Wise (Transferwise) Malaysia Discussion, v1.0

ericlaiys
post Jul 12 2022, 05:09 PM

7,565 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Jul 12 2022, 04:22 PM)
Hi All,

I have been using WISE a while to send money overseas. Rates pretty good. But I haven't used it to receive money. I have read FAQ and it says no charges but as always i don't really trust that.

Wondering any forummers here have personal experience receiving money on other currency? Do you get exact amount without any charge? What about convert that money to MYR and the withdraw the money out. Seems like many process and I'm not sure if it's entirely free.

1) Receive overseas funds - Free?
There are no fees to receive payments using your account details, with the exception of receiving US dollars domestic or SWIFT wires that cost $4.14 per transaction.

2) Convert to MYR - 0.41%?
Fee varies by currency - From 0.41%

3) Withdraw MYR to cash - Free?
If your card was issued in Malaysia: You can take out money for free twice a month — as long as the total amount is under 1,000 MYR. But after that, we’ll charge you 5 MYR per transaction. This is a fixed fee. If you take out over 1,000 MYR in one month, we’ll charge you 1.75% on top of that.

Hope someone with experience can share. Thanks!
my experience, transfer from paypal to Wise
USD converted. Before transfer, if less than USD 98- got rm3.80 fees. If over USD98, no fees.
They will show the currency conversion rate. So far you wont get USD 4.43. I only able to get USD 4.3 conversion

Paypal will tell u first, if you agree before transfer

I transfer back to local bank after that. No issue.

Withdrawal is from ATM.

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Jul 12 2022, 05:11 PM
Justmua
post Jul 12 2022, 05:33 PM

418 posts

Item 1 - If you have the particular currency wallet, then you can receive the currency for free (up to wallets total of USD 5K). As soon as the amount is more than USD 5K, it will be converted to MYR wallet and then withdrawn to your local bank account.

Item 3 - You can also withdraw to your MYR bank account from your MYR wallet. They charge RM 1.06 for that.

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Jul 12 2022, 04:22 PM)
Hi All,

I have been using WISE a while to send money overseas. Rates pretty good. But I haven't used it to receive money. I have read FAQ and it says no charges but as always i don't really trust that.

Wondering any forummers here have personal experience receiving money on other currency? Do you get exact amount without any charge? What about convert that money to MYR and the withdraw the money out. Seems like many process and I'm not sure if it's entirely free.

1) Receive overseas funds - Free?
There are no fees to receive payments using your account details, with the exception of receiving US dollars domestic or SWIFT wires that cost $4.14 per transaction.

2) Convert to MYR - 0.41%?
Fee varies by currency - From 0.41%

3) Withdraw MYR to cash - Free?
If your card was issued in Malaysia: You can take out money for free twice a month — as long as the total amount is under 1,000 MYR. But after that, we’ll charge you 5 MYR per transaction. This is a fixed fee. If you take out over 1,000 MYR in one month, we’ll charge you 1.75% on top of that.

Hope someone with experience can share. Thanks!
GymBoi
post Jul 12 2022, 05:55 PM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jul 12 2022, 05:09 PM)
my experience, transfer from paypal to Wise
USD converted. Before transfer, if less than USD 98- got rm3.80 fees. If over USD98, no fees.
They will show the currency conversion rate. So far you wont get USD 4.43. I only able to get USD 4.3 conversion

Paypal will tell u first, if you agree before transfer

I transfer back to local bank after that. No issue.

Withdrawal is from ATM.
U transfer USD to Wise or MYR? Sounds like u sent MYR and the conversion happened in paypal?

So withdraw MYR on ATM no fees. Thanks!

QUOTE(Justmua @ Jul 12 2022, 05:33 PM)
Item 1 - If you have the particular currency wallet, then you can receive the currency for free (up to wallets total of USD 5K). As soon as the amount is more than USD 5K, it will be converted to MYR wallet and then withdrawn to your local bank account.

Item 3 - You can also withdraw to your MYR bank account from your MYR wallet. They charge RM 1.06 for that.
1) thanks!
2) Withdraw to bank account from the app need charge 1.06? Withdraw from ATM is free?
FishGuts
post Jul 12 2022, 06:29 PM

23 posts

Hi sifus, I’m going to Thailand for a short holiday was wondering if wise is accepted there? I have a wise card already but have never used it in Malaysia before. Besides a one time pin activation what else should I do to enable usage in Thailand? Many thanks!
ericlaiys
post Jul 12 2022, 06:29 PM

7,565 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Jul 12 2022, 05:55 PM)
U transfer USD to Wise or MYR? Sounds like u sent MYR and the conversion happened in paypal?

1) thanks!
2) Withdraw to bank account from the app need charge 1.06? Withdraw from ATM is free?
i wish can send usd . but paypal dont allow.
Last time i did transfer usd from merchantrade
GymBoi
post Jul 12 2022, 06:30 PM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jul 12 2022, 06:29 PM)
i wish can send usd . but paypal dont allow.
Last time i did transfer usd from merchantrade
Got it .. thanks for sharing bro ...
Justmua
post Jul 12 2022, 07:40 PM

418 posts

Withdraw from ATM is limited to RM 1000 or 2 withdrawals per calendar month. Withdraw to bank account can be much higher amount.

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Jul 12 2022, 05:55 PM)

1) thanks!
acbc
post Jul 12 2022, 07:48 PM

9,045 posts

Got the Wise card and a MYR account. Tested transfering money from Maybank to Wise account under JP Morgan Malaysia via DuitNow. Works but not immediate. About 10 minutes then only received an email confirming the deposit.

Now I have created an USD account which also has an account number. Will try transfering from my ABA account in Cambodia. It also an USD account.
GymBoi
post Jul 12 2022, 08:11 PM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(Justmua @ Jul 12 2022, 07:40 PM)
Withdraw from ATM is limited to RM 1000 or 2 withdrawals per calendar month. Withdraw to bank account can be much higher amount.
Got it thanks bro! Will try receive CAD and share charges later with everyone (if any)
sairay
post Jul 13 2022, 02:42 PM

269 posts

Ok, noob here. Got a few question need help to clear my doubt.

1. Would like some advice for investing/saving USD/GBP/AUD. Is a traditional bank FCA better or WISE better?
2. Is there a max holding limit in WISE multi-currency account?
3. How secure and safe is WISE? Do they have physical presence and what are the remedies if account dispute? Transaction are all recorded and BNM approve?

Appreciate those who take some time to answer my query. Thanks

MUM
post Jul 13 2022, 04:10 PM

14,867 posts

QUOTE(sairay @ Jul 13 2022, 02:42 PM)
Ok, noob here. Got a few question need help to clear my doubt.

1. Would like some advice for investing/saving USD/GBP/AUD. Is a traditional bank FCA better or WISE better?
2. Is there a max holding limit in WISE multi-currency account?
3. How secure and safe is WISE? Do they have physical presence and what are the remedies if account dispute? Transaction are all recorded and BNM approve?

Appreciate those who take some time to answer my query. Thanks
Googled and found these,...
For individual customers, the maximum amount that your Wise Account can hold at any time is 20,000 Malaysian Ringgit (MYR) (or such equivalent aggregate amount in foreign currencies).
https://wise.com/my/terms-of-use#:~:text=Fo...n%20currencies).

TransferWise Secures Remittance License in Malaysia
by Fintech News Malaysia June 17, 2019
https://fintechnews.my/20874/payments-remit...e-malaysia-bnm/

sairay
post Jul 13 2022, 05:16 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 13 2022, 04:10 PM)
Googled and found these,...
For individual customers, the maximum amount that your Wise Account can hold at any time is 20,000 Malaysian Ringgit (MYR) (or such equivalent aggregate amount in foreign currencies).
https://wise.com/my/terms-of-use#:~:text=Fo...n%20currencies).

TransferWise Secures Remittance License in Malaysia
by Fintech News Malaysia June 17, 2019
https://fintechnews.my/20874/payments-remit...e-malaysia-bnm/
Thanks .....MYR20k kind of low hmm.gif

MUM
post Jul 13 2022, 05:26 PM

14,867 posts

QUOTE(sairay @ Jul 13 2022, 05:16 PM)
Thanks .....MYR20k kind of low  hmm.gif
If you want higher amount,... Maybe can try cash account...??
https://www.fsmone.com.my/support/frequentl...tUniqueKey=2471

sairay
post Jul 13 2022, 05:42 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 13 2022, 05:26 PM)
If you want higher amount,... Maybe can try cash account...??
https://www.fsmone.com.my/support/frequentl...tUniqueKey=2471
Actually I am using this but just trying to find another basket due to security purpose. Don't want to put all eggs in 1 basket
ziling60
post Jul 30 2022, 10:19 AM

523 posts

Is it possible for someone in malaysia to receive money via wise from a bank account in overseas without much hassle for a big amount transfer? is there any BNM regulation that prohibit certain limit on money transfer electronically to be received in malaysia? i tried to find online but only can find someting about physical cash transaction limit of RM25k but nothing else about electronic transfer like Wise..

would you guys recommend using direct wise transfer or through its multicurrency account?
Ramjade
post Jul 30 2022, 11:34 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(ziling60 @ Jul 30 2022, 10:19 AM)
Is it possible for someone in malaysia to receive money via wise from a bank account in overseas without much hassle for a big amount transfer? is there any BNM regulation that prohibit certain limit on money transfer electronically to be received in malaysia? i tried to find online but only can find someting about physical cash transaction limit of RM25k but nothing else about electronic transfer like Wise..

would you guys recommend using direct wise transfer or through its multicurrency account?
You can received money through wise. But if you want to store money you need the multicurrency account. Wise on it's own cannot store money. Even their multicurrency account can store only rm20k.

Of course depend on how big is your amount. Your receiving bank will likely question you about source of money (which you need to give) or else money will never be released to you.

AthrunIJ
post Aug 2 2022, 07:10 AM

2,992 posts

Wise just increased fee....

O well. Still lower?

👀🤔
post Aug 2 2022, 10:18 AM

761 posts

Anyone having problems sending in money to stashaway from Wise? Used to be able to do it without much hassle

This post has been edited by 000022: Aug 2 2022, 10:18 AM
Ramjade
post Aug 11 2022, 09:36 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(Akaashi @ Aug 11 2022, 09:15 AM)
Noob question here for all sifu

1. What is the difference between opening a foreign currency account vs offshore account? E.g if I want to diverse my savings to SGD, which option is better?

2. Heard about this Wise account, anyone here using it? is it safe compare to banks in terms of security ?

Thanks in advance.
1. Wise for Malaysian is a joke. We are only allowed to keep max rm20k while there is no such restrictions for foreign currency account.
Go open a sg bank account directly. You can use wise for transfering the money (RM to SGD).

2. Yes. I am using it. I use it to transfer USD from my USD cashback website to my sg bank account. No issue. There are some people who wise close down account and refund the money. No reasons given but I suspect the person couldnt provide proof of where the money coming from. I have been in wise for like 5 years no issue..

Post here. This is a spot for all TransferWise.
teen08
post Aug 11 2022, 11:48 AM

297 posts

Noob question too. Is it normal to charge for duitnow? I thought it was free for all consumers. Wise is the only one I have seen charging fee.

143 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0351sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:43 AM