34 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

★★★ Martial Art Talk : Version 3★★★, Any kind of Martial Art, all welcome !!!

SilentVampire
post Jan 7 2009, 11:39 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

I don't know if all of you are aware of the fact that you can't learn JKD, but it's just plain stupid to find a place that teaches JKD. JKD is a concept, something you learn and develop yourself based on your own experience in martial arts. The JKD you learn in a place is based on someone's else experience, something which he or she develop him/herself. Try to learn more about JKD before finding a class. If you are really serious about learning JKD, just try to find a class that teaches JKD concepts, not JKD itself. Hope that clears things up.

Btw, Wing Chun is impressive but it's hard to find good teachers nowadays as there are many people that claims to teach the 'real' Wing Chun. If you like using your hands to fight, learn Boxing.
fanco
post Jan 7 2009, 12:02 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(wah chai @ Jan 7 2009, 09:33 AM)
haha.i just learn 3 days only.hand skin bengkak bcoz practise vertical punch(like yip man movie-fast forward punch).i and my wife learn wing chun but my wife better.wing chun founder it's women.guys learn wing chun need to be soft like women but not sissy type and don't useĀ   energy.That's why abit hard for guys.wing chun and tai chi are 80% almost same.soft,strike,trap and use chi.
soft hmm.gif ...for me, in martial art u need to be soft(lembut) but not stiff...if not, u will injured ur self...

where did u study wing chun???is it the same as wushu???

This post has been edited by fanco: Jan 7 2009, 01:28 PM
jurusilat
post Jan 7 2009, 02:02 PM

176 posts

Did you try contacting them yet?

Who's the instructor?

Added on January 7, 2009, 9:37 am
maybe but in us and uk got alot jeet kune do class.i found 1 jkd center in malaysia but i don't know it's true or false.

http://mymall.netbuilder.com.my/index.php?..._article&aid=20
wah chai
post Jan 7 2009, 02:08 PM

717 posts

QUOTE(fanco @ Jan 7 2009, 12:02 PM)
soft hmm.gif ...for me, in martial art u need to be soft(lembut) but not stiff...if not, u will injured ur self...

where did u study wing chun???is it the same as wushu???
i know but the sifu ask me act like women.think of women it's a kind that don't have alot energy and gentle.
i learn from Sifu Kenneth at Crush MMA.Located in Kota Damansara,PJ.
wing chun it's in wushu . Wushu = Chinese Kungfu . example,malaysia food but in malaysia food..there are many of food

Added on January 7, 2009, 2:09 pm
QUOTE(jurusilat @ Jan 7 2009, 02:02 PM)
Did you try contacting them yet?

Who's the instructor?
biggrin.gif not yet . soon will try call

This post has been edited by wah chai: Jan 7 2009, 02:09 PM
takeshi99
post Jan 7 2009, 05:13 PM

!!! GREENPEACE ACTIVIST !!!
1,239 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Jan 7 2009, 08:57 AM)
there is no jeet kune do martial art school in the world yet. if there is than those were not founded by Bruce Lee. The bruce lee website said it all and they were only planning to open one soon after they had the fund for it.
Founded by Bruce Lee's best friend Kimura and now operated by Kimura's son in US

Added on January 7, 2009, 5:15 pmThose who wan to learn muay thai or Kick boxing, pls b patient.

Bernard Radin "The Headhunter" told me he's going to open class in KL after he completed the Contender Asia 2

Added on January 7, 2009, 5:25 pm
QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Jan 7 2009, 11:39 AM)
I don't know if all of you are aware of the fact that you can't learn JKD, but it's just plain stupid to find a place that teaches JKD. JKD is a concept, something you learn and develop yourself based on your own experience in martial arts. The JKD you learn in a place is based on someone's else experience, something which he or she develop him/herself. Try to learn more about JKD before finding a class. If you are really serious about learning JKD, just try to find a class that teaches JKD concepts, not JKD itself. Hope that clears things up.

Btw, Wing Chun is impressive but it's hard to find good teachers nowadays as there are many people that claims to teach the 'real' Wing Chun. If you like using your hands to fight, learn Boxing.
I learned tat Hap Kune Do Malaysia got teach wing chun but dunno proper 1 or not la... BTW JKD is Bruce Lee philosophy of MA... Speed+Strength+Practical moves

Added on January 7, 2009, 5:27 pm
QUOTE(wah chai @ Jan 6 2009, 06:01 PM)
i see.thx.karate got alot of types which make me confusing.sanda mean sanshou,rite?do you know where i can learn in petaling jaya,selangor area?
My miss instructor is learning Sanshou in Cheras, if u interested, i ask her later for the contact...

This post has been edited by takeshi99: Jan 7 2009, 05:27 PM
surehit
post Jan 8 2009, 02:21 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(takeshi99 @ Jan 7 2009, 05:13 PM)
I learned tat Hap Kune Do Malaysia got teach wing chun but dunno proper 1 or not la... BTW JKD is Bruce Lee philosophy of MA... Speed+Strength+Practical moves
There are 2 flavours of JKD: JKD Concept and Jung Fan JKD (Lee Jung Fan is Bruce Lee's original name). JKD Concept is Bruce Lee idea of "take is what good, discard what is useless - be like water". So it's more of concepts, strategies and mixing few MAs up for the best result for you personally.

For those interested in following closely Bruce Lee's way of fighting, then Jung Fan JKD might be for you. So hey, whatever rocks your boat. flex.gif

Anyone here seen the movie Never Back Down? It shows some really sick MMA moves (not real but nicely choreographed) tongue.gif

benbeaninc
post Jan 8 2009, 03:39 AM

39 posts

any aikido interest here?
JimBeam101
post Jan 10 2009, 12:32 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Jan 7 2009, 11:39 AM)
I love boxing. The ol' classic boxing that forbids using legs.
Btw, i'm a Judoka here.
surehit
post Jan 10 2009, 01:20 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(JimBeam101 @ Jan 10 2009, 12:32 PM)
I love boxing. The ol' classic boxing that forbids using legs.
Btw, i'm a Judoka here.
Ol' school boxing has not been around since the advent of the jab. But yes, ol' school boxing is brutal. sweat.gif

Where do you do your Judo, I've frens who train in Bangsar Sports Club.

You know, if you mix up your Judo with Boxing, now that'll be something awesome! thumbup.gif

frankzane
post Jan 11 2009, 12:38 AM

664 posts

haha.i just learn 3 days only.hand skin bengkak bcoz practise vertical punch(like yip man movie-fast forward punch).i and my wife learn wing chun but my wife better.wing chun founder it's women.guys learn wing chun need to be soft like women but not sissy type and don't use   energy.That's why abit hard for guys.wing chun and tai chi are 80% almost same.soft,strike,trap and use chi.

Added on January 7, 2009, 9:37 am
maybe but in us and uk got alot jeet kune do class.i found 1 jkd center in malaysia but i don't know it's true or false.

http://mymall.netbuilder.com.my/index.php?..._article&aid=20
if i'm not wrong, wing chun is "hard type" martial art, whereas the soft ones are like tai chi, ba gua, i-ching.

where did you learn wing chun?

Added on January 11, 2009, 12:42 amsorry, din read till the end. is Sifu Kenneth good?

This post has been edited by frankzane: Jan 11 2009, 12:42 AM
JimBeam101
post Jan 11 2009, 02:16 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(surehit @ Jan 10 2009, 01:20 PM)
Ol' school boxing has not been around since the advent of the jab. But yes, ol' school boxing is brutal.  sweat.gif

Where do you do your Judo, I've frens who train in Bangsar Sports Club.

You know, if you mix up your Judo with Boxing, now that'll be something awesome!  thumbup.gif
Haha that would be deadly, just wondering........where can i learn boxing?

Oo....we have a club here at MMU Malacca.
Lim Khim Seng is our sensei for the club. A 5th Dan Judoka. Also an IJF Referee for Malaysia.
He's good, but i'm lousy. The reason being........i'm LAZY. haha. Need to train more.

wah chai
post Jan 11 2009, 12:38 PM

717 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Jan 11 2009, 12:38 AM)
if i'm not wrong, wing chun is "hard type" martial art, whereas the soft ones are like tai chi, ba gua, i-ching.

where did you learn wing chun?

Added on January 11, 2009, 12:42 amsorry, din read till the end. is Sifu Kenneth good?
wing chun 80% same with tai chi.need soft because the founder are women.women kungfu.don't need use energy.just push or use chi.
good.easy to understand,teach well but when he teaching..he very serious and talk loud
surehit
post Jan 11 2009, 07:08 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(JimBeam101 @ Jan 11 2009, 02:16 AM)
Haha that would be deadly, just wondering........where can i learn boxing?

Oo....we have a club here at MMU Malacca.
Lim Khim Seng is our sensei for the club. A 5th Dan Judoka. Also an IJF Referee for Malaysia.
He's good, but i'm lousy. The reason being........i'm LAZY. haha. Need to train more.
Well, my coaches are good too, and I'm lousy coz of the same reason, lazy. tongue.gif

We have boxing here in our gym, but it's with MMA flavour, eg. modified square stance to prevent takedowns.

Places that offer boxing is Allied Martial Arts gym in Sri Hartamas, TNT and Extreme Kickboxing (also in Sri Hartamas). TNT and Extreme is more kickboxing with emphasis on cardio & fitness. Only Allied had a pro-boxing program last I heard. Also a place in SS2 with a Russian coach but forgot the name. Anyone can help?

Other places are probably RMC, Pulapol, and all those cadet schools which produce some of the country best amatuer boxers.

We used to have friendly matches with Judokas from Bangsar Judo Club. We use BJJ against Judo and normally the Judoka would get the throws and pins but unable to finish with any submissions. Once on the ground, things favour the BJJ chap more, with all other things (size, strength, speed, timing etc) being equal = same weight class.

xvii
post Jan 12 2009, 11:15 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Jan 7 2009, 09:39 AM)

Well said...thats what i have been doing for 8 years. well not alone tongue.gif but with another bro of mine. He guides me ..sometimes i guide him ( fewtimes tongue.gif )..but yeh we are a part of a JKD CLub here..still its better to develop yourself. Total freedom and make your own moves ( that doesn mean that you will make some meaningless moves). There are things which are needed to be taught.
I would recommend to those who ever wishes to learn JKD to read the Tao of JeetKuneDo c
jurusilat
post Jan 13 2009, 01:29 AM

176 posts

JKD club? Where do you guys train? Who's the instructor? (JKD extremely rare in M'sia)...

QUOTE(xvii @ Jan 12 2009, 11:15 PM)
..but yeh we are a part of a JKD CLub here..still its better to develop yourself. Total freedom and make your own moves ( that doesn mean that you will make some meaningless moves). There are things which are needed to be taught.
I would recommend to those who ever wishes to learn JKD to read the Tao of JeetKuneDo c
wah chai
post Jan 13 2009, 09:45 AM

717 posts

nowdays jkd have changed or mixed.not really jkd bruce lee's styles.i also very interested to know where to learn jkd. smile.gif
takeshi99
post Jan 13 2009, 10:50 AM

!!! GREENPEACE ACTIVIST !!!
1,239 posts

wah chai, if there's a JKD club in Malaysia then its not original. As u know JKD is created by Bruce Lee's thinking and philosophy. No one can able to read Bruce Lee's mind but u can feel his passion. That's mean if u wanna learn real JKD, u have to learn direct from Bruce Lee or at least his close fren...

Actually U can apply JKD in any MAs, u can buy Bruce Lee's books and read, i think this is the best way to apply. Example, u use JKD to enhance your kickboxing...something like tat...
jurusilat
post Jan 13 2009, 10:42 PM

176 posts

This looks like the only place nearest to M'sia where JKD is available:

http://www.ijkd.com/
surehit
post Jan 14 2009, 01:52 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(takeshi99 @ Jan 13 2009, 10:50 AM)
wah chai, if there's a JKD club in Malaysia then its not original. As u know JKD is created by Bruce Lee's thinking and philosophy. No one can able to read Bruce Lee's mind but u can feel his passion. That's mean if u wanna learn real JKD, u have to learn direct from Bruce Lee or at least his close fren...

Actually U can apply JKD in any MAs, u can buy Bruce Lee's books and read, i think this is the best way to apply. Example, u use JKD to enhance your kickboxing...something like tat...
Nice understanding & explanation man. rclxms.gif

For those interested in JKD, here's a great blog from Malaysia: http://jkd-uswah.blogspot.com/

The video below by Tommy Carruthers, a JKD master, showed great similarities to Wing Chun. But do listen to Guro Dan Inosanto (Bruce Lee foremost student) explanation on JKD. Enjoy! icon_rolleyes.gif

jurusilat
post Jan 14 2009, 02:42 AM

176 posts

I like how he translates "attack by drawing" as "lukisan serangan"... tongue.gif

QUOTE(surehit @ Jan 14 2009, 01:52 AM)

For those interested in JKD, here's a great blog from Malaysia: http://jkd-uswah.blogspot.com/

34 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0250sec    1.07    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:27 AM