14 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

TNB Allo Nationwide Open Fibre Expansion, CBJ,Malacca,Perak,Penang,Johor & Kedah

SUSCandy12
post Aug 9 2020, 08:18 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(jcws87 @ Aug 9 2020, 05:19 PM)
Candy12, you said that Unifi and Allo will not step into each other territory rite? But Tmn Hong Kong, Tmn Camy and Tmn Menglembu will soon getting Unifi too.
[attachmentid=10550571]
It was initially TNB's intention to expand their Allo Fibre coverage to housing gardens which were deprived from TM Unifi coverage for years up until 2020 without directly confronting TM head-on.

But as you can see, TM was caught with their "pants down" when they found out that TNB was actively expanding into their comfort zones. Only then they started waking up recently and did quick expansion and placed minimal numbers of FDPs around these areas as well as pulling new fibre cables into these housing gardens trying to deter TNB from entering there.

For all you know all these "EXCUSES" of port shortages and not enough demand for expansion are dirty corruption practices by TM.

They wanted to create fake demand telling people there's not enough of ports because of high demand in the area, those who wanted ports availability must either bribe their way to get those ports through agents by paying undertable fees, making excuses to minimize rollout commitments then telling the customers/developers that if they wanted it so desperately, they must jointly pay for the expansion to wire up their projects/homes.

Miraculously though when a competitor such as Allo came into the picture, they suddenly got shook and quickly pulled fibre cables into these areas without complains.

My advise to TNB Allo is since they initiate this challenge, go ahead and face their confrontations. They're at the losing end anyway. They try to beat you to getting these housing gardens to sign up and locked them down for the next 2 years, you can send out your brochures earlier too to make the people aware and educating them that your plans are much cheaper with symmetrical 100Mbps for only RM99 with a much more ADVANCE network then theirs.

Tell them about TM's unfair practices that requires 2 years lockdown contract with remaining months penalty for early termination. Tell them the cheap minimal installation works they provide compared to yours which covers wall sockets in your standard installations and the lousy equipment they're supplying now to their customers.

As you know the Chinese community in Ipoh will not easily commit to things. We know our stuff, the value we're getting for what we're paying for.
SUSCandy12
post Aug 9 2020, 08:28 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(jcws87 @ Aug 9 2020, 08:07 PM)
Xelnagakail, TM is not borrowing Allo line but creating their own. You staying at Tmn Wang rite? Maybe you go to Wan Hwa 1 school area (which the photo i take), you will notice the yellow color cable. If not, maybe Jasilu90 can help to take a photo of the cable near to his hse road junction.
[attachmentid=10550608]
Those hair thin cable
TNB Allo can come to my area too at Taman Sinfar, Medan Pasir Saujana and Mandarin Garden closed gated community here at Pasir Putih.

Homes here costs millions and the Medan Pasir Saujana Semi-D housing project here is a new greenfield project with no telco infra yet just located in between Menglembu and Pengkalan.

We're one of the first areas in Ipoh to get Unifi through the HSBB Phase 2 rollout.

Take my money, I don't want to have anything to do with TM. vmad.gif
SUSCandy12
post Aug 9 2020, 09:38 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(jcws87 @ Aug 9 2020, 09:29 PM)
Candy12, actually Allo have to do alot of promo in terms of letting people know who are they cos alot of ppl dont know their existence. True, Allo should be brace enough to head-on with TM but i once ask Allo cust service about providing my hse taman the service as it's cable have pass thru my taman and they reply "no demand, survey area before but to avail" excuses same like TM. I feel sad and angry to this answer as i have been staying home from more than 2 year without anyone coming or call for survey but this company can gv tis answer.😡
[attachmentid=10550619]
I'm skeptical about the demand thing, but if they continue not to be not agressive in confronting TM by overlapping existing coverage with them their project might not work out as intended.

Also just like yours, my housing garden also has these fibre cables running in front which aren't TM fibre cables but green striped ones own by Maxis on TNB poles. They're either using their poles to carry the fibre to designated areas instead of burying them underground or using them as backhaul fibre to wire up mobile base stations which is what Maxis is dong in my area.

Before TM beats Allo to it with signups better be quick throw in the pamphlets and use sales people to go around the area meeting up house owners to inform them who you are.

This post has been edited by Candy12: Aug 9 2020, 09:40 PM
SUSCandy12
post Aug 10 2020, 12:07 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(jcws87 @ Aug 10 2020, 09:43 AM)
Candy12, can i know where is your area maxis exchange station? And have you check before whether maxis have provide certain area fiber access to their network?

Though your recommend Allo to send out pamphlets quickly, in my opinion will not help much as you should know that a person will hardly believe it or the knowledge existence of the company. For example, if u tell ppl TNB have internet the first reaction "TNB got provide internet meh, they not only provide electricity kah" or "aiya, I trust TM only".
Maxis's fixed line exchange is located somewhere in Medan Ipoh, behind the Aeon Jusco there nearby the PLUS highway exit.

In Ipoh, Maxis serves a few exclusive housing gardens with their fixed lines such as Pakatan Jaya, Bercham similar to that of Sierramas.The fibre which runs on TNB lines are used for mobile backhaul, not for consumer last mile.If you take a drive straight in from Mun Choong@ off Jln. Pasir Putih, the ending stretch of Tiger Lane you'll see TNB poles also with fibre optics but these fibre cables are green stripes one by Maxis.

About the pamphlet distribution and awareness idea, IMHO do make a difference if you target it with the right portion of audiences like the younger and tech-inclined middle age groups. Just look at the signups and interests at some of the housing gardens such as Tmn. Arkid and Menglembu, the response was quite overwhelming right?
Moreover the unique views on this topic was just about 14k today it's close to 16k already almost 2k views over the weekend. People are actually aware of this lurking here reading.

SUSCandy12
post Aug 10 2020, 12:14 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(dave99021 @ Aug 10 2020, 12:05 PM)
I think People are willing to try if the prices seems attractive enough, Perhaps Rm50 for 50Mbps plan? tongue.gif
Way Cheaper then the RM69 That Streamyx are charging for 4Mbps
In Thailand, 100M/100M by AIS Work From Home promo only costs 399baht(RM53) per month.

They are also using the same fibre modem(ONT) as TNB Allo.

SUSCandy12
post Aug 10 2020, 12:54 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Xelnagakail @ Aug 10 2020, 12:50 PM)
Wow! It was very cheap, if Allo follow this pricing TM will be shitting themselves. How Thailand able to come up with such low price while Malaysia can't?
Fair competition with many competing ISPs using their own fibre network.
In Thailand major cities, if you live in landed the poles in front of your house can have more than 5 different telcos delivering their service on their own separate independent fibre lines.

Got AIS, TOT, True, 3BB and CAT.

In Malaysia TNB want to pull another 2nd line into TM area already making so much noise.
SUSCandy12
post Aug 10 2020, 12:58 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(dave99021 @ Aug 10 2020, 12:53 PM)
I think you have to consider the Cost of Living in Thailand Rather than just straight convert to RM.

But yes why other Fiber provider are able to price their internet connection low when TM are not able to do that.
I think you know the Answer to that. dry.gif
Bangkok costs of living already surpassed KL now with Chaing Mai also catching up.

Their MNCs over there are paying more than Malaysian MNCs now.
SUSCandy12
post Aug 10 2020, 01:11 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(dave99021 @ Aug 10 2020, 01:07 PM)
Perhaps that's why their HSBB are much cheaper compared to Malaysia, The high cost of living cause people to be much more price conscious
on Services that they subscribe to.

I'm not sure "Fiber as a Utility" concept as a whole are known in Malaysia. Saw these Interesting Video from Snazzy Labs
where they peak into a Active Optical Network as supposed to Passive Optical Network that we are using. IMHO Fiber infra should be handle by 3rd/Goverment
that don't have interest in monopolize the area as a whole but make it accessible like water/electric.

Could be Cheaper in the long run eh?

Active optical network not really cost effective today's world. The number of strands needed to pull from the nearest switch will incur much more investments which isn't really worth it other than doing backhauls and corporate leased lines.

Also passive optical networks can deliver in excess of 10Gbps upto 40Gbps bonding upto 4 lambdas today.
Home fibre subscriptions won't need that kind of speed for years to come.
SUSCandy12
post Aug 11 2020, 02:34 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(jcws87 @ Aug 10 2020, 01:06 PM)
Candy12, thanks for the info on Maxis exchange. This is only my point of view, maxis should partner and let allo used the available fibre cable to expand to those area, making it a two way win-win situation like what maxis have sign mou with celcom and digi (https://www.lowyat.net/2020/206573/celcom-digi-maxis-fiber-infra-collaboration/). It will surely lower the cost of laying additional fibre cable and time.
The Maxis staff got told me before he says not enough spare fibre strands to do fixed broadband services. They're more into preparing 5G deployment in future with fibre backhaul. If need to deploy fixed line fibre services need a new cable with extra dark strands to deploy FTTH.

Current fibre is on active optical network node for mobile backhaul. Port to port 1:1 based back at the exchange.
SUSCandy12
post Aug 11 2020, 02:36 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Alpha_Tay @ Aug 11 2020, 12:09 PM)
this result isnt fully accurate, due to testing using smartphone, smartphone has power saving features that would higher the ping result.

i just test it myself with unifi fibre, using power plug desktop wired lan, lowest 11ms, using windows 10 x64 intel battery powered laptop 5ghz wifi, lowest 13ms, using smartphone 5ghz wifi, lowest 21ms.

if turn on smartphone high performance mode at battery setting, the lowest ping time would be 15ms, turn on power saving mode or turn off power saving mode which also mean normal mode, has almost same ping time, but turn on power saving mode disable background process, would improve ping time a little bit.
Try this:

http://www.gcping.com/

You can test CDN and DNS latency around the region and globally using this:

https://cloudharmony.com/network-3m-from-ripe
SUSCandy12
post Aug 11 2020, 02:59 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Jasilu90 @ Aug 11 2020, 02:55 PM)
so far so good😂
nothings need to complaint 😂

My neighour had install modem & router with 500mbps plan,download speed can go to 300mbps (maybe equipment cant support higher speed)

router is same with me , aslo is Tp Link acrher C6 😂
Try this one from CBB's own in house test site:

https://www.citybroadband.my/support/speed-test/
SUSCandy12
post Aug 12 2020, 03:21 PM

1,878 posts

Today like the entire TM Pasir Putih exchange broke down.

My Maxis line only getting 2Mbps speed and the pings shoot up to more than 5X.
Dunno who itchy hands go and messed up the TM HSBB infra and cause everyone in the area to be affected including other ISPs on TM HSBB network. vmad.gif

My line latency now:

Last week's latency:

Really sucks man to use TM HSBB line.

Speed test also show getting like 2-3Mbps only now but upload seems fine for 30Mbps line.

My office at Jalan Pasir Putih Streamyx line also down since late morning today.Using Maxis 4G LTE as backup now full speed no latency drop issue, so this has nothing to do with Maxis core network.

This post has been edited by Candy12: Aug 12 2020, 04:39 PM
SUSCandy12
post Aug 12 2020, 04:40 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Aug 12 2020, 11:35 AM)
So, if my apartment is not yet connected BUT the surrounding 360° landed properties already Unifi-capable, chances of me even getting Allo-based ISP is zero?
Apartment you're better off asking your JMB to write a letter to Time to invite them to your building.
SUSCandy12
post Aug 12 2020, 04:45 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Jasilu90 @ Aug 11 2020, 04:21 PM)
My working area maxis fibre internet speeds😂
The latency on Maxis used to be even better than that only 5ms to Subang Jaya from Ipoh.
Starting last weekend suddenly the whole thing went bad.

TM's dunno hand itchy go and touch something in their HSBB network now today the entire network like crippled.
Now I'm only getting like 1-2mbps on my wifi, the pings oh dear ~25ms with jitters that can spike over 225ms.

Regretted mentioning my area in this forum. You know really got nasty people lurking around that will mess with your area's connection.
SUSCandy12
post Aug 12 2020, 05:16 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Xelnagakail @ Aug 12 2020, 05:12 PM)
Seriously? Is it got nasty people lurking around your area after you mention your taman? TM staff maybe? Is it possible to report for police for this small matter?
I don't think it's due to wire cut or anything, more to do with the configuration messed up at their exchange switches/routers.

The fibre line is still up, just that connection now is like very slow 1-2Mbps only and the latency spiked up to several times than usual.

EDIT: Just turned on my ONT/router back again, speed returned to normal but ping still exceptionally high at ~15ms. Maybe Merdeka coming, Maxis network always like that approaching festive holidays their Hotlink will sell cheap on demand MU passes so the traffic will spike.

This post has been edited by Candy12: Aug 12 2020, 05:48 PM
SUSCandy12
post Aug 15 2020, 01:03 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Mr_47 @ Aug 14 2020, 05:23 PM)
park alllo maxis
Not surprising to read such statement.

TNB Allo will have a long battle ahead against a nasty rival out there. Be careful of fierce rivalry confrontation and sabotaging of infra in years to come. It is already well known among the public to expect the inevitable.
SUSCandy12
post Aug 15 2020, 09:33 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(izhamsatria @ Aug 15 2020, 06:49 PM)

Based on this image, 6-7ms
Thanks for the pictures.
The average latency from Ipoh to KL/PJ/Subang test servers is about 5-9ms on a good day.
To Singapore it's about 14-20ms

My area code is under ibusawat PPP(Pasir Putih/Pengkalan).

These 2 areas now in Pasir Putih, some even just metres away from Ibusawat TM Pasir Putih (PPP) until now August 2020 still no signs of Unifi or any other fibre broadband internet company.

About the coverage map of TM assets not really up to date till latest day.
Suddenly just last week a new FDC appeared. Just this month alone TM suddenly jump up from the bed and expedited their expansion after hearing TNB Allo is expanding in Ipoh suburbs. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Candy12: Aug 15 2020, 11:00 PM
SUSCandy12
post Aug 15 2020, 10:40 PM

1,878 posts

jcws87,

About TNB Allo expansion coverage, do you know Rose Garden(Taman Melor) where the famous Tenaga Kilat Club is located next to the airport?

That area also totally no Unifi coverage until now.

There's a big recreation park owned by TNB and behind there all the "flower"named gardens single storey homes no Unifi until today. Allo got consider expanding there?

The multi million bangalows opposite the park got many VIPs live there. One of them is Foh San Restaurant big boss.

Jalan Queen, Jalan Bunga Anggerik, Jalan Evergreen, Jalan Bunga Raya main road heading towards Jln. Theatre.
All until now ZERO Unifi coverage. Those multi million bangalow homes facing the main road all got large families living in them.
SUSCandy12
post Aug 17 2020, 01:14 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(simonloh7482 @ Aug 16 2020, 08:59 PM)
Hi everyone. Let me share my experience here. Since 2010, TM has started their Unifi FTTH service across Malaysia and sadly, my taman has been neglected ever since. It is only until 2018 they support Streamyx with 8Mbps(previously only 4Mbps) in my neighbourhood. After all these years without any HSBB coverage, City Broadband has came in and covered my neighbourhood. Thank you, Allo.
From the posts I saw here, TM has finally panicked and actively expanding their coverage but I afraid it is too late. Personally, I will say I would never go back to TM again.
TM, it is time u realize ur monopoly business is over and you should accept the reality that customers are leaving one by one because other ISP offers faster and cheaper fibre broadband plans than you do. You would, and definitely will be defeated by Time Fibre and City Broadband soon. Goodbye, TM.
Btw, here are some pics of Allo technician installing their service in my house.
From the speedtest, I notice that their ping are slightly higher than other fibre service providers but I guess they are still tweaking and finalizing their network since Allo has just expanded to Ipoh area for less than 3 months only. Time will tell.
Merdeka promo only RM89/mth for 100M/100M.

Shame on TM and the other big 3 telcos in Malaysia for still charging RM129 for 100M/50M today considering they monopolize most of Malaysian FTTH marketshare and still cannot beat a smaller telco.

Worst they can't even provide proper standard installation and now resort to provide cheap CPE equipment to their customers while imposing REMAINING MONTHS early termination penalty on Malaysians.

SUSCandy12
post Aug 17 2020, 01:52 PM

1,878 posts

How to determine the best 3rd party public DNS server to use for your internet connection?

Use the one which has the LOWEST latency result.

Depending on different OS platforms these are the recommended tools for you:

Android: DNS SPEED TEST
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...edtest&hl=en_US

Windows: DNSJumper
https://www.sordum.org/7952/dns-jumper-v2-2/
-You don't need to install the app, just unzip it to a folder(with your desired name) and run the .exe file.
-Click on Fastest DNS button on the left.
-SELECT only Google Public DNS, OPENDNS, Quad9, Cloudflare, Verisign Public DNS, Comodo Secure, Hurricane Electric & Freenom World.
-Then Click Start DNS Test

Any TNB Allo user can do a test on their network and screenshot it? Curious to know what is the BEST public DNS server for Allo. From my dig-up past Allo subscribers in Cyberjaya reported that the network does not have their own DNS servers and they configure Google DNS in their routers by DEFAULT. Can anyone confirm this?

Use this website: https://dnsleaktest.com/ to check which public DNS you're currently on.

This post has been edited by Candy12: Aug 17 2020, 02:10 PM

14 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:25 AM