https://www.raiz.com.my/

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/pnb-...ting-mobile-app

Oh, the fees are quite high though: https://www.raiz.com.my/fees/

This post has been edited by TOS: Jul 23 2020, 04:21 PM
SUSTOS
post Jul 23 2020, 09:22 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(faizfizy39 @ Jul 23 2020, 07:17 PM)
So BBB?

Raiz
- 3 pilihan portfolio: Konservatif, Sederhana, Agresif
- Setiap portfolio berbeza % untuk setiap dana
- 3 dana: ASN Sara 1, ASN Equity 3, ASN Imbang 2
- Fi:
--> RM1.50 sebulan untuk akaun baki bawah RM6K
--> 0.3% setahun untuk akaun dengan baki RM6K ke atas
Er, what is "BBB"?

This should be a good service overall, but the charges are too high for "micro-investing" purpose, in my opinion. It should be a fraction of the money you place in the account, rather than the 1.50 monthly fee for < 6k account.

If say my bank account has 1000 MYR remaining every month (non-cumulative), the fees would add up to 1.8% for the whole year, worse than putting my money straight into myASNB's VP fund directly. If it's a few hundreds, then the charges (in %) would be very high.

Of course, the charges really depends on how much one puts in. If one's account has 6k, then one year the charges only amount to 0.3%, better than investing through myASNB.

But with a 6k capital, I don't see how you would call this a "micro-investing" platform. For small capital, such exorbitant charges (measured in %) would defeat the purpose of promoting it as "micro-investing" platform.

But it's good that they want to move away from promoting FP fund, as they have found it hard to churn out high yields for their FP funds in recent years.

This post has been edited by TOS: Jul 23 2020, 09:23 PM
SUSTOS
post Aug 5 2020, 04:32 PM

8,667 posts

https://www.asnb.com.my/img/newlandingpage/..._Wawasan_FA.pdf

ASM2 Wawasan dividend coming...
SUSTOS
post Aug 6 2020, 08:55 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(CSW1990 @ Aug 5 2020, 05:20 PM)
less than 4% maybe?
ASM hold most equity on financial sector and TNB
Hopefully around 4%-4.5%, something like that. Maybe 3% ++ if they assume a risk premium of 1% above FD rate, in worst case.

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Aug 6 2020, 07:43 AM)
But if stock market recovering , indirectly PNB funds return also would recover. For me better to leave money to professionals to play the stock market. Speaking from extremely conservative and risk averse person.
If you know that 40% of the local stocks are controlled directly by the GLICs, you won't invest directly since it won't be a fair playing field in any case. The money retailers lost translate into the gains by PNB, EPF, KWAP, Khazanah etc.

More so, now that the foreigners are accounting for less share of the trading volume/value, the major counterparty for retailer is naturally the institutional investors.

This post has been edited by TOS: Aug 6 2020, 08:56 AM
SUSTOS
post Aug 6 2020, 12:19 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(familyfirst @ Aug 6 2020, 09:01 AM)
Im expecting nothing less than 4%.  Anything that starts with a 3 would be very depressing/reduce public confidence and I dont think they want that.
Maybe they already expect the public to expect that kind of return. laugh.gif
SUSTOS
post Aug 18 2020, 03:11 PM

8,667 posts

https://www.asnb.com.my/asb30tahun.php

Even though I am a non-bumi, still enjoy reading the trivia page and viewing the galley photos. They actually promote ASB on a raft sailing down a river!

I hope there will be a similar celebration page for other ASNB FP products.
SUSTOS
post Aug 18 2020, 09:27 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(feeho @ Aug 18 2020, 04:50 PM)
you think too much already.
SUSTOS
post Aug 19 2020, 05:26 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Aug 19 2020, 05:07 PM)
ok. i think you are correct. brows.gif

since i have been thinking too much, i hereby declare any form of promotion in kopitiam (even in this thread) is now strictly prohibited

please use the correct forum to advertise your services

You are serious?
SUSTOS
post Aug 21 2020, 02:23 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(GodTier @ Aug 21 2020, 01:58 AM)
Who wanna sell units? I want to buy

Anything under 100k I will sapu, because I am 20k nett salary earner.

How much is the fee?
20k a month. rclxms.gif

Would suggest you to invest in other things rather than surviving with the miserable after-"comission" returns of ASNB fixed price fund.

You see, the grass is greener in a lot of markets: HK, Singapore, US, UK, Eurozone, China, Australia, South Korea, Japan, Taiwan etc.

There are a lot of options out there. Would really appreciate if you can help relieve the stress of those who really need the units to begin learning investing with.

For your case, you are better off writing options and earn from the premium.
SUSTOS
post Aug 24 2020, 02:11 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Bora Prisoner @ Aug 24 2020, 01:45 PM)
how much is very little?

if 60k, just dump into EPF lah
Should take note of liquidity issue. If he is far from 55 years old, has "little money" (very subjective) and still has financial commitment, one lump sum of 60k might not be advisable, since in case of emergency that 60k is essentially frozen.
SUSTOS
post Aug 24 2020, 08:59 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(MattSally @ Aug 24 2020, 03:09 PM)
I am 58, British, just been made redundant and married to a Malaysian. We also have a 4 year old Malaysian daughter. EPF not really an option for me. Possibly my wife though. By far our biggest expenses will be education and private health insurance. Thankfully, we have cleared the mortgage on our condo.

I had a decent career to age 58 so, yes, we were able to put quite a bit into my wife's ASB/ASM accounts. When the returns were 6+% we were very happy but now they look to be around 4% we can live off the interest but no provision for a hedge against inflation. My UK State Pension does not pay out until I am 67 and may be delayed further. It is not a huge amount either and, because I will be living outside UK, will not get annual inflationary increases like it would if I was in UK.

In short, if returns don't recover to around 5% in the next couple of years I am going to have to get another job and that will have to be outside Malaysia as it is a condition of my MM2H visa that I do not work in Malaysia. I could transfer to a LTSVP visa if necessary of course.

Until we have got ourselves established in Malaysia we will not really know exactly how much we need to live. We obviously have an idea but we will only know how accurate it is in a few months. We are quite happy to sit on the balcony with a coffee and watch the sun go down. We don't need the flashy cars etc but we obviously want to provide a good upbringing for our daughter.

At least life isn't boring!
Good that you manage to earn a decent return from ASNB, plus the depreciation of MYR against GBP, I believe your actual earnings would already approach a high single-digit number. The inflation rate in Malaysia is also high, especially in food and property prices, somewhere in the ballpark of 6-7% per annum, which is something that you need to take note of.

EPF's return would match the actual inflation rate (around 5-6% p.a.), so you could consider investing through your wife's EPF account.

But given your case, if you have "a few (low single-digit) millions MYR", that should already be enough for retirement here.

QUOTE(MattSally @ Aug 24 2020, 03:53 PM)
Sorry, don't understand.
Bill collector: https://www.careerexplorer.com/careers/bill...ount-collector/

Can Google "Bill Collector". Basically he's saying that you are already very rich, can start collecting payments from rent/dividends/interests.tongue.gif

This post has been edited by TOS: Aug 24 2020, 09:00 PM
SUSTOS
post Aug 27 2020, 06:05 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Aug 27 2020, 02:18 PM)
All those talking about 3.5%,3.7% and 4.0%, is this anything to do with Asb or you guys talking about the other investment??
Asking bcs is it really possible for ASB to drop even lower then it is now? Bcs yes the pandemic was bad, but there was stocks like glove surely the financial experts who are investing with our money must had made money from that glove stock???
They are talking about another fixed price fund, ASW 2020, now known as ASM 2, which will declare its dividend in the coming days.

As for ASB, looking at the fund's report, Maybank and Sime Darby Plantation accounts for a third of the NAV, so the bumi's fortune are somewhat tied to this country's finance and palm oil exports, both are volatile in nature and generally follow the economic cycle.*

https://www.asnb.com.my/pdf/produk/ANNUALRE...SB_10042020.pdf

Gloves should account for a smaller portion of the NAV compared to the M-banks and the plantation counters, fund managers like PNB won't dare to take risk and bet on when vaccines will arrive or how long the pandemic will last. But Maybank's and Sime Darby Plantation's results aren't very stellar.

*Talk about this, it's amazing that ASB can declare such high dividends consistently (in the past) given the economic cycle. They are already bearing substantial risk for their bumi investors for a long time. Also, from a risk management perspective, one third of a fund in just 2 blue-chips is essentially betting the fortunes of all its investors (the bumis) on their own country's future. That's not really a good way of diversification. Other FP funds, though with similar top-20 concentration ratio, spread out their holdings in a more even manner among the top 10 companies.

This post has been edited by TOS: Aug 27 2020, 10:03 PM
SUSTOS
post Aug 27 2020, 10:35 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(TheEquatorian @ Aug 27 2020, 07:42 PM)
https://www.malaymail.com/news/money/2020/0...ps-52pc/1897669

Lower Maybank dividend should translate to lower ASNB returns?
This is for certain, given PNB's heavy reliance on dividend income, especially since last year. (ASB's dividend income account for the lion's share of the investment return). No idea if they changed their investment strategy this year though, especially back in March. We can only know from next year's annual report, or from intermittent press releases.

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Aug 27 2020, 08:10 PM)
so from what you are saying looks like 2021 interest will continue its down trend?
2021 interest depends on performance expected for that year and in the coming year (2022). I don't have any magic crystal ball with me, so I don't know what will happen in 2021 and 2022. It certainly depends on how well the pandemic is under control, given Malaysia is an open economy and trade + travel plays an important role.

For ASNB investors, one plus point to note is the international diversification efforts pushed by their management a few years back. As international portfolio increase from 10% last year to 30% in the near future, one can expect less correlation with local stocks performance, which is a good thing (for me of course, may be a bad thing if you have a different political/economical opinion).

That said, 70% of portfolio will still be in Malaysia, referring to manager's guidance. Let's say 30% of overall portfolio is in fixed-income and cash assets (the usual case), that means still close to 50% (0.7 * 0.7 = 0.49) of overall portfolio is held in GLCs in Malaysia (and "junks" like Sapura Energy laugh.gif). So, how well GLCs performance can have a huge say on the returns in the coming years.

Another thing to note is the unique 2-tier structure in ASNB-PNB family. PNB has its own proprietary fund, separated from the rest of ASNB unit holder's fund. So, if the ASNB funds don't perform well, PNB's proprietary fund's return can be utilized to "top-up" the distributions to ASNB's funds. (Not sure if many ASNB unit holders know this, as this is hardly mentioned here). I also believe ASNB's "retained earnings" from the past is about to dry-up soon or somewhere close to there, that's why the spread between the return vs FD-rates are closing in quicker than ever before. They have very limited alpha left, if GLCs keep performing poorly.

Anyway, investment is always forward-looking, not backward-looking. We talk about outlooks.

Finance 101: Past performance is not an indicator of future results tongue.gif
SUSTOS
post Aug 28 2020, 10:06 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(hc7840 @ Aug 28 2020, 01:16 AM)
Why everyone keep saying international is good leh? They familiar with local market, they can manipulate the local market because of their big fund size. Go international become kecil miao player and their fund manager don’t know good to handle oversea portfolio bo?
Think about this, how long can they manipulate local market? The informed and educated local player like you and me know that this local exchange is from day one, an unfair playground. 40% of equities controlled by just 7 GLICs, another 10% by JP Morgan and its associates. PNB + ASNB alone already controlled 10% ++.

Sooner rather than later, your counterparty will realize this (in fact they had) and they will just stand aside. Your equities won't fetch good valuations, won't be liquid. You will just be playing among yourselves (funds vs funds). Foreigner's participation has already dropped to new low in the local exchange, retailers focused on catching the latest tips and prop up penny stocks. Who else is left to play with you?

Become small miao player may not be a bad thing. It gives you the ability to trade securities without significant distortion to the securities' price. You don't want to be the next Buffet and buy into Barrick Gold assuming that the return is happening over the next few months only to see the shares jump 10% the next day after the positions are disclosed, disrupting all your investment plan.

As for how good they are in handling overseas portfolio, I can point you to a few sources:

1. Aware of the Battersea Power Station redevelopment project?

https://www.spsetia.com/getattachment/5444c...ef04f1a6c0/2020

See from slide 21 onwards.

2. Not sure if you know the Guthrie Dawn Raid? Guthrie eventually merged with Golden Hope and Sime Darby to become the large plantation counter sime darby, but then PNB decided that the conglomerate has too many businesses inside it and so the palm oil plantation business was demerged to become sime darby plantation.

Nothing surprising here, but the dawn raid was a big news in LSE back then. Exchange rules were modified thereafter and now you can no longer "steal" a British listed company that easy anymore.

Sime Darby, the listed company (without plantation business) has substantial revenue source from overseas business, mostly inherited from its British parent.

Can have a look at its latest result presentation, just released yesterday: http://www.simedarby.com/sites/default/fil...web_revised.pdf

3. PNB has properties in UK for a long time, they do have some experience in managing those, although the portfolio is small.

https://www.pnb.com.my/03_4Property_EN.php

4. The above are their real estate portfolio, for international equity portfolio, here is a screenshot of international equity portfolio for ASM from the 2020 annual report (my own analysis in excel). I can't send you the whole file for privacy/security reason and I am not supposed to share this without notifying ASNB. You may request for a complete list of ASNB FP fund's portfolio by emailing them yourself.

Note: The industry classifications are my own addition. The original copy of PDF file provided by them only has company name and company holding's as a percentage of NAV data provided.

5. As for fixed-income and private equity portfolio, I do not have any information on this as PNB/ASNB never disclose this information in their annual report (including fund's report), but from the PNB annual report, they seem to have collaborations with some international partners like Unilever and Akzo Nobel.

Edit: Added Sime Darby 4Q FY 20 result presentation to reflect international business result. Also added more info on fixed income portfolio.

This post has been edited by TOS: Aug 28 2020, 01:08 PM
SUSTOS
post Aug 28 2020, 05:15 PM

8,667 posts

rclxms.gif

ASM 3 must be 4% as well!
SUSTOS
post Aug 28 2020, 05:35 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(CSW1990 @ Aug 28 2020, 05:23 PM)
so difficult to buy, spent few hours daily to try my luck to grab, now tell us only distribute 4%... cry.gif
gonna move out from here and go goreng stock.. goreng XOX easily limit up in hour  brows.gif
Please bear in mind by doing so you are shouldering more risk. brows.gif Penny stocks trade without strong fundamentals support, and they tend to overreact to news, be they good or bad.

Changing your risk profile just because hard to snatch up units is not a wise move. Consider blue chip counters in other markets, just a bit more risky since there are currency fluctuations and market risk there, but otherwise you can earn decent risk-adjusted return.

This post has been edited by TOS: Aug 28 2020, 05:52 PM
SUSTOS
post Sep 1 2020, 08:35 AM

8,667 posts

Good day to fish ASW2. Dividend in today.

Got 500 units just now, then stuck at this page:

"Your transaction is accepted. Please Wait..."

Luckily I saved the FPX receipt.

This post has been edited by TOS: Sep 1 2020, 08:37 AM
SUSTOS
post Sep 1 2020, 10:10 AM

8,667 posts

Yes!!! Money is in, confirmed. ASW 2 500 units this morning at 8:33. biggrin.gif

Let me try again, see if lady luck is on my side.
SUSTOS
post Sep 1 2020, 10:48 AM

8,667 posts

200 units ASM 1 just seconds ago.
SUSTOS
post Sep 1 2020, 10:48 AM

8,667 posts

Ahem....

13 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top