131 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

TNB Allo Nationwide Open Fibre Expansion, CBJ,Malacca,Perak,Penang,Johor & Kedah

Xelnagakail
post Jul 26 2020, 08:36 PM

201 posts

I have ask the Allo contractor they don't provide the Calix router anymore instead of Tp link Archer A6 AC1200
SUSCandy12
post Jul 26 2020, 09:24 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Xelnagakail @ Jul 26 2020, 08:36 PM)
I have ask the Allo contractor they don't provide the Calix router anymore instead of Tp link Archer A6 AC1200
What about the fibre modem(ONT)? Which brand and model are they supplying now?
The TP-Link Archer A6 is just the router supplied by City Broadband right?

Other ISPs will provide their own such as Maxis will provide the Archer C5V but all will use the same ONT.

Does the router look like this:

This post has been edited by Candy12: Jul 26 2020, 09:45 PM
Jasilu90
post Jul 26 2020, 09:46 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(Xelnagakail @ Jul 26 2020, 08:36 PM)
Really?⋯ I‘m waiting installation from CBB , but not yet receive call from them... Hope will get the TP-Link router as you said...
Xelnagakail
post Jul 26 2020, 11:33 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jul 26 2020, 09:24 PM)
What about the fibre modem(ONT)? Which brand and model are they supplying now?
The TP-Link Archer A6 is just the router supplied by City Broadband right?

Other ISPs will provide their own such as Maxis will provide the Archer C5V but all will use the same ONT.

Does the router look like this:

I didn't ask about the fiber modem(ONT) maybe tomorrow I'll ask.
Yes, he say that City Broadband now provide TP-Link Archer A6 router. He didn't send the picture of the router, he just name the model.

Same ONT you mean the Calix fiber modem?

Maybe I'll send a picture of the router.

Xelnagakail
post Jul 26 2020, 11:38 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(Jasilu90 @ Jul 26 2020, 09:46 PM)
Really?⋯ I‘m waiting installation from CBB , but not yet receive call from them... Hope will get the TP-Link router as you said...
You're a fast one dude. Hope to see your router and fiber modem(ONT) after they do the installation.
wulimaza
post Jul 27 2020, 02:08 AM

48 posts

Im from Ipoh Garden too, I dont think City Broadband will come to our area due to Ipoh Garden is TM territory?

TM have no interest to expanding their service 😒
Jasilu90
post Jul 27 2020, 12:06 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(Xelnagakail @ Jul 26 2020, 11:38 PM)
You're a fast one dude. Hope to see your router and fiber modem(ONT) after they do the installation.
Fast register is useless⋯ the installation is full booking and don’t know when will until my turn to install...

The email date wrote 27/7, but not yet received any call to reconfirm actual date and time...
SUSCandy12
post Jul 27 2020, 02:15 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Xelnagakail @ Jul 26 2020, 11:33 PM)
I didn't ask about the fiber modem(ONT) maybe tomorrow I'll ask.
Yes, he say that City Broadband now provide TP-Link Archer A6 router. He didn't send the picture of the router, he just name the model.

Same ONT you mean the Calix fiber modem?

Maybe I'll send a picture of the router.
All retail ISPs that run on TNB Allo network will use the same fibre modem(ONT) just like TM HSBB.
The ISPs however will supply their own router model to match the kind of services they offer such as fixed voice and IPTV.

In the case of CBB, they offer the TP-Link Archer A6 which does not come with phone ports because probably the customer is subscribing a data-only plan.

The reason why I want to know the fibre modem(ONT) is because I'm interested to know what brand of OLT equipment they're using at their exchange. The fibre modem(ONT) is usually matched with the OLT switching equipment at their datacentre.

SUSCandy12
post Jul 27 2020, 02:38 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(wulimaza @ Jul 27 2020, 02:08 AM)
Im from Ipoh Garden too, I dont think City Broadband will come to our area due to Ipoh Garden is TM territory?

TM have no interest to expanding their service 😒
Very slim chance actually. My area which is also served currently under TM HSBB will also will not be covered I supposed.

TM playing very dirty tricks now. For so many years, areas such as Jalan Pasir Putih, Tebing Tinggi, Sg Pari, Kampung Pasir Putih, Taman Sinfar/Shatin, Taman Rasa Sayang all these areas are sandwiched in between Lahat and Pengkalan did not have Unifi until middle of this year(May 2020).

When TM found out TNB was aggressively expanding their Allo fibre coverage, they quickly went to these areas and install just 1-2 boxes of FDP on every 3-5 lanes just to impose their dominance and occupy the "parking space" to prevent TNB from expanding their network there to avoid infra overlapping.

If your taman already got neighbors opposite your house got Unifi but your lorong don't have, TNB will not come also because TM will tell them it's their territory.

Our only hope is that TNB Allo captures a sizeable market in Ipoh to pressure TM to lower their wholesale prices.
Currently speaking, the pricing offered by TNB Allo's City Broadband is even cheaper than Time Fibre their reference pricing is:

RM79 for 50M/50M
RM99 for 100M/100M
RM199 for 1Gbps/1Gbps

All plans are symmetrical.Even Time Fibre cannot offer such rates their higher end plans such as the 1Gbps plan only has half rate 500M upload speeds. TNB can offer symmetrical 1Gbps even for landed homes because their network infra is the most modern in Malaysia.

I'm paying RM99/mth now just for a symmetrical 30M/30M when I'm supposed to get more than 3X the bandwidth if I'm on Time/TNB Allo network.

Our current MCMC minister also useless compared to Gobind. Instead of pressing TM to lower wholesale port pricing when it's already due after so many years, he is more interested in implementing social media and video production laws to get more licensing revenues..

The take up rates and demand for TNB Allo is very high now as one of our forumer friend here already says long waiting list. Hopefully it will pressure TM to come down on their wholesale pricing scheme and wake the sleeping MCMC up.
Jasilu90
post Jul 27 2020, 02:39 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jul 27 2020, 02:15 PM)
All retail ISPs that run on TNB Allo network will use the same fibre modem(ONT) just like TM HSBB.
The ISPs however will supply their own router model to match the kind of services they offer such as fixed voice and IPTV.

In the case of CBB, they offer the TP-Link Archer A6 which does not come with phone ports because probably the customer is subscribing a data-only plan.

The reason why I want to know the fibre modem(ONT) is because I'm interested to know what brand of OLT equipment they're using at their exchange. The fibre modem(ONT) is usually matched with the OLT switching equipment at their datacentre.
my dealer said ,modem brand is Huawei
Alpha_Tay
post Jul 27 2020, 03:04 PM

Beware The Spammer Star!
1,725 posts

if the Huawei ONU model is HG8240H5, it's Universal ONU that would work with other brand of OLT, new unifi install since awhile ago and broken ONU replacement has been given this model, even Time Fibre has been using this model.

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jul 27 2020, 02:15 PM)

QUOTE(Alpha_Tay @ Oct 29 2019, 05:04 AM)
unifi installation around 2 years ago, the installer cut the fibre and connect the fibre connector by hand, without install Fibre Wall Socket, there's no Soft Yellow Fibre Cable, Black Fibre Cable Straight into FIBERHOME ONU, it's still working today, without any issue.

unifi installation last month, at the same taman, before connect the Fibre Cable to the Distribution Point On TM Pole, unifi installer Fusion splicing the Fibre Cable with a Factory Packaged few Meter Fibre Cable with Fibre Connector Pre-installed, after pulling the Fibre Cable to the Destination, unifi installer Fusion splicing again the Fibre Cable with a Factory Packaged few Meter Fibre Cable with Fibre Connector Pre-installed, both cable are Black, have Steel wire Support, without install Fibre Wall Socket, there's no Soft Yellow Fibre Cable, Black Fibre Cable Straight into Huawei HG8240H5 claim to be Universal ONU Fibre modem, while the whole city unifi and other HSBB Provider was using FIBERHOME ONU. same taman few months ago new unifi installation still receive FIBERHOME ONU, just the new unifi branding at the plastic cover instead of older TM branding. this taman still has plenty of port left during 1st installation of unifi Distribution Point, not yet receive 2nd installation of unifi Distribution Point, while some other area of this city has receive it recently some months ago.

unifi installer write down unifi fibre port password, unifi username, unifi password, unifi phone number, unifi phone number password at the fibre modem box.

Huawei HG8240H5 can login with Default Username Password, Web GUI still Enabled.

at the same city, just saw a maxis fibre 30Mbps customer at Shop Lot Biz Area with Huawei HG8240H ONU Fibre modem that has TM Logo. he claim install it around Years ago.

https://www.shutterstock.com/image-photo/ma...odem-1072796903

there is at least 2 case i have seen with my own eye, that unifi installation at different Shop Lot Biz Area, Black fibre cable was coming from front Entrance through wall, but before the fibre cable through the wall, there's 2 fibre cable Connector to connect both fibre cable, i would provide the photo later if i found it.

Photo Uploaded
[attachmentid=10343807]
QUOTE(thankyou @ Jul 21 2020, 02:13 PM)
I have a friend who are staying at SS1 (Sea Park) and during March, his Alcatel ONU was struck by lightning through power adapter...

TM replaced a Huawei HG ONU for him. I think you should request for Huawei replacement as well!

Good luck!  thumbsup.gif
This post has been edited by Alpha_Tay: Jul 27 2020, 03:08 PM
SUSCandy12
post Jul 27 2020, 03:33 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Alpha_Tay @ Jul 27 2020, 03:04 PM)
if the Huawei ONU model is HG8240H5, it's Universal ONU that would work with other brand of OLT, new unifi install since awhile ago and broken ONU replacement has been given this model, even Time Fibre has been using this model.
Normally during first round installations, the ISP will use same brand ONTs with the OLT equipment to minimize teething issues under observation.

Could be that TNB Allo ditched Calix(Ericsson) as its vendor to the more proven and cheaper Huawei which offered them a better deal for mass deployment?

wulimaza
post Jul 27 2020, 04:03 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jul 27 2020, 02:38 PM)
Very slim chance actually. My area which is also served currently under TM HSBB will also will not be covered I supposed.

TM playing very dirty tricks now. For so many years, areas such as Jalan Pasir Putih, Tebing Tinggi, Sg Pari, Kampung Pasir Putih, Taman Sinfar/Shatin, Taman Rasa Sayang all these areas are sandwiched in between Lahat and Pengkalan did not have Unifi until middle of this year(May 2020).

When TM found out TNB was aggressively expanding their Allo fibre coverage, they quickly went to these areas and install just 1-2 boxes of FDP on every 3-5 lanes just to impose their dominance and occupy the "parking space" to prevent TNB from expanding their network there to avoid infra overlapping.

If your taman already got neighbors opposite your house got Unifi but your lorong don't have, TNB will not come also because TM will tell them it's their territory.

Our only hope is that TNB Allo captures a sizeable market in Ipoh to pressure TM to lower their wholesale prices.
Currently speaking, the pricing offered by TNB Allo's City Broadband is even cheaper than Time Fibre their reference pricing is:

RM79 for 50M/50M
RM99 for 100M/100M
RM199 for 1Gbps/1Gbps

All plans are symmetrical.Even Time Fibre cannot offer such rates their higher end plans such as the 1Gbps plan only has half rate 500M upload speeds. TNB can offer symmetrical 1Gbps even for landed homes because their network infra is the most modern in Malaysia.

I'm paying RM99/mth now just for a symmetrical 30M/30M when I'm supposed to get more than 3X the bandwidth if I'm on Time/TNB Allo network.

Our current MCMC minister also useless compared to Gobind. Instead of pressing TM to lower wholesale port pricing when it's already due after so many years, he is more interested in implementing social media and video production laws to get more licensing revenues..

The take up rates and demand for TNB Allo is very high now as one of our forumer friend here already says long waiting list. Hopefully it will pressure TM to come down on their wholesale pricing scheme and wake the sleeping MCMC up.
I have no hope for TM already. Luckily my area have good coverage of 4G+ Digi line, although it's not stable as cable but better than streamyx 2mpbs. I have no choice.

I will rather hope for 5G coverage rather than TM 😢

Xelnagakail
post Jul 27 2020, 04:11 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jul 27 2020, 02:38 PM)

RM79 for 50M/50M
RM99 for 100M/100M
RM199 for 1Gbps/1Gbps

Damn those sneaky cheeky bastard. Hope TNB Allo sapu the entire Ipoh market from TM
SUSCandy12
post Jul 27 2020, 04:21 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Xelnagakail @ Jul 27 2020, 04:11 PM)
Damn those sneaky cheeky bastard. Hope TNB Allo sapu the entire Ipoh market from TM
Their silly move really stupid one. They started this dirty trick just about 1 month ago after the MCO ended. Place just 1 black colored FDP pole box facing the main road to cover few rows of houses behind it. Some would just pull the fibre cable and leave it dangling there.

Assuming if one of the house decides to subscribe to Unifi at the far end of the row there, will they be willing to pull a drop cable as far as 300m-1/2km away from the box? doh.gif

So many years don't want to service these areas, when competitor arrived they only start to jump from their seats.
TakanoKyohei
post Jul 27 2020, 08:41 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jul 25 2020, 01:47 PM)
Good news!

TNB Allo has now expanded to Ipoh Station 18 area.

The housing area in front of 7 Eleven(near AEON Station 18) now has new utility poles with orange-black colored fibre running on them. Some already have FDP boxes setup ready to commence servicing.

Only areas left now to cover are like:

Kampung Pasir Putih
Taman Rasa Sayang
Taman Shatin
Tebing Tinggi
Jalan Bendahara
Jalan Pasir Putih

All these areas still running old copper Streamyx and do not have fibre infra yet.

The utility poles have "PURPLE" paint square boxes for labelling with Allo logo on them.
FDP boxes are black in color.
same here. too.

taman temara
kg cempaka sari
kg kuala pari

kg temiang. <-- this 1 TM suddenly pull cable and cover only 1 or 2 road only.

meanwhile near taman temara. fiber exchange has been isntalled near the TNB substation 11kv near taman beside taman temara. i wish they cover taman temara and kg cempaka sari too.

the location of the allo broadband.

the black arrow is where the allobroadband fiber exchange( not sure the term) and green is covered. Blue is taman temara and red is kg cempaka sari. is stay there.

Jasilu90
post Jul 28 2020, 09:56 AM

258 posts

OMG T_T, I think I facing a problem from CBB,although CBB website already allow menglembu people to apply their services,but
when call to Care line centre, the person question Me who given authority to apply >.< and ask screen shot to him??? His meaning like Perak not yet open services yet... what tthe...

At the end, still not yet received any call from CBB installer ....maybe wait until next month?
tany
post Jul 28 2020, 10:20 AM

608 posts

Same with my house Taman Hillview stuck with 1mbps stimyx no unifi
Xelnagakail
post Jul 28 2020, 11:45 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(Jasilu90 @ Jul 28 2020, 09:56 AM)
OMG T_T, I think I facing a problem from CBB,although CBB website already allow menglembu people to apply their services,but
when call to Care line centre, the person  question Me who given authority to apply >.< and ask screen shot to him??? His meaning like Perak not yet open services yet... what tthe...

At the end, still not yet received any call from CBB installer ....maybe wait until next month?
Today TNB Allo contractor just come to my backstreet only to move up the FDP. I personally think that Menglembu area not yet ready to do installation. They need to move all the FDP up to the post then only can do installation. Like you said, maybe wait until next month August then only do installation?
Xelnagakail
post Jul 28 2020, 11:47 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(tany @ Jul 28 2020, 10:20 AM)
Same with my house Taman Hillview stuck with 1mbps stimyx no unifi
I'm surprise that some of KL area still using streamyx.

131 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0152sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:24 AM