[V32] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

ace-user
post Mar 18 2021, 06:12 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Mar 18 2021, 06:01 PM)
sp-star meteor is a relatively new switch, debuted since last year. sp-star is the result of the collaboration between japanese (design) and china (maker) to make switches for korean boards (leopold). they made kon-momo and nana, and the currently hot selling cyborg switches also (the one with housing that glows in the dark. literally)

yes, you can say it's underrated, because most people are still in the hype of jwk recolored haha

in Malaysia, afaik you can contact quovadis123, keys.my.
I'm actually looking at buying a kon-momo clone on taobao since i missed out on the GB haha
Found ks-3 Gateron Yellow (black top black bottom) on taobao too and maybe I'll buy some to try. Was looking for sp-star meteor grey but oos on all the shops in taobao, only whites available sad.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Mar 18 2021, 07:23 PM

4,458 posts

nod.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Mar 18 2021, 07:24 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Mar 18 2021, 07:32 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(alvinfks78 @ Mar 18 2021, 09:41 AM)
Hi Lowyat,

Excuse if reposting. Do you guys know why this phenomenon occur?

Keyboard from Mr DIY-
when press two button together 35% of the time one button will come out slightly later than the other. doh.gif .

Logitech K120 - don't have the above problem. press two button okay. Consistent
But Logitech got ghosting problem sweat.gif . CHEAP Mr. DIY no ghosting problem.
Use it to play fighting games.
QUOTE(horns @ Mar 18 2021, 11:02 AM)
it's likely that the keyboard doesn't support nkro (n-key rollover)

sad.gif

i'm not against getting rubber dome keyboards if the goal is to save on budget to spend on other things that take priority (we all have our own situations). but if you are well off, probly consider going mkb if you type often. it's worth it trust me. i use to have finger pain when typing. problem went away after switching to mkbs (i use a cherry mx brown which is a nice balance between gaming and simply typing posts) smile.gif (obviously i wasn't use a black mx switch, cause those things are tough to use unless you got the muscle shocking.gif )

and like horn pointed out, those cheap keyboards, it's likely they are 2kro or 6kro, but not likely to be NKRO.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Mar 18 2021, 07:33 PM
horns
post Mar 18 2021, 07:43 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ Mar 18 2021, 06:12 PM)
I'm actually looking at buying a kon-momo clone on taobao since i missed out on the GB haha
Found ks-3 Gateron Yellow (black top black bottom) on taobao too and maybe I'll buy some to try. Was looking for sp-star meteor grey but oos on all the shops in taobao, only whites available  sad.gif
oh kon-momo has clone? i'm not aware of that. just be careful

maybe you just need to wait for them to restock. i'm ok with white. it's really softer.

ace-user
post Mar 18 2021, 08:27 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Mar 18 2021, 07:43 PM)
oh kon-momo has clone? i'm not aware of that. just be careful

maybe you just need to wait for them to restock. i'm ok with white. it's really softer.
ya and the clones look quite nice.
Ya I'll either wait for them to restock the meteor or I'll just go with the KS-3 Gateron Yellows (Full Black). I actually really like my SMD Gateron Yellows after lubing and filming them, smooth and good thocc biggrin.gif
horns
post Mar 18 2021, 10:22 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ Mar 18 2021, 08:27 PM)
ya and the clones look quite nice.
Ya I'll either wait for them to restock the meteor or I'll just go with the KS-3 Gateron Yellows (Full Black). I actually really like my SMD Gateron Yellows after lubing and filming them, smooth and good thocc  biggrin.gif
in terms of switches, i suggest you get exposed to more, from different brands if possible. (cherry, gateron, kailh, jwk, and sp-star at least)

they all have different sound and feel, and some uniqueness (in the details; at first glance they look the same) just do this progressively. it's good when you decided to proceed with frankenswitches hehe

ace-user
post Mar 18 2021, 10:35 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Mar 18 2021, 10:22 PM)
in terms of switches, i suggest you get exposed to more, from different brands if possible. (cherry, gateron, kailh, jwk, and sp-star at least)

they all have different sound and feel, and some uniqueness (in the details; at first glance they look the same) just do this progressively. it's good when you decided to proceed with frankenswitches hehe
Ya I've been doing quite a lot of research, but macam not enough haha
Decided that I'm gonna buy the SP-star meteor white & KS3 Gateron Yellow from taobao then I'll sell whichever I dont like. Is the SP-Star meteor white pre-lubed/factory lubed? How do I remove factory lube before lubing the switches myself? confused.gif

This post has been edited by ace-user: Mar 18 2021, 10:35 PM
horns
post Mar 18 2021, 10:43 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ Mar 18 2021, 10:35 PM)
Ya I've been doing quite a lot of research, but macam not enough haha
Decided that I'm gonna buy the SP-star meteor white & KS3 Gateron Yellow from taobao then I'll sell whichever I dont like. Is the SP-Star meteor white pre-lubed/factory lubed? How do I remove factory lube before lubing the switches myself?  confused.gif
online research is one thing. first-hand experience is more practical and important. it's better for you to use a switch as reference point (for linear, i use cherry mx red), so that you can differentiate differences of these switches.

nice smile.gif yes sp-star meteor is pre-lubed. you can use cotton-buds with alcohol (IPA) to clean it up.

edit: first-hand experience is the only way for individuals to get the actual ideas like switch top wobbles, stem wobbles, smoothness, spring noise, etc. (everything is relatively compared to reference switch). eventually you will get clearer ideas on what you actually want.

This post has been edited by horns: Mar 18 2021, 10:48 PM
ace-user
post Mar 18 2021, 10:57 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Mar 18 2021, 10:43 PM)
online research is one thing. first-hand experience is more practical and important. it's better for you to use a switch as reference point (for linear, i use cherry mx red), so that you can differentiate differences of these switches.

nice smile.gif yes sp-star meteor is pre-lubed. you can use cotton-buds with alcohol (IPA) to clean it up.

edit: first-hand experience is the only way for individuals to get the actual ideas like switch top wobbles, stem wobbles, smoothness, spring noise, etc. (everything is relatively compared to reference switch). eventually you will get clearer ideas on what you actually want.
I was using Cherry Mx Red stock previously and I very much prefer my lubed Gateron Yellows haha

Wa having to use cotton buds & alcohol to remove the factory lube seems so much work, then having to relube them again holy, will definitely take a while. My first time lubing switches I sat down for 6 like 9 hours straight lubing until I'm done lol
Ya reading and watching videos is one thing, but actually getting hands on is the only way to really understand and learn.
horns
post Mar 19 2021, 12:29 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ Mar 18 2021, 10:57 PM)
I was using Cherry Mx Red stock previously and I very much prefer my lubed Gateron Yellows haha

Wa having to use cotton buds & alcohol to remove the factory lube seems so much work, then having to relube them again holy, will definitely take a while. My first time lubing switches I sat down for 6 like 9 hours straight lubing until I'm done lol
Ya reading and watching videos is one thing, but actually getting hands on is the only way to really understand and learn.
lubed cherry mx red is much better for me. well, it's just preference, all good biggrin.gif

yes, the process of switch lubing is usually taking more time. i can only do 10 switches at a time, before my patience runs out. i always start with breaking in with a modular board; then open them up, start lubing with bottom housing (side rails, center pole, leaf), spring, slider, and then top housing, if necessary. finally, test them for relative consistency. try to get everything right before soldering, so just take your time.

i know some people can lube switches much faster, but i suspect they have skipped a lot of steps to achieve that. the outcomes are usually a hit-or-miss from my experience if i do it fast hehe
niakulah
post Mar 19 2021, 10:34 AM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ Mar 18 2021, 06:12 PM)
Found ks-3 Gateron Yellow (black top black bottom) on taobao too and maybe I'll buy some to try. Was looking for sp-star meteor grey but oos on all the shops in taobao, only whites available  sad.gif
If you like that colourway, you might like GMK Parcel. GB in 2 months.

https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=111819.0
cryonic
post Mar 19 2021, 10:38 AM

QUOTE(niakulah @ Mar 15 2021, 10:43 AM)

Just to share. Youtube happened to suggest this video to me. In the middle of the vid (from 6:18) is the clearest video of how to do the Holee Mod that I have ever seen.
Gosh! THANK YOU!!

niakulah
post Mar 19 2021, 12:11 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

Do you have too much money? Then this website can help you:
https://thocstock.com/updates
alvinfks78
post Mar 19 2021, 04:10 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Mar 18 2021, 08:32 PM)

sad.gif

i'm not against getting rubber dome keyboards if the goal is to save on budget to spend on other things that take priority (we all have our own situations). but if you are well off, probly consider going mkb if you type often. it's worth it trust me. i use to have finger pain when typing. problem went away after switching to mkbs (i use a cherry mx brown which is a nice balance between gaming and simply typing posts) smile.gif  (obviously i wasn't use a black mx switch, cause those things are tough to use unless you got the muscle  shocking.gif  )

and like horn pointed out, those cheap keyboards, it's likely they are 2kro or 6kro, but not likely to be NKRO.
Thanks for the review and feedback.

I actually use the Keyboard just for fighting game. I actually only use 10 keys. +/- biggrin.gif .

So I take the keyboard and remove all other 90+ keys that is not needed.

So wanting to do that makes me think twice about mutilating an expensive keyboard. doh.gif Some might suggest a hitbox but a hitbox is bout Rm500 at least custom made. Original Rm1200 at least. may need to import too.

Both the Cheap Mr. DIY & K120 keyboard can press 4-5 keys at the same time.

The Cheap Mr. DIY keyboard if press 4-5 keys no problem. while holding 2 buttons and then add 2 keys sometimes 1 comes slightly slower than the other. i.e. hold a+s press b+u but u comes out after b. Wrong move will come and KO shakehead.gif

K120 keyboard no such problem. press the 2 button together is consistent. can do 4-5 keys same press.
But certain combination cannot work i.e. a+s+y+u+i= only a+s press registered
if q+w+y+u+i = no problem all press registered q+w+y+u+i

I use this to test keyboard,
https://en.key-test.ru/

This post has been edited by alvinfks78: Mar 19 2021, 05:05 PM
ace-user
post Mar 19 2021, 09:42 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Mar 19 2021, 12:29 AM)
lubed cherry mx red is much better for me. well, it's just preference, all good biggrin.gif

yes, the process of switch lubing is usually taking more time. i can only do 10 switches at a time, before my patience runs out. i always start with breaking in with a modular board; then open them up, start lubing with bottom housing (side rails, center pole, leaf), spring, slider, and then top housing, if necessary. finally, test them for relative consistency. try to get everything right before soldering, so just take your time.

i know some people can lube switches much faster, but i suspect they have skipped a lot of steps to achieve that. the outcomes are usually a hit-or-miss from my experience if i do it fast hehe
Today I relubed some of my gateron yellows that I feel were not consistent and switch out my normal packing foam I use for my case to an EVA 2mm foam. And my God the sound is so much different and more consistent. For one, the thocc is less compared to using packing foam and all the switches sound a lot more consistent and similar. Didn't know that foam material can make such a BIG difference. Learn something new everyday haha

QUOTE(niakulah @ Mar 19 2021, 10:34 AM)
If you like that colourway, you might like GMK Parcel. GB in 2 months.

https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=111819.0
I like the Japanese sublegends on the kon momo hehe although the Gmk parcel colourway does look very nice.

QUOTE(cryonic @ Mar 19 2021, 10:38 AM)
Gosh! THANK YOU!!
Make sure u sub to his channel, he's gonna make a HOLEE mod tutorial in his next video.
horns
post Mar 20 2021, 10:28 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ Mar 19 2021, 09:42 PM)
Today I relubed some of my gateron yellows that I feel were not consistent and switch out my normal packing foam I use for my case to an EVA 2mm foam. And my God the sound is so much different and more consistent. For one, the thocc is less compared to using packing foam and all the switches sound a lot more consistent and similar. Didn't know that foam material can make such a BIG difference. Learn something new everyday haha

different dampening materials on different keyboad constructions will have different results (sound and feel). however, some don't even make significant difference before and after.

just pick what you like more smile.gif
horns
post Mar 21 2021, 01:41 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

having tested the switch for a while, i think this article is on-point for aqua/water king v3 from everglide, https://www.theremingoat.com/blog/everglide...g-switch-review (there are other interesting articles at that website)

this is the first switch that i think can be used unmodded. almost everything is ok, based on my preferences (no obvious spring noise; least stem/switch top wobbles; smooth) good stuff imo.
Emmanuel250
post Mar 24 2021, 12:40 AM

20 posts

Hi, I have the GMMK Pro on pre-order. I wonder if any of you have any good recommendation for freight forwarder from US since Glorious does not ship directly to M'sia.

I saw Yellow Porter but the recent reviews on their FB page turned me away. :/
niakulah
post Mar 24 2021, 08:30 AM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(Emmanuel250 @ Mar 24 2021, 12:40 AM)
Hi, I have the GMMK Pro on pre-order. I wonder if any of you have any good recommendation for freight forwarder from US since Glorious does not ship directly to M'sia.

I saw Yellow Porter but the recent reviews on their FB page turned me away. :/
I've gotten good service from comGateway before
horns
post Mar 25 2021, 09:55 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

ALEXI Group Buy is live now.

form and details: https://forms.gle/y8AdtVTjzMn8KnTD6

- GB will be opened for 2 weeks (March 25th to April 7th)
- Price ranges from RM650 (base config) - RM885 (ultra setting)
- Slots will be flexible with an internal cutoff number
- First come first served

125 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0429sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:29 AM