385 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ Jul 24 2020, 02:12 PM)
How to 'Find Optimal Location'?
u mean on 192.168.8.1 right? couldnt find any RSRQ or SINR settings :/
You need to download this app on Google Play, HUAWEI AI Life
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...rthome&hl=en_US

and HManager app to lock Band.

I used both apps concurrently to optimize the parameter.
ace-user
post Jul 24 2020, 03:22 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(lleihuan @ Jul 24 2020, 02:38 PM)

HManager not in playstore right? have to sideload the apk?
Thanks for the tip! Gonna try it tonight.
ace-user
post Jul 25 2020, 02:36 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(lleihuan @ Jul 24 2020, 02:38 PM)

so i tried using the Huawei AI Life & placed the router at a place with 90% but still ping in gaming is insane. minimum 60, fluctuates a lot to 100++ and sometimes even goes to 1000++ but did not DC. Unplayable man sad.gif
TSbl@ze
post Jul 25 2020, 04:10 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ Jul 25 2020, 02:36 PM)
so i tried using the Huawei AI Life & placed the router at a place with 90% but still ping in gaming is insane. minimum 60, fluctuates a lot to 100++ and sometimes even goes to 1000++ but did not DC. Unplayable man  sad.gif
Unfortunately 4G is unsuitable for gaming bro..I have my digi infinite for streaming and downloads but I still maintain my stupid streamyx 4mbps just for gaming.

Only fiber and adsl lines have the stability needed for gaming.
ace-user
post Jul 25 2020, 06:43 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(bl@ze @ Jul 25 2020, 04:10 PM)
Unfortunately 4G is unsuitable for gaming bro..I have my digi infinite for streaming and downloads but I still maintain my stupid streamyx 4mbps just for gaming.

Only fiber and adsl lines have the stability needed for gaming.
well that sucks, have to force my family to use the maxis one go then while i use the unifi lite 10mbps for gaming tongue.gif
ckimsem
post Jul 25 2020, 08:22 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ Jul 25 2020, 07:43 PM)
well that sucks, have to force my family to use the maxis one go then while i use the unifi lite 10mbps for gaming  tongue.gif
Gaming on 4G wireless network might be different for each and every location. Your location needs to get somewhat stable download and upload, high speed isn’t main factor and I believe your SINR needs to be very stable at 10db or higher, check on your modem webpages.

This post has been edited by ckimsem: Jul 25 2020, 10:21 PM
ace-user
post Jul 25 2020, 11:29 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(ckimsem @ Jul 25 2020, 08:22 PM)
Gaming on 4G wireless network might be different for each and every location. Your location needs to get somewhat stable download and upload, high speed isn’t main factor and I believe your SINR needs to be very stable at 10db or higher, check on your modem webpages.

Mine only at 9dB sad.gif
ckimsem
post Jul 26 2020, 09:57 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ Jul 26 2020, 12:29 AM)
Mine only at 9dB sad.gif
I meant it'll remain at around ±10db most of the time. and not dropping much after you press refresh button every a few seconds.

Wait, I missed something, you said 60ms. The games my nieces play are normally getting around 45-60ms, and yes ping spike will happen on wireless network sometimes, like bl@ze said "Unfortunately, 4G is unsuitable for gaming".

This post has been edited by ckimsem: Jul 26 2020, 02:36 PM
ace-user
post Jul 26 2020, 11:51 PM

Easily Poisoned
2,154 posts

QUOTE(ckimsem @ Jul 26 2020, 09:57 AM)
I meant it'll remain at around ±10db most of the time. and not dropping much after you press refresh button every a few seconds.

Wait, I missed something, you said 60ms. The games my nieces play are normally getting around 45-60ms, and yes ping spike will happen on wireless network sometimes, like bl@ze said "Unfortunately, 4G is unsuitable for gaming".
Yeah even on my unifi lite I oso get about 40-60ms, but it doesn't fluctuate that much. On maxis one go my ping range from 60-1000ms, yes 1000ms, funny enough I won't dc although ping so high lol
ckimsem
post Jul 27 2020, 07:58 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ Jul 27 2020, 12:51 AM)
Yeah even on my unifi lite I oso get about 40-60ms, but it doesn't fluctuate that much. On maxis one go my ping range from 60-1000ms, yes 1000ms, funny enough I won't dc although ping so high lol
My gaming experience is quite stable at 45~55ms and rarely ping spike, that's why my nieces don't complain.
If gaming is your priority, then this plan might not suitable for u.

You may try Digi infinite 150 for RM150 monthly. Digi is very unstable and slow at my location, just like your place, ping could get as high as 1500ms.

Or Unifi Mobile Bebas prepaid which currently is on promo for RM35 for 30days. I was using it previously, it was quite stable at about 55ms. Discussion at - https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4750658/+3680#entry97614875

This post has been edited by ckimsem: Jul 27 2020, 08:02 PM
budi1413
post Aug 1 2020, 09:27 PM

1,607 posts

registering this bb few days ago. got nice 0127xxxxxx. maxis is really keeping 012 number to them. laugh.gif
farisbangsar
post Aug 3 2020, 06:54 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(budi1413 @ Aug 1 2020, 09:27 PM)
registering this bb few days ago. got nice 0127xxxxxx. maxis is really keeping 012 number to them. laugh.gif
same here. surprisingly got a nice number. so far very happy with Maxis' performance.
sharpman
post Aug 8 2020, 09:29 AM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

So I have exceeded 300 GB quota for this month.

My speed is capped to 20 Mbps, tested both on Fast.com and Speedtest.net

Tried downloading a 1 GB file, download rate capped to 2.5 MBps (20 Mbps)

Conclusion: I can survive with 20 Mbps speed

Sekian, my report.

sharpman
post Aug 8 2020, 09:30 AM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(STEVE75 @ Jul 14 2020, 10:11 AM)
confirmed after 300gb speed cap at 30mbps
For me, after using 300 GB speed capped to 20 Mbps
ckimsem
post Aug 8 2020, 09:29 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Aug 8 2020, 10:30 AM)
For me, after using 300 GB speed capped to 20 Mbps
Since Maxis hasn’t clearly stated its FUP, I believe Maxis could change whatever deems fit, and so throttled the speed to 20mbps now as compared to 30mbps previously.
After 300gb usage, most of the video streaming, included those YouTube & Facebook ones, are throttled to only 512kbps.

This post has been edited by ckimsem: Aug 8 2020, 09:30 PM
mydurian
post Aug 10 2020, 10:25 AM

854 posts

QUOTE(lleihuan @ Jul 21 2020, 01:57 PM)
It is worth the extra.
I have both B525 and B818-now testing with Unifi Air.
B818 is a future proof router and it is also 5G ready.
Hi there,

I'm thinking to get this B818.
Could you share how much diff (speed wise) between B525 & B818?
Going to use it with Unifi Air.

Currently using B310 and getting 40Mbps / 2Mbps @ Band 38 (SINR: 22+).
Its the upload that I'm not happy about. I'm wondering, is it this B818 has carrier aggregation that makes it faster?

This post has been edited by mydurian: Aug 10 2020, 10:27 AM
alikato94
post Aug 10 2020, 10:36 AM

"Sorry for my English"
774 posts

QUOTE(destiny017 @ Jul 12 2020, 10:57 PM)
Better buy your own modem is better, it not good to be lock into 12 contract and somehow these ISP/Telco provided modem not as good as you think.
oh if take the 12 month contract modem, means cannot terminate your maxis one go plan???
destiny017
post Aug 10 2020, 12:57 PM

Zanza the Divine
728 posts

QUOTE(alikato94 @ Aug 10 2020, 10:36 AM)
oh if take the 12 month contract modem, means cannot terminate your maxis one go plan???
Penalty's rm500 for early termination.
lleihuan
post Aug 10 2020, 04:02 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(mydurian @ Aug 10 2020, 10:25 AM)
Hi there,

I'm thinking to get this B818.
Could you share how much diff (speed wise) between B525 & B818?
Going to use it with Unifi Air.

Currently using B310 and getting 40Mbps / 2Mbps @ Band 38 (SINR: 22+).
Its the upload that I'm not happy about. I'm wondering, is it this B818 has carrier aggregation that makes it faster?
I am using Unifi Air(B818) and Digi Infinite 150 (B525).
Infinite 150 downloads and upload are better than Unifi Air by a mile.
Especially upload.
Unifi Air uploads, really bad even on B818.
Not a hardware problem.

mydurian
post Aug 10 2020, 04:18 PM

854 posts

QUOTE(lleihuan @ Aug 10 2020, 04:02 PM)
I am using Unifi Air(B818) and Digi Infinite 150 (B525).
Infinite 150 downloads and upload are better than Unifi Air by a mile.
Especially upload.
Unifi Air uploads, really bad even on B818.
Not a hardware problem.
Thanks for sharing.
I was skeptical whether getting the B818 will help. furthermore its not cheap.
If can get 30/30Mbps also happy enough. But area no fiber. only copper...hence still searching.

Btw, for Digi 150, what's the average speed possible if within a 4G+ area?

30 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0351sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:23 PM