14 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

TNB Allo Nationwide Open Fibre Expansion, CBJ,Malacca,Perak,Penang,Johor & Kedah

SUSCandy12
post Aug 17 2020, 02:02 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(dave99021 @ Aug 17 2020, 01:38 PM)
Doubt that will stop the Raging Customer from leaving.
Although i don't understand the remaining months penalty, does that apply for the first 2 year? or means i have to be very specific on what day i terminate or they will charge me early termination fees?

Depending how fast Allo gets to my area, i might have to sign up for Unifi first as there's no other option available.
Once Allo arrived i will ditch TM for good.
If you have no choice but to sign up with TM HSBB network, always keep a hardcopy of your registration confirmation and installation date letter SAFELY for self protection to avoid FUTURE disputes.

2 Years by DEFAULT from account creation/service commencement.
I'm paying RM99/mth now for a 30M/30M plan which is already way outdated with regional pricing.

My Maxis Home Fibre on TM HSBB network contract will in a few months time.

I won't even THINK TWICE to switch to an alternative fibre FTTH provider when the contract ends should they continue to keep such incompetent wholesale port pricing structure hindering all partner ISPs on TM HSBB from adjusting their current pricing structure for their home consumer broadband plans.

Shame on TM Wholesale for squeezing Malaysians with overpriced plans all these years when a smaller and lesser known ISP newcomer can take the lead first before them.

Thailand as we know are already selling 100M/100M plans for less than RM55/mth. Gigabit plans(with slower upload speeds) are already common for mid tier home user plans.

Despite Merdeka Day approaching,non of the ISPs on TM HSBB network is coming out with any price reduction promotion.

This post has been edited by Candy12: Aug 17 2020, 02:06 PM
SUSCandy12
post Aug 17 2020, 03:04 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(dave99021 @ Aug 17 2020, 02:51 PM)
Noted with Thanks notworthy.gif

It think i saw in TM Unifi Thread where the Contractor discourages Customer from switching to 300/500 Mbps Plan, Said that you won't see differences dry.gif
Probably as their way to not overloade their GPON network.

That also begs the question, Is Allo fiber network based on it's newer 10GPON Specification? As seeing them providing 1Gbps without any hesitation at all.
If there's 3-5 family subscribing for 1Gbps plan, won't it pretty much take up all the capacity that the FDP is providing? if i'm not mistaken each FDP have roughly
2Gbps of capacity?
Each port at the OLT is capable of 2.4Gbps download/1.2Gbps upload theoretically by standard to be shared upto 32 ONTs using passive splitters in a PON network.

It is not using 10GPON(XG-PON) standard because it is it, you will need to use a XG-PON fibre modem(ONT) in your setup which will costs significantly more and the latency will be much improved.

The decision to subscribe 500M/1Gbps plans is really up to the subscriber needs. Usually the 100M/100M is more than enough for most small families. There are some special cases who can effectively utilize such speeds such as running servers, then it's worth subscribing. But if you're just a regular user who surfs, streams and download mostly 100M will saturate your international connections to US and Europe even to the Far East Asian countries such as TW, SK or Japan.
SUSCandy12
post Aug 17 2020, 09:11 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(dave99021 @ Aug 17 2020, 03:26 PM)
Then that begs the question, If TM are capable of delivering those speed per OLT port, Why are they not offering 500/1Gbps plan and cut the price of 100Mbps to Counter Allo? hmm.gif
For most users 100Mbps will be enough and would go for whatever ISP offering that speed for cheaper.

But for Users like me/Tech Savvy People who download/uploads lots, 500M for 139 Is very Attractive. I don't need to store games as could just download again.
Save me the headache of making backups + money for storage as well. whistling.gif
Symmetrical 100Mbps is no sweat and pose any slowdown risk if deployed according to ITU industry standards.
Just look how fast the speed upgrades came to Thailand, Vietnam and Singapore. When they first launch their fibre internet plans, most of them already started with 50-100Mbps plans at launch. In just less than 5 years, they already offering 1Gbps speeds as mainstream plans.

The GPON technology was supposed to operate naturally at 2.4Gbps per port shared by 32 users. When you artificially force throttling to the ONT to go with speeds as low as 10-30Mbps is just like taking a sports car with a burning engine to travel through narrow kampung road with jams. What happens with the intentional added throttling that you self created? Your engine might have a shorter lifespan, more maintenance is needed and breakdowns more.

The mentality that TM always had is GREED. When countries like Thailand, Vietnam and Singapore launched their earlier DSL/ADSL2+ plans, they do not miserably cap their plans damn low like 256kbps, 384kbps, 512kbps, 1Mbps at launch. Later when ADSL2 was introduced, they cap it at speeds like 1,2,4 and 8Mbps when the technology enables speeds of upto 24Mbps.

Profit oriented and too pleasing to their shareholders trying hard to please their investors more than what their customers really want. Board of CEOs and directors want fat fat salary draws not having a single sight at its real bosses which are the subscribers feelings.

Backing up in the cloud can sometimes be less safe if not for the convenience. You might risk having your content taken down and removed if it involves copyright laws and certainly not for sensitive business documents which risked being hacked, and stolen.

Other than that it's very convenient for direct streaming and nowadays console games can come in hundreds of gigabytes in sizes.

TM is too comfortable enjoying its monopoly rights to Malaysian fixed line market.Other regional countries such as Singapore, Thailand, Philippines and Vietnam never sits around every year without making any initiative to lower subscription costs, encourage fibre broadband growth and adding value to their customer's experience.

This post has been edited by Candy12: Aug 17 2020, 09:12 PM
SUSCandy12
post Aug 18 2020, 05:19 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(HariszKilz @ Aug 18 2020, 05:06 PM)
You reported to MCMC before ? cause whenever I asked TM regarding to my area, they always said depends on infra, demand and how fast they can pulled the Fibre. The thing is, it's already in their system. Why would they even bother seeking demand ? Plus, the agents said that fastest I could get is by the end of this year but judging on how TM is working in my area, I don't think it will reach my area by the end of this year. Progress in not consistent and sometimes the contractors are there and then gone for like weeks before showing up again. Meh. I don't think TM is even serious here because there's no competitors.
As many have noticed, when Allo deployment starts to appear at a specific area which tends to make TM wet their pants, you don't need DEMAND to convince them to expand in your area.

Immediately they'll expedite their expansion without even needing to be told.

What does this means? That all those excuses they made up earlier about needing people to provide them for them to decide whether to expand in your area are just plain excuses to piss on the public?
SUSCandy12
post Aug 18 2020, 05:32 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(HariszKilz @ Aug 18 2020, 05:27 PM)
Yup. It just as you said. if Allo is here, I think that TM will come out of nowhere and start pulling Fibre in my area without anyone asking but since this is a 'traditional' TM hot spot, I doubt that will happen anytime soon. The demand part is very funny, they already did that 2 years ago and the demand was high but they didn't even do anything afterwards and yet asking for demands. Omg. Tbh, I don't mind waiting for 100Mbps connection and above if my Internet is 30Mbps like that but the maximum speed they can provide is only 10Mbps and no plan to increase it even though it's supported.  vmad.gif
Allo should continue the expansion and stick to original plan. TM wants to come in also no use, people will not use their service or trust them anymore.

Moreover their plans are more expensive than Allo. Let them have their FDP and FDC in your area put up for display purpose only.

This post has been edited by Candy12: Aug 18 2020, 05:40 PM
SUSCandy12
post Aug 18 2020, 05:45 PM

1,878 posts

Just want to confirm with the Allo installers here.

1)Does Allo network use VLAN tagging?

2)Does Allo operate their own DNS servers or they only use 3rd party public DNS from Google as reported by previous Cyberjaya users.

SUSCandy12
post Aug 19 2020, 03:40 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(simonloh7482 @ Aug 16 2020, 08:59 PM)

TNB Allo utility pole

QUOTE(HariszKilz @ Aug 18 2020, 11:40 PM)

TM telephone pole

Just by at the utility poles, TM telephone poles are probably few decades old.They're rusted and decaying which they can't even afford to replace?

SUSCandy12
post Aug 19 2020, 03:42 PM

1,878 posts

Anyone can confirm City Broadband's default DNS servers and do they use VLAN IDs to separate different ISPs on their network?
SUSCandy12
post Aug 20 2020, 01:23 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(simonloh7482 @ Aug 20 2020, 09:11 AM)
1. [attachmentid=10555950]

2. Can confirm. Allo's Default DNS configuration is Google DNS.
Thanks for the help with screenshot replies.

thumbsup.gif

SUSCandy12
post Aug 20 2020, 01:27 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Jasilu90 @ Aug 20 2020, 12:03 PM)
Not sure what actual time started 😂, just found that no internet connection when I switch on my router this morning 😂

50mbps plan, Speedtest can up to 55mbps 😂, why not apply 100mbps?
I remember he said about his father not allowing him to install fixed line at home. If he's family is small, 50Mbps symmetrical is more than enough for daily browsing and downloading. The RM20 difference could be saved to pay for prepaid mobile or to maintain a mobile contact number instead.

I'm still surviving with only a 30Mbps line only.
SUSCandy12
post Aug 20 2020, 01:29 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Jasilu90 @ Aug 20 2020, 10:42 AM)
Allo replied by email😛
TNB infra is quite advanced. They have SCADA system to detect outages and blackouts with their electrical grid.
SUSCandy12
post Aug 20 2020, 10:53 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Jasilu90 @ Aug 20 2020, 06:47 PM)
still cannot online now😕
Turn off both modem and router if they still fail to connect then turn them back on every 2-4 hours interval to see if the line is restored.

Don't leave it on, you need to power cycle the modem and router once the line is repaired for it to reconnect properly.
SUSCandy12
post Aug 21 2020, 08:23 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(simonloh7482 @ Aug 20 2020, 11:15 PM)
good news and bad news.
good news is connection has been restored.
bad news is DL speed is very slow btwn 10-20mbps whereas the UL speed is around 90+mbps
(is it my problem or everyone is having the same problem? my plan is 100Mbps btw)
Have you tried powering down both your modem and router, wait for like 10mins then turn them ON again?

It should solve the problem. Sometimes they commit changes at the OLT, you need to restart your modem/router connection to reconnect back again to get your speed normal again.
SUSCandy12
post Aug 21 2020, 08:31 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Jasilu90 @ Aug 21 2020, 11:44 AM)
Yesterday I doing the speedtest when my internet connection recover and I found the ping had decreased

Not sure is temporary or not?
Try changing your default DNS like Cloudflare, IBM Quad9 or Freenom World. Some of them can improve latency to certain overseas/regional sites.

Have you tried the DNS Speed Test app shown few pages back?

Android: DNS SPEED TEST
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...edtest&hl=en_US

This post has been edited by Candy12: Aug 21 2020, 08:32 PM
SUSCandy12
post Aug 24 2020, 03:21 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Xelnagakail @ Aug 24 2020, 02:06 PM)
I think Candy12 know about this, he's currently is using Maxis Fiber if I remember correctly.
I've used more than 1TB before with no slowdowns noticed, 300GB only applies to wireless broadband plans and the backup SIM, torrents run at full speed all day long.
SUSCandy12
post Aug 25 2020, 11:48 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(jcws87 @ Aug 25 2020, 09:56 PM)
dave99021 i'm not sure the capacity of the FDC as i saw Allo provide 2 type of FDC size in Ipoh for example C04 is standard size seen at most places while C05 @ Tmn Wang is much bigger.
[attachmentid=10563540]

And for the flow chart, this was taken from T×
[attachmentid=10563535]

From the size of the 1 door cabinet it's a 288 ports capacity cabinet. 576 ports cabinet usually have double sided doors or fatter in size. 144 ports one on the other hand are slimmer/smaller in size.

http://www.fiberoptic-cord.com/sale-119799...ic-cabinet.html

SUSCandy12
post Aug 25 2020, 11:55 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(dave99021 @ Aug 25 2020, 07:05 PM)
Wonder if anyone knows the Capacity of each FDC can provide?
Saw a new FDC being build just behind my house. Not sure will it be the FDC i will be connecting to as the location is a little bit odd.
Generally It's Users -> FDP -> FDC -> Exchange is that correct?
A 288 capacity ports cabinet means it can support upto a 72 strand fiber from the exchange office with each strand applied on a 1:4 splitter at the cabinet.

72 fibre strands x 4 = 288 ports

Each port will then go to a FDP with a 2nd level 1:8 splitter again.

1 x 4 x 8 = 32 ports

In total each port at the OLT will serve upto 32 ONTs.

What is an OLT at the exchange office/datacentre?

SUSCandy12
post Aug 26 2020, 01:30 AM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(jcws87 @ Aug 26 2020, 01:16 AM)
Still confuse abit Candy12. Cos u said a standard 1 door cabinet (FDC) has 288 ports capacity, rite? I'm taking a case scenario from Tmn Kledang Sentosa FDC (MLBUA C09). A agent have previous told me there is 402 homepass in this taman. Can a standard FDC enough?
[attachmentid=10563900]
288 ports x 8 = 2304 homes passes max

These ports are from the first level 1:4 splitter, not arrived at the FDP(black box) which has another 1:8 splitter inside.
SUSCandy12
post Aug 26 2020, 12:43 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(dave99021 @ Aug 26 2020, 12:30 PM)
Another question is that if the ISP wish to provide more bandwidth to each users, they would just need to swap out the Equipment (OLT?) in the Exchange station
and would not need to change out the cabling like existing ADSL/VDSL did?
Starting from the Huawei MA5800 OLT Series, they claim that the model will support technologies upto 10 years from now with the ability to upgrade to newer technologies such as XG-PON, XGS-PON and NGPON2 by just swapping compatible SFP+ optical tranceivers for their ports.

They call this the FLEX PON technology.

Huawei GPON-Understanding Flex-PON

EA5800 X17 XG PON Board Installation

SUSCandy12
post Aug 27 2020, 03:00 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(DValentine @ Aug 27 2020, 10:44 AM)
24 MONTHS contract  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Maxis Hotlink 24 months early termination penalty is only RM500 one-off payment unlike TM Unifi which will incur a repayment all remaining months regardless if you cut off the line.

Doesn't make sense. If I'm going to cut off the line and return it why should I be paying the remaining months of my subscriptions when the terminated line TM will be reassigning it to my other neighbors again?

That means they make double profit while I pay for my remaining months but don't get to use it?
There's a legality issue in this that could be brought up in court and to MCMC.

14 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0237sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:25 AM