★★★ Martial Art Talk : Version 3★★★, Any kind of Martial Art, all welcome !!!

SilentVampire
post Aug 10 2007, 11:13 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(jurusilat @ Aug 10 2007, 05:30 AM)
Any of you guys checked out the "Ultimate Jujitsu Championship" held at Subang Parade last Sunday? It was run by the Tanaka Ryu Jujitsu guys.
Tanaka Ryu Jujitsu? Never heard of it before. How is the Ultimate Jujitsu Championship anyway?
SilentVampire
post Aug 27 2007, 05:26 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(nlik @ Aug 27 2007, 07:22 PM)
I saw on saturday only. Stayed for around 11 bouts.  Sunday skip.

Announcer keep saying "tak boleh main siku, tak boleh main lutut", " bila saya cakap berhenti, berhenti... bila saya cakap lawan, kamu lawan" "Kalau seseorang itu jatuh, janganlah rembat lagi"

The announcer then referred the fighters with fruits. the red glove , strawberry, orange glove is oren. So sometimes he would say "bagi dia perisa strawberry" .If the match sucked he says "kedua dua put takda rasa perisa...." biggrin.gif

Sideline.. some guy keep making jokes about "barang" .. was funny at 1st but later got abit tiring.  When got walkover, he used the word "Barang" as the guy's barang is too powerful until the opponent did not want to fight.  I later realized barang sometimes meant the groin guard". The participants not allowed to use own groin guard. Must use supplied groin guard. Use string to tie 1 and not the tkd zap-on type. ahaha.. flex.gif . All fighters only wear boxing gloves and groin guard. no other protection is allowed.

They are abit lenient on late comers. 3 calls on the loud speaker. Maybe wait a few minutes to allow the fighter to reach the ring, then wait some more to wear the glove, tape the glove with cellophane,then find out the groin guard not properly tied and go run to back room to retie, then inspection, finally enter the ring.

Generally, I see those muay thai and kick boxing style or boxing + brave to initiate attack are the best there. Direct go in and hit, no fancy stuff. Saw several backswings attempts but all miss.  Got 1 thin tkd guy, but he didn't have distance (opponent keep close) and kept off balance. Usual thing I guess. Low kicks are allowed. I saw a few low roundhouses to thigh and back of the knee area.
Most embarrasing is the S**at. Many colorful hand gestures and poses, but get whacked by the direct kicks and punches. Even kneel down in the ring  ready to attack. How tempting it is to do a headshot. hmm.gif . There was 1 S**at  (I THINK) person did quite well, but he stick to punches and kick without the flowers. (I guess silat has many types so could be different school)

Saw a few good one's who clearly have experience fighting before. A few clowns and some ok ok guys who can punch and kick but lack stamina.  Mostly malay participants and spectators. I think i was the only chinese guy standing at 1 side, another 2 stood for a few moments then left. Got a few chinese fighters (wushu/muaythai) but no indian fighthers. I was expecting a few indian karate fighters, but none during my watch.
Can see that the ring referees are experienced. They do rush in to stop matches at the appropriate times.

Note:
Every participant wore standard event singlet, but is free to choose their pants. So I partly observe and tell which fighter is from which art by the pants and of course from their fighting actions.
Great report rclxms.gif
SilentVampire
post Aug 30 2007, 07:54 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(jurusilat @ Aug 30 2007, 05:17 AM)
How come it's called Ultimate Warrior but they're basically using watered down  kickboxing rules?
Yeah, no elbows, knees or kicking below the belt. Lol. No ground game too shakehead.gif
SilentVampire
post Aug 30 2007, 03:43 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(nlik @ Aug 30 2007, 07:10 PM)
Like proton lor, engine name is Campro, but actual cam profiling feature is missing.

kicking  below belt allowed. Ground i duno, but I saw a few takedowns which were not penalized. Referee just halt the match and break them apart.
Lol. Thts wht i mean. The name ultimate warrior is so stupid. Ultimate fighter in U.S is even better.
SilentVampire
post Oct 15 2007, 06:37 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

SilentVampire
post Mar 30 2008, 08:27 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(popcorn513 @ Mar 26 2008, 04:33 PM)
All the fighter besides learning how to fight must know how to run right, since we can't expect always in winning condition tongue.gif
Sun Tze Military concept - retreat at the right time to avoid lose so we can win back later notworthy.gif
Lol rclxms.gif
SilentVampire
post Jul 6 2008, 08:07 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Jul 6 2008, 11:01 PM)
I think i still interested in hand combat in close proximity and disarm weapon technique using arm . I want to know which master work as Special force in SAS or military before. I want to be the next Jason Bourne. Should i take Wushu instead because of the fast hand technique?

All these kickboxing stuff sounds cartooney.
Lol. U won't be able to find any master that work as Special Forces of SAS. All the kickboxing stuff is not cartooney. Go to one of the classes and try to spar in the kickboxing tournament. Your dream of becoming the next Jason Bourne is cartooney. Stop dreaming and stop criticizing kickboxing if you have no experience in it. Amateur tongue.gif
SilentVampire
post Oct 25 2008, 07:25 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(ToGo @ Oct 24 2008, 01:46 AM)
I am one of the judo ka who breed from Penang.
Now train at Bangsar, KL.
Yup, agree that judo is a very danger martial art if use for fighting.
I never use it in real fight before but some of my junior got that experience.
Even myself scared to fight with judo out of the matress.
One on purpose throw on floor, can break ppl neck instantly.
Judo is a very dangerous martial art? Only if the person have enough strength to catch you or hold you down and execute the movement. Other than that, I don't see how it is that dangerous. Wrestling is more harder and more practical. If you know a bit of wrestling, you can counter most of the judo techniques.
SilentVampire
post Jan 7 2009, 11:39 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

I don't know if all of you are aware of the fact that you can't learn JKD, but it's just plain stupid to find a place that teaches JKD. JKD is a concept, something you learn and develop yourself based on your own experience in martial arts. The JKD you learn in a place is based on someone's else experience, something which he or she develop him/herself. Try to learn more about JKD before finding a class. If you are really serious about learning JKD, just try to find a class that teaches JKD concepts, not JKD itself. Hope that clears things up.

Btw, Wing Chun is impressive but it's hard to find good teachers nowadays as there are many people that claims to teach the 'real' Wing Chun. If you like using your hands to fight, learn Boxing.

0.0298sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:11 PM