202 Pages « < 193 194 195 196 197 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V13, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

RegentCid
post Sep 10 2025, 07:46 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Takudan @ Sep 10 2025, 05:10 PM)
We're planning to drive in Japan (just my bf, I'm photographer/🥔 tongue.gif ). I understand international license will be required but the technicalities aside, I'd like to ask more general "on the ground" questions:

- parking availability/cost: how is it like in small towns (see list below)?
- laws and unspoken rules: anything that might not be obvious to Malaysian?
- safety: I suppose no winter tyres required for late autumn, right?

Places we might drive in:
-  Beppu town
- Hiroshima (maybe less likely)
- still studying around Kyushu, recommendations for/against welcome.

I'm weighing our options against getting a JR regional pass (+ maybe more other daily passes), especially gonna use that for longer distance like Hiroshima-Fukuoka, so I hope that we can use public transport wherever convenient enough.
Japan not allow turn left when red light. Malaysia do allow. When reach non traffic light Junction or any Zebra Cross Road. You must stop 3 sec no matter got car or human or not. If Zebra cross road got traffic light version just follow the light, for those non light version, compulsory stop 3 sec. This kind of Cross Road always got Police fishing!!!

Beppu recommended self driving if you want to take those Great Steam Town photo shot. Hiroshima no need driving because Tram & Train already covered 90% of city.
Kyushu, I need more detail because alot Kyushu major cities are fully covered by Tram & Train & Buses.
ZeroSP
post Sep 10 2025, 07:48 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Sep 10 2025, 06:44 PM)
Tried both batik (Once) and AA (three times), batik land at nrt while AA land at hnd. Batik seat and legroom more comfortable than AA, AA seat and legroom for 7 hours flight is horrible and backpain when arrive. Service wise on the air both not much different since low cost airline. But i do notice that Klia 1 batik staff during check in is more friendly than AA at Klia 2. Both airlines also experienced slight delay when departure but nothing major.

Like what above mentioned as well, if got money better go for ANA, staff is incredible and polite. If book early, ANA round trip can be cheaper than AA and batik. AA/Batik need self add on luggage etc. You can compare all of them using google flights.
Yes, except they need to know that Batik is using narrowbody B737, while AAX is using A330 despite the horrible legroom and seat. Generally, its better to score deal with ANA, and very rare happening JAL/MAS.
gooroojee
post Sep 10 2025, 07:49 PM

LowYee
2,187 posts

QUOTE(SkyCaptain @ Sep 10 2025, 07:42 PM)
What were the maximum and minimum temperatures and relative humidity levels in Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka during your recent trip?
Tokyo recorded the highest heat wave in history in September. 37℃ when I was there. Earlier predictions when I booked the trip was 27℃ or lower.

Kyoto and Osaka was impacted by the Typhoon. So there were heavy rains for maybe an hour, and drizzles at other times.
SkyCaptain
post Sep 10 2025, 08:00 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(kirakun @ Sep 10 2025, 04:35 PM)
MAS, JAL and ANA is also comparable even to AA and Batik if u plan early and did your survey. AA and Batik is only cheap for solo traveler as seat and baggage and even meal is to be purchased separately. Bought mine few months ago return flight for 2 pax for 5.4k ANA.
What are the range of prices from MAS, ANA and JAL that you are referring to here (when you say comparable to AAX and Batik Air)?
19 Degree South
post Sep 10 2025, 08:46 PM

1,675 posts

QUOTE(SkyCaptain @ Sep 10 2025, 08:00 PM)
What are the range of prices from MAS, ANA and JAL that you are referring to here (when you say comparable to AAX and Batik Air)?

I booked MAS four days back for rm 1900 to tokyo. I wanted to try out the A330-900 neo.lol

SkyCaptain
post Sep 10 2025, 08:59 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Sep 10 2025, 08:46 PM)
I booked MAS four days back for rm 1900 to tokyo. I wanted to try out the A330-900 neo.lol
Great price for MAS, especially on a direct flight and on the nice A330-900 neo too. At this price, they'll rob some AAX passengers away from Capital A.
jdachum
post Sep 10 2025, 09:18 PM

308 posts

MAS, ANA and JAL were throwing price last month at around RM1.5k, damn cheap
Human Nature
post Sep 10 2025, 09:19 PM

- student of human nature -
26,520 posts

QUOTE(jdachum @ Sep 10 2025, 09:18 PM)
For which ttravel period? So cheap.. even RM1900 is worth it
SkyCaptain
post Sep 10 2025, 09:31 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(jdachum @ Sep 10 2025, 09:18 PM)
I definitely missed that, thanks for the tip.
kirakun
post Sep 10 2025, 10:55 PM

697 posts

ANA 2.7k all in per pax while both AA and Batik air 2.2k to 2.5k bare ticket. JAL and MAS also all in but priced around 4k per pax. Plus seat and baggage the price shoot to 3k to 3.5k. Also the seat pitch is horrible for AA. Batik Air better and used to have individual in flight entertainment but for whatever reason no longer provides anymore. For end of the year period.
gooroojee
post Sep 10 2025, 11:55 PM

LowYee
2,187 posts

ANA and JAL offered free connecting local flights to any destination in Japan too...So that's a perk
apitzhnu
post Sep 11 2025, 12:08 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 10 2025, 07:46 PM)
Japan not allow turn left when red light. Malaysia do allow. When reach non traffic light Junction or any Zebra Cross Road. You must stop 3 sec no matter got car or human or not. If Zebra cross road got traffic light version just follow the light, for those non light version, compulsory stop 3 sec. This kind of Cross Road always got Police fishing!!! 

Beppu recommended self driving if you want to take those Great Steam Town photo shot. Hiroshima no need driving because Tram & Train already covered 90% of city.
Kyushu, I need more detail because alot Kyushu major cities are fully covered by Tram & Train & Buses.
I'm planning to drive there aswell especially on rural areas. But I'm still confused with yellow solid middle line. Understand it meant by can't overtake car over the line, but is it allowed to turn right? As their rural road is pretty long and hard to find a way to u turn. I tried to search around but mostly the answer were mix.
ajay67
post Sep 11 2025, 07:31 AM

2,960 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 10 2025, 09:19 PM)
For which ttravel period? So cheap.. even RM1900 is worth it
mine is 1288 for vietnam air but of coz need to transit HCM lor biggrin.gif
RegentCid
post Sep 11 2025, 08:32 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(apitzhnu @ Sep 10 2025, 11:08 PM)
I'm planning to drive there aswell especially on rural areas. But I'm still confused with yellow solid middle line. Understand it meant by can't overtake car over the line, but is it allowed to turn right? As their rural road is pretty long and hard to find a way to u turn. I tried to search around but mostly the answer were mix.
You can't switch Lane on Yellow Line. You must switch before Yellow Line. Once you entering Yellow Line Lane, It will be specifi Lane for Turn Left / Right or go Strait.
Human Nature
post Sep 11 2025, 09:41 AM

- student of human nature -
26,520 posts

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Sep 11 2025, 07:31 AM)
mine is 1288 for vietnam air but of coz need to transit HCM lor  biggrin.gif
Check in Luggage is automatically transferred or manual?
SkyCaptain
post Sep 11 2025, 09:44 AM

262 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 11 2025, 09:41 AM)
Check in Luggage is automatically transferred or manual?
Auto, fortunately. You just walk yourself through the transit gate upon arriving SGN or HAN airports.
jdachum
post Sep 11 2025, 10:06 AM

308 posts

QUOTE(SkyCaptain @ Sep 10 2025, 09:31 PM)
I definitely missed that, thanks for the tip.
ANA just had an ANA Blue Sale last week. RM1.9k including free domestic flight in Japan, even managed to search one in April next year for the Sakura season

This post has been edited by jdachum: Sep 11 2025, 10:06 AM
terriblyrawtea
post Sep 11 2025, 10:23 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Sep 11 2025, 07:31 AM)
mine is 1288 for vietnam air but of coz need to transit HCM lor  biggrin.gif
what did u managed to do during the short layover?
huangpl89
post Sep 11 2025, 12:42 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(terriblyrawtea @ Sep 11 2025, 10:23 AM)
what did u managed to do during the short layover?
I flied from kl to nagoya (stopover SGN) and return from Osaka (same stopover). their airport literally have nthg much there. so nthg to do also.

i flied this year march, weather is good, end of winter, still have some snow in takayama, and short one here and there. short is like less than 10second snow. hahahahaha! it do happen. and some place have plum blossom. (sakura not yet bloom)

the flight tic is about 1.6k/pax. if cheap should be 1.3k but probably summer? or non peak season.
kkm
post Sep 11 2025, 06:01 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(SkyCaptain @ Sep 7 2025, 02:44 PM)
Being near one of those metro stations that I mentioned will be convenient if you intend to take a train to Narita airport. Referring to this screenshot, you should be able to get to Narita Airport in time for your 10.20am flight if you take the Keisei Narita Skyaccess train using the Asakusa line from Nihombashi station. However, taking a train is not as straightforward as an airport limousine bus. For convenience, you might want to take a taxi for a very short ride from your hotel near Tokyo Station and get down at Tokyo Eki JR Kosoku Bus NoribaTokyo Eki JR Kosoku Bus Noriba stop and catch an airport limousine bus from Tokyo Station to Narita Airport.
Newbie question - how much is the fare from Tokyo Station to Narita for the airport limo bus?

202 Pages « < 193 194 195 196 197 > » Top

0.0172sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:25 AM