PPSMI: Think of future of Malay community, says Mahathir

blanket84
post Feb 6 2020, 05:45 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(letitsnow @ Feb 6 2020, 04:50 PM)
yes. if we talking about familiarize students with (a) comprehension, and (b) explaining certain mechanism eloquently in English; which I think its what most people is struggling about, EST should solve that problem.

And then the problem about not learning science jargon in English is trivial issue in my opinion. I mean, how hard can it be to figure out that jisim is mass and nyahpecutan is deceleration, does anyone have any harder example?

If wanna improve English, then improve the way we teach English, not by meddling with other subjects.
Of course it sounds simple when you’re giving two example. But when there are thousands of science term in English, it isn’t simple anymore.

Keseimbangan terma, legap, bebuli, pelakuran, peleburan, pengewapan, pemejaluwapan, perolakan, sinaran, haba pendam tetap (permanent bury heat? laugh.gif), muatan pendam haba, malar, bendalir, tolok, pembiasan, pemantulan, perambatan, cembung, cekung, satah, berserenjang, sudut genting, logamaya.

I just went through two chapters of form 4 fizik and i already found so much term that you don’t use in conversational english nor in conversational BM and you might have hard time to translate and re-memorize.

This post has been edited by blanket84: Feb 6 2020, 05:45 PM
Spear2
post Feb 6 2020, 06:07 PM

19,494 posts

QUOTE(jamilselamat @ Feb 6 2020, 05:27 PM)
I kept thinking about this on my way back from(redacted government agency name), but...

I cant think of any other reason why would there be so much opposition to maintaining Malay language for all subjects, except

1. Many non Bumiputeras looking down on Malay language and loathe the thought of being required to be proficient at it for professional reasons, ie. Racism

2. Those from rich bangsawan families who speaks mainly English even at home, also loathing the thought of being forced to learn what is essentially 'bahasa paria' to them. "Eeeee... drop standard I nanti tau".

Maybe I need to stop skipping Zoloft for when I need to think more rationally in a conversation instead of letting my emotions run wild and making assumptions, but so far no one has ever tried to successfully prove me wrong about this.
I agree, most non-Bumi/bangsawan look down on the language but not because of racism. Not because it is a Malay language per se, but because it is associated with undesirable characteristics about the language. In the past many overseas Chinese looked down on the Chinese language which thot to be regressive, sick and ideologically evil, decided to send their children to national or English school because English at the time was thot to be la creme dela creme window into the modern world.
letitsnow
post Feb 6 2020, 06:36 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Feb 6 2020, 05:45 PM)
Of course it sounds simple when you’re giving two example. But when there are thousands of science term in English, it isn’t simple anymore.

Keseimbangan terma, legap, bebuli, pelakuran, peleburan, pengewapan, pemejaluwapan, perolakan, sinaran, haba pendam tetap (permanent bury heat? laugh.gif), muatan pendam haba, malar, bendalir, tolok, pembiasan, pemantulan, perambatan, cembung, cekung, satah, berserenjang, sudut genting, logamaya.

I just went through two chapters of form 4 fizik and i already found so much term that you don’t use in conversational english nor in conversational BM and you might have hard time to translate and re-memorize.
Believe it or not, I could give English equivalent for each term you mentioned. But of course that would defeat the purpose since I'm already know in the first place. But in student shoes, what they can do is open up dictionary, or ask around, or keep reading more materials to a point they reach epiphany; like how they usually do when learning English on other non-science related stuff.

That learning process is so similar with non-science related to a point might just improve their way of learning English than making another whole new programme to address that petty issue.
blanket84
post Feb 6 2020, 06:48 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(letitsnow @ Feb 6 2020, 06:36 PM)
Believe it or not, I could give English equivalent for each term you mentioned. But of course that would defeat the purpose since I'm already know in the first place. But in student shoes, what they can do is open up dictionary, or ask around, or keep reading more materials to a point they reach epiphany; like how they usually do when learning English on other non-science related stuff.

That learning process is so similar with non-science related to a point might just improve their way of learning English than making another whole new programme to address that petty issue.
Well most non science subjects use word that are commonly used in conversational english. So to translate them isn’t that hard.

Like you said, since you already go through the transition phase and learned the subject in depth, it is easy for you to translate all the words that i listed. But for kids in school who’s trying to read references in english or to watch documentary in english, they will be having hard time to understand what is being explained.

To be honest, if the notes i read just now didn’t come with diagrams, it would take some time for me to find equivalent words in english for the BM words i listed above.

But i am an engineer, so equivalent words to be substituted alone would be enough for me to understand, but for students, the might have to reread the whole chapter to understand, not to mention the time to memorize the new terms.
gundamsp01
post Feb 6 2020, 06:50 PM

gunpla procrastinator
901 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Feb 6 2020, 12:10 PM)
what is the point understand Science terminology but english fail  laugh.gif
is like i give u a japanese kanji book of science and math...nah learn it. laugh.gif
end of the day will ur japanese language get better? NOPE
yes, it will。 true story
私はそうやって、難しい日本語を勉強しました。
aliesterfiend
post Feb 6 2020, 06:56 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Feb 6 2020, 06:48 PM)
Well most non science subjects use word that are commonly used in conversational english. So to translate them isn’t that hard.

Like you said, since you already go through the transition phase and learned the subject in depth, it is easy for you to translate all the words that i listed. But for kids in school who’s trying to read references in english or to watch documentary in english, they will be having hard time to understand what is being explained.

To be honest, if the notes i read just now didn’t come with diagrams, it would take some time for me to find equivalent words in english for the BM words i listed above.

But i am an engineer, so equivalent words to be substituted alone would be enough for me to understand, but for students, the might have to reread the whole chapter to understand, not to mention the time to memorize the new terms.
Why need to translate? Can just use the English term while learning still in Malay. In law, we dont translate all Latin terms. Just Malaynize the English terms just like the English anglicised the Arabic terms and the Arabs arabicised the Greek terms.
blanket84
post Feb 6 2020, 07:03 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ Feb 6 2020, 06:56 PM)
Why need to translate? Can just use the English term while learning still in Malay. In law, we dont translate all Latin terms. Just Malaynize the English terms just like the English anglicised the Arabic terms and the Arabs arabicised the Greek terms.
Well that is a good compromise if the government (and DBP) is willing to do. Stop translate all science terms and use english term instead for scientific terms especially words that are seldom used in conversational BM.

Or in all teaching notes & and text books, make it compulsory to put english term next to the BM term, maybe in bracket and italic so that the students can learn both terms simultaneously.

This post has been edited by blanket84: Feb 6 2020, 07:03 PM
letitsnow
post Feb 6 2020, 07:15 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Feb 6 2020, 06:48 PM)

Nope, I'm still inclined its easy. Even today when we have Wikipedia and google translate. It's no longer as hard as those days, which still to me not a frustrating experience.

When you stumble upon certain jargon, you're found it in sentence, or with units, or with related math formula. Which should give a hint what the jargon is about no matter how rare the jargon is. hmmm... OKlah i understand, maybe its hard for you. But to me its not that hard to figure out, which i hope not hard for other student as well.

This post has been edited by letitsnow: Feb 6 2020, 07:17 PM
aliesterfiend
post Feb 6 2020, 07:16 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Feb 6 2020, 07:03 PM)
Well that is a good compromise if the government (and DBP) is willing to do. Stop translate all science terms and use english term instead for scientific terms especially words that are seldom used in conversational BM.

Or in all teaching notes & and text books, make it compulsory to put english term next to the BM term, maybe in bracket and italic so that the students can learn both terms simultaneously.
Yes, then can teach math and science purely in English for Form 4 and Form 5.

The primary school is formative years. We usually discover what subject we like during these years. It's easier to find what we like if we can understand what's being tought in the first place.

By F4 and F5, students should already have basic understanding of English.
Lim Wee Huat
post Feb 6 2020, 07:22 PM

262 posts

Not wrong.. Just that it is too late.
SUSjoe_star
post Feb 6 2020, 07:29 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

QUOTE(BluePants @ Feb 6 2020, 11:49 AM)
I cannot understand that lembu who changed it back to BM in 2013. What's his reasoning??
Please keep in mind all parties of PR (PKR, DAP, PAS) fully support the move back to BM & mother tongue that time
blanket84
post Feb 6 2020, 07:35 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(letitsnow @ Feb 6 2020, 07:15 PM)
Nope, I'm still inclined its easy. Even today when we have Wikipedia and google translate. It's no longer as hard as those days, which still to me not a frustrating experience.

When you stumble upon certain jargon, you're found it in sentence, or with units, or with related math formula. Which should give a hint what the jargon is about no matter how rare the jargon is. hmmm... OKlah i understand, maybe its hard for you. But to me its not that hard to figure out, which i hope not hard for other student as well.
It isn’t hard for me now, but it was hard for me last time with my english encyclopedia. Like you said nowadays there is wikipedia and google translate, which i don’t have the luxury of during my time.

And to “hint” is easy, but hinting isn’t enough for me, I would always want to confirm what i “hinted”. And that would need rereading.

What you hope and the reality is different. I got A2 in 1119 and band 7 in ielts, but i still struggled in the beginning of my A-level with BM to english transition in maths & physics subjects. I believe the number of students with worse english command than me is more than the better ones (like you), hence i fully support PPSMI.
ramboramsey
post Feb 6 2020, 07:41 PM

it is because the internet. without the internet you dont relly need english to be good in sc and stem. with the internet event the chinese need to be good in english japanese and korean too. The thais take a separate extra class to learn english now, same goes to the vietnamese as well. the indons will revise their education syllabus in the very near future and trust me, they will add more english related subject to improve their oveall proficiency
MADReaLJL
post Feb 6 2020, 07:46 PM

4,050 posts

QUOTE(nasi lemak 20 sen @ Feb 6 2020, 12:45 PM)
Most cannot follow the class since standard 1. And teacher only communicate with those who already know English. Those speak English at home ones.
I am surprised you didn't know this.
Agree.
MADReaLJL
post Feb 6 2020, 07:51 PM

4,050 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Feb 6 2020, 05:45 PM)

For me it's easier on English.

U want to learn in malay also can. But it'll go nowhere. Can't compare to the Japanese. They have very high work ethic. Us? Cukup lah, ok lah, esok lah and we'll stuck on the same page till forever.
tictac88
post Feb 6 2020, 08:06 PM

191 posts

actually i agree with Dr M. all other ASEAN countries are trying to improve their English skills, if Malaysia still want to deny such need and refuse to try improving such skills, some days in the future you might find existing foreign companies are leaving as they find other neighbouring countries are simply better suit their needs.

ikankering
post Feb 6 2020, 08:07 PM

42 posts

only mahathir care about us.
ZerOne01
post Feb 6 2020, 08:14 PM

124 posts

Panjangnya gaduh lel
ihm11
post Feb 6 2020, 08:21 PM

62 posts

how does teaching a subject in engrand make sum1 gud in engrand when he doesn't have a gud grounding to begin with?

if i dun understand polish, u can teach me every subject under the sun in polish and i still wont know shit
ZerOne01
post Feb 6 2020, 08:22 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(ihm11 @ Feb 6 2020, 08:21 PM)
how does teaching a subject in engrand make sum1 gud in engrand when he doesn't have a gud grounding to begin with?

if i dun understand polish, u can teach me every subject under the sun in polish and i still wont know shit

12 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.0221sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:53 PM