TT Section Penang, Penang's Overclocker Club

lohwenli
post Aug 17 2007, 04:27 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Another Penang overclocker reporting in..

current overclock project
Intel Pentium 4 2.8GHz Northwood rev M0@3.5GHz only
(goyang kaki overclock..WC just waiting to be pasang & pump volts; aiming for 4GHz)

Upcoming overclock project
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ AM2 Windsor F2@2.3GHz
(also another goyang kaki overclock to check out the chip)

QUOTE(verz84 @ Aug 16 2007, 10:27 AM)
waa..long time dont follow this tread..so busy this week preparing for my convo and still have class also..damm USm.. mad.gif
still having class during convocation week...only give headache

rclxub.gif

haiyo..sorry to say cant come this saturday TT.  sweat.gif
Its my convocation day!!!! party.gif

So maybe only can join other week lo.. icon_rolleyes.gif

Oh ya bro Ace..still cant join the club aar..hehe
sweat.gif
Only have my noob rig like in my sig..hehe
sweat.gif
Cant oc i think with juz the basic hardwares inside..hehe sweat.gif

Oh ya bro MEMO,
Im studying Architecture in USm n staying in Tekun..hehe
So next time if wanna hang out juz let me know aite!! thumbup.gif
Remember me? PM u once few months ago..
Interesting..we're both in Tekun this sem! I'm in 5-15.. can meet up sometime (call me @016-4936208).. Used to meet @meno practically every week last sem, but now he graduate already and damn busy with work..

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Aug 17 2007, 04:31 PM
lohwenli
post Aug 18 2007, 07:32 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(warrior @ Aug 18 2007, 02:28 AM)
what's that DI u meant huh?  hmm.gif
Dry Ice.
lohwenli
post Aug 21 2007, 06:05 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ Aug 19 2007, 03:09 PM)
Sorry guys, did you guys have TT last sat?
I was busy with my Convo, so no time to even check this thread out.

KC, u din put me in the list lar...
Mine AMD A64 3000+ Venice @2.25 Ghz

Haiyo, i see the list, my rig seems to be the most cheapo rig among all.

@Albert, u got ur opty from elhh or Bata?
I dun see any 170 available anymore, only 175 but very expo...
Cheap??
I'll show you a cheap OC setup..just u wait..next time I online I upload the pic..

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Aug 20 2007, 08:32 PM)
is TT in weekday ok for all of u?
I'm ok Mon & Tue, but rest of the days mayb susah a bit unless late at nite. So when's the next TT session? Wanted to meet u guys on 11 Aug but busy moving house..in the end just had our own private TT with adrian & pmmonkey..
lohwenli
post Aug 23 2007, 09:57 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(verz84 @ Aug 21 2007, 09:55 PM)
yo bro lohwenli..i wonder where u stay aa? hmm.gif hehe..juz feel like juz close to where i am now..hahahaha..anyway if any plan close to USM..pls inform me aite?? thumbup.gif

If weekend, maybe Saturday nite can lar.
Or Friday late nite also might be able to.
Other than that...a little hard...
Staying at Tekun 5-15. I'm can spare time most nights, feel free to give me a call. 016-4936208.

QUOTE(@meno @ Aug 23 2007, 12:37 PM)
verz84, this Sat u free?
I might be hanging out at Khaleel, no confirmed plans yet though.
If you guys are doing anything this Sat, I'll try to join you guys. Keep me informed, no promises though.

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Aug 23 2007, 08:02 PM)
Ace, plz update my proc. now using X2 3800+:

rainingzero-AMD X2 3800+ Windsor user @ 2.25GHz only
Push it a bit more..sure can hit at least 2.4GHz without any fancy fancy stuff.
lohwenli
post Aug 24 2007, 07:34 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Aug 24 2007, 07:12 PM)
Adrian,how u know it's F3 without switch the CPU-Z?
the box got write meh?
Read the code on the processor/box
CZBOX -F3 Windsor
DDBOX - Brisbane
Rest are all F2 Windsor

rainingzero
Don't expect to reach 3.0GHz on a F2 Windsor, even 2.6GHz is considered not bad already. Congrats on your current overclock icon_rolleyes.gif , feel free to try reach higher, but I can tell you from observation very very few F2 windsors can reach 2.8-3.0GHz. Beyond 3.0GHz is pretty much impossible without extreme measures, like voltmodding and subzero cooling.

And yes, your mobo's options are rather limited, though there is a slight workaround as many of the overclocking options for AMD K8 processors can be accessed by software (except voltages, which can only be software adjusted on a select few boards).

-off topic-
I'm finally a senior member on LYN! rclxm9.gif And I did it with less than 5% spam!!
(I'll remove this if requested)
lohwenli
post Aug 24 2007, 08:03 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Aug 24 2007, 07:41 PM)
i think with this speed, it's quite ok la for me...not expecting much from rm340 upgrading setup..... laugh.gif

edit: so, what is the current market price for brisbane proc actually.... brows.gif
RM205 or less. Not sure if you can get that price in Penang though, shops here always slow to follow price drops in the market.
lohwenli
post Aug 24 2007, 08:27 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Aug 24 2007, 08:15 PM)
erm...my friend last weeks bought brisbane X2 4000+ at rm240. just diff in terms of clockspeed compared with 3600+ one???

edit: is it ok for my proc while idle at 38'c and full load at 50'c?? dunno about AMD's proc idle temp....
Yup, only clockspeed different. If getting brisbane, just get the cheapest one you can find, if possible from a good batch. Brisbanes mostly overclock all the same regardless of their initial clockspeed, about 2.8-3.0GHz is pretty easy, higher than that is difficult.

Yes, your temp is normal for a Windsor F2 running on stock heatsink. If you want to discuss this further, I suggest you keep it to the AM2 overclocking forum, this is mostly a section for meeting up and arranging gatherings.
lohwenli
post Sep 17 2007, 07:40 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Sep 16 2007, 10:49 AM)
ya,bro raymond

P4 sure can join,if u can oc ur Pentium-S 200MHz to 201Mhz also can join la laugh.gif

ya,oc is an art,u need to know how to play some trick on it in order to get the score that u wan.

anyway,how to attach attachment over here?
Yeah, gonna OC a Pentium-s 100MHz this next few days..on watercooling!

QUOTE(tachlio @ Sep 16 2007, 12:00 PM)

Added on September 16, 2007, 12:05 pm

PM him ady~

but seen like he not on9 at moment~~

and he got selling the Micron OEM D9DPN 512mb DDR2-667~

this one ok onot??

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry12320075
It doesn't OC much on low volts (just over 800 on 5-5-5-15@stock voltage), haven't tried high volts on it yet. Anyway had some trouble with ram dividers on my AM2, so gotta work that one out first before I can OK the ram properly.
lohwenli
post Oct 16 2007, 10:43 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Oct 16 2007, 10:32 PM)
brows.gif
i know u also got,u r our second target, brows.gif
Wah..revenge 4 ur rig ah?

Anyway count me in for TT..dying to meet u guys. Too bad pmmonkey has gone back hometown till end of the month, or else she'll come too.
lohwenli
post Oct 19 2007, 05:41 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

My intro
22/m/pg/single cry.gif

QUOTE(@meno @ Oct 19 2007, 11:45 AM)
U wanna take over KC's place as sign0014.gif king ar?
Haiya, wait until u pay, McD force us to work as delivery boy d lor...
Nevermind, next time when u come Penang me and KC make sure you pay for our TT... brows.gif

Wah Karom, biznes kuat nampak.
Btw, let me know the price of HD2900 Pro.
I'm planning for a 24" LCD, so will need a nice card to power it up.
Yeah, no shit...just saw the first DX10 game benchmarks..even 8800ultra also falls flat at resolutions 1600 and above..want to get 30+ fps also sakit..

Now I know why got ppl run crossfire/SLI.
lohwenli
post Oct 27 2007, 07:31 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Oct 24 2007, 12:38 AM)
NSR taiko, one day we go ur shop dissect ur whole pc  tongue.gif ask lohwenli come bring lab equipment to test  tongue.gif
What the hell..suddenly I become a walking PC testlab.. blink.gif

QUOTE(karom @ Oct 24 2007, 07:53 AM)
Last time when COD with you still a male. Very quick doing gender change arr.... just joking.
Yeah, I also wanna know how u can also change age..what, brain transplant into another body ah?

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Oct 26 2007, 12:50 AM)
at least the problem solved and he grab the chance to have an upgrade to his pc.
i made up my mind,not going to Cross-fire liao.
now my friend pc croff-fire with 2900XT and oc to limit liao,u know what?

when load 3dmark06 with both at oc speed with Q6600 at 3.4GHz,the kerosfire setup draws 533W. sweat.gif

sign0014.gif
Yeah, HD2900 is an extreme overclocker..but power consumption increases quickly when overclocked. If not for that, I think Ati would have sold it with a stock clock high enough to KO the 8800GTS and possibly the GTX too. Only the Ultra would be untouchable (but even an overclocked Ultra still falls to an overclocked HD2900). Wait for HD2950..it might be cooler since its 65nm rather than 80nm. Might overclock better too.

QUOTE(@meno @ Oct 26 2007, 04:09 PM)
This week ar...Hmm, i will keep in touch with either KC or powerslide to see if i can make it.
Most probably not lar.
Tat day parking we kena RM7 ooo...Sakit...Who else park in B2? Kena RM6-7 also rite?

I never knew the USB Hub drawing power could cause the instability...
Need to discuss with Lohwenli and ask him explain why already...
Ya I also kena parking like hell..dowan to use meter cos always have to go back and put money..kena nicely from basement carpark cos malas..

I think that USB thing is because of the latency due to having to pass though a hub. Power shouldn't be a problem since the monitor draws a seperate AC source. And networking components are notoriously timing/latency sensitive..last time I increase PCI 1Mhz also network card naik gila already..

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Oct 26 2007, 10:27 PM)
verz,ur processor cant bottlenexk teh GC meh?
You have no idea..if he didn't overclock to 4.0Ghz bottle neck gila-gila..I think if run 7300GT/X1300 also not much difference..

KC, I'm dual side wan..also have and AMD rig which is more power than my Intel..so your Intel/AMD statistic is messed up because of me..
lohwenli
post Oct 27 2007, 08:16 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Oct 27 2007, 07:40 PM)
erm...thinking of getting new gc. what do u think suits my proc?? 8800gts can arr??
You need a 3GHz AM2 or a E6500 or better to get the full benefit of any HD2900 or 8800 model.

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Oct 27 2007, 07:47 PM)
can ah,maybe u can 8800GT or 2900XT,i believe that if driver has no issue,2900XT is one of the best gc ever produced,just driver kacau only.
Yeah, other than driver, its also one power sucking and bloody hot card..estimate 150-200W just for the card alone on stock speed. But its also the fastest card money can buy once its overclocked..
lohwenli
post Oct 28 2007, 09:48 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(cschun86 @ Oct 27 2007, 11:13 PM)
Yeah Yeah~
All problem solve,
The reason cant boot up the system still unknown,
most probably becoz of static or wat...

now running my rig naked...
Its probably the grounding of the PSU. If the PSU is not grounded, meaning the earth conenction is broken, the PC case can build up with static, which does not do your hardware any good. Plus, you'll get electrocuted every now and then.

QUOTE(karom @ Oct 28 2007, 06:36 AM)
Good to hear that your PSU is no problem. By the way there is a simple way to check the PSU.

You can always Jump Start the PSU. If it is running then it is fine though.
Not true. If its the voltage regulation thats the problem then though it may start the voltages may be screwed up. And the voltage regulation of PSUs gets better or worse with changing loads.
lohwenli
post Nov 3 2007, 02:30 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(b.u.m @ Oct 31 2007, 07:49 PM)
Yo..Yo...Newbie here...Teach me how to OC la...Im using :-

PIII 800Mhz
Matsonic Mobo
256MB PC-133 SD - Ram
10.6GB Hard - Disk
GF Riva TNT2 32MB

How can I OC my system to run as smooth as C2D???
Hope la..pasang nonstop LN2 also cannot fight E2140..
But doesn't mean you can't try...

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Nov 1 2007, 06:29 AM)
sign0014.gif of the day
good morning Penang's Overclocker Club member rclxms.gif

anyway,today i'll going to bring back a 24inch LCD liao,syok nia... rclxm9.gif

as for the t-shirt design,i'll leave to a girl to design and POC member kindly post up ur design too,then we vote for it.

and since nowadays getting hotter and hottor,i decided to make the t-shirt in white color,can bo?
Yeah, I support white T-shirt..not so hot. But design must be nice la, since white don't usually look so gaya. If still want dark colour make sure the t-shirt is loose collared and loose sleeved. Or else later poor ventilation. (WTF Im talking like as if I'm checking out a casing blink.gif )

QUOTE(n305er @ Nov 1 2007, 10:47 AM)
Hot then use good heat sinks and thermal paste lo..... biggrin.gif tongue.gif

sign0014.gif
Lei..good thermal paste not cheap le..later I overheat and shut down pulak..

QUOTE(kmarc @ Nov 2 2007, 04:39 AM)
@BOSS of POC - how come all your member's rigs so lousy one? All oso got "only" at the back. Why nobody got 6Ghz rig?  wink.gif
Wah..got sifu kutuk us already..kena naik standard man..

QUOTE(NSR @ Nov 2 2007, 11:11 AM)
got lar, i got OC lar. u din saw it meh? i got OC my sound system mar...  biggrin.gif
i dun plan to OC my cpu at the meantime lar... unless the speed is slow to my expectation...  blink.gif
U OC pokcetbikes..

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Nov 2 2007, 12:42 PM)
but if sort according to speed, how if the proc used not same?? like x2 and single core athlon?? sweat.gif

erm..design of logo just give to those who good with designing la... thumbup.gif
Yeah, its not fair..like Intel Netburst (Pentium 4/D) systems typically can reach high speeds but no performance.
What the hell, I'm taking about my own PC.. sweat.gif

QUOTE(cschun86 @ Nov 2 2007, 01:16 PM)
wah, u just double up the speed?
hehe, the wat abt Q6600 d?
if OC mah exceed 10Ghz ^,^

in my opinion,
to be fair enough,
post a cpu-z screen at oc state,
the list should arrange according to super-PI speed,

coz sometimes ur proc speed high,
doesnt mean ur entire system fast...
I say we leave the list as it is, but add a * for those "verified OC".
lohwenli
post Nov 7 2007, 03:52 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Nov 5 2007, 08:46 PM)
well,the blower that i use is the blower that ppl use to service air cond one,even more powerful than 2.0 bar turbo pressure brows.gif

but i really clean every week,600cfm is hard to imagine teh dust inside cry.gif
Can I pasang that at my kancil? shocking.gif

QUOTE(karom @ Nov 7 2007, 03:36 PM)
haha...wife also dont have yet ler.
Got wife..he play with her everyday wan..press her buttons and she will heat up..after that he also stim..both lost in a world of their own..
lohwenli
post Nov 16 2007, 10:52 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Nov 12 2007, 05:01 PM)
bro,if u know someone in pc shop who carry seagate,ask them to RMa for u,they can one,just depend they wan or not.
bro,i know Vertex is one of them iirc.
stop sign0014.gif here tongue.gif
@hamsap king,i pretty sure that it's OEM version,teh surface not same.
as for performance,hope it's same but tell u one thing,if u only using one raptor,u cant really see the different between 7200rpm and 10k rpm,trust me,unless u raid it like i do.
Got difference even without RAID..load programs noticably faster, and AV scan and defrag now can finish super fast..

QUOTE(@meno @ Nov 12 2007, 05:11 PM)
Maxtor ar???
IIRC, seagate handles Maxtor RMA. You can go to the Seagate site to confirm.
Btw, Maxtor warranty use to suck big time, i remember people in the shop i used to go in LY always tell me, Maxtor very ma huan one, if got small small problem which they can blame on user only, they reject the claim. Got 1 time the fella show me one HDD rejected from Maxtor for claim, he ask me to find whats the fault with the HDD, i see here see there, could not find, in the end he show me there was a hairline crack on the plastic for the HDD IDE connector. OMFG, the crack is not even visible if you dun look at it carefully, and cracks like this normal lar, could happen easily. In the end, Maxtor says it's users fault of mishandling the HDD... doh.gif

Conclusion, buy Seagate. Fast warranty claim, within 7 working days...(but dun send to GZ or any shops expecting to get ur hdd back in 7days, thats if you send to them directly.) Now that Seagate handle Maxtor warranty, i'm not sure if they have the same policy... tongue.gif
Yup, I was the one who sent HDD direct to seagate and got it back in less than a week(sent on fri, got it back on wed)..verz84 is using that HDD now..seagate HDD don't ever bother sending to shop, especially for Penangites since the RMA centre is somewhere in Seberang Perai only. The only thing is they're pretty fussy about packaging, if not packaged properly (minimum 1 inch of foam on all sides) the RMA agreement says your claim may be voided.

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Nov 16 2007, 10:53 PM
lohwenli
post Nov 17 2007, 12:15 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Nov 16 2007, 10:57 PM)
AV scan sweat.gif
Anti-virus or Adult Video? tongue.gif
sign0014.gif
Both also can..
But always end up no results to show... blink.gif
lohwenli
post Nov 18 2007, 04:34 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Nov 17 2007, 10:52 AM)
good morning everybody...sign0014.gif
last night my vista ultimate got prob after multiple try on testing the capability of my ram. i bought 667mhz micron rams a couple of month ago but never tested. my D9DPN capable of reaching 850++mhz with 1.95v Vdimm...due to my stupid mobo, which limiting my ocing, thats the highest i can go... rolleyes.gif  sweat.gif

guys, ever heard of chips FP-Y5?? is this got good overclocability??
coz with D9DPN, i can oc untill 2.8ghz for my proc.but with FP-Y5, can get 2.45ghz only..nod.gif
I'm using that ram too, but didn't have much luck OCing it cos not faniliar with the timing settings at that time.

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Nov 17 2007, 11:17 AM)
oic....now got brighter future for my ocing rig.need to find other D9DPN...but must be hard to get one... sweat.gif
If you want, I have some in some PCs I mantain for other people, if you really want I can exchange ram with you. As long as there is the same quantity of ram in those PCs I can swap all I want.

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Nov 17 2007, 04:10 PM)
sapu some d9gmh..forget d9dpn  tongue.gif
Yeah, GMH is a much better chipset to use.

QUOTE(LittleLinnet @ Nov 17 2007, 11:41 PM)
even lose the clips also wont become helicopter one whistling.gif
i got few fans running without the clips lol
Depends how powerful is the fan. Got one or 2 really powerful fans I tried like that, the ball bearings fell out. Fan fly off is not likely, the magnet holds it quite well.

QUOTE(tachlio @ Nov 18 2007, 01:24 AM)
How about Micron OEM DDR2 800 D9GKX???

Heard say PCB got problem.... can i know its ok d ma? hmm.gif
Its PCB is not so good, so it will not clock as well as high performance ram running GKX as well. But it still overclocks pretty well, and if its cheap some people won't mind.

QUOTE(cschun86 @ Nov 18 2007, 09:53 AM)
You must be brave bro..soldering PC stuff is not that hard..actually I've had the same problem as you, but on a much older graphic card. Repaired it eventually, took a while to figure out how but not that bad after I started on it.

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Nov 18 2007, 10:54 AM)
so, what is the best PSU in the market which will not burn our pocket??  hmm.gif
You'll be surprised. There are quite a few. CM(except for a few extreme power models), Thermaltake (toughpower only), Acbel (most models), are pretty good buys for their price. And if you can dig up a sever PSU somewhere, most are real killers (equivalent to PCP&C), though chances are you can't get one with warranty.

QUOTE(lehteck @ Nov 18 2007, 11:56 AM)
Argee...that's what KC teach me..

He teach me buy high end psu and spray it..and stick with icute sticker..and sell cheap cheap drool.gif  drool.gif
Have you seen the cap ayam PSU mod I did?
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/444255
lohwenli
post Nov 18 2007, 08:46 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Nov 18 2007, 06:13 PM)
why not?
now i fixing one 9550 Extreme Edition cappy laugh.gif

later show u guys the pic.

talk about cappy,now only i found out that Gaygaybyte website put "Leader in all solid capacitor motherboard",make me laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Those solid capacitors are a b**** to solder.

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Nov 18 2007, 07:19 PM)
can it be fixed?? coz the cost of caps?? if not worth it, then i dont want to repair it.. sweat.gif
Can, but good caps cost quite a bit. About RM2 each.
lohwenli
post Nov 18 2007, 11:52 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Nov 18 2007, 09:02 PM)
rm2 only arr?? sounds promising for me to try to fix back my old gc... icon_idea.gif
but afraid have to search all over penang to find those caps... sweat.gif
It took me a long time to find them too, but in the end I found a source also.

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Nov 18 2007, 09:32 PM)
i buy not more than 50 cent la,if buy good around 1.50.
The 50 sen one is like using some Cap Ayam sdn bhd PSU with a C2D..
You know what happens after that..

The caps I replace on that dinosaur system you borrowed from me are good caps. Good enough that I'll be giving a 1 year money back personal warranty against capacitor failure to whoever buys it.

QUOTE(cschun86 @ Nov 18 2007, 09:46 PM)
depends on wat caps u looking for lo,
recent high end gc cap,
it cant be found easily,
like mine cant be found even i go every shop in kampung bengali there...

Added on November 18, 2007, 9:47 pm

better get some pro to solder lo,
like mine let ppl solder just RM5,
although i know how to solder,
but their soldering iron is have high fine tip,
and the wattage is lower lo...
Actually, their iron is of a higher wattage. The trick is to use a high watt iron to rapidly melt the solder and finish the soldering quickly so you do not expose components to high heat for a long period of time.

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Nov 18 2007, 11:54 PM

0.0451sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:41 AM