QUOTE(w1z4rd @ Jun 20 2022, 09:39 PM)
do what you must lor...anyways confirm pin working in France n Turkey... someone say UK...
I also say get bigpay... no harm get more backup...
This post has been edited by dwRK: Jun 20 2022, 09:57 PM
Wise (Transferwise) Malaysia Discussion, v1.0
Jun 20 2022, 09:55 PM
6,230 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(w1z4rd @ Jun 20 2022, 09:39 PM) do what you must lor...anyways confirm pin working in France n Turkey... someone say UK... I also say get bigpay... no harm get more backup... This post has been edited by dwRK: Jun 20 2022, 09:57 PM |
Jun 20 2022, 11:10 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
659 posts Joined: May 2013 |
QUOTE(w1z4rd @ Jun 19 2022, 09:13 PM) not just malaysia, same thing in singapore, especially the contactless. I got my Transferwise card when i was in Germany (so not from Malaysia).contactless gets rejected 50% of the time, even in singapore. But when i wave with bigpay or any other malaysian credit card, it works everytime. what about those that are using it in europe /uk / australia etc... does paywave works everytime like it should? what's the point of a multi currency card when it doesnt work overseas. Contactless works where it's accepted, though i think you need to activate the card first with a chip transaction. But I rarely use it, since I link it to Google pay for contactless when I need to use it. Still can't believe no Google Pay yet in Malaysia. |
Jun 23 2022, 08:47 PM
924 posts Joined: Aug 2013 |
QUOTE(jonoave @ Jun 20 2022, 11:10 PM) I got my Transferwise card when i was in Germany (so not from Malaysia). it works perfectly fine on chip transaction. that’s what i thought too. but paywave transactions kept on failing after that. then tried pin again, no problem. so yeah dont know what is the real issue with paywave on wise. Contactless works where it's accepted, though i think you need to activate the card first with a chip transaction. But I rarely use it, since I link it to Google pay for contactless when I need to use it. Still can't believe no Google Pay yet in Malaysia. just keep it in the drawer for now. very inconvenient to insert pin all the time |
Jun 29 2022, 05:33 PM
2,115 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Jun 29 2022, 09:54 PM
26 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Hi guys, I am new to wise card. Just recently my friend recommend me. I am wondering, since now Japanese yen is quite low, is it wise to stock up some yen in wise account so that in the future, when I travel to Japan, I can use the yen I store in Japanese currency in wise. Is there any time limit that you cannot store for too long certain currency and keep the account dormant for too long?
Jun 30 2022, 12:49 AM
14,865 posts Joined: Mar 2015 |
QUOTE(jasonffx @ Jun 29 2022, 09:54 PM) Hi guys, I am new to wise card. Just recently my friend recommend me. I am wondering, since now Japanese yen is quite low, is it wise to stock up some yen in wise account so that in the future, when I travel to Japan, I can use the yen I store in Japanese currency in wise. Is there any time limit that you cannot store for too long certain currency and keep the account dormant for too long? Will you be getting any interest gains for the money (yen) left in wise?Leaving it there with the hope that yen will continue appreciate against MYR? What is the appreciation rate pa? Unknown for how long you gonna leave your yen there.... Maybe can try explore other options.... |
Jul 4 2022, 06:00 AM
2,106 posts Joined: Jul 2018 |
QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Jun 23 2022, 08:47 PM) it works perfectly fine on chip transaction. that’s what i thought too. but paywave transactions kept on failing after that. then tried pin again, no problem. so yeah dont know what is the real issue with paywave on wise. yep second that, tried here in UK for a week, the contactless failed almost every single time, can't remember any successful wavejust keep it in the drawer for now. very inconvenient to insert pin all the time even BigPay contactless succeeded more frequently than Wise card |
Jul 5 2022, 11:04 PM
284 posts Joined: Aug 2021 |
WTA anyone tried using wise card to make cash withdrawal outside Malaysia?
Jul 5 2022, 11:07 PM
284 posts Joined: Aug 2021 |
QUOTE(w1z4rd @ Jun 19 2022, 05:13 PM) Yes, tried at UOB atm. they will ask which account to withdraw from(savings, current, credit card cash advance). Thanks for posting this !! I just chose credit card cash advance. no withdrawal fee if still within your atm withdrawal limit (less than RM1000 equivalent in foreign currency / twice a month) means withdraw 100 sgd, they deduct 100 sgd from your wise account, that's it. So meaning the long as you have local currencies of the destinations you are at, you can make cash withdrawal FOC first two time or below RM 1000 monthly limit.. Right? Wondering if you also know is there FAQ or TAC can be referred on wise website? |
Jul 6 2022, 06:15 PM
QUOTE(NoNameSoldier @ Jul 5 2022, 11:07 PM) Thanks for posting this !! https://wise.com/gb/pricing/So meaning the long as you have local currencies of the destinations you are at, you can make cash withdrawal FOC first two time or below RM 1000 monthly limit.. Right? Wondering if you also know is there FAQ or TAC can be referred on wise website? take a look at the pricing page |
Jul 7 2022, 11:07 AM
110 posts Joined: Mar 2011 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Hi I recently made WISE card. The PIN is only 4 numbers. How to enter in 6 PIN ATM tho?
Jul 7 2022, 03:58 PM
110 posts Joined: May 2022 |
Jul 10 2022, 05:14 PM
227 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Jul 4 2022, 06:00 AM) yep second that, tried here in UK for a week, the contactless failed almost every single time, can't remember any successful wave Hi, I’m planning a trip to UK and Europe later this year. Would you recommend I get both bigpay and wise card or just the bigpay card since the wise has a lot of issues based from what i read here? Also, does the wise card has contactless issue with the card itself and does it work fine if I add that card to googlepay for contactless method? Appreciate your input on this. Thanks.even BigPay contactless succeeded more frequently than Wise card |
Jul 10 2022, 05:56 PM
QUOTE(fakerdemit @ Jul 10 2022, 05:14 PM) Hi, I’m planning a trip to UK and Europe later this year. Would you recommend I get both bigpay and wise card or just the bigpay card since the wise has a lot of issues based from what i read here? Also, does the wise card has contactless issue with the card itself and does it work fine if I add that card to googlepay for contactless method? Appreciate your input on this. Thanks. I would recommend getting both, use BigPay as primary but take Wise as a backup in case BigPay fails, GooglePay should work too thou I have never tried it out since I am using Apple. fakerdemit liked this post
Jul 10 2022, 06:38 PM
7,564 posts Joined: May 2012 |
QUOTE(fakerdemit @ Jul 10 2022, 05:14 PM) Hi, I’m planning a trip to UK and Europe later this year. Would you recommend I get both bigpay and wise card or just the bigpay card since the wise has a lot of issues based from what i read here? Also, does the wise card has contactless issue with the card itself and does it work fine if I add that card to googlepay for contactless method? Appreciate your input on this. Thanks. bigpay now charge fee 1% when above 1k:- https://ringgitplus.com/en/blog/personal-fi...nience-fee.htmli will use wise and backup is using CC |
Jul 10 2022, 10:06 PM
649 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
Bad experience with BigPay. It's a debit card but upon return from overseas, balance in account show more than RM3K negative cos they said it was not captured upon my swiping/tap. It's still not settled till now(one mth) as they want me to dispute the transactions but my argument is it's a debit card, if there's no money in the account, I can't spend. I may have paid with other method for those transactions that they're claiming(more than 10 transactions). Can't recall as I was away for more than 1.5 month. Be warned
This post has been edited by hedfi: Jul 10 2022, 10:07 PM |
Jul 10 2022, 11:57 PM
7,564 posts Joined: May 2012 |
QUOTE(hedfi @ Jul 10 2022, 10:06 PM) Bad experience with BigPay. It's a debit card but upon return from overseas, balance in account show more than RM3K negative cos they said it was not captured upon my swiping/tap. It's still not settled till now(one mth) as they want me to dispute the transactions but my argument is it's a debit card, if there's no money in the account, I can't spend. I may have paid with other method for those transactions that they're claiming(more than 10 transactions). Can't recall as I was away for more than 1.5 month. Be warned bigpay got a lot of scam also. after use will receive many spam call or whatsapp |
Jul 11 2022, 02:55 AM
QUOTE(hedfi @ Jul 10 2022, 10:06 PM) Bad experience with BigPay. It's a debit card but upon return from overseas, balance in account show more than RM3K negative cos they said it was not captured upon my swiping/tap. It's still not settled till now(one mth) as they want me to dispute the transactions but my argument is it's a debit card, if there's no money in the account, I can't spend. I may have paid with other method for those transactions that they're claiming(more than 10 transactions). Can't recall as I was away for more than 1.5 month. Be warned QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jul 10 2022, 11:57 PM) yeah but give and take, BigPay contactless succeed most of the time here in UK, compared to Wise which fails like 9 out of 10 times, frustrating to use pin everytime, some shop even need you to sign on the recipe if it is not contactlessNot sure what's wrong with Msia issued Wise card, other country issued Wise card seems to have no such issue? |
Jul 12 2022, 03:00 PM
1,046 posts Joined: Nov 2014 |
dint receive yet.
when did you receive ya ? |
Jul 12 2022, 04:22 PM
1,400 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
Hi All,
I have been using WISE a while to send money overseas. Rates pretty good. But I haven't used it to receive money. I have read FAQ and it says no charges but as always i don't really trust that. Wondering any forummers here have personal experience receiving money on other currency? Do you get exact amount without any charge? What about convert that money to MYR and the withdraw the money out. Seems like many process and I'm not sure if it's entirely free. 1) Receive overseas funds - Free? There are no fees to receive payments using your account details, with the exception of receiving US dollars domestic or SWIFT wires that cost $4.14 per transaction. 2) Convert to MYR - 0.41%? Fee varies by currency - From 0.41% 3) Withdraw MYR to cash - Free? If your card was issued in Malaysia: You can take out money for free twice a month — as long as the total amount is under 1,000 MYR. But after that, we’ll charge you 5 MYR per transaction. This is a fixed fee. If you take out over 1,000 MYR in one month, we’ll charge you 1.75% on top of that. Hope someone with experience can share. Thanks! |
| Change to: | 0.0209sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:08 PM |