204 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V13, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

rx330
post Nov 26 2022, 10:16 AM

11,811 posts

QUOTE(cannellini @ Nov 25 2022, 02:32 PM)
嵯峨野トロッコ列車 冬景色 try this search term and decides for yourself
First and last carriages are stroller friendly and have dedicated stroller space. Other than that, you prolly have to fold up? I'm a single woman, really am not the best person to ask about this. (I'm trying to think hard about my time on the trains if i seen a stroller or not lmao) Maybe try googling OTL
If you're always together with family, maybe mifi? I'm usually a solo traveler and also gotten lazy buying japanese sim...I think i only bought jp sims twice. After that, each time i just buy roaming addon.
I'm on Digi, 14 days jp roaming just cost me 75 rm. not unlimited internet but was enough for what i need (basically google maps, navitime, tabelog). Besides, it comes with call minutes which those jp travel sim doesn't offer. Every telco also has something similar i reckon? I think maxis offers only 1  type of roaming for japan and it's around 99 myr and last 30 days. (digi 30 days jp roaming is 95-30gb internet but weirdly only 30 mins call time)
okie thanks

will check with the telcos
nicodemus88
post Nov 27 2022, 05:29 PM

202 posts

Quick question which I hope @cannellini or @RegentCid would be able to provide some recommendations...

I'm aware that New Year (shogatsu) in Japan is a big thing with many places closed, but do you have any recommendations on where to visit during that period (approx between Dec 30th - Jan 3rd)? Already spent several shogatsu in Kyushu and last year in TDR, so out of ideas now... Besides USJ, what other places would you recommend with not so many closed shops and some activities to do during that period?
RegentCid
post Nov 27 2022, 09:40 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(nicodemus88 @ Nov 27 2022, 04:29 PM)
Quick question which I hope @cannellini or @RegentCid would be able to provide some recommendations...

I'm aware that New Year (shogatsu) in Japan is a big thing with many places closed, but do you have any recommendations on where to visit during that period (approx between Dec 30th - Jan 3rd)? Already spent several shogatsu in Kyushu and last year in TDR, so out of ideas now... Besides USJ, what other places would you recommend with not so many closed shops and some activities to do during that period?
90% shop will be closing, those open will be chain store restaurant. Theme park will be full of people. Onsen will be ridiculous expensive. Basically either you go hiking or sleep in hotel room or shopping in mall.
deodorant
post Nov 28 2022, 05:51 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Speaking of theme parks, I’m seeing from trip blogs and etc that Disney and USJ is super crowded cos of revenge travel, anyone here who’s visited lately? I see some others say USJ is like 2hr queue for each ride without fast pass.
lucaswjk
post Nov 28 2022, 06:07 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 28 2022, 05:51 PM)
Speaking of theme parks, I’m seeing from trip blogs and etc that Disney and USJ is super crowded cos of revenge travel, anyone here who’s visited lately? I see some others say USJ is like 2hr queue for each ride without fast pass.
not surprised, last time before covid ady like that.

if really crowded I recommend choose ur time wisely.
u can do many thing there...
better focus on the Disney musical show, the 4D/5D theater, castle attractions, boat ride, parade and most important fireworks.
marfccy
post Nov 28 2022, 09:39 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

for my case in Disneysea late Oct, some rides went as long as 3-4hrs wait sweat.gif
MR_alien
post Nov 28 2022, 11:22 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

Before covid already like that

Don't expect to even be able to get on every ride or attractions or show
It's impossible
Some shows are happening simultaneously so it's impossible you split your body 2 place at once

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Nov 28 2022, 11:23 PM
cannellini
post Nov 28 2022, 11:30 PM

QUOTE(nicodemus88 @ Nov 27 2022, 05:29 PM)

Not much i can addon to what regentcid had replied. Its going to be suuuper boring cause almost everything are closed. You can temple hop if you want.
adele123
post Nov 28 2022, 11:52 PM

4,728 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Nov 24 2022, 02:16 PM)
What's the recommended airline to fly to Japan nowadays taking price into consideration?
Direct flights - JAL/ANA/MAS all seems to be hovering around 3-5k

Has anyone flown with AirAsia recently?
At the same time, i'm thinking of trying philippines airline as they do have a good price recently but not sure about their service/punctuality
I just arrived in tokyo on airasia. There was a slight delay on airasia but arrived about 20 to 30minutes late. Luckily still manage to catch shuttle to hotel. Literally got out 1135pm. Longest was waiting for the luggage. Lol. Airasia still same old same old la.

Dont go for philippines with stopover at MNL. Waste time. At least AA still direct flight.

rx330
post Nov 29 2022, 09:28 AM

11,811 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Nov 27 2022, 09:40 PM)
90% shop will be closing, those open will be chain store restaurant. Theme park will be full of people. Onsen will be ridiculous expensive. Basically either you go hiking or sleep in hotel room or shopping in mall.
my initial plan was to spend the New Years in Japan ..... luckily there is ticket for xmas
if not end up sleep hotel or shopping in mall......

the locals will be back at their kampungs Is it?
RegentCid
post Nov 29 2022, 09:35 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 29 2022, 08:28 AM)
my initial plan was to spend the New Years in Japan ..... luckily there is ticket for xmas
if not end up sleep hotel or shopping in mall......

the locals will be back at their kampungs Is it?
Not really. Mostly will be rest & sleep in home. Japan are high stress society. Alot Japananese work until 12am and wake up as early as 5am.
You can go Japan train Station on 5am morning, you will see the crowd already, even 12am midnight, station still got full of people taking last train back home.
rx330
post Nov 29 2022, 10:16 AM

11,811 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Nov 29 2022, 09:35 AM)
Not really. Mostly will be rest & sleep in home. Japan are high stress society. Alot Japananese work until 12am and wake up as early as 5am.
You can go Japan train Station on 5am morning, you will see the crowd already, even 12am midnight, station still got full of people taking last train back home.
I always tot they drink till 12am, then next day early morning wake up to work again hahaha, the youngsters nowadays I dunno la

what's the best time to get on the public transport then , to avoid the crowds
Chaud
post Nov 29 2022, 10:24 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 29 2022, 10:16 AM)
I always tot they drink till 12am, then next day early morning wake up to work again hahaha, the youngsters nowadays I dunno la

what's the best time to get on the public transport then , to avoid the crowds
off peak time biggrin.gif

from 10am-3pm should be fine

evilhomura89
post Nov 29 2022, 02:21 PM

5,886 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Nov 28 2022, 11:52 PM)
I just arrived in tokyo on airasia. There was a slight delay on airasia but arrived about 20 to 30minutes late. Luckily still manage to catch shuttle to hotel. Literally got out 1135pm. Longest was waiting for the luggage. Lol. Airasia still same old same old la.

Dont go for philippines with stopover at MNL. Waste time. At least AA still direct flight.
I'm not worried about these small delays (<1 hour) which is pretty common
I'm just worried about those last minute flight cancellation, rescheduling which will throw your whole plan/itinerary off
And the recent overbooked flight issue on AA

This post has been edited by evilhomura89: Nov 29 2022, 02:22 PM
RegentCid
post Nov 29 2022, 02:47 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Nov 29 2022, 01:21 PM)
I'm just worried about those last minute flight cancellation, rescheduling which will throw your whole plan/itinerary off
AAX to Haneda won't be Cancel or reschedule because Haneda only open 3 slot for AAX to land at Haneda per week only. Plus Haneda also open 3 slot for budget airline & AAX are one of the million lucky airlines.

adele123
post Nov 29 2022, 03:01 PM

4,728 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Nov 29 2022, 02:21 PM)
1) they wont simply cancel. Heard from someone, who flew MAS from sydney back to KL. Also kena cancel. The plane originate from KL. If they cancel KL-haneda, the people in haneda due to come back will be affected also. Unless absolutely necessary, i think they wont do it. Those necessary move, sadly, is just unlucky. Travelling post covid, just gotta be careful lo. Always buy travel insurance, note down all cancellation or change condition of everything you book, and keep plans as flexible as possinle.

2) overbook sadly is a common practice in ALL airlines. That's how they make more money, keeping fare lower generally for each passenger.

It's not uniquely AA problem.
rx330
post Nov 29 2022, 04:53 PM

11,811 posts

how could one ensure that the flight isn't overbook? or is down purely to luck

it happens it happens

or fast fast go Q n check in
adele123
post Nov 29 2022, 06:05 PM

4,728 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 29 2022, 04:53 PM)
how could one ensure that the flight isn't overbook? or is down purely to luck

it happens it happens

or fast fast go Q n check in
I remember watching youtube video, saying the airlines will have some statistics, to determine how many tickets they sell, etc. Based on past experience.

But i think early check in does help with it.

But based on what i saw yesterday... AAX flight was relatively empty. Quiet zone about 30% to 40%. But the "normal" zone still quite full maybe 70% 80%, obviously this number is gut feel, didnt really count. One quick glance, dont see that many rows 3 ppl fully seated.

MotherOfGandalf P
post Nov 29 2022, 08:10 PM

Probation
41 posts

Hi guys, facing some issue on a ryokan's Japanese website when trying to do a booking. Aside from full name, it's also asking for name in furigana as well as a Japan address.. like 7 digits postcode..

I figure I can just put the address of my stay at Tokyo/Yamagata for the address part but the Furigana name part worries me lol. Does it have to match with my ID, which of coz will not have that. Or is it just for reading aid purposes (from my google search icon_idea.gif ) and shouldn't matter? blink.gif
lucaswjk
post Nov 30 2022, 09:24 AM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Nov 29 2022, 02:47 PM)
AAX to Haneda won't be Cancel or reschedule because Haneda only open 3 slot for AAX to land at Haneda per week only. Plus Haneda also open 3 slot for budget airline & AAX are one of the million lucky airlines.
what does 3slots means?
3 landing + departure /week
or
3 days/week

204 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 02:15 AM