Heading towards 2000~
1,972 posts

HELP HELP HELP~

who around USM engineering campus?
I need a spare rig to help me test out my system,
after I change new HSF,
my rig cant boot up,

the bios cant load,
and no activity at the ram ( I am using ballistix tracer, no led is on, so means total no activity),
anyone know wat problem?

everything got electric to psu,
psu on, gc fan on, hsf on, casing fan on, hdd spinning, rom can eject, ram bottom white LED on,
just the bios doesnt beep, no screen showed, no activity on ram..

which part might be a prob?
I tested with another pair of ballistix trader,
same happening, so, i assume not ram prob,
the hdd doesnt matter with the bios boot-up, assume hdd no problem too,
the GC cant test, so, duno yet,
the psu got power to all thing - assume no prob,

so, now left,
the mobo, the proc and the GC,
which part could have prob,
and anyone have spare of this stuff to borrow me for testing????

no com for tml i sure fail in my final exam already,
all my notes are in com,
help help~

if can, send me sms @ 012-5453567
coz borrowing housemate com a while only...
your help much appreciated...
zeustronic
post Oct 27 2007, 06:36 PM

Retire OC Into Audiophiles
2,605 posts

Any beep sound come from ur mobo? 1st clear bios 1st see how?? if still kenot remove ur ram, GC, PCI device & HDD check see mobo got beep sound or not, if no beep sound mean mobo kong, proc hmm very seldom rosak 1.
michealelsie
post Oct 27 2007, 07:04 PM

507 posts

hihi to every POC ppl ~~

nice to join POC~

next TT~
lehteck
post Oct 27 2007, 07:11 PM

+=--=+
2,408 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Oct 27 2007, 05:31 PM)
lehteck koko,long time no come here chat ah?where u go ah? wub.gif

sign0014.gif

change avatar liao,i also wanna buy speaker,dont lure and poison me vmad.gif
LOL..that's my new target lol.

Yesterday just tested it..1st in KL to touch it....(except those ppl from Local Distributor)

sign0014.gif
lohwenli
post Oct 27 2007, 07:31 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Oct 24 2007, 12:38 AM)
NSR taiko, one day we go ur shop dissect ur whole pc  tongue.gif ask lohwenli come bring lab equipment to test  tongue.gif
What the hell..suddenly I become a walking PC testlab.. blink.gif

QUOTE(karom @ Oct 24 2007, 07:53 AM)
Last time when COD with you still a male. Very quick doing gender change arr.... just joking.
Yeah, I also wanna know how u can also change age..what, brain transplant into another body ah?

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Oct 26 2007, 12:50 AM)
at least the problem solved and he grab the chance to have an upgrade to his pc.
i made up my mind,not going to Cross-fire liao.
now my friend pc croff-fire with 2900XT and oc to limit liao,u know what?

when load 3dmark06 with both at oc speed with Q6600 at 3.4GHz,the kerosfire setup draws 533W. sweat.gif

sign0014.gif
Yeah, HD2900 is an extreme overclocker..but power consumption increases quickly when overclocked. If not for that, I think Ati would have sold it with a stock clock high enough to KO the 8800GTS and possibly the GTX too. Only the Ultra would be untouchable (but even an overclocked Ultra still falls to an overclocked HD2900). Wait for HD2950..it might be cooler since its 65nm rather than 80nm. Might overclock better too.

QUOTE(@meno @ Oct 26 2007, 04:09 PM)
This week ar...Hmm, i will keep in touch with either KC or powerslide to see if i can make it.
Most probably not lar.
Tat day parking we kena RM7 ooo...Sakit...Who else park in B2? Kena RM6-7 also rite?

I never knew the USB Hub drawing power could cause the instability...
Need to discuss with Lohwenli and ask him explain why already...
Ya I also kena parking like hell..dowan to use meter cos always have to go back and put money..kena nicely from basement carpark cos malas..

I think that USB thing is because of the latency due to having to pass though a hub. Power shouldn't be a problem since the monitor draws a seperate AC source. And networking components are notoriously timing/latency sensitive..last time I increase PCI 1Mhz also network card naik gila already..

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Oct 26 2007, 10:27 PM)
verz,ur processor cant bottlenexk teh GC meh?
You have no idea..if he didn't overclock to 4.0Ghz bottle neck gila-gila..I think if run 7300GT/X1300 also not much difference..

KC, I'm dual side wan..also have and AMD rig which is more power than my Intel..so your Intel/AMD statistic is messed up because of me..
rainingzero
post Oct 27 2007, 07:40 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Oct 27 2007, 07:31 PM)
You have no idea..if he didn't overclock to 4.0Ghz bottle neck gila-gila..I think if run 7300GT/X1300 also not much difference..
erm...thinking of getting new gc. what do u think suits my proc?? 8800gts can arr??
TSAceCombat
post Oct 27 2007, 07:47 PM

5,434 posts

QUOTE(NSR @ Oct 27 2007, 05:49 PM)
bugger.... i never see my nick in the list geh?  rclxub.gif
bro Ron,u never list me the spec of ur pc,at least must oc 1 mhz to join da club,what processor u use ah?

QUOTE(cschun86 @ Oct 27 2007, 06:25 PM)
HELP HELP HELP~

who around USM engineering campus?
I need a spare rig to help me test out my system,
after I change new HSF,
my rig cant boot up,

the bios cant load,
and no activity at the ram ( I am using ballistix tracer, no led is on, so means total no activity),
anyone know wat problem?

everything got electric to psu,
psu on, gc fan on, hsf on, casing fan on, hdd spinning, rom can eject, ram bottom white LED on,
just the bios doesnt beep, no screen showed, no activity on ram..

which part might be a prob?
I tested with another pair of ballistix trader,
same happening, so, i assume not ram prob,
the hdd doesnt matter with the bios boot-up, assume hdd no problem too,
the GC cant test, so, duno yet,
the psu got power to all thing - assume no prob,

so, now left,
the mobo, the proc and the GC,
which part could have prob,
and anyone have spare of this stuff to borrow me for testing????

no com for tml i sure fail in my final exam already,
all my notes are in com,
help help~

if can, send me sms @ 012-5453567
coz borrowing housemate com a while only...
your help much appreciated...

\
bro,proc has no problem one,left chipset and gc only,i can confirm that ur chipset is KO liao,it might be burned.replace gc and mobo to test out.

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Oct 27 2007, 07:40 PM)
erm...thinking of getting new gc. what do u think suits my proc?? 8800gts can arr??
can ah,maybe u can 8800GT or 2900XT,i believe that if driver has no issue,2900XT is one of the best gc ever produced,just driver kacau only.
rainingzero
post Oct 27 2007, 07:51 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Oct 27 2007, 07:47 PM)
can ah,maybe u can 8800GT or 2900XT,i believe that if driver has no issue,2900XT is one of the best gc ever produced,just driver kacau only.
8800gt looks much more promising. lower price compared to 640mb 8800gts somemore...but afraid my proc will bottlenecking my gc performance... doh.gif
lohwenli
post Oct 27 2007, 08:16 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Oct 27 2007, 07:40 PM)
You need a 3GHz AM2 or a E6500 or better to get the full benefit of any HD2900 or 8800 model.

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Oct 27 2007, 07:47 PM)
Yeah, other than driver, its also one power sucking and bloody hot card..estimate 150-200W just for the card alone on stock speed. But its also the fastest card money can buy once its overclocked..
rainingzero
post Oct 27 2007, 08:43 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Oct 27 2007, 08:16 PM)
You need a 3GHz AM2 or a E6500 or better to get the full benefit of any HD2900 or 8800 model.
like that arr?? if like that, better buy a decent DX9 gc and use the remaining cash to buy a strering set. wanna use my rig mainly for racing simulator..
maybe wanna join MSR rfactor F1.. nod.gif
tapirus
post Oct 27 2007, 08:53 PM

(︶ε︶メ)╭∩╮ a�tE(R)isk
1,237 posts

@cschun86
i dun think gc@mobo prob...u swap psu 1st...ur case same like me before!!!try test using another psu!!!just happen to me before...if u not believe u asked rainingzero...
cschun86
post Oct 27 2007, 09:31 PM

Heading towards 2000~
1,972 posts

hmm, i have the same situation b4 also,
it is the PSU faulthy tat time,
now no PSU or mobo for me to test out,
@ tapirus/ rainingzero, got extra unit PSU to borrow me?
and do u both have extra soc 775mobo?

zeustronic
post Oct 27 2007, 10:51 PM

2,605 posts

So far i got no issue driver for ATi, NVidia u need some latest official driver unable to newer games instead they run on BETA driver ftw... but of worth waiting for the RV670 upcoming ATi rumours said smaller chips which make it cooler & lower power comsumptions

This post has been edited by zeustronic: Oct 27 2007, 10:55 PM
cschun86
post Oct 27 2007, 11:13 PM

Heading towards 2000~
1,972 posts

Yeah Yeah~
All problem solve,
The reason cant boot up the system still unknown,
most probably becoz of static or wat...

now running my rig naked...
zeustronic
post Oct 27 2007, 11:16 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(cschun86 @ Oct 28 2007, 12:13 AM)
Yeah Yeah~
All problem solve,

Yup sometimes naked works, try rubber washer between the casing & mobo..
rainingzero
post Oct 27 2007, 11:41 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(cschun86 @ Oct 27 2007, 11:13 PM)
Yeah Yeah~
All problem solve,

congrats mate....now nothing bothering u while exam~ nod.gif laugh.gif
cschun86
post Oct 28 2007, 12:32 AM

Heading towards 2000~
1,972 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Oct 27 2007, 11:41 PM)
congrats mate....now nothing bothering u while exam~  nod.gif  laugh.gif
haha, I will run it till the final is finished,
coz all my lecture notes or etc all are in softcopy,
fortunately nothing burnt,
or else duno how will I survive this final...

btw, when I run the rig naked,
realise my north-bridge are damn hot,
any suggestion solution?

below i attach my naked body,
wat cooler can fit in the north bridge?

This post has been edited by cschun86: Oct 28 2007, 12:38 AM
@meno
post Oct 28 2007, 12:47 AM

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts