9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

TV3 News: Laptop Detector Exist and widely avai.

art8
post Dec 30 2008, 11:54 AM

We should practice our right to do civilian arrest! rclxms.gif

The Police should use undercover to purposely park a car with a few NB in it at "popular" place (where frequent theft occur), then use a DV to record down everything from 20~50m away (of coz they can put another DV inside the vehicle )… They can also throw in a sniper with tranquilizer ammunition, or hot-wire the NB bag (use special carbon fiber bag for good electrical conductivity), or simply hot-wire the whole vehicle, with 50kv with remote trigger ( so that not to accidentally electrocute any innocent pass-by ) when suspect are near! rclxm9.gif

Hmmm... Smart huh? No wonder I can’t be a MP or the Police Director… hahaha! cool2.gif

gaarared
post Dec 30 2008, 12:14 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(art8 @ Dec 30 2008, 11:54 AM)
We should practice our right to do civilian arrest! rclxms.gif

The Police should use undercover to purposely park a car with a few NB in it at "popular" place (where frequent theft occur), then use a DV to record down everything from 20~50m away (of coz they can put another DV inside the vehicle )… They can also throw in a sniper with tranquilizer ammunition, or hot-wire the NB bag (use special carbon fiber bag for good electrical conductivity), or simply hot-wire the whole vehicle, with 50kv with remote trigger ( so that not to accidentally electrocute any innocent pass-by ) when suspect are near!  rclxm9.gif

Hmmm... Smart huh? No wonder I can’t be a MP or the Police Director… hahaha!    cool2.gif
Ha ha, crazy idea. hope they can do that for real..because I also fear my laptop being stolen.
psychict
post Dec 30 2008, 12:30 PM

Demolition Team
717 posts

QUOTE(gaarared @ Dec 30 2008, 12:14 PM)
Ha ha, crazy idea. hope they can do that for real..because I also fear my laptop being stolen.
Well I'd normally either dun bring it out, or if I DO bring it out I'll keep it with me all the times... No choicelo~ blink.gif
gaarared
post Dec 30 2008, 02:09 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(psychict @ Dec 30 2008, 12:30 PM)
Well I'd normally either dun bring it out, or if I DO bring it out I'll keep it with me all the times... No choicelo~  blink.gif
yes but when going to work no choice..and my laptop so heavy..tired to keep it with me all the times.
sometimes I gamble left it in my car..hehe, luckily still there...
psychict
post Dec 30 2008, 05:11 PM

Demolition Team
717 posts

QUOTE(gaarared @ Dec 30 2008, 02:09 PM)
yes but when going to work no choice..and my laptop so heavy..tired to keep it with me all the times.
sometimes I gamble left it in my car..hehe, luckily still there...
LOL gamble to hope that ur laptop still there... That's a huge bet tongue.gif If u lose, u lose all, if ur laptop there, u dun gain anything pun tongue.gif laugh.gif

But yeh, I agree with u, so not much choice but to park at a more secure place... I'd take out the battery anyway juz to be sure that there's nothing transmitting any signal on my laptop for others to detect brows.gif
SUSceo684
post Dec 31 2008, 04:41 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

This laptop stolen cases have happened back in the days when wifi was not built in (ie. separate PCMCIA card) so its not a wifi thing.

The thief watches ppl put in bags to the boot of the car then wait for the fella to go off then only does his dirty work
gaarared
post Dec 31 2008, 12:46 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(psychict @ Dec 30 2008, 05:11 PM)
LOL gamble to hope that ur laptop still there... That's a huge bet tongue.gif If u lose, u lose all, if ur laptop there, u dun gain anything pun tongue.gif  laugh.gif

But yeh, I agree with u, so not much choice but to park at a more secure place... I'd take out the battery anyway juz to be sure that there's nothing transmitting any signal on my laptop for others to detect  brows.gif
yeah same with u, I'll try to find more secure parking or at more people can see my car, ie: in front mamak stall where there many people there.
annime
post Jan 10 2009, 11:12 PM

25 posts

hi there...

i just lost my laptop today... in my home... well... i just went out on 10.30 AM and came back at 2.00 PM... and i saw my front door was wide opened... shocked... ran in to my house and checked... everything are there except my 2 months old laptop...

the best part is the solex that i used to lock the grill was disappeared and the grill and the front door were nicely opened without any signs of force open...

leaving the laptop in the house are not safe anymore nowadays... rclxub.gif

kindly share with me if anyone knows how to get back my laptop even though i know it is hard to get it back...
jingga
post Jan 13 2009, 07:08 PM

98 posts

For me taking out the battery from the laptop is a must before leaving it in the car. So far nothing bad ever happen to my laptop huhu sweat.gif
eclectice
post Jan 14 2009, 11:15 AM

2,734 posts

Hmm, my rules of thumb:

1) Always bring along the laptop with me to anywhere if I am on the move. Never leave it in a place unguarded. Choose a locker system where there is a security guard in place to look after it. Never rely on security guard when there is no such locker system - he/she is not a keeper, anyway.

2) Against the snatch-thief - easy solution: walk in a crowded place. Never go alone without a partner/friend when walking along a secluded place (even better: just avoid such place, find other alternative even it is quite far from the destination).

3) If you want to go somewhere where there is no business to conduct, there is no need to bring along a laptop. Just leave it at home (with people inside, of course!) Settle everything at home if possible. Reduce your addiction to Internet - it will be helpful as well. Find a substitute to your laptop (buy a smartphone or something that can be put inside a pocket)

This post has been edited by eclectice: Jan 14 2009, 11:18 AM
devilicd
post Jan 14 2009, 11:50 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(jingga @ Jan 13 2009, 08:08 PM)
For me taking out the battery from the laptop is a must before leaving it in the car. So far nothing bad ever happen to my laptop huhu sweat.gif
Amen, Reverand......

Added on January 14, 2009, 11:52 pm
QUOTE(eclectice @ Jan 14 2009, 12:15 PM)
3) If you want to go somewhere where there is no business to conduct, there is no need to bring along a laptop. Just leave it at home (with people inside, of course!) Settle everything at home if possible. Reduce your addiction to Internet - it will be helpful as well. Find a substitute to your laptop (buy a smartphone or something that can be put inside a pocket)
Well There is always a mini.... smile.gif

This post has been edited by devilicd: Jan 14 2009, 11:52 PM
Hitman190
post Jan 15 2009, 12:09 AM

589 posts

or more radical tips you can follow

when you leave your laptop at home make a good hiding place. like the ceiling for example, most houses have their ceiling made of plywood. so make a small compartment there and no thief would no its there

second when you are in public dont be a fool and carry around a bag with the designer logo on it. in other words dont be silly and take an Asus bag with the logo still on it

third, if you are afraid of snatch theft carry your laptop on the other side of traffic...in other words if you are walking on the sidewalk and the moving traffic is to the right of you, put your laptop on your leftside of your body.

lmsf4ever
post Feb 3 2009, 12:04 AM

148 posts

got any picture to share?
Princess90
post Feb 10 2009, 12:40 AM

289 posts

QUOTE(inoitu @ Aug 8 2007, 02:48 PM)
Saw it last night.  The cheapest detector is about RM 40.00 @ Jln. Pasar roadside stalls too can get.  Maybe someone can buy and check with the "periuk" thing and post out findings here.  On another thought.  Isnt closing the car's boot almost like puting the laptop in a periuk?  of course there are gaps in the in the baclight areas etc.
WTF... RM40 only?!
Omg... Should ban d item from being sold...
wlp9185
post Feb 11 2009, 06:47 AM

sleeping not so beauty
729 posts

QUOTE(jingga @ Jan 13 2009, 07:08 PM)
so far, we r sharing the same luck... sweat.gif but me, i dont even bring the battery along... rolleyes.gif
SUSsanook
post Feb 19 2009, 10:04 AM

880 posts

there is no notebook detector. it doesn't exist. you cannot find any fooking engineer anywhere in the world who can make a device to detect the presence of a hidden notebook that has been completely switched off.

the people who lost their notebook lost them because they didn't realise they are being watched from afar, by a group of people constantly on the lookout with binoculars, motorcycles etc. if the thieves are skillful enough to build a device to detect notebook, they should be skillful enough to break into car without smashing windows since those cars are normal Protons, cheap Toyotas with old, outdated door system that can be easily picked by veteran car thieves.

bottomline, cars got broken into all the time, especially cars that the owners has left their bags, boxes in them, regardless of whether they contain notebooks or not. as long as you got something in there that thieves can reasonably suspect to contain something valuable, your car will become a primary important target. period. end of story.

My car was broken into twice, both without the window being smashed, just because my friends left schoolbags and handbags left inside them and none of them contain notebooks.

the notebook detector is just a fooking myth, a story made up by the police as a stupid excuse for the inability to control the rampant theft situation.

as long as you got something in there that thieves can reasonably suspect to contain something valuable, your car will become a primary important target. period. end of story.

jamis
post Mar 10 2009, 02:50 PM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

QUOTE(sanook @ Feb 19 2009, 10:04 AM)
there is no notebook detector. it doesn't exist. you cannot find any fooking engineer anywhere in the world who can make a device to detect the presence of a hidden notebook that has been completely switched off.

the people who lost their notebook lost them because they didn't realise they are being watched from afar, by a group of people constantly on the lookout with binoculars, motorcycles etc. if the thieves are skillful enough to build a device to detect notebook, they should be skillful enough to break into car without smashing windows since those cars are normal Protons, cheap Toyotas with old, outdated door system that can be easily picked by veteran car thieves.

bottomline, cars got broken into all the time, especially cars that the owners has left their bags, boxes in them, regardless of whether they contain notebooks or not. as long as you got something in there that thieves can reasonably suspect to contain something valuable, your car will become a primary important target. period. end of story.

My car was broken into twice, both without the window being smashed,  just because my friends left schoolbags and handbags left inside them and none of them contain notebooks.

the notebook detector is just a fooking myth, a story made up by the police as a stupid excuse for the inability to control the rampant theft situation.

as long as you got something in there that thieves can reasonably suspect to contain something valuable, your car will become a primary important target. period. end of story.
u got a point there dude. Basically they just try their luck on those old car (e.g. those old saga like mine last time). I got broke in once, but nothing was taken since there is nothing inside thou, i mean not even a player or small change but some keropok bags.

Their target most probably aiming on certain types of car with certain defact, since according to my boss, he lost his laptop tat time, his honda accord's (2 generation before the new one) windows were all wind down by the theft.

Those theft are most probably belongs to some organization that has highly trained engineers that able to perform those high tech break in stuff since i bet the money is better than working in their own fields right?
dulang
post Sep 27 2009, 10:55 PM

76 posts

Moral: Dont leave your laptop in the car walaupun without battery..detect jugak..so beware kwn2..
chloe_yee87
post Sep 28 2009, 12:17 PM

367 posts

i've seen a group of people in a van using that detector. They were going round and round my neigherborhood (taman connought), very very slowly.

I guess they were trying to detect which house has the most laptop, then break in when we're asleep since houses there are 80% occupied by student...

Don't know whether this thing exist or not but better be safe than sorry...
NaGeNaZ
post Sep 28 2009, 11:55 PM

MS03-GNX001
783 posts

Whats the range of this so called detectors?

1meter ? 10meter?

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0264sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:49 AM