Nov 6 2021, 02:12 PM
7,826 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(maxguy @ Nov 6 2021, 09:42 AM) 1) It is priced quite high over what retail prices are 2) Not many ppl opt for L size |
Nov 7 2021, 06:11 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
887 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Nov 3 2021, 08:25 AM) Since you discovered this Here..Mind sharing which seller sold this? No need to protect sellers such as this Please share » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Nov 3 2021, 08:26 AM) I dont becoz I got the fork three month later as I stuck at kampong due to MCO. |
Nov 8 2021, 07:45 AM
157 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
QUOTE(coklatua @ Nov 7 2021, 06:11 PM) Here.. I bought this fork too for me hardtail, but I paid close to rm900 for it if I remember correctly.» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I dont becoz I got the fork three month later as I stuck at kampong due to MCO. I'm planning to open it to "convert " to 120mm. I shall see the internals by then. You do know this fork can convert between 80mm to 120mm.? |
Nov 8 2021, 10:20 AM
QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Nov 8 2021, 07:45 AM) I bought this fork too for me hardtail, but I paid close to rm900 for it if I remember correctly. Yeah, the normal price is 800-900~.I'm planning to open it to "convert " to 120mm. I shall see the internals by then. You do know this fork can convert between 80mm to 120mm.? When I see the price so cheap, I think I just get a jackpot price. Yeah, I know it can convert travel. This is what I meant when I say my air spring side is not the same with original. Mine air spring side dont have the notch/hole to adjust the travel. It is fixed. When I see that, I can confirm that is not original. So fake lol.. |
Nov 8 2021, 10:38 AM
1,123 posts Joined: Sep 2013 |
QUOTE(Mavik @ Oct 27 2021, 06:07 PM) I have had both before, still macam no difference. Pedal uphill still also very tiring LOL. I had a 28T chainring initially but I killed my crank arm which led me to change to a Shimano SLX one with a 32T (only 32T was in stock). Recently swapped back to 30T because I was having issues trying to tackle the technical uphill with 32T. Try out the oval ring for 2 days straight.....and im loving it....I believe it might not make a different for strong rider but for weak rider like me....definitely can feel the difference, i getting less tired going uphill compare to my 28T round chainring and the pedalling stroke feel so much difference...usually on 28T i would crank all the way up to highest gear but on the oval i would only stick to 2nd or 3rd last high gear on the same road..... |
Nov 8 2021, 11:50 AM
Nov 8 2021, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(doppatroll @ Nov 8 2021, 10:38 AM) Try out the oval ring for 2 days straight.....and im loving it....I believe it might not make a different for strong rider but for weak rider like me....definitely can feel the difference, i getting less tired going uphill compare to my 28T round chainring and the pedalling stroke feel so much difference...usually on 28T i would crank all the way up to highest gear but on the oval i would only stick to 2nd or 3rd last high gear on the same road..... Back in the 90s, I once used an oval chainring crankset by Shimano, 200gs.they call it the biopace I hated it. ![]() |
Nov 8 2021, 01:05 PM
QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Nov 8 2021, 11:50 AM) QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Nov 8 2021, 11:54 AM) Back in the 90s, I once used an oval chainring crankset by Shimano, 200gs. Wow. Didnt know this exist.they call it the biopace I hated it. ![]() I wonder why they dont make this anymore? Is it bcoz it doesn't work? |
Nov 8 2021, 01:13 PM
Nov 13 2021, 02:26 AM
81 posts Joined: Jan 2015 |
QUOTE(doppatroll @ Nov 8 2021, 10:38 AM) Try out the oval ring for 2 days straight.....and im loving it....I believe it might not make a different for strong rider but for weak rider like me....definitely can feel the difference, i getting less tired going uphill compare to my 28T round chainring and the pedalling stroke feel so much difference...usually on 28T i would crank all the way up to highest gear but on the oval i would only stick to 2nd or 3rd last high gear on the same road..... You should factor in also that you're getting fitter/stronger. There's a hill I go to every weekend, 3km with 8% gradient. My first solo non-stop attempt was 25:56. My 5th try was 19:42. Same 34t chainring. I'm now contemplating of getting a 36t for my xc hardtail before I get a proper road bike. |
Nov 13 2021, 06:37 PM
213 posts Joined: May 2005 From: https://www.supermotoxl.com |
QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Nov 8 2021, 11:54 AM) Back in the 90s, I once used an oval chainring crankset by Shimano, 200gs. I used to owned a SHIMANO EXAGE - BIOPACE crank too in 1995 put on LERUN MOUNTI mtb bike. Its only works efficient on granny gear during hill climb but weird feeling like 'peaky' during cadence on pedal stroke since the chainring shapes more like 'bashed' oval than perfect oval shape. That silver Shimano crank arm was made from soft magnesium.they call it the biopace I hated it. ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by SupermotoXL: Nov 13 2021, 06:38 PM |
Nov 13 2021, 08:41 PM
1,123 posts Joined: Sep 2013 |
QUOTE(olay biscuit barrel @ Nov 13 2021, 02:26 AM) You should factor in also that you're getting fitter/stronger. There's a hill I go to every weekend, 3km with 8% gradient. My first solo non-stop attempt was 25:56. My 5th try was 19:42. Same 34t chainring. I'm now contemplating of getting a 36t for my xc hardtail before I get a proper road bike. I tried both round 28T and oval 38T.... somehow i feel much better on the oval coz my legs are more relax...not sure if oval 30T give me more cadence on the climb with weird feeling like 'peaky' during cadence on pedal stroke .... |
Nov 13 2021, 09:56 PM
81 posts Joined: Jan 2015 |
QUOTE(doppatroll @ Nov 13 2021, 08:41 PM) I tried both round 28T and oval 38T.... somehow i feel much better on the oval coz my legs are more relax...not sure if oval 30T give me more cadence on the climb with weird feeling like 'peaky' during cadence on pedal stroke .... Yeah. I read somewhere that an oval chainring has the equivalent of a smaller round one when it comes to effort. Non-scientific observation of course but really helpful during climbs. |
Dec 3 2021, 06:30 PM
2,215 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh/Penang/PJ/Melaka |
Dec 5 2021, 07:21 PM
374 posts Joined: Jun 2018 |
QUOTE(Brotherjoe @ Dec 3 2021, 06:30 PM) I've seen a bunch of riders huck their bike around like this, seems to be safe . I assume it's in a grey area, besides only JPJ inspects things like these. Just make sure to have your number plate visible and not blocked. |
Dec 7 2021, 12:37 PM
277 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Brotherjoe @ Dec 3 2021, 06:30 PM) It's illegal according to JPJ guidelines as the bike cannot extend beyond the width of the car. Only roof rack is allowed. A lot of people use it but use at your own risk. Polis don't really care but they may kacau if number plate is not visible.Edit: For some weird reason, I didn't see that it was a pic of a pick up truck. lol. Anyways, don't remember if JPJ has a proper guideline for carrying in the bed of the pickup truck. Probably a grey area for now. This post has been edited by thurtin: Dec 7 2021, 12:43 PM |
Dec 9 2021, 09:37 AM
7,826 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Brotherjoe @ Dec 3 2021, 06:30 PM) Me and my friends with bikes on his Ford Ranger has passed JPJ roadblocks with bikes on the bed (number plate still clearly visible). So far no issues. As long as the bikes are properly tied down or you use a tailgate pad to ensure that the bikes are secured down. https://www.gearhacker.com/best-mountain-bi...ate-pad-review/ |
Dec 9 2021, 07:05 PM
2,507 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
After watching too many bike restoration and upgrade videos on Youtube, I have decided to upgrade my 27 years TREK 850.
Original specs: Frame: TREK Oversize Cro-Moly Fork: TREK Cro-Moly Headset: Tange-Seiki OV-850 Handlebar: Alloy Stem: Cro-Moly Shifters: Shimano Alivio RapidFire Plus Brake Levers: Shimano Alivio Grips: Trek Kraton Brake: Shimano Acera-X Crankset: Shimano Alivio Pedals: Wellgo LU945 Front Derailleur: Shimano Alivio Top Swing Rear Derailleur: Shimano STX GS Freewheel: Shimano IG50 Chain: Shimano IG30 Bottom Bracket: Shimano BB-LP25 Hubs: Shimano Acera-X Rims: Araya GP710 Tires: Trek Big Kahuna Tubes: Shchraeder valve Spokes: Stainless Saddle: Trek Hi-Density Foam Seat Post: SP242 Alloy Quick Release Seat Binder: Cro-Moly Quick Release New specs: Frame: TREK Oversize Cro-Moly Fork: TREK Cro-Moly Headset: Tange-Seiki Falcon FL270C Handlebar: UNO Alloy Handlebar Stem: UNO Alloy STEM Shifters: Shimano Shifter ST-EF500-7R4A Brake: Levers Shimano Shifter ST-EF500-7R4A Grips :ODI Elite Pro Handle Grip v2.1 Converter: Thread to Threadless Stem Converter Brake: Tektro V-Brake Cable and Housing: Jagwire Cable Housing Crankset: Shimano FC-TY301 Pedals: Promend Front Derailleur: Shimano Tourney FD-TY500-TS6 Rear Derailleur: Shimano Alivio M3100 Freewheel: Shimano MF-TZ31 Chain: KMC HVC Bottom Bracket: Shimano BB-UN101K Hubs:Some China Brand Hubs Rims: Foxster Tires :Chaoyang Tubes: Chaoyang Spokes: Stainless Rim Tape: Kenda Saddle Velmia MB Seat Seat Post: EVO Kalloy Seat Post Seat Binder: No Brand I regret most ditching the original wheelset too early. This post has been edited by Xefron: Dec 12 2021, 08:58 AM |
Dec 10 2021, 09:53 AM
1,791 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
QUOTE(Xefron @ Dec 9 2021, 07:05 PM) After watching too many bike restoration and upgrade videos on Youtube, I have decided to upgrade my 27 years TREK 850. why choose TY-301 crankset? how much you buy this ?Original specs: Frame TREK Oversize Cro-Moly Fork TREK Cro-Moly Headset Tange-Seiki OV-850 Handlebar Alloy Stem Cro-Moly Shifters Shimano Alivio RapidFire Plus Brake Levers Shimano Alivio Grips Trek Kraton Brake Shimano Acera-X Crankset Shimano Alivio Pedals Wellgo LU945 Front Derailleur Shimano Alivio Top Swing Rear Derailleur Shimano STX GS Freewheel Shimano IG50 Chain Shimano IG30 Bottom Bracket Shimano BB-LP25 Hubs Shimano Acera-X Rims Araya GP710 Tires Trek Big Kahuna Tubes Shchraeder valve Spokes Stainless Saddle Trek Hi-Density Foam Seat Post SP242 Alloy Quick Release Seat Binder Cro-Moly Quick Release New specs: Frame TREK Oversize Cro-Moly Fork TREK Cro-Moly Headset Tange-Seiki Falcon FL270C Handlebar UNO Alloy Handlebar Stem UNO Alloy STEM Shifters Shimano Shifter ST-EF500-7R4A Brake Levers Shimano Shifter ST-EF500-7R4A Grips ODI Elite Pro Handle Grip v2.1 Converter Threadless Converter Brake Tektro V-Brake Cable and Housing Jagwire Cable Housing Crankset Shimano FC-TY301 Pedals Promend Front Derailleur Shimano Tourney FD-TY500-TS6 Rear Derailleur Shimano Alivio M3100 Freewheel Shimano MF-TZ31 Chain KMC HVC Bottom Bracket Shimano BB-UN101K Rear Derailleur Hanger Front Derailleur Shim Hubs No Brand Rims Foxster Tires Chaoyang Tubes Chaoyang Spokes Stainless Rim Tape Kenda Saddle Velmia MB Seat Seat Post EVO Kalloy Seat Post Seat Binder No Brand I regret most ditching the original wheelset too early. |
| Change to: | 0.0368sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:02 AM |