bought, can someone plz give me detailed instructions on how to get to Jln Pasar? as i have NO idea where it is and i will buy it. sweat.gif

My laptop is both my life and my work. To be honest, i dont quite care abt how much the laptop costs because it is only money. i will b even more depressed if it is stolen as alot of the files in my laptop are work related and most of them are P&C and very hard to duplicate or dangerous to create backups. sweat.gif

To sum it up, i cant afford to lose my laptop...

im up for this. jz let me know the time and place and where on earth is Jln Pasar?!

daphsta
post Dec 11 2007, 12:18 PM

14 posts

I tend to agree that removing the battery works. Just remove the battery before you park at your destination. Battery does not emit signals and if the thieves do use a metal detector, they better rot in hell. The entire car is made out of metal so there's no way he can use a metal detector. Just pure BS.

After removing battery, the only part that could hold some power would be the mobo but it is using the minimal power to maintain the BIOS anywayz. I bet the car has all the metal shielding against any signals that would be transmitted by the mobo.

Thats my take if you really need to keep your laptop in the car.
eXPeri3nc3
post Dec 19 2007, 01:21 AM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

QUOTE(daphsta @ Dec 11 2007, 12:18 PM)
I tend to agree that removing the battery works. Just remove the battery before you park at your destination. Battery does not emit signals and if the thieves do use a metal detector, they better rot in hell. The entire car is made out of metal so there's no way he can use a metal detector. Just pure BS.

After removing battery, the only  part that could hold some power would be the mobo but it is using the minimal power to maintain the BIOS anywayz. I bet the car has all the metal shielding against any signals that would be transmitted by the mobo.

So you mean you remove the battery and carry it around? If you want to put the laptop in the car, that is. Was that what you're trying to say?
N33d
post Dec 19 2007, 01:48 AM

896 posts

QUOTE(eddy230379 @ Aug 8 2007, 05:31 PM)
maybe everyone should start creating laptop backpacks from kuali ... lol ...    drool.gif
what do u wan to be? ninja turtle wannabe?
XCremator
post Dec 24 2007, 12:53 PM

222 posts

One method that I use in my car in order to prevent stuff from my boot is stolen.

1. I change the current lock in the boot to SOLEX or another type of Locking device
2. Disable the boot opening button inside the car

One thing that these stealer and robbers dont have is time. Cause time is risk for them. I always carrying my company expensive electronics measurement device inside the car, and this method at least has prevented those car breaking crime that always happen in my neigborhood.
quintessential
post Dec 24 2007, 12:58 PM

ilha formosa
2,919 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Aug 24 2007, 01:49 AM)
wah!!

den hw la can v prevent laptop thefts?..other den nt placing our lappies in the car??

what can the government do??
just bring the laptop whereever you are.
signboard
post Dec 24 2007, 01:16 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(quintessential @ Dec 24 2007, 12:58 PM)
just bring the laptop whereever you are.
practical only if everyone use 1kg eeepc.
gyver
post Nov 14 2008, 04:44 PM

1,067 posts

Not very good idea me thinks. Anyways a few weeks back in Damansara Perdana, a friend of mine witness first hand 2 guys grab a notebook backpack and run away in a motorbike in broad daylight. The incident happened in a mamak restaurant with many people. The owner give chase but to no sucess. Bystanders also try to help but most was like in shock or something.

So if it happens to you, just your bad luck.
SUSwilsonjay
post Nov 14 2008, 06:45 PM

6 Stars Social Justice Warrior
1,605 posts

u wan to bring ur laptop around? simple put it in a rubbish bag problem solve...just make sure to stay away from rubbish collectors
wlp9185
post Nov 16 2008, 10:14 PM

sleeping not so beauty
729 posts

for a very poor rich guy like me, i've no choice but to bring my lappy around without the battery.................i hope they wont detect the power adapter.................... sweat.gif

ozak
post Nov 17 2008, 12:59 AM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(wlp9185 @ Nov 16 2008, 10:14 PM)
for a very poor rich guy like me, i've no choice but to bring my lappy around without the battery.................i hope they wont detect the power adapter.................... sweat.gif
Your laptop have a watch battery inside that keep the time running accurate. Even you takeout the main battery.
fir3f0x
post Nov 17 2008, 01:04 AM

447 posts

QUOTE(wlp9185 @ Nov 16 2008, 10:14 PM)
maybe they goes for battery since u carrying ur laptop. tongue.gif
zephyros
post Dec 12 2008, 03:33 PM

29 posts

sorry if someone already replied but too lazy to browse through the whole forum.

1) there is a RF detector, but it'll only work if ur lappy is on

2) you shouldn't be leaving ur laptop in your car anyway. Read in someone's blog, would u leave a stash of cash in your car as u would ur laptop?

3) sometimes it's not a detector, but the owner themselves. U carrying a laptop bag is obvious enough u have one. people follow u from your office or college etc and hope that u leave ur laptop.

4) stupidity. geting out of your car and debating, should we leave our laptop in the car HMMMMMMMM where any tom d*** or harry would be listening.

Added on December 12, 2008, 3:36 pm
QUOTE(signboard @ Dec 24 2007, 01:16 PM)
practical only if everyone use 1kg eeepc.
mine is a freaking 6kg desktop replacement. i drag it with me. what's the prob? if u wanna bring ur laptop, then bring it with u all the way, why leave the last few yards for your item's security to chance. u rather yank it around a bit more, or risk
1) having ur laptop stolen
and
2) fixing broken windows

if ur not in the mood to yank it around, then leave it home, don't bring it anywhere with u to begin with.

Added on December 12, 2008, 3:39 pm
QUOTE(daphsta @ Dec 11 2007, 12:18 PM)

After removing battery, the only  part that could hold some power would be the mobo but it is using the minimal power to maintain the BIOS anywayz. I bet the car has all the metal shielding against any signals that would be transmitted by the mobo.

why would u wanna do that? does it matter? the risk is there. u rather take that risk than carrying it with u? if it's that HEAVY leave it at home. if u HAVE to bring it, remove the battery but carry the latptop with u. the battery itself is quite heavy so might lighten the load up a bit.

This post has been edited by zephyros: Dec 12 2008, 03:39 PM
mych
post Dec 12 2008, 06:42 PM

2,068 posts

is total crap... ppl notice you from far.. when you park your car... they target some company with employee car stickers...

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0248sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:45 PM