Asus F9S, 12.1" thin and light, first impressions.

death_nite
post Aug 20 2007, 05:21 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

hurm....this model not bad...will add into my list....my bro wanna get small notebook... sweat.gif

my major concern abt asus notebook is warranty...any1 deal with it? my bro stay at jb...not kl....so if anythg probs how?

QUOTE(V3000 @ Aug 20 2007, 12:18 PM)
But still dont know why Acer still avertise as Best in malaysia smile.gif I gues malaysia alot dummy who buy Acer until Acer become best in malaysia..
when i saw people buy acer notebook at pc fair....i will cry for them.... smile.gif

This post has been edited by death_nite: Aug 20 2007, 05:22 PM
death_nite
post Aug 20 2007, 05:49 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Aug 20 2007, 05:27 PM)
death_nite..u wanna buy oso huh?????where u buying...just in case u got better deal...lol!.........v3000 sad sad huh see them buy...they need save money ma.....
no larr....i edy own 6400...no money to buy new notebook laugh.gif
just helping my bro....who want 12inch notebook....last time he got no money....now he got money edy...
but now i am bz with midterm...where got time to buy it for him...haih.... sweat.gif

still, i will put in list...will "present" it to my bro n ask him to choose which he like.... laugh.gif

maybe i should wait it for another month.... laugh.gif or maybe after i fin my exm....in 2 months! laugh.gif maybe dat time edy release new model...owh wait...i dont think my bro can wait nemore....huhu...

QUOTE(V3000 @ Aug 20 2007, 05:34 PM)
Canot say sad la, their money ma.. but i just dont recommend ppl to get Acer even their budget is very limited.. they should survey more and dont solely depend on those fake advertisement..

Dont flame me Acer fans hehe!
seriusly laa....rather than take acer, i will suggest them; at least to get u...i meant, compaq v3000 series.... laugh.gif much better....hehe...v3000 cheap edy nowadays...

wah...no1 answer my qs....asus's warranty? good ka? where to claim if got probs? jb area got service center or must send to kl? sweat.gif
death_nite
post Aug 20 2007, 07:36 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(V3000 @ Aug 20 2007, 07:19 PM)
Yeah take V3000 dont take Acer! Take me home~ tongue.gif I can be your best slay smile.gif
this F9S look tempting laarr....hahaa....
u wanna be my slave? brows.gif laugh.gif
death_nite
post Aug 21 2007, 02:02 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(V3000 @ Aug 21 2007, 08:32 AM)
Between Asus F9S and V3000 family lappy, frankly speaking bro better take the F9S.. Small powerful machine! While V3000 family are bigger and heavier..

Hehe its hard to feed me i eat alot tongue.gif
haha....no larr..i didnt compare it side by side...both notebook r in diff league....one mainly for portable one for multimedia purpose.... smile.gif if budget constraint, enough said take v3000....if prefer small size take F9S....

i think i wont take hp tx1000 series....i heard its too hot! can cook ur eggs balls

n compaq bla bla...cant rmmbr the series....from hp websites....its a discontinued product sweat.gif acer big no no for me...heuheuheuheu...it seems this gonna be my final choice....

this notebook aint bad....small yet come with 8400gs aite? i will ask my bro to pickup this machine larr.... biggrin.gif just donno when should i go to lowyat...

owh wait, got stock or not? later i go there all shop say no stock....waste time money n petrol only.... cry.gif buying notebook at lowyat, which shop u guys recommend?

QUOTE(xiong91 @ Aug 21 2007, 11:15 AM)
thin and light..juz like a book..nice item ther....btw gt wad disadvantage of a thin and light laptop?
battery life short? sweat.gif smthg u hv to sacrife....hehe....n big adapter erh..i think my dell oso hv same size lar the adpater...its just the adpater look too bulky bcos the notebook is too small! laugh.gif
death_nite
post Aug 21 2007, 02:59 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

genotypic,

hv u try fingerprint sensor? izzit good? wat izzit for? n then, i read from website it support 3.5g....hv u try it?

does it come with sim card slot? biggrin.gif

Added on August 21, 2007, 3:01 pmU1F look smaller....any1 noe the price? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by death_nite: Aug 21 2007, 03:01 PM
death_nite
post Aug 21 2007, 04:45 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(taneuhua @ Aug 21 2007, 03:54 PM)
Well, watch out for your balls, as it gets hotter faster.
serius ka? its hot?

QUOTE(y_owez @ Aug 21 2007, 04:25 PM)
u1f more ex..around 8888
nvm then, i skipped!
death_nite
post Aug 21 2007, 05:50 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(taneuhua @ Aug 21 2007, 05:44 PM)
Serious. There's one story about some guy wanted to sue some company, because due to long hours usage, burned his balls. But, I guess he was doing something perverted, I mean who will put the laptop on the lap without any pants on?

Other disadvantages with small size laptop, sure will have small screen size. So, don't expect to have very nice multimedia experience on tiny screens. Less USB ports, and might not have the option to get a dedicated graphics card. Take for instance the new Inspiron 1420, the only dedicated graphics is the 8400M, but no option for 8600 like the 1520. Why? because that thing will go so hot in such a compact size that it'll burned the stuff inside, and size is also a concern to fit that sucker in.
u own this F9S?
death_nite
post Aug 21 2007, 07:17 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(V3000 @ Aug 21 2007, 06:02 PM)
Wa with your story sure make Death_nite hold back to buy this smile.gif But its good we can share our idea and discuss on..
For me i dont really prefer have dedicated card on a small lappy.. beside hot (making internal parts lifespan shorter) it a good batt sucker too.. But when it come to performance.. im sure this lappy can do good job! At least better then my Intel GMA X3100..

Cheers  icon_rolleyes.gif
how come u could read my mind? sweat.gif
u stalker! laugh.gif

haha..ya laa....this definitely will hold me back! if hot, better take hp tx1000 series...saw sm1 in garage sales sell it at 3k only....smmore 2 battery...with 6150go....at least much better than gma950...everythg is similar with this F9S baby....fingerprint sensor oso got....

the diff only dat tx1000 use amd..... laugh.gif but i do read both amd n core 2 duo temp almost similar laa....haha....

QUOTE(y_owez @ Aug 21 2007, 06:44 PM)
hmmm...i see more idead about small lappy
idead? wat do u meant?

well, i lazy to type back again y my bro stress on me to get him small notebook...so i quote myself

so now my choice is either tx1000 or F9S...
both hv their on pro n cons....

now now....any1 care to tell me how to claim asus warranty? wait...i think i will ask in asus royal club thread... laugh.gif
death_nite
post Aug 21 2007, 09:09 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(cryil @ Aug 21 2007, 08:50 PM)
geno since bz lately ... nvr reply .... the fingerprint sensor is juz like normal, u can log in or boot ur computer wif fingerprint... which good for security and if u wanna open sum file more faster .... u can set the fingerprint for the file. means like u set 1 of ur fingerprint for "internet explorer" u doesnt need to open it by clicking it , juz swipe ur finger then the program will automatically open for u.....

the 3.5g i not sure coz didnt test it, and sim card slot???? wats tht ???? i juz saw 1 card reader slot =.=
owh u oso bought F9S yer? ok ok...

sim card slot? to slot in ur mobile simcard? so u can use 3g function? sweat.gif
death_nite
post Aug 21 2007, 09:24 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(cryil @ Aug 21 2007, 09:19 PM)
ya i own F9S .... but i cant find the simcard slot le..... lolx.... =.=
aaa...maybe urs doesnt hv 3g function...as it is optional...try to read manual book?
death_nite
post Aug 22 2007, 11:49 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Aug 22 2007, 11:39 PM)
hehehe...paid my f9...gonna get it tomoro...hope it wil last me...guys..thanks for the help and all!
where u buy it? from who? how much? any freebies? biggrin.gif

dont forget....we need more review n test! play game 3hours....got hot or not? will it force shutdown like famous acer heat probs? hurry up babeh! cant wait! hahaha....

i am still bz with my assignment n midterm test....haih... sweat.gif
death_nite
post Aug 23 2007, 12:08 AM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Aug 22 2007, 11:52 PM)
lol...dun tink got time to test and erything..i gots tests and assignment..lol....evernew lor....hmm yea i got the promo lo...same price la....3 hours game lol..wad game first lo...not tad gammer la...lol...force shutdown???...for heat??i only know ffor battery la..lol..ok...see how la dudes! cool2.gif

cant wait rclxm9.gif  thumbup.gif  rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
force shutdown meants if play games too long n when its too hot it will force shutdown ur notebook = thermal design not good! laugh.gif

aiyak! u got test oso aa? where u study? tongue.gif
death_nite
post Aug 23 2007, 12:30 AM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Aug 23 2007, 12:18 AM)
oh oh...siaw meh ..dun wan spoil my lappy..lol..see how la lo...hmm..........u study where?
aiseh....for us....test kaw2 lorh...hahaha...btw, u got pm....later chat here mod will ban us! laugh.gif sweat.gif
death_nite
post Aug 28 2007, 11:22 AM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

wait...u guys....this babe is hot?

idle temp is 60? r u guys sure? =.=" 60 for idle is hot edy....smthg must be wrong!
death_nite
post Aug 28 2007, 10:03 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(V3000 @ Aug 28 2007, 08:49 PM)
No accurate answer till now. Sad none of my friends own this yet sad.gif
I really wish to hold this cutie for once and test it out sad.gif

Hot babe is good while Hot lappy cook balls.  sweat.gif
haih~
i don wan later i buy 4 my bro then idle temp will b 60c....he's doing a lot of encoding.....gonna stress out the procs.... sweat.gif

hv u try Notebook Hardware Controller? dat 1 oso can chk proc n harddisk temp if not mistaken...
death_nite
post Aug 28 2007, 10:04 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

then try dl NHC lorh...hahaha biggrin.gif
death_nite
post Aug 28 2007, 11:44 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(V3000 @ Aug 28 2007, 11:37 PM)
Bro when u leave it idle for 10min most of the program* gone into sleep same goes to ur processor (deep sleep) with your santa processor. While they all 'sleeping' u can get lower idle temp.. if it stay at 60C, bro i think u better sent it back to service center.. (60C on idle is something i call MAD lappy)

*Please temporary turn off your Anti virus tongue.gif
^My lappy have 87 process on background

Cheers
woho!
87 process...dats alot tongue.gif mine 62 only...hehe...

wat abt cyril n other users....they didnt test it ke?
death_nite
post Aug 29 2007, 12:22 AM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(V3000 @ Aug 29 2007, 12:00 AM)
Im sorry bro, i dont mean to make u sad on ur purchase. Me, myself plan to get 1 of this (Asus F9s) for my gf bday gift (as her lappy ageing already)
But when it come to temp matter, im very sensitive with it (hot machine keen to have shorter lifespan).. and feel very very uncomfortable when use on lap and make our bed hot! NO GOOD!

I suggest that is the temp maintain >60C, bro better sent it back to their service center to check it (But its good to get respond from other user 1st, this is what forum used for smile.gif)

Cheers, hopr to hear good news from u guys!  icon_rolleyes.gif
waaa.....buy notebook for ur gf....envy larr....can i be ur lil bro? later i got new notebook from u.. laugh.gif

QUOTE(y_owez @ Aug 29 2007, 12:08 AM)
when buying this..din know tad it is hot..well..if for ur gf..she wont use much on her lap la..girls dun do tad...get a exp cooling pad for her..lol..wah so rich oh buy for gf..cyril and geno!all up to u!
haha...
ya la...am thinking to buy this notebook for my bro....(pstt: his money, not mine) dats y wanna gain more input....haha...my uncle oso wan me to help him buying him new notbook...like middle men edy....later ask sme commission lar.... tongue.gif

sorry y_owez....bcos u become our white rat....well...going to google any review now.... sweat.gif

0.0247sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:09 PM