185 Pages « < 145 146 147 148 149 > » Bottom

Hotlink Prepaid Unlimited 2020 V1, 2am-2pm uncapped speed with free hotspot

jackyyong
post Feb 3 2021, 07:03 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(khteoh2019 @ Feb 3 2021, 05:20 PM)
Based on my personal experience, it is still capped at 3Mbps for that 1GB FOC data.
Then what's the point of the free 1GB internet anyway? confused.gif
reymura99
post Feb 3 2021, 08:50 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(JJKTP @ Feb 3 2021, 02:08 PM)
YES has the worst coverage of all telco despite their supposed superior coverage near school area.
It's depend on your area...my housing area YES is second best after Maxis...worst is "U" know who
khteoh2019
post Feb 4 2021, 10:22 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(jackyyong @ Feb 3 2021, 07:03 PM)
Then what's the point of the free 1GB internet anyway?  confused.gif
I'm not sure whether that 1GB FOC data will be counted as part of the FUP 50GB quota, if it is not then it does make a different otherwise I would agree with u no point having that.
jackyyong
post Feb 4 2021, 10:41 AM

431 posts

QUOTE(khteoh2019 @ Feb 4 2021, 10:22 AM)
I'm not sure whether that 1GB FOC data will be counted as part of the FUP 50GB quota, if it is not then it does make a different otherwise I would agree with u no point having that.
You may be right, the 1 GB Daily might be different from the FUP quota, in which case it makes sense to have it separate. Because you were right, the speed is the exactly the same as my HUP35 speed, which is 3 Mbps! wacko.gif shakehead.gif
cute_boboi
post Feb 4 2021, 12:35 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Feb 2 2021, 10:05 PM)
That's super unfair for postpaying RM138 per month = should downgrade to prepaid Maxis HUP 35/45.?

I wonder what speeds the even richer Maxis Business postpaid subscribers are getting between 8pm and 12am MCO.? Seems Maxis has many super-rich business subscribers.

P S - My postpaid U Mobile GX50 is not throttled to 0.5Mbps or 500kbps (= 8pm to 1am) if I do not exceed the monthly FUP data limit of 150GB.
Last I check few weeks/months ago, 8pm-12am SocMed (YouTube/etc.) throttled to 3Mbps (as announced by Maxis end-2020). Others still on best effort and depends on your area coverage/signal strength/congestion/etc. which I can get 10-30Mbps at that time. Maybe I'll monitor again this few days.

Note: 1GB Free Daily quota finish for the day.

vctan
post Feb 4 2021, 03:39 PM

67 posts

so how is the line now?
cute_boboi
post Feb 5 2021, 12:12 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Feb 4 2021, 12:35 PM)
Last I check few weeks/months ago, 8pm-12am SocMed (YouTube/etc.) throttled to 3Mbps (as announced by Maxis end-2020). Others still on best effort and depends on your area coverage/signal strength/congestion/etc. which I can get 10-30Mbps at that time. Maybe I'll monitor again this few days.

Note: 1GB Free Daily quota finish for the day.
Just run some check using Maxis Business Postpaid sim card in modem for comparison 8pm-12am

Can go beyond 8Mbps but my area is congested, hence download is slower than upload. But during non-peak hours, I have seen my download peak at 70-80Mbps but normally constant around 30-40Mbps.

Urban area, high density/people. Tower distance roughly 300 metres.

So I guess the Hotlink Prepaid throttle does not apply ?

icon_rolleyes.gif

SUSlurkingaround
post Feb 5 2021, 12:05 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Feb 2 2021 @ 10:05 PM)
That's super unfair for postpaying RM138 per month = should downgrade to prepaid Maxis HUP 35/45.?

I wonder what speeds the even richer Maxis Business postpaid subscribers are getting between 8pm and 12am MCO.? Seems Maxis has many super-rich business subscribers.

P S - My postpaid U Mobile GX50 is not throttled to 0.5Mbps or 500kbps (= 8pm to 1am) if I do not exceed the monthly FUP data limit of 150GB.
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Feb 5 2021, 12:12 AM)
Just run some check using Maxis Business Postpaid sim card in modem for comparison 8pm-12am

Can go beyond 8Mbps but my area is congested, hence download is slower than upload. But during non-peak hours, I have seen my download peak at 70-80Mbps but normally constant around 30-40Mbps.

Urban area, high density/people. Tower distance roughly 300 metres.

So I guess the Hotlink Prepaid throttle does not apply ?

icon_rolleyes.gif

So, the super-richer Maxis Business Postpaid subscribers are not throttled or are throttled less severely(= 8Mbps.?) daily during MCO 8pm to 12am while all other poorer Maxis non-Business prepaid and postpaid subscribers are throttled more severely.

Seems the poorest Maxis prepaid subscribers are throttled to 500kbps/0.5Mbps while the poorer Maxis non-Business postpaid subscribers are throttled to 2Mbps.

This is bad customer service. Imagine paying Maxis RM138 per month for 2Mbps from 8pm to 12am daily.

cute_boboi
post Feb 5 2021, 08:42 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Feb 5 2021, 12:05 PM)
So, the super-richer Maxis Business Postpaid subscribers are not throttled  or are throttled less severely(= 8Mbps.?) daily during MCO 8pm to 12am while all other poorer Maxis non-Business prepaid and postpaid subscribers are throttled more severely.

Seems the poorest Maxis prepaid subscribers are throttled to 500kbps/0.5Mbps while the poorer Maxis non-Business postpaid subscribers are throttled to 2Mbps.

This is bad customer service. Imagine paying Maxis RM138 per month for 2Mbps from 8pm to 12am daily.
I did another test again, cause previously in 2020 during MCO even this Business line is also throttled to 3Mbps YouTube between 8pm-12am. From the monitoring graph, I can really see it flat out at 3Mbps at exactly 8:00:00pm onwards if I'm streaming YouTube.

Today I did a test again since curious. Looks like they remove the cap for YouTube. I can get 25Mbps+

I do another test to compare with last night 11pm+. This time at 8pm+ congestion is not that bad. I can get peak of 50Mbps download (green line) and 30Mbps upload (red line). Also speed average 20-25Mbps download and 20Mbps upload
Just to share here icon_rolleyes.gif

Again, the 1GB daily free quota is finished (0MB left)

Sorry I don't get why you say RM138/month for 2Mbps between 8pm-12am ? My business line is downgraded from RM128 (60GB) to RM98 (40GB) now.

I have my personal Maxis MOP98 which I can test also over the weekend but need to swap SIM card around phone and modem. I also have a hotlink prepaid as backup but never use for data. icon_rolleyes.gif

reymura99
post Feb 5 2021, 09:23 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Feb 5 2021, 08:42 PM)
I did another test again, cause previously in 2020 during MCO even this Business line is also throttled to 3Mbps YouTube between 8pm-12am. From the monitoring graph, I can really see it flat out at 3Mbps at exactly 8:00:00pm onwards if I'm streaming YouTube.

Today I did a test again since curious. Looks like they remove the cap for YouTube. I can get 25Mbps+

I do another test to compare with last night 11pm+. This time at 8pm+ congestion is not that bad. I can get peak of 50Mbps download (green line) and 30Mbps upload (red line). Also speed average 20-25Mbps download and 20Mbps upload
Just to share here  icon_rolleyes.gif

Again, the 1GB daily free quota is finished (0MB left)

Sorry I don't get why you say RM138/month for 2Mbps between 8pm-12am ? My business line is downgraded from RM128 (60GB) to RM98 (40GB) now.

I have my personal Maxis MOP98 which I can test also over the weekend but need to swap SIM card around phone and modem. I also have a hotlink prepaid as backup but never use for data.  icon_rolleyes.gif
I believe if you are under plan with quota maybe you will be less "managed" by Maxis as for sure they want you to exhaust your quota fast, compared to "unlimited" plan such as hotlink 3/6 mbps or so called unlimited Maxis One Go plan

reymura99
post Feb 5 2021, 09:32 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(reymura99 @ Feb 2 2021, 08:52 PM)
Here are mine

What do you think ?

Here are my speed test today with my maxis One Go plan, I am not sure how Maxis "managed" the speed is it according to how congested the network in the area?? But hey it better than 460 kbps I got few days ago

This post has been edited by reymura99: Feb 5 2021, 09:33 PM
LeonTan
post Feb 5 2021, 09:35 PM

**SHINE**
2,161 posts

At first thought of getting hotlink unlimited then suddenly 8pm-12am news out then scrap the idea

my maxis RM98 speed got so worst at night, very unstable, sometimes 1Mbps then shot up 25Mbps++ then back to 6/7Mbps. Location Ukay Perdana/Bukit Antarabangsa

bought 2 new sim card (digi and xox, both using esim)

tested in 2 locations

1Utama
Digi 50Mbps ++
XOX 40Mbps ++

(Ukay Perdana/Bukit Antarabangsa)
Digi 40Mbps ++
XOX 40Mbps ++

Both using esim
cute_boboi
post Feb 5 2021, 10:53 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(reymura99 @ Feb 5 2021, 09:23 PM)
I believe if you are under plan with quota maybe you will be less "managed" by Maxis as for sure they want you to exhaust your quota fast, compared to "unlimited" plan such as hotlink 3/6 mbps or so called unlimited Maxis One Go plan
Unlimited with FUP up to 50GB. But I think the discussion earlier above was even before reach FUP, already throttle hotlink 3/6Mbps between 8pm-12am. Probably from data analytics, the number of users are much higher and hence they need to restrict somewhere, somehow.

QUOTE(reymura99 @ Feb 5 2021, 09:32 PM)

Here are my speed test today with my maxis One Go plan, I am not sure how Maxis "managed" the speed is it according to how congested the network in the area?? But hey it better than 460 kbps I got few days ago
I suggest try do more monitoring on other hours/days. I am considering various Maxis package to sign up or not such as Maxis One Go, Maxis Home Fibre, etc. as well as from other telco such as Unifi Bebas, DiGi unlimited 150, etc. I believe Go should not restrict as per hotlink now. Let me see if I have time to test my MOP98 and will share the result if there are difference between business line and MOP for 8pm-12am.

Note: Check my last night 11pm+ I'm getting below 1Mbps download as well, but quite good upload.

anakMY
post Feb 6 2021, 11:12 AM

1,450 posts

do u guys experience slow loading of instagram medias?
rickyro
post Feb 7 2021, 01:22 AM

914 posts

Walao.. The hotlink app for almost 2 months can't download the eStatement anymore!
!@#$%^
post Feb 7 2021, 08:24 AM

Safe Trader
17,515 posts

QUOTE(rickyro @ Feb 7 2021, 01:22 AM)
Walao.. The hotlink app for almost 2 months can't download the eStatement anymore!
mine can. no problem
Tiffany1992
post Feb 7 2021, 01:00 PM

70 posts

Porting out Hotlink. Anyone wanna buy credit? RM100 for RM 80
azhar75
post Feb 7 2021, 02:45 PM

17,226 posts

QUOTE(rickyro @ Feb 7 2021, 01:22 AM)
Android can...

iOS...?
rickyro
post Feb 7 2021, 03:18 PM

914 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Feb 7 2021, 02:45 PM)
Android can...

iOS...?
Android too... Yes, it does display the list, but can't downlaod
!@#$%^
post Feb 7 2021, 03:26 PM

Safe Trader
17,515 posts

QUOTE(rickyro @ Feb 7 2021, 03:18 PM)
Android too... Yes, it does display the list, but can't downlaod
just downloaded. no issue. did u give permission to the app to save files into ur phone?

185 Pages « < 145 146 147 148 149 > » Top

0.0455sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:10 PM