Money in EPF vs Unit Trusts

CommodoreAmiga
post Sep 15 2022, 01:33 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Sep 15 2022, 11:46 AM)
guys .. means its best just keep the money in EPF? in general ya.. after minus fee etc
It all depends on you. There is no straight answer. If you are not risk taker, EPF is safest bet. If you already rich enough, EPF also good (the top tier people in EPF have like over RM10 millions in there...surely these people are not stupid people). But for most people, probably they will want to proportionate their portfolios between EPF, FDs, Stock Market, Money Market and Unit Trust. Although personally i hate Unit Trust. I have a bit, won't buy more. I will rather buy stocks myself as i know exactly what i am getting into. I just likes to have control over my finances.

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Sep 15 2022, 01:34 PM
Ramjade
post Sep 15 2022, 04:27 PM

24,389 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Sep 15 2022, 11:46 AM)
guys .. means its best just keep the money in EPF? in general ya.. after minus fee etc
Keep in mind EPF is giving you around 5%p.a
So if you want to buy a unit trust, make sure the returns are more than 5%p.a to make it worth it.

If you want fee free. Use FSM
If you want to use EPF money to buy unit trust. I will say don't bother. The only good unit trust available to buy via EPF money is principal global titans fund. Rest of the unit trust are a joke (negative returns or less than 5%p.a). Global titans have been suspended likely political cause EPF wants you to invest money into bursa.
If you want to contribute extra money into EPF, think twice. You are getting paid 5%p.a in RM. Can you get 5%p.a in SGD or USD? Of course.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 15 2022, 04:28 PM
SUSBrookLes
post Sep 15 2022, 04:39 PM

1,354 posts

And this is what I really hate about Malaysia.
Malaysians are unsophisticated and willing to cheat others to the point of asking people to put their epf money into unit trust. Even Singaporeans do not do that. At least they have a conscious not to ask ppl to put monies into a fund which in most cases give a far lower return then epf.

Unless you can find a fund that gives around 10%. But those funds are risky anyway
FSMOne Malaysia
post Nov 15 2022, 03:52 PM

64 posts

The consistency of EPF in producing positive return is unparalleled and jives with many Malaysians whom prefer consistent and stable returns for our live savings.

Never the less, unit trust will always be an option for investors with higher risk appetite. An experienced and knowledgeable investor would be able to apply the right strategy in order to take advantage of the various opportunities that arise from market and fund volatility.
CommodoreAmiga
post Nov 15 2022, 03:56 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Sep 15 2022, 04:39 PM)
And this is what I really hate about Malaysia.
Malaysians are unsophisticated and willing to cheat others to the point of asking people to put their epf money into unit trust. Even Singaporeans do not do that. At least they have a conscious not to ask ppl to put monies into a fund which in most cases give a far lower return then epf.

Unless you can find a fund that gives around 10%. But those funds are risky anyway
Yes, UT agents are real mathafarkers, preying on your EPF like vultures.

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Nov 15 2022, 03:57 PM
SUSBrookLes
post Nov 15 2022, 04:31 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(FSMOne Malaysia @ Nov 15 2022, 03:52 PM)
The consistency of EPF in producing positive return is unparalleled and jives with many Malaysians whom prefer consistent and stable returns for our live savings.

Never the less, unit trust will always be an option for investors with higher risk appetite. An experienced and knowledgeable investor would be able to apply the right strategy in order to take advantage of the various opportunities that arise from market and fund volatility.
And why would you want to do that? You get at most 4-5% extra the most but take all of the risk.
The only reason why I would want to put my money into unit trust is so that I can take out my money from EPF instead of leaving my monies there. But apparently you cannot do that.

MUM
post Nov 15 2022, 04:50 PM

14,934 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Nov 15 2022, 04:31 PM)
And why would you want to do that? You get at most 4-5% extra the most but take all of the risk.
The only reason why I would want to put my money into unit trust is so that I can take out my money from EPF instead of leaving my monies there. But apparently you cannot do that.
I kaypoh as I am not qualified to gives financial advises...thus just talk talk only.

Some would plan investment in a more holistic manners...example, using asset allocation to determine their overall risk appetite in investing.
Example: using 70% fixed income against 30% equities ratio.
Thus some may use the money in epf as fixed income portion....if hv excess %,, move it to equities portion.
xander2k8
post Nov 15 2022, 05:54 PM

4,676 posts

Any UT using EPF no matter what the money still goes back to EPF once you liquidate UT

So no matter how you take out EPF there are only few reasons the money leaves EPF as it closed loop system 🤦‍♀️ hence EPF have yearly review of UT approved by EPF
CommodoreAmiga
post Nov 16 2022, 09:51 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Nov 15 2022, 05:54 PM)
Any UT using EPF no matter what the money still goes back to EPF once you liquidate UT

So no matter how you take out EPF there are only few reasons the money leaves EPF as it closed loop system 🤦‍♀️ hence EPF have yearly review of UT approved by EPF
Yep. I wipe out my UT from PBB and put it back to EPF earlier this year. Cukur. Now all market kantoi. Made me peanuts for like 10 years.
FSMOne Malaysia
post Nov 16 2022, 11:53 AM

64 posts

not really, if you look at the our fund selector for EPF fund in 10Y annualised perfomance, you can see that return is at least 9%+

but of course, current short-term market movement is normally driven by the market sentiment and it is rather hard to predict.

We believe the market tends to reflect its fair value over a longer-term (3 - 5 years) and we believe longer-term investment may ride out volatility and reduce the risk through market movements.

This post has been edited by FSMOne Malaysia: Nov 16 2022, 11:53 AM

xander2k8
post Nov 16 2022, 06:26 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Nov 16 2022, 09:51 AM)
Yep. I wipe out my UT from PBB and put it back to EPF earlier this year. Cukur. Now all market kantoi. Made me peanuts for like 10 years.
At least you still have gains I know many got burnt from UT especially those so called EPF disapproved list now 🤦‍♀️

EPF money better not touch unless major purchases and special withdrawals which I love so that can DIY ETFs instead 👏
djlake
post Nov 16 2022, 06:47 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(Enemy @ May 15 2020, 12:50 PM)
Let me first start by admitting that I am almost clueless about Unit Trusts. However a few years back I decided to support a friend who is a Public Mutual agent, and ever since funds have been withdrawn from my EPF to go into unit trusts that he manages. But it seems like his unit trusts have been underperforming (versus EPF's return) for the past few years since we started.

Now he's asking to withdraw even more from my EPF. Should I stop all of this and just keep the funds in EPF? Or let him continue with the unit trusts?
1. Whatever is in the fund, get to know it and learn a thing or two to understand it. Asking basic 5W1H questions to your friend/agent will help you point in the right direction.
2. Don't take out your EPF and invest anymore until you are clear about what you are investing in. Your friend/agent needs to do a lot more convincing/pitching. Don't just "stamp your thumb".
3. Every 3 months, agents will come and ask you to 'top-up' your investment or invest in a new fund. Most of the time, I stress again, most of the time, they want to collect their gaji (commission).
4. It's basic sales, you can sell more to your existing clients than to acquire new clients.
5. If your friend/agent can't go thru the questions in point 1, you can request to change to a different agent (one that can answer your questions). It's your right to ask and his responsibility to answer.
bcombat
post Nov 16 2022, 09:27 PM

998 posts

Instead of charging all the commission when investor buy the UT, how about the fund house to allocate certain commission is only payable when the UT has hit certain level of profit? For example collecting 5% of the total profit made when UT has hit 10% margin?

Otherwise, those fund house and agents not care about whether the investor made profit or not after putting the money inside. Also give long winded story not to redeem/ sold off the UT units because the fund house impose x% management fees per annum based on the amount we invested in….

T231H
post Nov 16 2022, 09:49 PM

5,143 posts

There are a number of UT funds in FSM that does not have sales charges....
bcombat
post Nov 16 2022, 10:46 PM

998 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Nov 16 2022, 09:49 PM)
There are a number of UT funds in FSM that does not have sales charges....
I am talking about the UT that sold through agents.
T231H
post Nov 16 2022, 10:56 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(bcombat @ Nov 16 2022, 10:46 PM)
I am talking about the UT that sold through agents.
FSM is not sort of agent also?
agent sells UT funds
FSM also sells UT funds

please elaborate the different so that others can help you with your query
bcombat
post Nov 16 2022, 11:06 PM

998 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Nov 16 2022, 10:56 PM)
agent sells UT funds
FSM also sells UT funds

Can you look at the flows of discussion here?
Are they talking about FSM?
T231H
post Nov 16 2022, 11:11 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(bcombat @ Nov 16 2022, 11:06 PM)
Can you look at the flows of discussion here?
Are they talking about FSM?
are they talking like what you asked in post 193?...

what you asked in post 193,...and my reply to you ...is NOT relevant?

This post has been edited by T231H: Nov 16 2022, 11:14 PM
daniellehu
post Nov 16 2022, 11:31 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(Enemy @ May 15 2020, 12:50 PM)
Let me first start by admitting that I am almost clueless about Unit Trusts. However a few years back I decided to support a friend who is a Public Mutual agent, and ever since funds have been withdrawn from my EPF to go into unit trusts that he manages. But it seems like his unit trusts have been underperforming (versus EPF's return) for the past few years since we started.

Now he's asking to withdraw even more from my EPF. Should I stop all of this and just keep the funds in EPF? Or let him continue with the unit trusts?
first of all, never dwelled too much into a UTMC past performances that is more than 10 years as majority of those good UT Fund Managers may have left the company. As for the investment, it is a must to keep investing consistently as to attained good return. In EPF, your contribution towards the fund is very consistent. Fund was placed into the scheme on a monthly basis consistently. The same must be done for any new UTS. Always go with a full time UTC who has time for you as UTS requires close monitoring and reporting. Pay close attention to your investment and it will takes care of you when you grow old.

all the best!
FSMOne Malaysia
post Nov 17 2022, 05:18 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Nov 16 2022, 10:56 PM)
agent sells UT funds
FSM also sells UT funds

dont get offended ya, but we normally do not call ourselves as agents.

We got more than 500 funds from more than 30 asset management companies, spanning across both equity and fixed income with exposure to more than 30 countries and regions across the globe.

We can support your DIY investment journey by provide unbiased investment ideas based on in-house research view.

i think thats why FSMOne stand out to investors biggrin.gif biggrin.gif ~~

This post has been edited by FSMOne Malaysia: Nov 17 2022, 05:20 PM

15 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:11 PM