DELL INSPIRON 1520 FANS CLUB V1, Now include 1525 & 1720 Users! Join here
sotong168
Oct 24 2007, 04:33 PM
QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Oct 24 2007, 03:33 PM) it seems that all dell 1520 has vista preinstalled.i have an original vista ultimate, if i talk to the dell salesperson on not wanting the vista, do u think the laptop price will be reduced? i tried b4, they dun have authority for that, it's an agreement between dell & m$ i suppose
cloudstrife07
Oct 24 2007, 07:15 PM
QUOTE(dzi921 @ Oct 24 2007, 04:09 PM) QUOTE(sotong168 @ Oct 24 2007, 04:33 PM) i tried b4, they dun have authority for that, it's an agreement between dell & m$ i suppose aiseh.i dun want to opt for vostro just for the sake of 'no windows preinstalled'. i'll wait until the end of the year and see if the price fits, i'll buy it.need geforce 8600gt + 1680x1050 widescreen goodies  and also my fren wanted to buy my benQ s73G
sotong168
Oct 24 2007, 09:04 PM
QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Oct 24 2007, 07:15 PM) aiseh.i dun want to opt for vostro just for the sake of 'no windows preinstalled'. i'll wait until the end of the year and see if the price fits, i'll buy it.need geforce 8600gt + 1680x1050 widescreen goodies  and also my fren wanted to buy my benQ s73G  vostro got dos option but after customize for cpu, vga, ram & etc upgrade, the price is more expensive than vista bundled package
Darkmage12
Oct 24 2007, 10:08 PM
QUOTE(chsua10 @ Oct 23 2007, 12:46 AM) i used to work at Dell...  there's one person who controls all these DFO sales... (including Australia) and she's not even a manager... lol Added on October 23, 2007, 12:47 ami'm waiting for her to resign and i'll apply for that job with expected salary RM1k only hehe  er then you can help us on DFO?
raymannlucas
Oct 25 2007, 03:13 AM
QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Oct 24 2007, 10:08 PM) er then you can help us on DFO? hopefully he is willing to help us out...dell long term customer here....muahahha
sotong168
Oct 25 2007, 07:53 AM
QUOTE(raymannlucas @ Oct 25 2007, 03:13 AM) hopefully he is willing to help us out...dell long term customer here....muahahha  count me in too~
djlah
Oct 25 2007, 08:31 AM
QUOTE(sotong168 @ Oct 24 2007, 09:04 PM) vostro got dos option but after customize for cpu, vga, ram & etc upgrade, the price is more expensive than vista bundled package  more expensive will it possible is because the material of the chassis are different? although all the spec are the same except os
sotong168
Oct 25 2007, 09:29 AM
QUOTE(djlah @ Oct 25 2007, 08:31 AM) more expensive will it possible is because the material of the chassis are different? although all the spec are the same except os what i meant is vostro dos after configured to the same spec as vostro vista, the former price is higher
StratOS
Oct 25 2007, 06:39 PM
i just got my dell 1520.. but why cant i install any games..? hmm.. i tired install airbourne at first then failed.. then i try dirt but the CD-ROM still detect the CD inside the drive as Airbourne CD wo.. Added on October 25, 2007, 11:08 pmJust finish writing the review for my lappy.. can view it at my blog here.. http://azucariados.blogspot.com/This post has been edited by StratOS: Oct 25 2007, 11:08 PM
kianchun555
Oct 26 2007, 01:01 PM
QUOTE(StratOS @ Oct 25 2007, 06:39 PM) i just got my dell 1520.. but why cant i install any games..? hmm.. i tired install airbourne at first then failed.. then i try dirt but the CD-ROM still detect the CD inside the drive as Airbourne CD wo.. Added on October 25, 2007, 11:08 pmJust finish writing the review for my lappy.. can view it at my blog here.. http://azucariados.blogspot.com/Nice spec you have there, how much you spend for it? You spend 1k+ just for the ram?
StratOS
Oct 26 2007, 03:40 PM
rm4400 only.. bought from ahchew...
zadan
Oct 26 2007, 05:56 PM
= BF 2 FeVa =
just got my 1520 inspiron sunshine yellow. so far owning this laptop feels like not owning one....1st time boot up hang, many times boot still hang,reinstalled windows vista my self, i installed Dirt cannot play, installed my NFS carbon cannot play, still got crash. today very very fedup i reformatted the laptop and reinstalled everything again. so far the performance...still my P4 out performs it. i have no idea why is it like this. is this normal for this spec?
C2D 2.0ghz 2gb Ram 8600gt vista home premium
anyway how come the video driver detects as standard video card?not 8600gt? not happy with this lappy currently. can anyone help?
kianchun555
Oct 26 2007, 06:42 PM
QUOTE(zadan @ Oct 26 2007, 05:56 PM) just got my 1520 inspiron sunshine yellow. so far owning this laptop feels like not owning one....1st time boot up hang, many times boot still hang,reinstalled windows vista my self, i installed Dirt cannot play, installed my NFS carbon cannot play, still got crash. today very very fedup i reformatted the laptop and reinstalled everything again. so far the performance...still my P4 out performs it. i have no idea why is it like this. is this normal for this spec? C2D 2.0ghz 2gb Ram 8600gt vista home premium anyway how come the video driver detects as standard video card?not 8600gt? not happy with this lappy currently. can anyone help? I think it might be your graphic driver missing. Try download from www.laptopvideo2go.com.
raymannlucas
Oct 27 2007, 09:14 AM
QUOTE(zadan @ Oct 26 2007, 05:56 PM) just got my 1520 inspiron sunshine yellow. so far owning this laptop feels like not owning one....1st time boot up hang, many times boot still hang,reinstalled windows vista my self, i installed Dirt cannot play, installed my NFS carbon cannot play, still got crash. today very very fedup i reformatted the laptop and reinstalled everything again. so far the performance...still my P4 out performs it. i have no idea why is it like this. is this normal for this spec? C2D 2.0ghz 2gb Ram 8600gt vista home premium anyway how come the video driver detects as standard video card?not 8600gt? not happy with this lappy currently. can anyone help? dont blame dell...i face the same problem with u when using vista...after i installed win xp, no more such problem exist...all the games u mentioned above, i did tried on vista, succesfully installed and get to play, but not more than 15 mins, it hanged and i have to turn off by pressing the turn off button 3 seconds...give up on vista, and i installed only windows xp...it works until now...and i think u got the same spec with me though....it shudnt be a problem if u use windows xp... u shud have a driver cd with u...try uninstall the standard driver video card driver as u said...reinstall the chipset driver first only u install the video card...thats the weird procedure doing it...thats what i found out...
Hayumi
Oct 27 2007, 10:22 PM
my inspiron 1520 flamago pink just arrived this afternoon. So for so good... no damage. I just realize that the screen is wider than i expected... >.<
StratOS
Oct 28 2007, 12:05 AM
QUOTE(zadan @ Oct 26 2007, 05:56 PM) just got my 1520 inspiron sunshine yellow. so far owning this laptop feels like not owning one....1st time boot up hang, many times boot still hang,reinstalled windows vista my self, i installed Dirt cannot play, installed my NFS carbon cannot play, still got crash. today very very fedup i reformatted the laptop and reinstalled everything again. so far the performance...still my P4 out performs it. i have no idea why is it like this. is this normal for this spec? C2D 2.0ghz 2gb Ram 8600gt vista home premium anyway how come the video driver detects as standard video card?not 8600gt? not happy with this lappy currently. can anyone help? should be ur driver problem.. mine come in detect as 8600gt la.. no problem..
zadan
Oct 28 2007, 12:11 AM
= BF 2 FeVa =
ok ok downloaded everthing already and now the laptop is showing it colours...paise...paise....i can max setting except AA on NFS carbon wow...even my P4 also cannot
sotong168
Oct 28 2007, 08:28 AM
QUOTE(zadan @ Oct 28 2007, 12:11 AM) ok ok downloaded everthing already and now the laptop is showing it colours...paise...paise....i can max setting except AA on NFS carbon wow...even my P4 also cannot glad that the issue resolved... tot u gonna let go you laptop already by looking at your previous grievance
marquis
Oct 29 2007, 10:14 AM
Hey I didn't know this thread existed!  Had a 1520 for about 2 months already. Only used it for gaming recently  Too busy with uni work to get down to play any games. Rather annoyed with the earphone buzzing issue. Also annoyed I can't get the remote control from Dell. I'm filled with annoyance with Dell atm. Also the fact that my 926 printer died on me. On warranty but can't claim from UK. Annoyed. Sigh.