14 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

TNB Allo Nationwide Open Fibre Expansion, CBJ,Malacca,Perak,Penang,Johor & Kedah

SUSCandy12
post Sep 16 2020, 07:43 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Xelnagakail @ Sep 16 2020, 07:34 PM)
Isn't already too late, because most of the people in TMN Arkid now has already switch to TNB Allo. I think it is pointless to installed new fiber in that area or TX wanted to risk hoping that still got customer subscribe to their plan or change to their plan.
Unless the residents there are stupid enough like me who wants to pay RM99 per month just to get 30Mbps internet when existing ISP is already selling RM89 for symmetrical 100M/100M plan. laugh.gif

I've no choice nvm and still tied to contract for another 1 year, but those who have choice like them?

This post has been edited by Candy12: Sep 16 2020, 07:43 PM
SUSCandy12
post Sep 18 2020, 10:41 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Xelnagakail @ Sep 18 2020, 10:36 PM)
Too late, many resident here already switch to TNB Allo. I guess TX and Allo are now able to overlap.
Allo RM129/month can already get 500Mbps symmetrical plan. laugh.gif

RM129 a month can get what from TM? Only a miserable 100M/50M plan. 5 times slower download and 10X slower upload.

No brainer.
SUSCandy12
post Sep 25 2020, 03:20 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(lowck @ Sep 25 2020, 01:45 PM)
ALLO rm89 got 100mbps who want subscribe UNIFI  rclxub.gif rm129 only 100dl 50up so sucks
For same price as RM129, Allo's equivalent plan is the symmetrical 500M plan.

TM and Maxis only gives 100M/50M for the same price.
SUSCandy12
post Sep 25 2020, 03:28 PM

1,878 posts

PLDT Assures Measures in Place to Reduce Impact of Undersea Cable Upkeep
https://subtelforum.com/pldt-to-reduce-impa...a-cable-upkeep/

September 23, 2020

MANILA, Philippines — Telecommunications company PLDT Inc. has assured customers that it has put in place measures to minimize the effects of its scheduled emergency maintenance activities on an undersea cable.

PLDT said in a post on its social media accounts on Wednesday that maintenance activities on the Asian American Gateway (AAG) — which includes one of PLDT’s international cable systems — would take place from 8:00 a.m., September 25 (Friday), to 5:00 a.m., September 30 (Wednesday).

The AAG is a 20,000-kilometer submarine cable system linking countries in Southeast Asia to Hong Kong, then Guam, to Hawaii, and eventually the United States’ East Coast. It was the first submarine cable system to directly connect the US to Southeast Asia.

“Emergency maintenance activities will be conducted on the Asian American Gateway (AAG), one of PLDT’s international cable systems, from Friday, 25 September 2020 8:00 a.m. to Wednesday, 30 September 2020 5:00 a.m. (Philippine Standard Time),” PLDT said.

The cable, which was laid out under the sea in November 2009, undergoes regular maintenance to ensure that data connection is up to normal and acceptable speeds. Its maximum capacity is pegged at 1.92 terabits per second.

Allo Technology relies on NTT Asia for more than 75% of its international capacity which uses AAG to reach its HQ in HK to reach other parts of the world such as US and Japan. icon_idea.gif

Traffic slowdown and high latency is expected until end of September.
SUSCandy12
post Sep 25 2020, 04:01 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(lowck @ Sep 25 2020, 03:57 PM)
and TM only provide 1fdp per lorong only so sad like this
If you saw how TNB Allo pole installations are setup, you'll know that what TM did all the while was wrong.

Every 2 homes has a pole with a FDP box behind the back alley. On average each alley(lorong) behind a row of houses will have roughly 4-5 FDP boxes..
SUSCandy12
post Sep 25 2020, 05:09 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(lowck @ Sep 25 2020, 04:25 PM)
SUNGAI PETANI many taman until now only got streamyx only
Sungai Petani had a OPEN Fibre network which was among the earliest in the country but FAILED miserably there. That was the reason why TM skipped many tamans in Sungai Petani. It ran fibres also on TNB utility poles

The company was called Fiber@Home which used Active P2P fibre connection instead of Passive GPON back then.
Its HQ was based at Bandar Laguna Merbok and they even had registration counters set up at mamak restaurants to do bill payments and registrations. doh.gif

https://www.bloomberg.com/profile/company/0697716D:MK
Fibre@Home
No 36 & 36A, Jalan BLM 1/4 Bus Pk, Bandar Laguna Merbok Sungai Petani, 0800 Malaysia
https://www.fiberathome.my/index.php

One of the ISP they wanted to set up was called Halal Internet besides Celcom Axiata, Maxis, Jaring and Astro just like Allo today.

Don't know what happened to that company in Sungai Petani already today. It failed miserably due to lack of take up and the company just went down the drain maybe sold off.

All happened during BN era. They even wanted to expand to all the other Muslim states in Malaysia such as Terengganu, Kelantan etc. but didn't had Perak in the picture until PH government stepped in with Gobind and his team finally taking notice of Penang and Perak.
SUSCandy12
post Sep 25 2020, 05:21 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(dark_axl21 @ Sep 25 2020, 05:11 PM)
I LOLed hard at the halal Internet part.
That was the humble beginnings of TNB entry into the fibre network business years back.
The company was called Fiber at Home City Networks Sdn. Bhd.

Bandar Laguna Merbok, Sungai Petani was selected as its pilot test site for the company. It used Active P2P fibre technology which was very costly to implement back in the earlier days.

Each home needs to run a direct fibre strand right up to the ISP's exchange office/cabinet, meaning if there's 100 homes to cover each home will need a dedicated 100 strand of fibre all the way to the exchange with each ISP having their own equipment in there so neither of them needed to share the same infra using Layer 3 via VLAN packet switching.

Despite all the promising technology it had, the project failed as this kind of setup only works best with short loops maybe to the internet riser/datacentre inside an office/apartment complex such as i-City in Shah Alam.To implement it for landed homes is a hell to even imagine.
SUSCandy12
post Sep 25 2020, 05:47 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(dave99021 @ Sep 25 2020, 05:17 PM)
I literally LOL at that, Unless they do Deep Packet Inspection or have similar mechanism like China Great Firewall . Otherwise Most will just change DNS or VPN the traffic to bypass I guess tongue.gif

Active P2P Fiber is similar to EPON? Theoretically better but very hard to scale and expensive to maintain it as well.
Probably that's why they failed I guess.
https://www.malaysianwireless.com/2015/10/f...oadband-omesti/

Among the major developments currently in progress is the Setia EcoGlades community in Cyberjaya where Fiber@Home is installing Gigabit Fibre infrastructure with speeds of up to 1,000 Mbps throughout the neighbourhood.

The open access network is already live at seven sites around the country at limited locations in Kuala Lumpur/Selangor, Penang, Kedah and Johor Bahru, providing access for 5,000 homes.

Fiber@Home City Networks Sdn Bhd is a member of the OMESTI Group. The OMESTI Group posted a net loss of RM7.03 million for the first quarter ended June 30, 2015, versus a net profit of RM1.09 million. Revenue came down by 21.08% to RM74.21 million from RM94.04 million. It is involved in three business segments namely business performance services, trading and distribution services, digital and infrastructure services.

OMESTI has a 52.63% stake in Fiber@Home as of July 2015. The Group also owns Ohana Communication Sdn Bhd, a “business fibre broadband” service provider.
IEEE's EPON is a competing passive optical network technology to ITU's GPON. Active Ethernet is more similar to LAN using point to point

This is how a 48-ports Active Ethernet switch. If say got 2000 homes to serve in each housing area/taman, how many of this you'll need when each home needs a dedicated pair of fibre all the way to the exchange office?

SUSCandy12
post Sep 25 2020, 06:27 PM

1,878 posts

FIBER@HOME Sungai Petani, A Vision Realised Back in 2012
https://malaysiafiber.blogspot.com/2012/11/...n-realised.html

They are using TNB electricity poles to carry the their fibre to homes.

What happened to this company in Sungai Petani, Kedah?

Are they going to sell all their infra to TNB and overhaul it for GPON os they'll be continuing with Active Ethernet?

SUSCandy12
post Sep 25 2020, 07:03 PM

1,878 posts

Ipoh and Perak sure made it far from where it was back in 2012 during the past BN rule.
We came from no where and our city was not even in the expansion maps until PH took over.

As you can see here back during then(2012), Ipoh was not even on the Malaysian fibre expansion map.

Today here is what Ipoh has achieved:

Malaysian Cities Internet Speed Ranking
https://testmy.net/rank/country/my.down/100

rclxms.gif

It showed how racists, biased and prejudiced the previous government before PH was.

SUSCandy12
post Sep 25 2020, 09:10 PM

1,878 posts

Also I noticed at the speedtest site got one unknown ISP now testing its line in Ipoh with speeds above 300Mbps to Singapore server.

Anyone heard of the company called VC Telecom before? hmm.gif

https://testmy.net/city/ipoh_my

https://testmy.net/hoststats/allo_technology_sdn_

I know they are not related and Allo Technology test results doesn't contribute to Ipoh, it's regarded as based in Cyberjaya. So if you're using Allo and perform speed tests there, you're only helping Cyberjaya to push their speeds ranking.
SUSCandy12
post Sep 27 2020, 04:33 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(jcws87 @ Sep 26 2020, 11:29 PM)
Yup, I agree with @Candy12. I more prefer to Allo setup of FDP. Today I have witness with my own eye on how U××f× do they own setup. F××king angry😡. Like what @lowck said, 2 row of houses share 1 FDP, that's 28 unit back-to-back sharing 1 FDP.
[attachmentid=10599584]
Pity the house at the far edge of the row of homes who wants to install U××f×. They only provide 20m of drop fibre(black colored) cable from the FDP into the home until the ONT(fibre modem). bangwall.gif

More you have to pay for the extra length. icon_idea.gif

Got few shop lots in Ipoh city area recently also complained about this after switching to U××f× from having to pay hundreds for their Streamyx lines. The silly Tx installer go install the FDP at the edge of a row of shophouses specifically the corner lot wall and the other end wants to install U××f× have to pay extra to pull from one end to another ended up paying more for extra length.

You see these TM sub contractors are not properly trained and professional at all. Seems like their allocations and budget is very restricted. mega_shok.gif
SUSCandy12
post Sep 28 2020, 08:07 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(jcws87 @ Sep 28 2020, 12:43 PM)
If u go thru all the CBB agent fb page, u will notice some comment. For example, like tis :-
[attachmentid=10600364]
There are 3 sections for an open fibre network provider:

Passive infrastructure: All unlitted fibre cables, roadside cabinets, utility poles, FDPs, drop fibre and FWS(wall socket at the customer's end)

Active section: The OLT switch, backhaul switches, edge routers, exchange office/datacentres and lastly the provisioning of the fibre modem(ONT) at the customers premise.
This is where the section which lights up the passive fibres and gives life to them(turns them on).

RSP/Retail ISPs: Subscriber access accounts, billing and different traffic routing gateways/datacentres routed via wholesale active ISP.

TNB Allo having trouble keeping up with demands for OLT ports? OLT installation not ready yet? PAssive section of the network buildout proceeded ahead of schedule?
SUSCandy12
post Sep 30 2020, 08:10 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(jcws87 @ Sep 30 2020, 12:48 AM)
Actually I'm not too sure what the real cause of the delay. If u say the problem was with OLT, I dont think so (in my own opinion) cos I dont see anythg happening at the exchange.
Not problem with OLT, new allocated ports for the newer areas not online and litted yet. Must follow official schedule rollout plan. The passive section build out was ahead of schedule. Need to wait for the equipment vendor to set up the active switching side to "light up" turn on the passive side of infrastructure.
SUSCandy12
post Oct 11 2020, 09:24 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(juzmafia @ Oct 10 2020, 02:42 PM)
TNB contractor installing new pole at Batu Gajah Transit..

Are you sure the poles are for TNB Allo Fibre optic cables?

They have purple color stamps on it with Allo logo instead of regular TNB logo.
SUSCandy12
post Oct 11 2020, 09:44 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(jcws87 @ Oct 11 2020, 09:40 PM)
Actually it still too early to say it Allo cos it will take weeks for them to colour it.
Batu Gajah is commercial area right? Is Allo venturing into fibre business plans?
Normally Allo poles are planted behind residential homes to place their FDP boxes and run cables on them.

For backhaul they'll just use their regular TNB poles to run them where ever its convenient.
SUSCandy12
post Oct 12 2020, 06:14 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(un.deux.trois @ Oct 12 2020, 03:52 PM)
Hope Allo can come to Johor. I want to install at my parents’ house. Unifi ports full already.
If your area is already covered presently by Unifi, hopes are slim. Many popular areas in Ipoh such as Pasir Putih/Pinji, CBD, Bercham, Simee, Ipoh Gardens and Jelapang also not being covered.

SUSCandy12
post Oct 23 2020, 10:50 PM

1,878 posts

Considering our country's economy now many companies will have very tight budget now.

Bercham, Ipoh Gardens, Pasir Putih/Pinji, Simpang Pulai all not sure if they'll have 3rd phase of expansion returning back to Ipoh after Allo completes its expansion to Batu Gajah.

They're now also going after Penang, Kedah, and Johor after this.Need to allocate significant budget over those places.
SUSCandy12
post Oct 29 2020, 10:33 AM

1,878 posts

Bangsar South/Kerinchi in KL also have Allo infra. Their fibre also now kena cut. laugh.gif

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5049114

But their setup is a different there. Viewqwest leases the passive optical fibres themselves and runs their own active equipment such as OLT/ONT fibre modems for last mile instead of City Broadband.

Correct me if I'm wrong, City Broadband was last time known as Setia Haruman which was a sub company of the Setia developer who founder later sold its company to the gomen and started another company known as EcoWorld. Later the company financial turned red and it was forced to be sold to TNB and some foreign investors. The company splitted and renamed to become Allo as what it is today under TNB group but also Viewqwest started to established their presence in Malaysia.

I might be wrong anyone know a more correct version of its history?
SUSCandy12
post Nov 1 2020, 09:37 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Nov 1 2020, 12:29 PM)
I heard that City broadband was formally known as cyberjaya broadband and according to my friend he heard that cyberjaya broadband is not that reliable(on their own infra at least) confused.gif ?
It was known as Setia Haruman before it was acquired by TNB. Was not doing well earlier because they only service mostly Setia group's projects and company internet connections.

QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Oct 31 2020, 07:01 PM)
Is astro wifi package using Allo? How's this compare to Tm Unifi?
QUOTE(jcws87 @ Nov 1 2020, 12:52 PM)
This my own understanding. The package is called Astro & Broadband.

Those area under Unifi have 5 package - 30Mpbs(RM98.95), 100Mbps(RM148.95), 300Mbps(RM168.95), 500Mbps(RM238.95) and 800Mbps(RM318.95).

While those area under Allo have 2 package - 50Mbps(RM99) and 100Mbps(RM129).

For better understanding, it's best for you to ask Astro agent.

But currently, Maxis is doing promo with Astro. Upgrade 100Mbps to 300Mbps @ RM129 + RM61.32(Starter Pack).
Need to take note and be aware that Astro & Broadband contract has a steep RM1500 early termination fee if you decide to switch provider or move to somewhere else where there's no Allo coverage within the 24 months tie in.

The special offer for Allo is different from TM HSBB coverage. You get 50Mbps symmetrical speed on top of your Astro IPTV which does not use satellite dish.

The higher early termination policy is due to the Astro bundled PVR decoder box which costs a lot more.

14 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.1396sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:21 AM