Digital TV Malaysia v2, Malaysian Digital Terrestrial TV
joshhd
Feb 7 2021, 08:55 PM
SOFTWARE UPGRADING WORKS FOR MYTV COMBO DECODERFor information, MYTV will be conducting software upgrading works for MYTV combo decoder in stages from 8 February 2021 to 26 February 2021 from 1.00 am – 4.00 am. We urge you to put your combo decoders on ‘standby mode’ during this activity. If you encounter any interruption, please contact MYTV Careline at 1300-10-6988. We apologies for any inconvenience caused.   Source: https://www.mytvbroadcasting.my/notice/Noti...022021.docx.pdf
doubleM2
Feb 7 2021, 09:07 PM
QUOTE(Hzz @ Feb 6 2021, 05:44 PM) Spending a few minutes watching TVS just now. The content is quite okay for a newly launch channel. I expecting the language and content is 100% in Sarawak. But for me who are from Semenanjung, i can say that even Semenanjung like me also can watch this channel. Despite a lot of Astro commercials, i even notice the style also quite similar to Astro in house channels.Frankly, it's because Astro operates the channel broadcast, that's why you get to watch Astro commercials. The content though is solely from TVS' side.
Qash-M
Feb 7 2021, 09:29 PM
QUOTE(joshhd @ Feb 7 2021, 08:55 PM) SOFTWARE UPGRADING WORKS FOR MYTV COMBO DECODERFor information, MYTV will be conducting software upgrading works for MYTV combo decoder in stages from 8 February 2021 to 26 February 2021 from 1.00 am – 4.00 am. We urge you to put your combo decoders on ‘standby mode’ during this activity. If you encounter any interruption, please contact MYTV Careline at 1300-10-6988. We apologies for any inconvenience caused.   Source: https://www.mytvbroadcasting.my/notice/Noti...022021.docx.pdf Nice, for those that godek2 much with non-MYTV TP would be gg'd.
dayojah
Feb 8 2021, 08:14 AM
QUOTE(joshhd @ Feb 6 2021, 11:03 PM) ......For the audio, well, YouTube's audio bitrate is 128kbps AAC-LC. So definitely YouTube's one is better than MYTV digital TV ones (32kbps HE-AAC  ) Any idea what Astro HD channel audio uses for comparison?
joshhd
Feb 8 2021, 08:48 AM
QUOTE(dayojah @ Feb 8 2021, 08:14 AM) Any idea what Astro HD channel audio uses for comparison? For Astro's MPEG4 HD channels (as well as Astro AOD 351-355): 64kbps HE-AAC Stereo 384kbps Dolby AC3 5.1 Astro UHD channel, they use 224-256kbps Dolby E-AC3 5.1 audio. For MPEG2 SD channels, they use 192-256kbps MP2 Stereo. Yes, 64kbps HE-AAC audio quality is a crap to me also (as an audiophile perspective). For me, I suggest at least 128kbps AAC-LC. If insist of using HE-AAC, then I'll suggest 96kbps HE-AAC.
Qash-M
Feb 8 2021, 08:59 AM
QUOTE(joshhd @ Feb 8 2021, 08:48 AM) For Astro's MPEG4 HD channels (as well as Astro AOD 351-355): 64kbps HE-AAC Stereo 384kbps Dolby AC3 5.1 Astro UHD channel, they use 224-256kbps Dolby E-AC3 5.1 audio. For MPEG2 SD channels, they use 192-256kbps MP2 Stereo. Yes, 64kbps HE-AAC audio quality is a crap to me also (as an audiophile perspective). For me, I suggest at least 128kbps AAC-LC. If insist of using HE-AAC, then I'll suggest 96kbps HE-AAC. Is it too wishful for MYTV to use that option on all TV & radio one instead of heavily compressed HE-AAC v2 32kbps?
joshhd
Feb 8 2021, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 8 2021, 08:59 AM) Is it too wishful for MYTV to use that option on all TV & radio one instead of heavily compressed HE-AAC v2 32kbps? This one you ask the broadcast engineer guys at MYTV, not me. I'm not the one that set the settings... Unfortunately lah.
dayojah
Feb 8 2021, 03:23 PM
Even 64kbps HE-AAC Stereo would be a great improvement, getting rid of most of the obvious artifacts
YoungMan
Feb 8 2021, 04:42 PM
QUOTE(joshhd @ Feb 7 2021, 09:55 PM) SOFTWARE UPGRADING WORKS FOR MYTV COMBO DECODERFor information, MYTV will be conducting software upgrading works for MYTV combo decoder in stages from 8 February 2021 to 26 February 2021 from 1.00 am – 4.00 am. We urge you to put your combo decoders on ‘standby mode’ during this activity. If you encounter any interruption, please contact MYTV Careline at 1300-10-6988. We apologies for any inconvenience caused.   Source: https://www.mytvbroadcasting.my/notice/Noti...022021.docx.pdf But if we don't put the decoder on standby, will we still be able to get the software update the next time the decoder is turn on? I usually will turn off everything before going to bed just in case lightning strikes. QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 8 2021, 09:59 AM) Is it too wishful for MYTV to use that option on all TV & radio one instead of heavily compressed HE-AAC v2 32kbps? I would think the logical level should be 128kbps. Certainly not expecting 256kb or higher for MYTV.
surrodox2001
Feb 8 2021, 06:20 PM

Well I'd expect mytv to have an update file available for usb update alongside the usual ota update, this way, if you miss ota update, you can still update via usb...... ps: What does the update change for the affected boxes?
Qash-M
Feb 8 2021, 07:56 PM
QUOTE(surrodox2001 @ Feb 8 2021, 06:20 PM) Well I'd expect mytv to have an update file available for usb update alongside the usual ota update, this way, if you miss ota update, you can still update via usb...... ps: What does the update change for the affected boxes? The subtitles option on RTM channels, i assume.
theosn20
Feb 8 2021, 08:29 PM

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 6 2021, 01:20 AM) [attachmentid=10779737] From today. wow now mytv add this new tvs HD channel well done
joshhd
Feb 8 2021, 09:54 PM
QUOTE(theosn20 @ Feb 8 2021, 08:29 PM) wow now mytv add this new tvs HD channel well done Wrong. It's the other way round. TVS make their channel available on MYTV digital TV platform.
Qash-M
Feb 9 2021, 04:13 PM
https://www.utusan.com.my/berita/2021/02/12...disiarkan-mytv/Ya know, i'd rather have the remaining SD channels to be upgraded to HD first before other additional. Especially 8TV.
joshhd
Feb 9 2021, 05:11 PM
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 9 2021, 04:13 PM) https://www.utusan.com.my/berita/2021/02/12...disiarkan-mytv/Ya know, i'd rather have the remaining SD channels to be upgraded to HD first before other additional. Especially 8TV.  Mux 3 coming soon then...
shaun_kok
Feb 9 2021, 06:25 PM
QUOTE(joshhd @ Feb 7 2021, 12:56 AM) How about you? Are you able to receive Indonesian digital TV channels in your house at JB area, using outdoor 14-E antenna or something? Unfortunately, my area has too weak reception for Indonesian FM. So I worry it won't work in my area. May buy an antenna soon to test.
surrodox2001
Feb 9 2021, 06:28 PM

For me Indon FM works with my phone + headphones, I can receive some few stations, i think most of them don't have RDS so hard to do station IDing. Sound quality is acceptable, though.
MustyBalls92
Feb 9 2021, 07:27 PM

my tv got dvb-t2 feature gonna buy antenna and test for fun hope it actually work. Landed house area shah alam section 19 commuter. Anyone know where is the nearest broadcast tower? Thanks in advance
This post has been edited by MustyBalls92: Feb 9 2021, 08:37 PM
birain
Feb 9 2021, 10:54 PM
QUOTE(MustyBalls92 @ Feb 9 2021, 07:27 PM) my tv got dvb-t2 feature gonna buy antenna and test for fun hope it actually work. Landed house area shah alam section 19 commuter. Anyone know where is the nearest broadcast tower? Thanks in advance  use this powered antenna, tie a string and hang high up the wall with a wall hook. download antenna pointer, look for your nearest tower, point and hang up. 👍
dayojah
Feb 10 2021, 01:13 PM
Active boosters with a spike antenna really don't help much unless the decoder box has a really poor tuner. A small Yagi outdoors is much better