hmm okok.. no wonder i see only 1 slot on the bottom..
DELL INSPIRON 1520 FANS CLUB V1, Now include 1525 & 1720 Users! Join here
Dec 11 2007, 12:26 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
20,901 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Miri, Sarawak |
hmm okok.. no wonder i see only 1 slot on the bottom..
Dec 11 2007, 07:34 PM
202 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Chelas |
Add me to the list... Alphine White is the color... loving it... but it seems like got light leakage at the bottom of the LCD la...
Dec 13 2007, 06:50 PM
y no1 reply in this thread liao de
Dec 14 2007, 05:15 AM
757 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
Hi all
I will be the owner of 1520 soon Can anyone tell me what to check to ensure my unit is good? For example , gainy screen and stuff like that. Thanks in advance |
Dec 14 2007, 01:22 PM
this thread is kinda dead.. so let us make it live once more.. ahjaha..
hmm.. just make sure u get whats in the details given from Dell, check see the speakers working good, every buttons on the keyboard functioning well, touchpad is working good, etc etc lor.. slowly check 1.. |
Dec 14 2007, 03:46 PM
QUOTE(StratOS @ Dec 14 2007, 01:22 PM) this thread is kinda dead.. so let us make it live once more.. ahjaha.. Well , of course i will check that , but what i meant is some 1520 common problem that normally people wont discover it by the first look , like grainy screen , which normally is not as obvious as the speaker is not workinghmm.. just make sure u get whats in the details given from Dell, check see the speakers working good, every buttons on the keyboard functioning well, touchpad is working good, etc etc lor.. slowly check 1.. |
Dec 15 2007, 09:54 AM
Hi
I got my 1520 yesterday , and i was kind of dissapointed that the screen , although its 1280*800 , but the screen looks "not like 1280*800" Err.....how to say? , i would say , not clear. I watch the dvd on it , and i found that the edge of the picture is not as sharp as the one i watch on my pc monitor , is this normal? Or this is the legendary "grainy screen"? No dead pixel , i check for a few times already. Ya , what blue tooth type it support? I search in the website , and found nothing. And , is all the Cds given contain the lastest driver? And they install the latest driver? How to check whether there are newer version? Well , so far i dont have lagness on my 1520 , because i am using 2GB Ram , will vista SP1 reduce the usage of the RAM? And how to improve the Graphic card performance? I heard that this has to do with the driver, and no overclocking.... Thanks in advance |
Dec 15 2007, 12:41 PM
1,059 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Petaling jaya |
O.O?got ur notebook edi?
Dec 15 2007, 01:15 PM
Dec 15 2007, 02:17 PM
yeah... can someone teach me how to check monitor problem such as light leakage or grainy screen...
what is grainy screen? plus 1 thing is... sumtimes.. it does looks like light leakage at the bottom of the lcd, but when looking from a different angle or height... it seems to be normal... |
Dec 15 2007, 03:02 PM
Well , i also want to ask the same thing.....
Well , the screen is not as sharp as it should be , when i play DVD movies , the picture quality really sucks...... Is this the grainy screen? |
Dec 16 2007, 07:55 AM
if the pixels are smaller it might be alittle harder to notice the grainy screen..
dunno how to explain also.. register urself here and theres pictures showing the grainy screen problems.. http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=170215 |
Dec 16 2007, 08:27 AM
QUOTE(StratOS @ Dec 16 2007, 07:55 AM) if the pixels are smaller it might be alittle harder to notice the grainy screen.. Thanks dude , dunno how to explain also.. register urself here and theres pictures showing the grainy screen problems.. http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=170215 Well , i cant see clearly whats the difference in the pic, but anyway , i guess i know what is "Grainy" To me , its simply means "not sharp as it should be" , A dvd movie played like a VCD , its obvious a "grainy screen" |
Dec 18 2007, 10:29 PM
237 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Big Hill Leg |
Well, after 5 months of using this notebook, everything works well. Just that some cheapo finishing esp the media button(located right in front of the laptop to play, stop, increase or decrease volume), power on/off, media direct button. The coating of the button will automatically came off even though I hardly ever touch it ! I've changed the entire panel once during August. The new one also came off later. Went to PC FAIR 2 weeks ago n realize that the 1520 displayed there also facing the same condition.
I just accept it as this is a mid-range notebook (not expecting IBM quality). Apart from that, everything just works smoothly and most games can be played smoothly (CRYSIS la, PROSTREET la, COD4 la) with 8600 GT la, of course. Compared to my bro 1420, the 1420 seems to have a better built quality. The coating wont came off, the closing lid mechanism is way better than 1520, the location of USB ports is more convenient, the LCD not as thicky as 1520, and it is way lighter. Anyway, seems that not many ppl are complaining, no wonder this thread is not so active recently. It is assumed that most users are enjoy using their 1520, yeah |
Dec 19 2007, 08:27 PM
451 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Dell Inspiron 1520 received today. Alpine White =)
Dec 19 2007, 08:46 PM
Dec 20 2007, 12:13 AM
2,332 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: *KL-ian* |
well i regretted chosing sunshine yellow.after one month using can see black marks all over it already. anyway im facing this problem of the lcd colour calibration. i do photo editing alot and found out the colours is not correct and saturation too low on this lcd. anyone can help me on monitor calibration softwares?
Dec 20 2007, 02:16 PM
451 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
SOrry I can't help you there zadan =/ btw, where can I download the latest video driver, the one on dell support is only for 8400M gt while i'm using 8600M GT
Dec 20 2007, 06:36 PM
yeah... i think tis thread is daed becoz most of us too enjoy with our 1520 already since i think mine is quite nice for gaming
Dec 20 2007, 07:46 PM
282 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: Heaven on Earth |
well, dunno was it a prob or not, recently my vista keep on pop out a window says my windows indexing fail to complete the tast, any one met such prob b4? and know wats the indexing for? please let me know k
| Change to: | 0.2869sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:26 PM |