Capricorn22
post Jun 7 2020, 11:48 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jun 7 2020, 09:04 AM)
HUP35 always makes me smile after completing fast.com :

[attachmentid=10510096]

Never failed to be above 2.7Mbps (DL) and above 2.0 (UL) for LTE Spectrum.
MNF0
post Jun 7 2020, 11:50 AM

904 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jun 7 2020, 09:22 AM)
Tried to search *100# USSD but cannot unsubscribe CMA :

[attachmentid=10510104] [attachmentid=10510103]

How to turn off this hidden agenda?
How much they are going to charge after the free trial? I surely don't need that service.
MilesAndMore
post Jun 7 2020, 11:54 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(anakMY @ Jun 7 2020, 11:44 AM)
LOL, all kena trolled. Its really naive for ppl to think maxis will allow "true" unlimited.
But it is indeed a true unlimited plan. With throttled speed at 0.5Mbps, you can still do general browsing, just that it’s going to be slow. Go to US, US telco too offer similar unlimited mobile data plan with similar wording in English.
Capricorn22
post Jun 7 2020, 11:54 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(tympg @ Jun 7 2020, 07:35 AM)
Hotlink still dare to say "Truly Unlimited".

Abuse of the words "truly" and "unlimited" and insulting the intelligence of their potential customers.
Maxis' marketing strategy: If u cant convince them, confuse them...change t&c last minute after public outcry
MNF0
post Jun 7 2020, 11:57 AM

904 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jun 7 2020, 10:56 AM)
Yes, just like UniFi Mobile RM59 (<60 minutes / call)
They same goes with Umobile unlimited 50 plan.
ohtheirony
post Jun 7 2020, 11:59 AM

732 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Jun 7 2020, 10:56 AM)
agree

64kbps is just enough for whatsapp messages and general notifications only.

128kbps may be enough to load websites and read news.

512kbps definitely enough to read news, emails, send whatsapp attachment, send pics , whatsapp call/ facetime audio.
Here's hoping hotlink (or other Telco) introduces 512kbps no FUP for rm10/month

In dream perhaps lol
MNF0
post Jun 7 2020, 12:01 PM

904 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jun 7 2020, 11:08 AM)
I’m not sure about Hotlink, but for Maxis Postpaid, a phone call will only be automatically cut off after 120 minutes. Whilst it has always been 90 minutes for Digi. Hence when I need to call a customer care line, usually airlines that have long waiting time, I always call from a Maxis line.
Do you have the prefix 03 number for the careline? I want to avoid the prefix 1300 number as it is chargeable.

This post has been edited by MNF0: Jun 7 2020, 12:02 PM
SleeplessEyes
post Jun 7 2020, 12:01 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(tympg @ Jun 7 2020, 07:35 AM)
Hotlink still dare to say "Truly Unlimited".

Abuse of the words "truly" and "unlimited" and insulting the intelligence of their potential customers.
Exactly. If its in the US, they could be sued for misleading the consumer.
But in Malaysia, lol, if someone reports to KDNHEP.. NATO. cool2.gif
Then its back to Maxis with their - "We reserve the rights to change the Terms and Condition without notice" etc.

Because Maxis feels "I'm the boss".

ohtheirony
post Jun 7 2020, 12:10 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jun 7 2020, 11:54 AM)
But it is indeed a true unlimited plan. With throttled speed at 0.5Mbps, you can still do general browsing, just that it’s going to be slow. Go to US, US telco too offer similar unlimited mobile data plan with similar wording in English.
Well then

Any other telcos offering 20gb data with speed of 64kbps can qualify as unlimited monthly internet already and being transparent as well

If you advertise as 3mbps as unlimited and eventually dropping speed as it reaches certain threshold it is not an honest action

Plus using USA as example isn't making it any better since USA usually has expensive and misleading Telco plan

Use other first world country such as those in Europe. Even Singapore tak boleh pakai since they follow USA model
Chrono-Trigger
post Jun 7 2020, 12:15 PM

BY SELF ONE IS DEFILED AND PURIFIED
4,307 posts

QUOTE(ohtheirony @ Jun 7 2020, 12:10 PM)
Well then

Any other telcos offering 20gb data with speed of 64kbps can qualify as unlimited monthly internet already and being transparent as well

If you advertise as 3mbps as unlimited and eventually dropping speed as it reaches certain threshold it is not an honest action

Plus using USA as example isn't making it any better since USA usually has expensive and misleading Telco plan

Use other first world country such as those in Europe. Even Singapore tak boleh pakai since they follow USA model
most advanced countries have very expensive mobile rates but cheap fiber home internet. I think it has to do with over-regulations and spectrum fees.
azhar75
post Jun 7 2020, 12:17 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(Skeuomorphic @ Jun 7 2020, 11:47 AM)
At least it's better than Celcom's XPAX rm38 48gb which will be throttle to 64Kbps after filling up the quota. The mistake is that they weren't as transparent as celcom in stating the 3Mbps quota limit
Call not unlimited, kan?
terradrive
post Jun 7 2020, 12:19 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(Capricorn22 @ Jun 7 2020, 11:48 AM)
soo???
Skeuomorphic
post Jun 7 2020, 12:24 PM

671 posts

QUOTE(Capricorn22 @ Jun 7 2020, 11:48 AM)
That's the free 1gb everyday which has no speed cap
budi1413
post Jun 7 2020, 12:25 PM

1,607 posts

unlimited =/= unmetered
ohtheirony
post Jun 7 2020, 12:26 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Jun 7 2020, 12:01 PM)
But in Malaysia, lol, if someone reports to KDNHEP.. NATO.  cool2.gif
Then its back to Maxis with their - "We reserve the rights to change the Terms and Condition without notice" etc.

Because Maxis feels "I'm the boss".
LOL the FCC in USA sides with the telcos there, and the chairman Ajit Pai is one of the most hated by Americans

Anyway, here is him last year with Malaysian MCMC chairman appointed on 1st October 2018

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Jun 7 2020, 12:15 PM)
most advanced countries have very expensive mobile rates but cheap fiber home internet. I think it has to do with over-regulations and spectrum fees.
Did you know some European country and UK has cheap unlimited home broadband and mobile internet? For some country which has cheap home broadband in the first place, it is really hard for them to reduce fees for mobile internet, whereas countries with cheap mobile internet, it is easier to reduce the home broadband fees as coverage expands
Skeuomorphic
post Jun 7 2020, 12:28 PM

671 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jun 7 2020, 12:17 PM)
Call not unlimited, kan?
Yeah no unlimited calls, the only advantage over HUP is the 3gb hotspot data without subscribing to any add ons

MilesAndMore
post Jun 7 2020, 12:29 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(MNF0 @ Jun 7 2020, 12:01 PM)
Do you have the prefix 03 number for the careline? I want to avoid the prefix 1300 number as it is chargeable.
I assume you want MAS one. It is 03-7843 3000.

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Jun 7 2020, 12:01 PM)
Hotlink subscribers may still lose the case because at a capped speed of 0.5Mbps, Hotlink Unlimited Prepaid does offer unlimited mobile data. The only problem they can run into with the US lawmakers is probably the missing of FUP number on their T&C or FAQ.

QUOTE(ohtheirony @ Jun 7 2020, 12:10 PM)
Well then

Are you sure USA has expensive telco plan ? Without taking exchange rate into the picture and just comparing the average income of Americans and Malaysians, their postpaid plan is cheaper than ours. It’s about the same as Singapore actually.

Other first world countries... ok. UK may be since it’s also an English speaking country ?
azhar75
post Jun 7 2020, 12:42 PM

17,218 posts

QUOTE(Skeuomorphic @ Jun 7 2020, 12:28 PM)
Yeah no unlimited calls, the only advantage over HUP is the 3gb hotspot data without subscribing to any add ons

But any add-in for unlimited calls to all Network, eg RM10/month?
ohtheirony
post Jun 7 2020, 12:56 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jun 7 2020, 12:29 PM)
I assume you want MAS one. It is 03-7843 3000.
Hotlink subscribers may still lose the case because at a capped speed of 0.5Mbps, Hotlink Unlimited Prepaid does offer unlimited mobile data. The only problem they can run into with the US lawmakers is probably the missing of FUP number on their T&C or FAQ.
Are you sure USA has expensive telco plan ? Without taking exchange rate into the picture and just comparing the average income of Americans and Malaysians, their postpaid plan is cheaper than ours. It’s about the same as Singapore actually.

Other first world countries... ok. UK may be since it’s also an English speaking country ?
Cant find the latest table of comparison, anyway this article tabulates the data for you

https://www.cnet.com/how-to/verizon-att-t-m...lan-comparison/

Also, their unlimited is not as unlimited as it seems. Oh well, at least the FUP is clearly stated
MilesAndMore
post Jun 7 2020, 01:05 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(ohtheirony @ Jun 7 2020, 12:56 PM)
Cant find the latest table of comparison, anyway this article tabulates the data for you

https://www.cnet.com/how-to/verizon-att-t-m...lan-comparison/

Also, their unlimited is not as unlimited as it seems. Oh well, at least the FUP is clearly stated
The price doesn’t reflect all of the US telco latest pricing for their respective postpaid plans. And currently, US telco also like to aim for family plan. Like what you see with Maxis Share Lines or Digi Family Lines etc. So the average cost per line goes down a lot. But even using the pricing plan from the 2018, their average cost is still lower than what the average Malaysians have to fork out vis-à-vis their income for a similar postpaid plan.

185 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:15 PM