12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Asus F9S, 12.1" thin and light, first impressions.

death_nite
post Aug 21 2007, 04:45 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(taneuhua @ Aug 21 2007, 03:54 PM)
Well, watch out for your balls, as it gets hotter faster.
serius ka? its hot?

QUOTE(y_owez @ Aug 21 2007, 04:25 PM)
u1f more ex..around 8888
nvm then, i skipped!
taneuhua
post Aug 21 2007, 05:44 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(death_nite @ Aug 21 2007, 04:45 PM)
serius ka? its hot?
Serious. There's one story about some guy wanted to sue some company, because due to long hours usage, burned his balls. But, I guess he was doing something perverted, I mean who will put the laptop on the lap without any pants on?

Other disadvantages with small size laptop, sure will have small screen size. So, don't expect to have very nice multimedia experience on tiny screens. Less USB ports, and might not have the option to get a dedicated graphics card. Take for instance the new Inspiron 1420, the only dedicated graphics is the 8400M, but no option for 8600 like the 1520. Why? because that thing will go so hot in such a compact size that it'll burned the stuff inside, and size is also a concern to fit that sucker in.

y_owez
post Aug 21 2007, 05:45 PM

1,745 posts

hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Added on August 21, 2007, 5:45 pmhmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

This post has been edited by y_owez: Aug 21 2007, 05:45 PM
death_nite
post Aug 21 2007, 05:50 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(taneuhua @ Aug 21 2007, 05:44 PM)
Serious. There's one story about some guy wanted to sue some company, because due to long hours usage, burned his balls. But, I guess he was doing something perverted, I mean who will put the laptop on the lap without any pants on?

Other disadvantages with small size laptop, sure will have small screen size. So, don't expect to have very nice multimedia experience on tiny screens. Less USB ports, and might not have the option to get a dedicated graphics card. Take for instance the new Inspiron 1420, the only dedicated graphics is the 8400M, but no option for 8600 like the 1520. Why? because that thing will go so hot in such a compact size that it'll burned the stuff inside, and size is also a concern to fit that sucker in.
u own this F9S?
taneuhua
post Aug 21 2007, 05:53 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(death_nite @ Aug 21 2007, 05:50 PM)
u own this F9S?
Well, I don't own an F9S. But been using some thinner and smaller notebooks, so you can imagine if a 13-14 inch size notebook is so hot, what will a 12.1" be?

Added on August 21, 2007, 6:00 pmFactors that cause a higher rate of heat:

- Faster processor
- a higher speed HDD (7200rpm produces more heat than 5400rpm)
- dedicated graphics card
- laptop bad ventilation design

Take note: The notebook will produces even more heat, if you are using it on top of the bed, as fabric retain heat and the surface might block the ventilation holes. Go get a laptop cooler to prolong your notebook lifespan.

This post has been edited by taneuhua: Aug 21 2007, 06:00 PM
V3000
post Aug 21 2007, 06:02 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

Wa with your story sure make Death_nite hold back to buy this smile.gif But its good we can share our idea and discuss on..
For me i dont really prefer have dedicated card on a small lappy.. beside hot (making internal parts lifespan shorter) it a good batt sucker too.. But when it come to performance.. im sure this lappy can do good job! At least better then my Intel GMA X3100..

Cheers icon_rolleyes.gif
y_owez
post Aug 21 2007, 06:44 PM

1,745 posts

hmmm...i see more idead about small lappy
V3000
post Aug 21 2007, 06:49 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Aug 21 2007, 06:44 PM)
Small lappy are very good if u travel alot, but i dont like the idea small lappy with dedicated gpu in it.. hot and batt life is big problem to me..

My 12.1" lappy temp jump up to >45C with Intel GMA X3100.. imagine how hot it can be with it build with dedicated GPU.. the fan will blow all the way to make this lappy cool thus another batt juice sucker.. Im not a gamer so dedicated card is no no for me on a ultraportable lappy tongue.gif

Cheers.

This post has been edited by V3000: Aug 21 2007, 06:50 PM
y_owez
post Aug 21 2007, 06:51 PM

1,745 posts

this asus graphic card is good or wad???if i dun play game wont go up???
V3000
post Aug 21 2007, 06:57 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Aug 21 2007, 06:51 PM)
this asus graphic card is good or wad???if i dun play game wont go up???
Sure this card is good (on a lappy this size) but if bro dont play game or do any heavy grapx stuff why bother get lappy with dedicated card on it? hmm.gif

Dedicated card = Hot and batt juice sucker.. im sure most of us here know bout this smile.gif

If your lappy mainly for Office work, mp3 and web surfing.. dedicated card is useless.. just make ur lappy hotter then others.

Cheers.
taneuhua
post Aug 21 2007, 07:07 PM

110 posts

I think this Asus machine should be reasonable, since it is quite thick, unlike those Sony VAIO ones. Well, if you want to play games for longs hours, should really get a cooling pad for it. Otherwise, it should do fine.

Another true story, a friend played for long hours till the hard drive kaput.
y_owez
post Aug 21 2007, 07:11 PM

1,745 posts

i have a cooling pad...and if the free one they give(miust be lousy brand) enuf for me kua....eh coolling pad wad brand is good
taneuhua
post Aug 21 2007, 07:14 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Aug 21 2007, 07:11 PM)
i have a cooling pad...and if the free one they give(miust be lousy brand) enuf for me kua....eh coolling pad wad brand is good
there's a full aluminium one made by Cooler Master. But the price is well over a hundred bucks. You should settle the ones in the midrange instead. roughly 50-70 should do the trick. Don't buy 20 bucks one, they are practically useless.

Added on August 21, 2007, 7:15 pmEven better, free alternative would be putting ur notebook, with 2 books on the sides to lift up the unit. Then use normal house fans to blow brows.gif

This post has been edited by taneuhua: Aug 21 2007, 07:15 PM
death_nite
post Aug 21 2007, 07:17 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(V3000 @ Aug 21 2007, 06:02 PM)
Wa with your story sure make Death_nite hold back to buy this smile.gif But its good we can share our idea and discuss on..
For me i dont really prefer have dedicated card on a small lappy.. beside hot (making internal parts lifespan shorter) it a good batt sucker too.. But when it come to performance.. im sure this lappy can do good job! At least better then my Intel GMA X3100..

Cheers  icon_rolleyes.gif
how come u could read my mind? sweat.gif
u stalker! laugh.gif

haha..ya laa....this definitely will hold me back! if hot, better take hp tx1000 series...saw sm1 in garage sales sell it at 3k only....smmore 2 battery...with 6150go....at least much better than gma950...everythg is similar with this F9S baby....fingerprint sensor oso got....

the diff only dat tx1000 use amd..... laugh.gif but i do read both amd n core 2 duo temp almost similar laa....haha....

QUOTE(y_owez @ Aug 21 2007, 06:44 PM)
idead? wat do u meant?

well, i lazy to type back again y my bro stress on me to get him small notebook...so i quote myself

so now my choice is either tx1000 or F9S...
both hv their on pro n cons....

now now....any1 care to tell me how to claim asus warranty? wait...i think i will ask in asus royal club thread... laugh.gif
y_owez
post Aug 21 2007, 08:13 PM

1,745 posts

ahahha oh ok...hmmm tanehua dun ble lame!ahhahaha...wad la u.......death_nite wow!those two are oso my final choices!
cryil
post Aug 21 2007, 08:50 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(death_nite @ Aug 21 2007, 02:59 PM)
genotypic,

hv u try fingerprint sensor? izzit good? wat izzit for? n then, i read from website it support 3.5g....hv u try it?

does it come with sim card slot? biggrin.gif

Added on August 21, 2007, 3:01 pmU1F look smaller....any1 noe the price? laugh.gif
geno since bz lately ... nvr reply .... the fingerprint sensor is juz like normal, u can log in or boot ur computer wif fingerprint... which good for security and if u wanna open sum file more faster .... u can set the fingerprint for the file. means like u set 1 of ur fingerprint for "internet explorer" u doesnt need to open it by clicking it , juz swipe ur finger then the program will automatically open for u.....

the 3.5g i not sure coz didnt test it, and sim card slot???? wats tht ???? i juz saw 1 card reader slot =.=
y_owez
post Aug 21 2007, 08:54 PM

1,745 posts

wow thats cool... i assume u can delete ur fingerprint in the data..i meanlike change wihc finger for wad rite
cryil
post Aug 21 2007, 09:05 PM

194 posts

yeah ... wif graphic card will temp seem up very fast but wif a cooling pad will make it cool alot even though i using the free plastic rm20 cooling pad.... so i think wif aluminium n change a high rpm fan will solve the heat prob ..... besides i think the HDD temp is more high coz normally a lappy can feel hot at the bottom left side which the HDD located (correct me if i wrong)

i using my f9s for max 4hours+ oso not feeling those "hot" until terrible .... n its still reasonable hot la if compare wif my desktop power supply=.=
death_nite
post Aug 21 2007, 09:09 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(cryil @ Aug 21 2007, 08:50 PM)
geno since bz lately ... nvr reply .... the fingerprint sensor is juz like normal, u can log in or boot ur computer wif fingerprint... which good for security and if u wanna open sum file more faster .... u can set the fingerprint for the file. means like u set 1 of ur fingerprint for "internet explorer" u doesnt need to open it by clicking it , juz swipe ur finger then the program will automatically open for u.....

the 3.5g i not sure coz didnt test it, and sim card slot???? wats tht ???? i juz saw 1 card reader slot =.=
owh u oso bought F9S yer? ok ok...

sim card slot? to slot in ur mobile simcard? so u can use 3g function? sweat.gif
taneuhua
post Aug 21 2007, 09:10 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Aug 21 2007, 08:13 PM)
ahahha oh ok...hmmm tanehua dun ble lame!ahhahaha...wad la u.......death_nite wow!those two are oso my final choices!
It's true ma. Free and very effective. icon_rolleyes.gif Strong wind blowing.

12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:22 AM