Budget/ Super Budget PC build

TSryan47
post May 24 2020, 07:34 PM, updated 6y ago

45 posts

Hey guys, I'm an 18y/o 'kid' trying to get my hands on some entry level pc. I've done some research and contact some seller but my parents are still wondering if the price can go anymore lower than rm2k. Do you guys have any budget build/ trusted seller recommendations for me? I look forward to hear all of you suggestions.

My pc is mainly for browsing, gaming, watching videos etc. Games I would usually play are dota2, LOL, CSGO, Destiny 2, Cod Warzone. Not looking for a pc with GPU because I'll leave it in future upgrades.

2nd question is which mobo are more useful for future upgrades? A320m or B450m, personally would choose b450m but if I can save a couple bucks it would help too.

3rd question is should I buy a psu or a case that comes with a psu? Because the case with psu do save me some money, but they look low quality and not safe 😅.

I look forward to all of your responds, please do give me some feedback!
pspslim007
post May 24 2020, 07:41 PM

701 posts

IF you want your custom pc to run games consistently, I would suggest you consider a 2nd hand gpu into your budget, example a Sapphire RX580 8gb is running around MYR500 for 2nd hand if you are able to find one, 2nd regarding about motherboard, I personally dont care about what model is my motherboard as long as it comes from a reputable company and the motherboard is the size to your liking then it should be no problem, unless you want to overclock then a higer tier motherboard is recommended, NEVER EVER BUY A PSU THAT COMES WITH A CASE ! PSU is the most essential 1st stage for saving all your other custom pc compenent when there is unexpected power surge occur, we do not live in an ideal world where the power output is consistent and predictable, so NO never go cheap on your PSU, nowadays 550-650watt should be suffice to even play a AAA title games with no problem.
cstkl1
post May 24 2020, 07:44 PM

6,799 posts

never buy shitty asus.

hata_ph
post May 24 2020, 07:58 PM

580 posts

what is your budget?
TSryan47
post May 24 2020, 08:31 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(hata_ph @ May 24 2020, 07:58 PM)
what is your budget?
Under 2000, including a monitor. Parents are strict with spending money 😅 a little over 2000 should be alright 😅
TSryan47
post May 24 2020, 08:32 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(pspslim007 @ May 24 2020, 07:41 PM)
IF you want your custom pc to run games consistently, I would suggest you consider a 2nd hand gpu into your budget, example a Sapphire RX580 8gb is running around MYR500 for 2nd hand if you are able to find one, 2nd regarding about motherboard, I personally dont care about what model is my motherboard as long as it comes from a reputable company and the motherboard is the size to your liking then it should be no problem, unless you want to overclock then a higer tier motherboard is recommended, NEVER EVER BUY A PSU THAT COMES WITH A CASE ! PSU is the most essential 1st stage for saving all your other custom pc compenent when there is unexpected power surge occur, we do not live in an ideal world where the power output is consistent and predictable, so NO never go cheap on your PSU, nowadays 550-650watt should be suffice to even play a AAA title games with no problem.
Thanks for clearing that out for me! Really needed the answers for 2nd and 3rd qeustions, much appreciated! However, where can I find 2nd hand components?
myway1985
post May 24 2020, 08:33 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 24 2020, 07:44 PM)
never buy shitty asus.
i m so touch by ur comment... so true
miss comet
post May 24 2020, 08:37 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 24 2020, 07:44 PM)
never buy shitty asus.
Why? What brand is good?
hashtag2016
post May 24 2020, 08:39 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ May 24 2020, 08:33 PM)
i m so touch by ur comment... so true
maybe account get hacked? confused.gif drool.gif
myway1985
post May 24 2020, 09:04 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(hashtag2016 @ May 24 2020, 08:39 PM)
maybe account get hacked?  confused.gif  drool.gif
asus tax... slightly lower than apple tax
TristanX
post May 24 2020, 09:11 PM

Where is my stars?
24,353 posts

QUOTE(ryan47 @ May 24 2020, 07:34 PM)
Hey guys, I'm an 18y/o 'kid' trying to get my hands on some entry level pc. I've done some research and contact some seller but my parents are still wondering if the price can go anymore lower than rm2k. Do you guys have any budget build/ trusted seller recommendations for me? I look forward to hear all of you suggestions.

My pc is mainly for browsing, gaming, watching videos etc. Games I would usually play are dota2, LOL, CSGO, Destiny 2, Cod Warzone. Not looking for a pc with GPU because I'll leave it in future upgrades.

2nd question is which mobo are more useful for future upgrades? A320m or B450m, personally would choose b450m but if I can save a couple bucks it would help too.

3rd question is should I buy a psu or a case that comes with a psu? Because the case with psu do save me some money, but they look low quality and not safe 😅.

Super low budget makes it hard for a gaming rig. Quality comes at a price. Just go for these first

AMD Ryzen 3 2300X - 299
Asrock B450M Pro4 - 349
G.Skill Aegis 8GB DDR4-2666 X1 - 169
Sapphire RX 570 4GB ITX - 479
WD Blue or Seagate 1TB - 179
FSP Hyper K 500W - 169
Cooler Master Masterbox Lite 3.1 - 169
Acer EK220Q - 299

RM2112 total (Viewnet prices)

Yes, it plays games.

This post has been edited by TristanX: May 24 2020, 09:15 PM
cstkl1
post May 24 2020, 10:12 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ May 24 2020, 09:04 PM)
asus tax... slightly lower than apple tax
think u dont get it.

they dont "tax" product uniformly. its like how to F asians incredibly.. blindfold.. press.
myway1985
post May 24 2020, 10:17 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 24 2020, 10:12 PM)
think u dont get it.

they dont "tax" product uniformly. its like how to F asians incredibly.. blindfold.. press.
Hardcore?
cstkl1
post May 24 2020, 10:27 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ May 24 2020, 10:17 PM)
Hardcore?
Yup. Hardcore stuff on dark web.
myway1985
post May 24 2020, 10:28 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 24 2020, 10:27 PM)
Yup. Hardcore stuff on dark web.
I TL asus oso.. same level as illegear n level 51 those nia. But act tailou
hata_ph
post May 25 2020, 10:45 AM

580 posts

QUOTE(ryan47 @ May 24 2020, 08:31 PM)
Under 2000, including a monitor. Parents are strict with spending money 😅 a little over 2000 should be alright 😅
Below I get from shopee, pricing should be cheaper but then you have to source it yourself.
You can go A320M or Asrock B450M-HDV which cost around RM264 if you want a cheaper MB.
I choose 2x RAM instead of 1 because Ryzen run faster with dual channel memory setup and you can add in another 2x4GB in future to become 16GB since the MB have 4 memory slot (B450M Pro4).
Add in a SSD for boot drive will make the system run more faster. You can store your data and game folder in the 1TB HDD.
I choose Tecware because it is more cheaper and come with 3/4 fan.
I did not include a GPU since a new mid range card with 4GB like GTX 1650 or RX 560 cost around RM600+ new. I would suggest get an used RX470/480/570/580 which can cost around RM300-RM400 but then it will come with it own risk.
Only the R3 2300X pricing I get from viewnet.

Items Price (RM)
Asrock B450M Pro4 318
Adata DDR4 2666 4Gb X2 163
Apacer AS340 SSD 120GB 99.88
Tecware Forge M 139
Seagate 1TB 169
FSP Hyper-K 500w 165
Acer EK220Q 285
AMD Ryzen 3 2300X 299
Total 1637.88

https://shopee.com.my/Asrock-B450M-Pro4-MAT...9687.2361540013
https://shopee.com.my/Seagate-BarraCuda-1TB...88920.341166116
https://shopee.com.my/TECWARE-FORGE-M-STEAL...6108.7830199806
https://shopee.com.my/ADATA-DDR4-(-4GB-8GB-...9687.4118767621
https://shopee.com.my/FSP-HYPER-K-500W-80-P...6936.1801048363
https://shopee.com.my/Acer-EK220Q-A-21.5-LE...4575.3226377350
https://shopee.com.my/APACER-AS340-2.5-SSD-...4975.1605528494
https://shopee.com.my/Asrock-B450M-HDV-R4.0...9687.2361604219
TristanX
post May 25 2020, 11:00 AM

Where is my stars?
24,353 posts

QUOTE(hata_ph @ May 25 2020, 10:45 AM)
Below I get from shopee, pricing should be cheaper but then you have to source it yourself.
You can go A320M or Asrock B450M-HDV which cost around RM264 if you want a cheaper MB.
I choose 2x RAM instead of 1 because Ryzen run faster with dual channel memory setup and you can add in another 2x4GB in future to become 16GB since the MB have 4 memory slot (B450M Pro4).
Add in a SSD for boot drive will make the system run more faster. You can store your data and game folder in the 1TB HDD.
I choose Tecware because it is more cheaper and come with 3/4 fan.
I did not include a GPU since a new mid range card with 4GB like GTX 1650 or RX 560 cost around RM600+ new. I would suggest get an used RX470/480/570/580 which can cost around RM300-RM400 but then it will come with it own risk.
Only the R3 2300X pricing I get from viewnet.

Items                        Price (RM)
Asrock B450M Pro4        318
Adata DDR4 2666 4Gb X2 163
Apacer AS340 SSD 120GB 99.88
Tecware Forge M        139
Seagate 1TB                169
FSP Hyper-K 500w        165
Acer EK220Q                285
AMD Ryzen 3 2300X        299
Total                                1637.88

https://shopee.com.my/Asrock-B450M-Pro4-MAT...9687.2361540013
https://shopee.com.my/Seagate-BarraCuda-1TB...88920.341166116
https://shopee.com.my/TECWARE-FORGE-M-STEAL...6108.7830199806
https://shopee.com.my/ADATA-DDR4-(-4GB-8GB-...9687.4118767621
https://shopee.com.my/FSP-HYPER-K-500W-80-P...6936.1801048363
https://shopee.com.my/Acer-EK220Q-A-21.5-LE...4575.3226377350
https://shopee.com.my/APACER-AS340-2.5-SSD-...4975.1605528494
https://shopee.com.my/Asrock-B450M-HDV-R4.0...9687.2361604219
AS340 is DRAMless garbage. 4GB RAM today is nono. You have to buy a pair again for dual channel if you want 16GB.
Skylinestar
post May 25 2020, 12:00 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

QUOTE(ryan47 @ May 24 2020, 07:34 PM)

1. get a 4C8T or 6C12T CPU if you plan to keep your pc for 5 years. get a Ryzen 5 3400G since u have no plan for a dedicated graphics card now. 8GBx2 ram will suit you for many years.
2. definitely B450M.
3. there are no good case that comes with good psu. that leaves you with only 1 choice: buy a case and psu separately. go for minimalistic with lots of vented front airflow. u want a timeless design.

kidmad
post May 25 2020, 12:04 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ May 24 2020, 09:11 PM)
Super low budget makes it hard for a gaming rig. Quality comes at a price. Just go for these first

AMD Ryzen 3 2300X - 299
Asrock B450M Pro4 - 349
G.Skill Aegis 8GB DDR4-2666 X1 - 169
Sapphire RX 570 4GB ITX - 479
WD Blue or Seagate 1TB - 179
FSP Hyper K 500W - 169
Cooler Master Masterbox Lite 3.1 - 169
Acer EK220Q - 299

RM2112 total (Viewnet prices)

Yes, it plays games.
Can go lower... A cheaper Mobo and a cheaper case.. but I'll swap SSD with the HDD.
hata_ph
post May 25 2020, 12:12 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ May 25 2020, 11:00 AM)
AS340 is DRAMless garbage. 4GB RAM today is nono. You have to buy a pair again for dual channel if you want 16GB.
A dram 120GB SSD cost more then RM200 compare to a dram-less SSD, more than double the price per performance. The only downside of dram-less is slower IO and lesser life-span, for only RM100.
Since TS have a RM2K budget, you get what you pay for. BTW, a dram-less SSD still faster than a normal HDD.
For the RAM, i suggest 2x4GB.

0.0211sec    0.98    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:06 PM