Maxis One Go Wifi, Now with unlimited(?) quota

ckimsem
post May 22 2020, 01:17 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ May 22 2020, 11:43 AM)
I used their RM138 package before that comes with 65 GB 2 years back.

Even own 2 of their Huawei modem. The speed stated is 30Mbps but it's blazingly fast.

I currently use Yoodo (using Celcom network) but noticeably laggy even though stated speed is 30Mbps also

Will move back to Maxis, taking the SIM only package that doesn't comes with 24 months contract
If it can have a stable speed at 30mbps and low latency, that's highly accepted. Now, the issue is if it's truly unlimited data? If it's just like the fibre + postpaid one which limited to only 300GB and then get heavily throttled, it would be not worthy.
ckimsem
post May 22 2020, 03:57 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(kevinpss @ May 22 2020, 04:05 PM)
look into the fine print,
1) the plan is still RM138/month, RM30 rebate for 12 months. >< so after 12 months it will still need to pay RM138/month as usual.
2) the special promo only for new/existing maxis customer.
What is the offer for MaxisONE Go WiFi at RM108/month about?
This offer is for MaxisONE Go WiFi customers with existing Maxis Postpaid RM98 plan and above. Eligible customers will get to enjoy RM30 rebate per month for 12 months for MaxisONE Go WiFi 138 plan.
Well, comparing Maxis to Digi i150, Maxis is still cheaper. Furthermore, you can get a modem for RM1 with 12 months contract. Digi doesn't provide any contract plan with modem since it's not a broadband plan.
You can't compare this to fibre cause it has stated that "even if you're not in fibre coverage", meaning this plan suits those have only a little choice like me.

This post has been edited by ckimsem: May 23 2020, 06:37 PM
ckimsem
post May 26 2020, 04:15 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ May 26 2020, 04:46 PM)
If Maxis fiber throttle after 300GB of data, it's very likely Maxis is going with the same route for Maxis Go WiFi plan...
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4676932/+3380#
According to MilesAndMore, the 300GB only affect video streaming quality. I hope he would clarify more on it here.
ckimsem
post May 29 2020, 07:40 PM

1,132 posts

Today, I received a call from Maxis regarding this MaxisOne Go Wifi. I was told once again that it's truly unlimited with speed up to 20mbps only.
tai_digidestany Since you said you could get 100mbps, are you using this broadband plan or mobile plan?
Brembo Performance I wonder if you could show some screenshots of your modem webpages regarding the RSRP, & SiNR.

This post has been edited by ckimsem: May 29 2020, 07:47 PM
ckimsem
post May 29 2020, 08:59 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Brembo Performance @ May 29 2020, 08:55 PM)
"Pics or it dint happen"

Edit: I will try to do a every 2-hour speed update for anyone that is interested
I'm not saying screenshot of speed test, I meant the one shows your SINR or RSRP.
Something like you dial *#0011# on Samsung phone.
ckimsem
post May 30 2020, 02:00 PM

1,132 posts

I'm now aboard on this MaxisOne Go Wifi, however I'm worried there's the 300GB hidden quotas. Therefore, I just got the SIM only without contract. Now, everything seems quite good. Although not as fast as some people, it's highly confirmed better than Unifi Lite.

This post has been edited by ckimsem: May 30 2020, 02:53 PM
ckimsem
post May 30 2020, 04:17 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Senta @ May 30 2020, 05:00 PM)
I went to a maxis store today. I wanted to sign up for the plan but the lady told me I need to wait until 4 June and advised me to come back on 4th June.... NANI??!?! I'm confused. Has anyone here managed to sign up for the plan and get the sim from the store?
I just signed up today for SIM only without contract. The modem is out of stock atm. The guy said need to leave my contact details and return to pick the modem when arrived if I need one, plus 12 months contract too.
Unless the Maxis center you go has no more SIM card in stock, I don't know why you need to wait till 4 June.

This post has been edited by ckimsem: May 30 2020, 04:21 PM
ckimsem
post May 30 2020, 05:28 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Brembo Performance @ May 30 2020, 04:35 PM)
user posted image[/url]
Mate I was as optimistic as you before, but I recommend monitoring your download speed throughout the day. Im still monitoring mine.. fluctuations are still happening ranging 7Mbps-28Mbps from today 8am till now. Also. dont forget to test YT during "peak hours", should be 6-11pm.

For anyone interested I will update my average speed results tonight once I get a full view of the fluctuations.
Fluctuations? Are you expecting this wireless broadband to stable at like 25mbps all the time? Do you know every telco has a term with speed up to XXmbps for 80% of the time?
Actually, I hope this will be a good alternative for everyone who has only a few options. If it's not good, I could terminate anytime since it doesn't have any contract.

QUOTE(Senta @ May 30 2020, 05:34 PM)
like your case, I don't need the modem. but only needed the sim. I told them I'm ok to have 65G data quota while waiting till 4th June, I told them i don't need the modem. She just straight up told me to come back on 4th June. She didnt mention anything about the sim stock. But, she keeps mentioning that the unlimited quota policy will be effectively enforced on 4th June.

The worst thing is the closest store to my place is closed and I have to drive a long way to this maxis store and got turned away. sad.gif

Btw, I'm staying at Johor, Skudai area, maxis 4G signal is good here. Looks like I have to wait.
You have nothing to lose for signing up later. For many people have signed up this plan, they may share what's good or bad. You could get HOTLINK for the time being since it offers extra 20gb for every Hotlink MU purchases until CMCO ended. It costs RM3.50 for 20gb+/day.

This post has been edited by ckimsem: May 30 2020, 05:37 PM
ckimsem
post May 30 2020, 09:20 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Brembo Performance @ May 30 2020, 09:43 PM)
Mate, not 25Mbps all the time, but at least 10Mbps? I dont even get 10 sometimes, I dont understand. My laptop is not moving arnd, the router is not moving around. The cell tower certainly damn sure not moving around. If its phone I understand, but the cell tower-modem-laptop is stationary mate. I know its UP TO 20Mbps, but come on... my phone has stabler connection and is moving arnd wei.

Btw seriously go check ur YT speed. I kena throttle again start 8pm. Max 1.5Mbps, after vpn 5-7Mbps.
I don't watch YT that much. And, (1) how do I check YT speed?
2) What devices do you use with this Go Wifi?
3) Do you know Digi also have unlimited data for RM150 monthly?
4) Why do you not try Digi infinite 150 if Maxis is not so good?

PS: I turned on the "show network speed" on my phone, and tried to run a YT on auto. It ran on 480p with speed at around 50-170KB/s. So, I think it's as you said, the speed is throttled.

This post has been edited by ckimsem: May 30 2020, 09:34 PM
ckimsem
post May 31 2020, 09:34 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Brembo Performance @ May 30 2020, 11:26 PM)
OMG HOW CAN I FORGOT ABOUT DIGI... speechless... FML I seriously never thought about that. Should have gone with DIGI in the first place.

Its a funny story u know... I actually went to maxis to claim my zerolution360 warranty... ended up checking out the brochure during queue and walked out with this BS...
You could share your Digi experiences at https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4676932
There's also another unlimited data on Unifi Mobile Bebas (capped speed at 8mbps) or Unifi Air (location dependant), just in case Digi isn't good for you, https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4750658

This post has been edited by ckimsem: May 31 2020, 09:35 AM
ckimsem
post May 31 2020, 08:41 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(wetrabbit @ May 31 2020, 07:19 PM)
apex legend please
QUOTE(nightzstar @ May 31 2020, 08:50 PM)
Csgo, Dota2 and league of legends. Overwatch and fortnight too
Your connection might not be the same as him. So, you can take his as your reference. I think you had better buy a Hotlink prepaid to test your location.
ckimsem
post Jun 1 2020, 07:34 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Jun 1 2020, 02:20 PM)
I dont have a confirm way to check my usage, i can only assume using the modem statistics.

By manual calculation i should have exceed the 300GB by now, but right now still downloading games from steam with 80-90Mbps (8-9MB).

BUT as we all know Malaysia Telco will shut one eye for all new plan until 3-4 months when they have acquired a lot of people.
Have you checked if you exceeded 300GB yet? And, when is your billing cycle?
ckimsem
post Jun 3 2020, 09:56 AM

1,132 posts

I'm feeling like this MaxisONE Go Wifi is getting capped speed on Sunday, I might be mistaken hmm.gif .

Done on my desktop:

Mobile postpaid plan done on phone:

silentser can you confirm this, please?

PS: After restarting the modem, it seems return to normal speed at 50mbps, tongue.gif .

This post has been edited by ckimsem: Jun 3 2020, 10:21 AM
ckimsem
post Jun 3 2020, 02:21 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Jun 3 2020, 02:52 PM)
Did not notice any slowdown on Sunday for the whole day except the throttle 8pm-12am like usual. I think i already pass 300GB still able to download with high speed and stream without throttle.
It might be my modem problem, problem solved after restarting it.
It's good to know that it'll not throttle the speed after reaching 300GB, and I hope Maxis doesn't change its FUP silently.
Could you please let's know if there's any throttle after 400gb or 500gb? My family monthly usage is more or less 400gb.
ckimsem
post Jun 3 2020, 04:46 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(arkana @ Jun 3 2020, 04:44 PM)
May I know what 4G modem are using? Are you using 4G+ Cat6 modem?
I use Huawei B618s-65d for MaxisONE Go Wifi, also tested on Huawei B525s-65a.

ckimsem
post Jun 3 2020, 05:09 PM

1,132 posts

I've noticed that YouTube runs at 480p on phone/ipad on default, and won't changed to a high res...
If I play it on PC, it'll run up to 1080p.
It seems the throttled only happen on mobile devices although I might be wrong. Hope others could confirm this?
ckimsem
post Jun 4 2020, 07:46 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Jun 3 2020, 09:46 PM)
Okey, i reinstall official andraoid YouTube app.

It will auto play on 480p but i can change the quality to 1080p. Can i get more details when you mentioned won't changd to high res? You changed the quality but the video still showing 480p?

On computer definitely still throttle during 8pm-12am for me
Yes, I know I can change the 1080p on manual, I meant it'll run up to 480p only on auto/default.
On PC, it'll still throttled at 8pm-12am, but it runs 720p on default although it'll buffer at times.
Anyways, I just need to a confirmation and it's not an issue to me since I don't watch YouTube a lot.
ckimsem
post Jun 8 2020, 06:43 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(destiny017 @ Jun 8 2020, 02:14 AM)
Wanna ask this maxis one go wifi can call or not , or just data plan only? hmm.gif
No, it does not have outgoing calling or SMS features.

This post has been edited by ckimsem: Jun 8 2020, 06:43 AM
ckimsem
post Jun 8 2020, 01:25 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(destiny017 @ Jun 8 2020, 11:36 AM)
mean still can receive call and sms?
Only receiving SMSes from telco so far.
ckimsem
post Jun 8 2020, 01:34 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(destiny017 @ Jun 8 2020, 02:27 PM)
Is there any contract on this or FOC?
No contract for SIM only, still enjoying RM30 rebate x 12 months for Maxis postpaid users.
12 months contract if you take the modem for RM1 (one time).

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0298sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:54 PM